And To All…

Oh, The Anticipation!

Of Christmas, silly! As Stephen might say, we’re a little bit crazy here, with our preoccupation with a television show and imaginary characters. But it’s a good kind of crazy. And this time of year, it’s good to be a little childish.

So I’d like you all to do me a favor. Put this away for a little bit. Just for now, forget about intersects, and spies, and Rings and flashes. Instead, think about a few things that are more important; friends, family, loved ones. Think about those times when things got difficult and someone helped you through it. Or be kind to yourself and remember the times you did that for someone.

Or do this. Believe that the girl behind the cash register may indeed have a little Sarah Walker in her. Or that the guy delivering pizza today might be the one who fixes your video camera this spring, right before your daughter’s dance recital. It may feel strange at first. But life is weird that way. Every day you have people around you who’ve done you a good turn. (Yeah, you do.) It’s good to recognize this, especially this time of year, if only inwardly, because it really is something special. Seeing good in others is how we begin to rise above the mundane ourselves.

We’re about to get some presents; Season 1 or 2 DVDs, new promos, Season 3, and apparently, a whole new Chuck. I have no idea how I’m going to handle the rush of information and emotions that are coming on the 10th and 11th. Most likely, I’ll be sitting as dumbfounded as Casey at the end of The Ring, mouth open, capable of saying only “uhhhhh…” But I’ll do my best to best to understand all the things that are happening to Chuck when he returns, and to give you an opportunity to say what you think is going on. – and to tell us what you think. If there’s news of interest, I’ll put it here.

But take the time to enjoy the holidays, your friends and family.

Merry Christmas, and Happy New Year!

– joe

About joe

In my life I've been a professor, martial artist, rock 'n roller, rocket scientist, lover, poet and brain surgeon. I'm lying about the brain surgery.
This entry was posted in Administrative, Fan Base. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to And To All…

  1. amyabn says:

    Hi all and greetings from Qatar. Joe, you are right on, as usual. I know from first hand experience how hard it is to be away from family and friends (and being able to regularly contribute to my favorite blog!). I have been having a hard time getting into the holiday spirit, being surrounded by sand and desert, but I stopped and really looked at how blessed I am. Your article is timely and while I am going crazy waiting for 1/10/10, it is always good to take a step back and appreciate friends, family, and the general goodness in people. God Bless you all!

    • Gord says:

      Amy, I know what you are going through, as I have been on military service over Christmas periods before. I hope you have a very Merry Christmas.

      • Zsjaer says:

        Merry Christmas to all of you and thanks for letting me know about this Blog! i really love this Show! 🙂

  2. OldDarth says:

    Merry Christmas, and Happy New Year!

  3. Faith says:

    Before I do, allow me to dwell on this for a minute:
    More goodies and clips!

    Awesome! lol. I like the clip where Chuck says, “it’ll work, trust me” and Sarah says, “ok, I trust you.” Aww.

    Ok that’s it I promise. Merry christmas to all of you, and happy holidays too. May you and yours get all that you wish for this holiday season be it peace on earth or the rebounding of the financial markets (hey it could happen! afterall Chuck was rescued from certain death lol).

  4. Fake Empire says:

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all of you and your loved ones. I pray you remain blessed, healthy, and safe.

  5. Rick Holy says:

    Merry Christmas! (Happy Birthday – to me – 46th!), Happy New Year, and Happy any other holiday you might be celebrating!!

    Keep up the AWESOME work everybody in promoting the heck out of this GREAT show to everybody you know!!

    And “BRING ON THE CHUCK!!!”

    Peace, all! And come Jan. 10th and 11th – ROCK ON – and don’t forget to make ’em “Subway” nights!!

  6. Ernie Davis says:

    Appropriate havoc has been wreaked on the carefully wrapped gifts. Between lightsaber duels and ducking RC helicopter flights I managed to get the turkey in the oven. And now a short break to wish all a Merry Christmas (or other holiday of your choice).

    And happy birthday Rick, welcome to the big 46 with ATCDave and I.

  7. Rick Holy says:

    Thanks, Joe, Ernie, et. al. I spent my birthday SICK IN BED. Oh well, God has a sense of humor. Thanks to a Zpack and two days of rest, I was at least funcitonal for Masses today (Christmas). My pastor took care of the vigil and Mindnight Masses (thanks be to God).

    Again, everyone – a Merry Christmas (or Happy “whatever”) to you all – and Have a Rockin’ Happy CHUCK New Year in 2010!!

    Looking forward to a GREAT, GREAT, AWESOME S3!!

    Peace!!!

    Now it’s off for the three-hour trip through Northern Indiana’s icy and soon to be snow covered roads to go spend the remainder of Christmas with Mom and the siblings. Take care, all. And CAREFUL if you’re traveling anywhere!!

  8. lou federico says:

    Merry CHRISTMAS TO ALL!!! MAY THE NEW YEAR MAKE ALL OF YOUR WISHES COME TRUE. PERSONALLY, I WANT TO SEE “THE HOUSE” BURN THIS YEAR. I LOOKED ON MY DVR AND SAW CHUCK ON THE LIST!!! NO BETTER PRESENT THEN THAT. AMY KEPT SAFE.

Leave a Reply

