What About The Fat Kid???

Sucker!

Colonel Casey

Colonel Casey

Compared to Chuck and Sarah, what we know about Colonel John Casey barely fills a thimble. But don’t kid yourself – Unlike Sarah, Casey is transparent. Unlike Chuck, he has no hidden talents and surprises. And unlike the others, we know his politics. Casey salutes a 4″x6″ picture of former President Ronald Reagan, probably daily. I’ll wager he voted for McCain in the last election. He’ll tell you he doesn’t care either way, but I’m certain he wants Guantanamo kept open.

Casey has the biggest burden to bear of all the main characters. No, not Chuck; Casey only catches him when he falls. He has to put up with the most annoying romance in his life, and that’s been quite an effort. Occasionally it leaves him subsisting on “Hot Pockets” and, I believe, Johnny Walker Red.

Waaayyyy back in vs. The Helicopter, John Casey was less than happy with his latest assignment. Not only was he babysitting a nerd, he also had to put up with a cover that’s, well, somewhat less than dignified. He had to blend in with the Buy Morons! Ugh. Casey can pilot jet aircraft, but can he sell Grill-Masters? That’s not exactly in his skill-set, and it’s not even his biggest headache.

Casey didn’t trust the CIA. As far as he was concerned, Bryce was (very past tense) a traitor, and he considered Bryce’s former partner guilty by association. Agent Walker needed to prove herself, and she was not going to do that by cozying up to the skin-covered robot. It’s easy to create doubt in the minds of the gullible, but in the world-wise and cynical, doubt is always present. He trusted no one. Throughout his long association with Agent Walker and the poster boy for friendly fire, that doesn’t change. Lucky for us, it evolved.

Don't You Forget That!

Don't You Forget That!

But even as Casey evolves, he remains true to his principles, every bit as much as Chuck. Duty, honor, country; He understands and respects other codes, even civilian codes, and we see that when he finds Chuck will put the welfare of friends and family above his own. “Semper Fi” is his Rosetta stone, the way he understands Chuck.

Casey started to trust Sarah early, when she tells Chuck in Helicopter that he can decide right here and now to trust her or be bunkered for a long time. She stood up to Chuck’s implicit threat in the pilot when he stood up to them. “You – you need me.” Casey has already learned to respect Agent Walker’s skills, when she battles him to a standstill in the Weinerlicious. And despite all the needling and insistence on going by the book, Casey showed her his priorities in Colonel. Teammates come first, then help those who’ve served their country honorably, then follow orders. Chuck is not the only one he catches when she falls.

I have no idea what S3 will bring for Casey, but I think that his final line, “Chuck me!”, tells us he finds the new situation “interesting”. That’s “interesting” in the sense of the Chinese curse “May you live in interesting times.” His new mission will probably have something to do with the fact that four of his men were murdered by The Ring. In addition, we’ve got suspicions that there’s some history and “Casey back-story” that have yet to be revealed.

I'll go warm up the Vic.

I'll go warm up the Vic.

The promos and posters feature Chuck and Sarah, and barely show his existence. Yet Casey is integral, and almost always present, more like a big brother than team leader. He’s a pain, and is always giving orders. But the big brother is the one you go too when you’re 16 and need a ride. And you count on him when the bullies gang up on you. We know with the introduction of a new “team leader”, Shaw, that things can’t go smoothly for him.

And we know Casey is as big a reason to enjoy season 3 as Chuck and Sarah.

– joe

About joe

In my life I've been a professor, martial artist, rock 'n roller, rocket scientist, lover, poet and brain surgeon. I'm lying about the brain surgery.
This entry was posted in Fan Base, Inside Casey, Observations. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to What About The Fat Kid???

  1. OldDarth says:

    Oh Yeah. Can’t wait to see what is in store for his character. Based on what we have heard later in the season it sounds great. Earlier on he will have his hands full training Chuck and bumping heads with Shaw no doubt.

  2. Lucian says:

    Given the fact that Casey was within seconds of kiling Chuck in “First Date”, I would question your hierarchy of alligiences.

  3. OldDarth says:

    Chuck and Casey reporting to Morgan! Priceless!

