Beware of Trolls

Yesterday, 12/5/2009, a couple of very funny Trolls posted on the ChuckMeOut forum.    All regulars will be familiar with the epic “angst” thread on that site.    For reasons unknown, a couple of very bitter posters choose to recycle every-one’s worst fears that have been discussed over a period of 4 months.    With real venom, they seemed to relish the “likelihood” of Chuck’s impending demise after a terrible season 3 (that will likely never all air, so they say).

My first thought was that this was so very sad.    There have been a lot of real fears and concerns about the future of our favorite show discussed there.    Many posters have debated things they don’t want to see, what various unpopular spoilers might mean, and the chances of the shows survival.    Now that the tone has turned mostly positive, it seems deliberately provocative to bring up every-one’s worst fears in a couple of lengthy posts.    There is a suspicious corner of my mind that wonders if they were plants trying to heat things up again.   But these posts were so sarcastic and ugly I think this is unlikely; the second poster, in particular, is a semi-regular who has long been unhappy; and seems to honestly want the show cancelled.    I really don’t get hating something so much (or is it just loving trouble) that they would go to the trouble of spending a lot of time putting these things together.   I mean most of us are pathetic enough (joke, hah hah), but at least we’re having fun.    How much more pathetic to invest so much time in a TV show that you don’t like!

My second thought was how proud I was of the level of discourse on that forum; almost no one rose to the bait.    There were no flaming angry retorts; no lengthy rebuttals; no indignation.   A couple of regular posters were quoted badly out of context by the trolls; and the only response I saw was a fairly simple clarification from one of the wronged parties.    The main response was silence.   We had a great conversation going at the time, thanks to ErnieDavis and some thoughtful questions; and the vast majority of posters simply continued the more interesting conversation and ignored the trolls.     So that was fun on several levels!

I can only imagine they were looking for angry reactions.   Since they failed, we can hope they’ll go away.

Dave

About atcDave

I'm 54 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 31 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Beware of Trolls

  1. Ernie Davis says:

    Hey Joe, thanks for the shout out. I read the posts and thought the same thing…WTF? It wasn’t anything I thought worthy of a response, just another opinion. And at the time I was actually trying to do penance for my little bit of pessimism about the prospects for more than one more season a bit earlier and steer the conversation to a lighter more fun place. Anyway, I thought you summed it up well.

    I see.

    • atcdave says:

      Uh, not Joe this time, but I’m flattered you thought so!
      I don’t think you need to apologize for voicing your concerns, especially in the angst thread; but it was great having the questions to talk over. Looks like we’re still at it too, troublemaker!

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Dave, I am absolutely sorry I missed that this was your byline. Profound apologies. Now I have to do some penance over here.

        I feel an epic post coming on 😉 But then I’m not so sure that is penance.

        Maybe tomorrow.

    • joe says:

      Ernie, your thread on “the moments C&S realized that…” has done a great deal to neutralize those jokers, much like an atomic bomb neutralizes mosquitoes.

      Congrats (and we’re appreciative).

  2. Rick Holy says:

    Saw them, too. There is a danger that they can “suck you in,” so it was good – like you said – to note that most people didn’t respond.

    And I agree wholeheartidly – if you’re so upset with something that is after all ONLY A FRICKIN’ T.V. SHOW – and you’re so unhappy with it, then WATCH SOMETHING ELSE!! That’s what I did with Heroes. I LOVED the first season, but after that it started a what I felt was a downhill slide and I just stopped watching.

    It’s one thing to bring to the attention of TPTB things that concern you, things you hope don’t happen, things you hope DO happen, etc., but do write what at times are posts almost the length of manifestos is another thing entirely. If there’s something that happens in S3 that disappoints or upsets someone, then by all means they can voice their opinion/concern – but let the episodes air for crying out loud! – then reach your conclusions after that.

    I look at it this way. We’re going to get 19 episodes of S3. IT’S PURE GIFT!! This show could EASILY have been axed, but it survived and we’ll get 19 more episodes of CHUCK fun. I’m optimistic/hopeful, etc. that it will be a great season. If there are some things that happen in some episodes that tick me off or that I don’t like – SO WHAT?

    It’s kind of like my vocation. You can’t please all the people all of the time no matter what you do – no matter how hard you try – no matter how much blood, sweat and tears you put into your work. But that’s the way it goes. Most people will appreciate you for what you do/try to do, but there will be a handful who for whatever their particular reasons, will think you SUCK!

    Same thing with a TV show and same thing with the fans (congregation) that follow it.

    All I can say is that I’m looking forward with great excitement to Jan 10th and 11th and all of the Monday nights that CHUCK is on after that! Season 3 is a gift – and I’m going to enjoy unwrapping it episode by episode!

    BRING ON THE CHUCK! Remember to support SUBWAY. And peace, all!!

  3. joe says:

    All credit to Dave on this one, Ernie.

    Dave, I’m loath to put up the weekly CMM review early this time, because I really don’t want to bury this important post (I’ll put it up this evening). It really speaks to what a whole lot of us were thinking when we saw that troll’s work.

    Oh – I hope I didn’t “feed the troll” myself with my 4 word response. I just couldn’t resist poking him! ;>

    • atcdave says:

      As I said, I was pleased with the response; a couple of well thought out comments, but mostly silence. A couple of longer replies were posted today. But I’m still pleased it hasn’t turned into a rampage of Chuck bashing; or a lot of fury directed at the trolls themselves. The response still seems pretty calm, with more posters continuing with the things we always chat about, and few addressing the bitter posts.

      Don’t wait for anything Joe, I never expected this to be a major discussion; and I’m ready for Broken Heart!

  4. Gord says:

    I’m assuming this is the Angst Vs True Lies thread.
    I just ventured back into this thread for the first time this afternoon, and was happy to see that the mood had mellowed. However, I only read the last page in the forum and didn’t go back any further so I guessed I missed these posts. Obviously just as well.
    I gave up on responding to such posts long ago. If someone has legitimate worries about the direction the show is going in that is one thing, but there seem to be a few who want to throw the baby out with the bath water.

    • atcdave says:

      There were actually some fun discussions going on at the time, you might want to go back just to answer Ernie’s questions. But these two were different, nothing like the normal worriers; very angry, very malicious. I’m hoping they were disappointed with the response.

Leave a Reply

