Meter Reading

All The Skews You Can Use

For viewing audiences in general, but for the audience of Chuck in particular, I think this can only be interpreted as good news.

The Nielsen Company said Tuesday that its television measurement homes would soon be Internet measurement homes too, bringing the company a step closer toward providing the integrated ratings that media companies are demanding.

Yes, the number of homes polled still seems frightening small – but I’m not a statistician, so what do I know? Still, I firmly believe that Chuck‘s audience skews older than the advertisers preference and more tech savy.  I also believe that there are far more internet viewings of the show than TV viewings on Mondays at 8 PM eastern. We tend to watch multiple times over the course of weeks and months.

There are reasons for that. One is that the show is structured to reveal plot points over time, causing the fans to re-evaluate and reinterpret what they’ve already seen. That’s an invitation to re-watch episodes if I’ve ever seen one! It’s good to see Nielsen attempt to capture that.

If the audience does include a large number of internet viewers like I think it does, then the ratings gap between Chuck and say, House, will lessen. It’s to NBC-U’s benefit to register that information.

A question for you, then, the reader. How have you been viewing Chuck? On-line? DVD? DVR? Not at all since May? Is this different from your habits during the season?

And finally, do you think your TV viewing habits in general are changing at all because of the internet?

– joe

About joe

In my life I've been a professor, martial artist, rock 'n roller, rocket scientist, lover, poet and brain surgeon. I'm lying about the brain surgery.
This entry was posted in Fan Base. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Meter Reading

  1. Fake Empire says:

    Good – glad to hear how they will be updating how they collect their data. It’s long overdue, and it can only help Chuck.

    To answer your question, I watch the initial airings live, but I also DVR them for later viewing. I have S1 on blu ray and have preordered the S2 blu ray through Amazon. And, because I’m probably a little addicted, I purchase the seasons at iTunes for viewing on my iPhone and computer.

  2. atcdave says:

    Well, I’ll start by saying I’m not a total nut job like Fake Empire. I have the S1 DVDs in addition to the others he mentioned (no Blu-Ray player at work!); what were you thinking man! I’ll probably buy the S2 DVDs also for the same reason, that way I’ll also watch all the extra features the Tuesday it comes out and won’t have to wait til the Blu-Rays arrive.

    Once the S2 discs come out I will remove some of the episodes from my iPod, to free up space for S3.

    Dang, we are truly the lunatic fringe!

    It is good news about Nielson’s change, I agree the Chuck audience is probably more computer friendly than average, and monitoring the internet better can only help us.
    I’ve not been keeping my end up where downloads are concerned, I pay iTunes to avoid having to watch commercials; hopefully those numbers would be considered too, but I think, like disc sales, that only benefits WB and not NBC.
    I wish they would use actual numbers of DVR views also. There is surely no technical reason why they can’t; and I’ve been watching every episode twice before I get the iTunes download the next morning, so of course I should count for more!

    • joe says:

      Hulu and I are on a first name basis because of Chuck.

      I should get a tee shirt that says “My Wife Is A Chuck Widow!”

      • Lawrynce says:

        My wife and I watch Chuck live, no matter what! The phone is turned off during this special time, so if the house burns down we go down with it. I own the Season 1 on Blue-Ray and will order Season 2 when it comes out. Like Joe, I frequently use Hulu to watch previous episodes again, and again, and again. No other show has affected me this way and I am counting the days until Season 3 begins.

        Lawrynce

    • Fake Empire says:

      Heh! Fortunately, you don’t sound anything like me!! I’ve learned to accept my Chuck-related condition and to believe that I can still live a happy and productive life.

      (endures multiple involuntary tics and twitches while he types and two cats look at him awkwardly)

      😉

      In all seriousness, did I understand your post correctly in that you watch Chuck DVDs at work?

      • atcdave says:

        My job is very seasonal in nature. I work at a VFR airport, which means if the weather is lousey, flying is no fun, and nobody goes up. Which means more time in the break-room during the winter months. I know, I’ve got it rough.

      • Fake Empire says:

        Wow ATCDave, with winter practically upon us now, you’ve got some serious down time heading your way. The S2 DVDs will get out just in time; you must have been hating the original predicted release date of March. Have any of your colleagues been converted to Chuck fans?

      • atcdave says:

        Yes, I think I’m a bit of a running joke around the tower. I’ve introduced 7 people to the show, everyone has liked it; and I’m currently sure at least 4 of them will be watching in January. Just yesterday I was talking to one of them about the “save the show” campaign being successful and he asked if it was just me. At least I’m known for something fun!
        Like everyone, I wasn’t thrilled with March; but so far January seems awesome. The weather just turned to where I’ve started showing S2 to a couple newbies, and all of a sudden previews are showing up on NBC. Timing couldn’t have been better.

      • Fake Empire says:

        That’s great that you could get your coworkers on board! The more, the merrier. Plus, it makes for better water cooler talk. Make a Cole Barker dartboard for your break room! 😉

  3. Gord says:

    I’m a bit of a fanatic when it comes to Chuck. I watched it on Monday nights at 8, then here in Canada it was on again on Thursday nights at 10 PM on our science fiction channel called Space, so I would watch it again on Thursday nights. Near the tail end of S2, I purchased a DVR with a DVD burner and have six episodes of Chuck from S2 that I have probably watched a zillion times. For S3 I will record the whole series and use the DVR until the S3 DVD/Blu Ray set shows up. I know I will probably have the DVR on at 7PM Mondays to rewatch the previous week’s episode just before the 8 PM showing.

