A Very Big Question

Promo #13 Really, Officially, Spoils Us

I must be some sort of masochist, because I almost wish that I hadn’t seen it. – Yes, the reveal here is so good, that the only way I could think to make it better would be to surprise me with it on the 10th.

But it’s an official NBC promo, and certainly has the blessings of every one involved. So who am I to argue?

It’s so funny/cool/great that everything we’ve heard up to now has been leading to this, and the worst of our fears at the end of season 2 were merely an artifact made worse by the long wait. Those fears were that important things were going to be dropped on the floor and simply ignored.  After seeing this promo, it very much appears to my eyes that they’re not!

Now, if you haven’t seen this new promo yet, Sarah asks a very important question, one that’s been asked before, but not by her. From what we know about season 3 already, I think we know Chuck’s answer, but that may not be as important as Sarah asking at all.

Now I have one. How do we want Chuck to answer her? I know what I want to hear (“Go with your heart, buddy. Our brains just screw things up!”), but I also know that this is my stilted imagination leading me to a premature dead end. I think. Others make excellent arguments to the contrary. Now, I still hold to my earlier statement that I’m far more interested in seeing the fruits of the creator’s imaginations than my own, but I can’t deny that I know what my overly-romantic heart wants to see (and soon)! We also have to notice that when Chuck or Sarah (or other characters, too) have come to a decision, it’s often not final. Like real people, they’re entitled to change their minds.

I expect to be on the verge of heartbreak. I expect that I’ll be yelling at the TV (again), and ruminating darkly for hours or days, if this comes up in episode 3.

I expect to be back the very next episode. And I expect every moment to be worth it.

– joe

About joe

In my life I've been a professor, martial artist, rock 'n roller, rocket scientist, lover, poet and brain surgeon. I'm lying about the brain surgery.
This entry was posted in Angst, Found On-Line, Observations. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to A Very Big Question

  1. atcdave says:

    My guess is this is from 3.01; but we won’t know all the details for a while yet. Again, just making things up here; but my money is on Chuck says yes, but something intervenes. Either the trip is a disaster, or never happens at all (bet on the later). Will Sarah blame Chuck when things go wrong? Will she sink into her lonely place and give up entirely on a life with Chuck? How long will it take them to work through whatever goes wrong?
    My feeling is, that this leads directly to the traumatic event we’ve heard much about; and they’ll be sorting through the wreckage until 3.12 or so. I don’t mean it will be all heartache for our heroes, but I do think this will bring into focus their central problem(s).

  2. Ernie Davis says:

    I’m going to weigh in quickly, I am writing a post on S3 Chuck and Sarah for the NBC board that this directly touches on although I’m trying to decide whether to post or revise first. Writing time is a bit more precious lately what with getting the tree and picking relatives up at the airport.

    Quick aside, I’m in my ancestral homeland of western PA. My cousin and I drive his dad’s 4WD pickup down icy snow covered farm tracks to where the guy at the barn told us there were some nice Canaan Firs. Park the truck and hike over snow covered hills and fields. He’s in full Cabela’s hunting gear, me in my old hiking boots and parka. A light snow is falling. NOW it feels like I’m finally home for Christmas. Anyway, got the tree. Everyone says it’s too small but has a nice shape. Yep, I’m home.

    So, back to the topic. I’ve felt for a while that there was only one thing ever standing in the way of Chuck Bartowski and Sarah Walker being together. Sarah Walker. So much of my frustration in the Ring has nothing to do with Chuck, but with Sarah’s utterly inconceivable inability to articulate any feeling whatsoever. I may expand on this in the the discussion of the Ring, but thought it appropriate here. I think the major source of angst this season is going to be Sarah coming to terms with the fact that she blew it. She could have had Chuck at any time she wanted and I think this season she’ll realize that, and realize she may have missed her chance.

