Avast Ye Maties. Thar Be Spoilers!

Well, Something Like That, Anyway.

Read no further if you positively, definitely, really hate to be spoiled.

From ChuckTV and TV Guide:

Yvonne Strahovski tells us that Sarah’s role will change significantly this season. She’ll go from being Chuck’s caretaker to something akin to his boss as he gears up to be a real spy guy. Chuck’s training will bring to light new information about Sarah’s start in the biz, including her real name.

Well!

– joe

About joe

In my life I've been a professor, martial artist, rock 'n roller, rocket scientist, lover, poet and brain surgeon. I'm lying about the brain surgery.
This entry was posted in Fan Base, Found On-Line, Rumors. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Avast Ye Maties. Thar Be Spoilers!

  1. OldDarth says:

    The reveal of Sarah’s real name no longer has the cachet it once did.

    As to Sarah being Chuck’s boss, is that a surprise to anyone? Everyone will be Chuck’s boss next season. He is the rookie; the spy trainee if you will.

    We already saw glimpses of that in the preview clips when Beckman tells Sarah to make Chuck a spy. Then we see Sarah teaching Chuck bo or quarterstaff fighting. We also see Casey giving Chuck boxing lessons.

    So not just Sarah, but Casey too will be his boss.

    And over all of them will be the new Team Leader, Daniel Shaw.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      I think you are right on the boss thing. That doesn’t surprise me much. My feeling is that Shaw comes in because there is too much personal stuff between Chuck and Sarah (and Casey) for it to work.

      As for the real name, I agree it isn’t as big a deal, but it could be played that way if it is Sarah opening up to and trusting Chuck and not hiding so much of her past.

      • Rick Holy says:

        Ernie- I’m all over your sentiments in the second paragraph. It COULD be significant – if the writers write it that way. I hope they do. I thought the “my middle name is Lisa” whisper moment was one of the best Chuck/Sarah moments (or non-moments, depending on your perspective) of S1.

        All I can say is BRING ON THE CHUCK!!

    • joe says:

      Don’t forget, though, that Chuck “…is the spy [you’re] looking for.” He’s is charge of the mission, now. ;>

      You’re right about the name thing. She’s Sarah. But Fr. Rick is dead-on about the “My middle name is Lisa.” scene.

      Either way, Can’t wait!

  2. OldDarth says:

    Well unless her last name is Bartowski. 😉

  3. OldDarth says:

    or Shaw. 😉 😉

  4. OldDarth says:

    Heh. That, would be shocking.

    For the record, I am curious as the next person to find out Sarah’s real name. The show should use the reveal to good dramatic use.

    Feel the fervor of learning it in S1 & by the end of S2 has subsided substantially.

    • Gord says:

      I agree, knowing her real name is not a big deal, but as Rick said if she is the one to tell Chuck, it is a good sign of them being much closer.
      What will be interesting is the other facts that are brought to light.

      Maybe we will find out her Birthday.

      • Rick Holy says:

        Good point about the birthday. I forgot about that one. Since we couldn’t have a CHUCK Thanksgiving or Christmas episode this season, howz about a “Sarah” birthday episode as a substitute?

  5. Fake Empire says:

    I am ambivalent over knowing Sarah’s real name. As some of you have referenced, I was more intrigued by it in S1 and early S2, but not so much now. While I am somewhat curious, it’s really not that critical to me. I feel like it could even take away some of the mystique that surrounds her. It reminds me of when Seinfeld decided to reveal Cosmo as Kramer’s first name; I liked the mystery surrounding his unknown first name. I guess what it comes down to, for me, is that she IS Sarah Walker – which has become good enough for me.

  6. OldDarth says:

    The question is – will the reveal of Sarah’s name bring them closer together OR drive them further apart!

    • Rick Holy says:

      It is goes from S2’s, “We can’t be together because I’m still a CIA angent,” to “We can’t be together because I’m your long lost COUSIN!” I’m going to cr*p out my Subway footlong before the end of the episode!! 😉

  7. Ernie Davis says:

    I think we all know she’ll always be Sarah Walker. But there could be some fun in the name. Maybe they could make it something amusingly spy-like such as Jane Moneypenny or Honey Ryder or embarrassing like a last name such as Dick. I don’t think it’s important of itself, but it still could be fun, and a good reason to keep calling her Sarah Walker.

    • Rick Holy says:

      My next door neighbor and friend growing up had the last name Dick. Believe me, he took all kinds of abuse – it wasn’t pretty. So for God’s sake – if we’re going to give her a “funny” last name, let it be Snotgrass or Tinkle or something along that line. Anything but Dick! It will bring back too many sad memories of my friend’s childhood!!

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I worked for years with a guy named Steve Dick. He is retired now, but before he did he moved to a pretty high position at NASA HQ. He had a PhD in History, specializing in science and had a masters in Astronomy and had written several books. He was once interviewed by John Stewart for The Daily Show. Yes. Dr. Dick. I couldn’t find it on YouTube, but I think you can guess how it went. To his credit Steve knew what he was walking into. He was always good humored and a trooper about it.