  4. atcdave says:

    The whole idea (from First Date) that Casey would kill an innocent civilian, illegal orders or no, is the most troubling aspect of his character. I think it is safe to say he wouldn’t consider it again, but we really aren’t sure how much he’s grown in that area. It is a part of the UCMJ that an immoral order is illegal, so it would be nice to see Casey grapple with this issue on a higher plane than “General say kill Chuck, but I like Chuck.” But I’m quite sure the writers themselves don’t hold military types in very high regard, so this seems unlikely to ever happen.

    As Lucian observed, if a similar order came down again, I’m pretty sure Casey would tell Sarah to give them a head start; or maybe even help with some cover to help them get out of Dodge. It will be very interesting to see Casey’s growth and loyalties this season.

    • joe says:

      Yeah – no doubt the whole idea of Casey following (more or less obviously) illegal orders is a bit bogus, and comes close to giving up the suspension of disbelief that the show relies on, if you’re at all up on the issues. But it sure made for some exciting watching!

      If TBBT had Sheldon say that Velikovsky was right when he said that Venus came from Jupiter at the time of the Pharaohs, they’d be called on it too. (Of course, it’s not clear where he falls on the “Is Pluto a Planet?” conundrum ;>)

      • atcdave says:

        OK Joe, you win the prize for obscure reference of the day! I read the rather interesting link; which to me poses the profound question – how did you ever hear of this guy?!

      • joe says:

        Just flashed on it, Dave. ;>

        Second smart-alec answer, I found him when searching through the Journal of Useless New Knowledge, my favorite magazine.

        Real answer – Carl Sagan made him rather famous when I was an astronomy student, decades ago (and by famous, I mean infamous). It was all about bad science.

      • atcdave says:

        Well, I guess I just exposed myself as a non-astronomy guy. Now I need to find some obscuro historical or aviation reference…..

  5. lou federico says:

    Still my favorite character. He went from killing and eating pancakes afterwords to working through his “lady feeling in undercover to yelling at Chuck when he thought Cole was winning the battle for Sarah’s heart to telling Forrest that Walker was the best partner he has ever had to telling Sarah to shut it and let Chuck finish(when has he ever wanted to hear Chuck talk more) to saving him and Sarah from jail by lying to General Beckman and going to Elle’s wedding rehershal as a friend. Casey has by far advanced the most of any character on the show. Everybody is making a big deal about the intersect 2.0. I can wait for Casey 2.0. Unleash the Casey!!!!

    • joe says:

      Someday, we all have to figure out who it is on the shows staff that has a thing for pancakes!

      Adam Baldwin is a major hit on twitter. It’s easy to see why.

  6. Gord says:

    There is a reason why you don’t see Casey on the poster. As Chuck clearly stated in First Date “He’s not as Pretty”.

    I can’t imagine where this show would be without Casey. Forget Buy More, in my opinion the comedy that comes from Casey is much better.

    I just finished watching the last of S1 (Marlin) and it was the first time we saw Casey bend the rules for Sarah and Chuck “I’ll go get Lizzie while you find Chuck – don’t make me change my mind”. At that point, I don’t think he did it for Chuck, but because he cared for his partner Sarah. In my mind their big partner bonding moment came in Alma Matter, when they were on the losing end of the gun fight in the lecture hall. For some reason that scene reminded me of the ending of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (dating myself), except that in this case the last stand worked out.

    In S2, he slowly developed the same respect for Chuck and in S3 I think Casey will be a big supporter of “the most annoying romance” if only so he has material for his one-liners. We actually saw a little of this at the end of S2.

    As I was writing this, I thought of something that would be interesting to see. In S1 and S2, Sarah said to Chuck’s girlfriends (Lou and Jill) “Don’t hurt him”. Could anyone see Casey reading the riot act to Shaw?
    “If you hurt my team I will end you”.

    • joe says:

      Heh! Gord, you got it.

      I’ve been concentrating on S2 so long now, that I really need to go back and rewatch S1. Recently I had a bad update introduced on my Linux box, so I had to re-install everything. The drivers for the DVD player are a bit tricky, and a special case. So to test them out I put in the S1 DVD, just to quickly prove to myself that it worked.

      44 min. later, I was through the pilot. Sigh. It’s like potato chips. Ya can’t eat just one.

      But S3 awaits! And now I really want to see Casey say exactly that to Shaw, Gord! ;>

Leave a Reply