    • atcdave says:

      That is an interesting idea, I could certainly see being among their issues. But I still think the biggie will be Chuck trying to win Sarah over when in fact, he already has. Chuck is completely convinced Sarah wants Bryce or Cole (I’m sure Shaw will be added to that list before its over), and that’s what he will try to be. All the while, Sarah’s main concern will be Chuck being corrupted by his new profession. Obviously, her inability to clearly say how she feels will complicate the situation.
      I do think its an over statement to say Sarah is the only thing coming between them. She may be more aware of the obstacles than Chuck is, but that doesn’t mean they are all internal to her. There would clearly be professional issues with her being involved with Chuck; they’re not insurmountable, but they do require some careful planning; and Sarah would not have considered it until Colonel.

      • joe says:

        You just inspired a thought, Dave.

        I think that you’re right – Sarah is (and has been) more aware of the situation they’re in, and the difficulties that lay ahead.

        But Chuck is more self-aware and imaginative in the way he approaches those obstacles that are in front of them, once they’re revealed.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I do think its an over statement to say Sarah is the only thing coming between them. She may be more aware of the obstacles than Chuck is, but that doesn’t mean they are all internal to her. There would clearly be professional issues with her being involved with Chuck; they’re not insurmountable, but they do require some careful planning; and Sarah would not have considered it until Colonel.

        I agree that many are professional and have to do with external things, but as we’ve seen many times Sarah has no problem breaking the rules when she wants to or feels she needs to. Perhaps in the sense that the 59B was beyond her control and she feared that she could lose Chuck completely we might consider some of the professional issues beyond her control and not just a decision to maintain professionalism in some circumstances and then toss it aside when she felt the need to do so.

        But I was speaking mostly of the Ring. If you watch the “proposal” scene Chuck may have steamrolled her to get out what he had obviously taken some time to screw up his courage to say, but Sarah could have said anything she wanted, she had all the time she needed. Instead she said she was leaving with Bryce the next morning. Then, Chuck standing dumfounded she decides she needs to apologize. Her apology? I’m sorry, I wanted to wait till after the wedding to tell you.

        There is another part of this that bugs me I’ll touch on in another post I have in mind for the Ring discussion.

      • atcdave says:

        Sorry I missed that context, I would agree in The Ring the hold up is all Sarah. Chuck may have handled himself poorly, but it was certainly a bad moment for Sarah. We can make some effort to understand what she was thinking; but I would say the simple fact we’ve spent 7 months arguing over motivation indicates it was one of those scenes written for impact, with little respect for the characters (or fans).
        The moment she changes her mind is wonderful, but even that is betrayed by no acknowledgement between them.
        Much of my excitement for S3 is that by all appearances, they will deal the things they need to.

  3. Fake Empire says:

    Whoa . . . I just now saw the promo on YouTube because the iPhone won’t play videos on Chuck Me Out. I have this incredible mix of excitement and foreboding. Sarah is really going out on a limb for Chuck; I feel as if I cannot blame her for any romance difficulties during this season. She put caution into the wind! It seems like such a seismic shift in her: being emotionally unavailable with mixed messages to now being open and sacrificial. Wow: a vulnerable Sarah. It’s taking me time to digest . . .

    No doubt, the plan doesn’t work or else there’d be no S3, but what is/are the barrier(s)? Chuck again choosing the greater good? (poor Sarah!) Or as Dave suggested: they do run, but something happens to convince them they can run, but can’t hide – which would jive with some promo clips (being shot at and running; she asks what happened and he says “something awesome!,” etc.).

    Ok – time to watch it again.

    • joe says:

      Hum… There were so many scenes in S2 and S1 in particular, when I wanted to shake Chuck up and just tell him “Don’t be an idiot. SHUT UP!”, or to Sarah “Don’t be a fool. SAY SOMETHING!” I don’t think I’ll be saying that much any more.

  4. Gord says:

    I found the promo very intriguing. I agree that some external force is going to get in the way of them following through. I do believe what will stop them is Chuck’s sense of duty. What ever changes, I believe the bulk of the season they will be trying to work out how to be together and still do the job.
    I know a lot of people don’t like the angst, but the problem of balancing career and relationship as long as it is done well can be very gripping. It should keep us on the edge of our seats.