      • Rick Holy says:

        Actually my friend with the last name “Dick” was very intelligent as well. Science fair winner as a kid, etc., talented engineer, etc. Maybe there’s something about that last name that’s linked with being smart. It’s like “O.K., all you people who make fun of me – Take THAT!” 😉

        (with comedian Andy Dick being the exception, however!).

    • Gord says:

      Maybe her name will be Marge Lisa Simpson.

      I think it will actually be a fairly normal name and she will reveal it to Chuck during one of their chats in her hotel room. I’m sure it will be a heart warming moment.

      I did post some time ago, that I could see an episode where Chuck is in the hospital, badly injured and Sarah reveals her real name, along with her true feelings, thinking it’s her last chance to be honest with Chuck.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Damn Gord, you’re a big ol’ softie. Just like the rest of us…

        Sarah has had to confront her feelings about Chuck more that once when she thought she lost Chuck, and we’ve all seen that. Chuck only really had to deal with that very briefly in Truth. I’d actually be more interested to see what Chuck would do if, as in truth with Ellie, he had to face the real possibility of losing her.

  8. atcdave says:

    The only importance I can imagine in her name is as a sign of trust with Chuck; if it isn’t that it would be something silly and played for laughs, but given Sarah is the straight character on the show, I think that’s unlikely. Unless maybe if its Jill, that could actually make a funny and sweet moment: “I think I’ll just call you Sarah!”

    The boss line is ominous, I’m sure they will play that as a reason for not getting involved. Hopefully it won’t last long.

    • Fake Empire says:

      Yeah, I agree that the only importance in bringing the issue of Sarah’s name back up, from a plot perspective, is for Chuck to learn it and be trusted by her with it. Learning it in a romantic context would give it far more significance. I thought that perhaps just the audience would learn it via flashback, but I’ve rethought that. They’ve already played the flashback angle, and I hope TPTB would not do it again.

      • Gord says:

        I think it was stated that there would not be a flashback.

        As for learning her real name,I just had another thought. Maybe she reveals it when they are filling out the marriage license. (OK I’m a bit of a shipper – but a postive one, not a negative one).

      • Fake Empire says:

        Gord, now that would be AWESOME!

        I hope you’re right re: the flashback. I just think it would be anticlimactic to use it again. But, I still feel that keeping her real name unknown maintains some of her mystique. Oh well, I’ve adjusted to worse things . . .

      • atcdave says:

        I would like to see a secret mission of changing a marriage license so it would be legally binding. Especially if Beckman is thinking its a “cover only” marriage.

  9. ReadySet says:

    My money is that it’s in Episode 2. Chuck versus the Three Words. That’s Ali Adler’s episode with the return of Carina. Since the whole name thing came up in Wookie, Ali’s episode with Carina in Season 1, I’ll guess that the three words are Sarah’s three names: x Lisa x.

    • atcdave says:

      Given that isn’t quite what everyone’s hoping for, I’d say that’s a fairly fun guess.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Remember that these titles often work on more than one level. Broken Heart? Harry Lime’s “broken” heart and Ellie’s broken heart (and perhaps Sarah’s too). I wouldn’t be surprised to find that there are a few significant three words.

      • ReadySet says:

        Ernie-
        Oh, there are. We know that Carina has a bad guy lover who will be doing “I Love You” a lot. That’s the OTHER level, I believe, in this episode…

      • joe says:

        And our suddenly available bearded troll, Morgan, might blut out 3 little words to Carina, too. Awkwardly, of course. I recall he develops a stutter when he tries to annunciate them…

      • ReadySet says:

        Joe-
        I prefer to call Morgan the “bearded little man,” as per Chuck in S2 E1 during the date! 🙂

      • joe says:

        Ah! Quite correct, ReadySet. I was channelling Casey there for a moment. ;>

    • Gord says:

      Interesting idea, if that’s the case we will know Sarah’s real name on premiere night.
      I’m still hoping for 3 other words though.

  10. ReadySet says:

    TCM ran “The Prize” this week. A 1963 movie with Paul Newman, Elke Sommer and Edward G. Robinson. It’s about intrigue at the Nobel Prizes. If you can find it, watch it. It is shocking how much the movie resembles a Chuck arc. And the relationship between Sommer’s character and Newman’s character is almost EXACTLY like Sarah and Chuck. Sommer’s character is a government agent whose job it is to protect Newman’s character, a smart, clever but imperfect (he drinks) writer-turned-detective. Of course, they fall in love, but only after Newman makes some ham-fisted gestures and Sommer is initially off-putting.

    Newman’s character is scary similar to Chuck: He bumbles a bit, gets himself in trouble, but saves the day. And Sommer is surprisingly good; she has the attitude/body type of a 1960s blonde bombshell, but you can see that Yvonne is her successor a generation later…

    I wonder if Fedak and/or any of the writers have seen the flick. It’s almost as if it is part of the Chuck canon!

    • Gord says:

      When I saw the first episode of Chuck, I recalled an old Disney Movie “The Computer Who Wore Tennis Shoes”, which was about a college student that through a freak accident gets a computer downloaded into his brain.
      I saw it on TV when I was about 10. Funny how some things stick in your memory.

Leave a Reply

