10 Questions For Josh Schwartz

Another Firestorm?

Not this time, I think.

100 Miles East of Barstow, CA

"Dad?"

TV Guide interviews Josh Schwartz the man who created a bit of a ruckus is summer with his comments at the San Diego ComicCon. He does seem more guarded and cautious, revealing little beyond what the cast (notably Zac Levi and Yvonne Strahovski) have already said. But there is some interesting new information.

TVGuide.com: Does he always have in the back of his mind that being a spy puts his family in even more danger?
Schwartz: Yeah, and that’s really going to be at the forefront this year. Captain Awesome [Ryan McPartlin] found out last year and he’s going to be thrust into this world to a much higher degree than even Chuck anticipated. We get to see how awesome Awesome really is.

Awesome as hero! I like that.

And about Chuck and Sarah?

TVGuide.com: What are we going to see with their relationship this season?
Schwartz: A lot of good stuff. When we start off the season, it’s very clear that something traumatic has happened between Chuck and Sarah in the intervening time. You’ll eventually see what that was. As they start to realize that she is at the heart of whether or not he operates properly as a spy, it only complicates the relationship further. There’s really good internal barriers to them being a couple and there’s also external forces in the form of Brandon Routh and Kristin Kreuk, which further complicates things.

To me, that sounds “intense” (and I’ve admitted already that this is what captured me so thoroughly at the end of S2). That’s “intense” as opposed to “traumatic”.

I also find interesting his choice of the words “external forces” to describe Routh and Kreuk, and I assume, their characters, Shaw and Hannah.

Okay, I’m trying desperately to retain my composure, and I’m failing more every day.  Everything I’ve seen or heard (and even some of the more intelligent guesswork on the boards) has made me more excited for Jan. 10 and season 3.  The teasers have been – well, awesome, and intelligent beyond my expectations.  What I’ve seen so far has surprised me.

And that’s the least surprising thing of all.

30 days and counting!

– joe

About joe

In my life I've been a professor, martial artist, rock 'n roller, rocket scientist, lover, poet and brain surgeon. I'm lying about the brain surgery.
This entry was posted in Found On-Line, Observations. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 10 Questions For Josh Schwartz

  1. OldDarth says:

    Yep. Hard to believe! Down to a month now! WooT!

  2. Gord says:

    JS had an interesting choice of words, when it came to Shaw and Hannah.
    Although, I think I’m a shipper, I’m actually looking forward to seeing how these characters interact with Team Bartowski.

    I am also looking forward to seeing how intersect 2.0 ends up affecting Chuck and Sarah’s relationship.

    I think this season will be amazing. Hard to believe we are so close to the start of S3, yet so far away.

  3. atcdave says:

    I don’t know you guys, JS has exactly the opposite effect on me, every time he opens his mouth I loose interest. He has a way of putting me off.

    It always feels like he wants to simplify the adventure part of the show, and complicate the romance. I would vastly prefer the opposite.

    • joe says:

      If I’m reading the boards correctly, this is probably the most common reaction to JS, Dave.

      But honestly, it’s not mine. I’m not sure why, but my interpretation of his words never seem to be the same as others’, even the ComicCon stuff. I’ve had to literally study other people’s reactions to get a sense of what was so upsetting. Then I see it in his words, post-hoc.

  4. Rick Holy says:

    I’m with atcdave. Don’t get me wrong – I’m looking forward to the season and think (o.k. – I mean HOPE) it will be great – but any (every?) time we hear from J.S., for some reason what he says or the his choice of words seems to cast a pall on tings – and usually at the most inopportune times.

    Nothing personal – I’m sure he’s a fine fellow – but some people have a knack for saying things the “right” way, while others tend to say them the “wrong” way. That’s why press secretaries or P.R. people for big corporations are carefully selected. HOW you say something – what words you choose and on what occasions – in other words, how you “finese it” – is just as important as WHAT you’re saying.

    I think someone previously commented on this site – and I don’t remember who it was – that J.S. is creatively very astute, but when it comes to P.R., let’s just say he’s less than astute. Hey – one can’t be good at EVERYTHING, after all!

    Maybe it’s best to leave TPTB interviews to Fedak.

    • atcdave says:

      It is ironic he’s a writer, you’d think there would more overlap between those skill sets. As I’ve said, I take courage when looking at the show to date, I think all the worst case scenarios are unlikely; but everytime he opens his mouth I have to repeat the process all over…

      Perhaps its clumsy words combined with the Gossip Girl connection that makes me nervous!

  5. Fake Empire says:

    Interesting tidbit on Wikipedia: Josh Schwartz’s contract with Warner Bros. as executive producer of Chuck is for only three years. That would make it expire after this season. Will the show merit a renewal? Will he be worth renewing to Warner Bros? I’m terrible at linking, but look him up on Wikipedia if interested.

    • atcdave says:

      Yeah, that’s been discussed before. I really don’t wish ill of anyone, but I do hope he’s more engaged in other projects and lets Chuck go after this season. Its hard to say just from interviews, but I think CFs interests are a little closer to what I hope for, I think he would be better as the senior; of course we really don’t know if he’s up to managing all the other details that go with being top dog. But it does seem like there will be some shake-up going into S4.

      • Gord says:

        They could just renew his contract. I don’t know a lot about show business, but I wonder how much of a hand he has in the day to day running of Chuck anyways. I know he has a lot of projects on the go, and with all the talent in Chuck’s creative team, he is probably quite willing to let the other staff carry the ball most of the time.

  6. Ernie Davis says:

    I think the more important question is who owns Chuck. Not the shows that have been delivered, but the rights to write and shoot those characters. If it is WB, I say great, JS can go. If he owns the show, I hope this season makes it worth renewing at a price he’s willing to offer it.

    • atcdave says:

      That’s a great point, its possible they have to have him to continue. And to Gord above I would add, I don’t think he does run much of the day to day work, or write much of anything now. But in his current position he does have final say over everything; I think CF and the current writers could do a better job without his oversight. And I admit, I have no idea how important, or not, he is to areas other than story; I just really want him out of the story.

  7. Faith says:

    JS likes to stir the pot. He truly believes that angst is the most desired commodity in television and by fans. He couldn’t be further from the truth.

    So I’d take this and all the spoilers that’s been revealed so far with a grain of salt. Until the epis actually get here we don’t know if it’s the angst we so hate, or the ship we so love that will win out in the end. I’m choosing to think positively for now lol.

    Meanwhile not to get off topic but I am obsessed with fanvids (it’s a disease) and I came across this and was reminded once again why I ship Chuck and Sarah and why I love Chuck.

  8. Faith says:

    oops thought it would do that. If I could edit my post I’d make it into a link instead haha. Anyways enjoy 🙂

    -ChuckNewbie8 aka Jem.

    • joe says:

      Heh! Let me join you!
      Here’s my favorite – Darth Razorback’s own “Signs of Fear”.

      • Faith says:

        Oh my, darthrazorback. Nothing beats his Chuck and the Skinny love. Nothing lol. Though that comes close (now a youtube fav of mine!).

        I could make a thread just about this. Would fill me up for days lol.

        LOL Carina was in the vid. Talk about one of the few exciting spoilers that’s been leaked out there.

        -ChuckNewbie8 aka Jem

      • Rick Holy says:

        Faith – YOU ROCK. I love these fanvids, too. What would we do w/o YOUTUBE??

Leave a Reply