    • atcdave says:

      Yeah, that would certainly be a more legitimate use of angst than a PLI. Knowing Chuck and Sarah share a goal of being together, and are trying to make it a reality, is far more palatable than another round of triangles.

      • joe says:

        I’m reaching that conclusion too. I recognize that there’s angst of some sort (probably in abundance) going on in the promos, but wow – I want to see this stuff develop. I think what I said before may be more true than I thought. There’s all kinds of angst, and not all of it is bad.

    • joe says:

      Gord, S3 has not yet begun and already I’m on the edge of my seat!

  5. Rick Holy says:

    I know in the promos that have been released we heard much earlier on Chuck say something to the effect of “Some really important people told me that I could save the world” (or something to that effect).

    Is that perhaps the answer to Sarah’s question to run away with her? Now he can’t because he feels the duty/obligation to “save the world” (as was alluded to previously in this thread).

    Will be interesting to see how it pans out. Just no more of the TEENangst, please. I’ll take mine of the adult variety.

    Season 3 IS looking GREAT, however!! Can’t wait!

    If this is my last post before Christmas – A Merry & Blessed Christmas to you all – and if Christmas is not your December holiday, then “Happy X” (you fill in the X !!) Peace, all!

  6. Faith says:

    Oh god I have so many thoughts, it’s all over the place on that one promo alone.

    But through it all there’s this hope that those two kids will figure things out and finally be together 🙂

    -ChuckNewbie8 aka Jem.

    • joe says:

      Exactly the way I feel! I’ve been reluctant to comment, because my head (or something!) is starting to spin with all the possibilities.

      So very cool!

  7. OldDarth says:

    Great moments in that clip but I wish NBC had not show them in a promo. Much prefer to see them in their proper context. Now expectations are being set and if not met will generate unwanted ill will.

    However it plays out keep in the mind the screener previews have stated the first two episodes could be considered a two partner. I take that to mean that items set up in the first one probably won’t get answered until the second one.

    Also, whatever happens, remember that adult and mature conversations – once again highlighted in the screener previews – are sure to to follow.

    So be patient and try to with hold judgment till the second hour is over.

    • joe says:

      Yeah, we’re on the same wavelength with that.

      I’d like everyone to know that you asked some great questions of Magnus in CYT’s podcast #15, Lou. The whole thing was fun (unless you really mind the “explicatives-deleted”, as we used to say in the Watergate days ;> )

      And Happy Holidays to you, too. I hope our Canadian friends don’t freeze while waiting for Santa.

  8. OldDarth says:

    Oh and Happy Holidays to you too Rick. And, of course, everyone els.

  9. lou federico says:

    Is chuck selecting the Greater Good instead of personal happiness? Casey will be proud. At least the Elephant is now seen in the room and it is out there. Bad thing is once a person that emotionally constipated puts herself out there and gets rejected then she puts on even more armour. Plus she is a trained CIA assassin. Not the best move in the world. This will be fun. Let Burn down “the House” this year!!!

  10. lou federico says:

    Happy Chuckmas to all. Thanks for this great web-site Joe and your passion. Thanks to Gord for being Canadian and to Tim Hortons for the great coffee. Thanks to Old Darth for having the best first name every. Thanks to ACTDave for being my Michigan Brother and to CN8 the biggest Shipper in the world. Have a safe and happy holiday everybody!!!!! Merry Christmas to everybody else (except the Nazi of the NBC Board). Sorry forgiveness Merry Christmas to the worst mod in nbc board history. Good Carma now!! L

    • joe says:

      Right back at ya, “New” Lou! ;>

      Welcome to our little group. You’re posing some great questions above, and made one heck of an observation about Sarah! I have to think about that one.

      Merry Christmas and HAPPY CHUCK YEAR!

  11. OldDarth says:

    From one Lou to another – the same to you. Like Gord, I am too Canadian! So double thanks!! 😉

Leave a Reply