    I own S1 in both DVD and Blu Ray. I got the Blu Ray player about a month ago and the first Blu Ray disc I bought was Chuck. I wanted to compare the difference between Blu Ray and DVD and thought what better set to buy. Also now, I can loan out my DVD set to friends without getting to antsy waiting for it back.

    Internet has not changed my viewing habits much because, being in Canada NBC and Hulu are difficult to watch. There are ways to do it, but with unintended side effects like tons of pop up ads and being redirected to websites you don’t want to visit, so after watching a few episodes of Chuck that way, I gave up on it.

    What has changed my viewing habits is the show itself. Chuck has ruined TV for me. After Chuck aired I started comparing it to other shows and came to realize how many poor shows are on TV, and now instead of 4 hours of TV a night, I might watch one or two hours and some nights I will sit in my living room and read a book instead of turning on the boob tube. If I don’t feel like reading, I will just watch an episode or two of Chuck from S1 or S2.

    The good news is, I’m not addicted to Chuck. I can stop watching anytime I want to – really. Why just the other night I stopped an episode of Chuck. OK it was while I went down to the Laundry room to put in another load. But it was stopped for a whole 10 minutes.

    • atcdave says:

      I appreciate your last point Gord. And I agree you’re not an addict. Now you have to say the same to me…

      • Gord says:

        Why atcdave – you are no more an addict than I am.

        Although I will say that it has been so long since a new episode of Chuck, I’m starting to get the shakes.

      • atcdave says:

        hah! at least its good to have company in ones delusions.

    • joe says:

      Oh man, denial *is* a river in Egypt!

      Rest assured folks. If you’re watching Chuck episodes three or four times a week 6 months after the last new episode was aired, then YOUR ONLY WATCHING HALF AS MUCH AS I!!!

      Huff – huff…

      (Whew!)
      Didn’t mean to start a contest here. Really didn’t! ;>

      And on more serious note, excellent point about how Chuck has made me think about other shows, Gord. I’m a lot more conscious about why I do or do not like certain things on TV now.

      • Gord says:

        It sounds to me that we need to start a 12 step program for Chuckaholics.
        I think the key is moderation. We should absolutely cut down to no more than 10 episodes a week or 4 episodes a day.

        As for TV shows, I can count on one hand the scripted shows that I must watch every week, and on the other hand, the few others that I will watch if I have nothing better to do.
        Chuck is definitely on the first finger of that one hand.

      • atcdave says:

        I would advise moderation on your moderation, don’t go overdoing things!

        I’ve reduced the total number of shows I watch in the last two years, I’m not sure if there’s really a “Chuck effect” at work, or there just isn’t as much to my liking. But one interesting thing, I really watch more of the shows I watch now. I used to have a lot of shows I would run in the background while playing computer games or building models, but now I’m more likely to listen to music while doing other things, and save my shows for when I can really watch.

      • Fake Empire says:

        Step One: Admitting we are powerless over Chuck, and that our lives have become unmanageable.

        Step Two: Admitting that it takes a power greater than us to break our Chuck habit and restore our sanity

        Guys, I might be powerless (ok, most likely am . . . ok, I am) over Chuck, but I don’t want my habit broken!! If we can do a modified 12-step program that nurtures the addiction, sign me up!

        PS: I’ve given up on having my sanity restored – lol

        😉

  4. OldDarth says:

    No doubt the internet has changed my viewing habits. Chuck and Lost are the only shows I watch live. My other shows are DL’ed from the internet and then streamed from my PC via my PS3 to the TV.

    Chuck and Lost are the only shows I buy the DVDs/BluRays for.

    Really dislike watching commercials.

  5. Ernie Davis says:

    Well I have to say Chuck WILL change the way I watch TV. For the past few years I haven’t watched much network TV at all. I’ve typically rented past seasons on DVD to see if I like a show. A few that I liked I later bought the DVD. A few that I really liked (like the first few seasons of BSG) I’ve bought through iTunes. When I stumbled onto Chuck this summer by renting the S1 DVD I immediately bought both seasons on iTunes and have pre-ordered the S2 DVD. For the first time in years I am actually going to make a point of watching a network show live. Then I can buy it on iTunes and re-watch again and again … and again.

    As for my Chuck habit, I remember when I used to use my iTunes for music, really I do. Just kidding, I’ve managed to cut back to one episode a day for the most part. I even went several days without watching any episodes when I was away for Thanksgiving, although I did make a point of clearing space on my laptop so I could load both seasons of Chuck…just in case I got the shakes. A few posts on message boards and the new promos got me through though.

  6. amyabn says:

    Well, I’ll throw my two cents in. I have the Blu-Ray Season 1 (and S2 on the way), season passes on my iTunes, and I also record on my DVR. I haven’t been able to watch much lately, but I did order S1 (regular) for several people, including my Soldiers over here. I’ve found several who like Chuck and I am planning a Chuckathon over Christmas. I am eating up the previews you guys have been posting and am very excited for S3. I still keep pinging iTunes for a season pass for S3 (it’s the only way I’ll get to watch from over here) so if anyone knows how to put the pressure on them, let me know! I can’t find the feature where you request something you can’t find.

Leave a Reply

