Season 2 discs

We’ve all been aware for some time now that the S2 discs would be out today. I would encourage every fan to support the show by buying either the DVDs or Blu-Ray (or, ahem, both).   So what exactly do you get in the package?

I got the DVDs today, the Blu-Rays were on pre-order and Amazon says they shipped yesterday.   So I will describe the contents based on the DVD set.   It comes on six DVDs;  of course, you get all 22 episodes.   The 3-D episode is in both 2-D and 3-D; but the 3-D is hidden in the special features on disc six.   Deleted scenes are on each disc.   These have all been available on youtube and there are no surprises; but I’m old school enough its good to own them for myself.   All the S2 webisodes are here, as well as several tips from Captain Awesome.   There is also a feature exploring the mythology of Chuck; and another of John Casey doing a government PSA on how to become a spy.   And (I know, its pretty packed) a 20 minute long feature on the action sequences.  Finally, there is another gag real.   All features are fun and well produced, the gag real in particular is better conceived than S1’s was (Although, there is less new material).     Overall, this is a very nice set with a lot of extras.

If you buy from Best Buy, there is also a small Chuck comic as a “free” add in.   When I was there today, they were also running a Chuck feature I hadn’t seen elsewhere   (I’m sure its available on youtube by now, I mean its been a couple hours, right?).   Does Best Buy finally have some marketing tie in with Chuck?    It goes without saying that would be an ideal match.

Update 1/9/2010:    My Blu-Rays finally arrived yesterday.    Some comments; its funny the sleeve is not updated from the DVDs; it still says “all 22 episodes on 6 discs.”   Funny, there’s only 4 discs in the Blu-Ray set.   All episodes and features are included with one significant exception.    Apparently there are different editions in distribution, and they don’t all include the 3-D episode in 3-D.   It is not on the edition many of us pre-ordered from Amazon.   For future reference, I’ll never do that again.   I’ve seen the “deluxe” edition at Best Buy, for cheaper, and it includes the 3-D episode.    I’d probably only watch with the dorky glasses one or two more times anyway, but I’m a little annoyed not to have the choice.

Also, they kept the clumsy menu structure from S1 on the Blu-Rays.   Not sure why, does anyone really want the discs to autoplay instead of stopping at the top menu first?   Unless you really sit down to watch 6 episodes at a time everytime, it isn’t exactly convenient.

About atcDave

I'm 54 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 31 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Season 2 discs

  1. Ernie Davis says:

    Mine have said out for delivery since 5AM this morning. I’m still waiting. And waiting. And waiting.

  2. Gord says:

    I went to Buy More – I mean Best Buy right after work, and they had the blu ray on for only $5 more than the dvd set (at least here in Canada) – but were unfortunately sold out of the blu ray already and only had a handfull of the DVDs left. Thankfully, right next door is Future Shop, which had the blu ray and matched the price + took a little bit more off (a tip for all you Canadian Chuck fans to save 5 bucks). Since I got home I have been doing nothing but watch Chuck. Who needs supper right? (OK I did stop to go to the bathroom and zap a bowl of soup in the microwave)

    I managed to get through the first 5 and Delorean (my favourites from the first half of the season). I was wondering why the 2nd disc only seemed to have the 2d version of the 3d episode on it, thanks for the telling me how to find it.

    It is so great to finally see Chuck in HD as I didn’t get my HDTV until late this summer. I am going to try to get through all of S2 before the premiere, but am starting with my favourites just in case I don’t make it through all of them.
    What a great way to get ready for Jan 10.

  3. joe says:

    Still no joy! (sniff)!

    And we who are about to d still must watch in lo-res salute you!

  4. Ernie Davis says:

    Finally got my delivery. Spent too much time watching them for a school night.

  5. OldDarth says:

    LOL! Chuck S2 BluRay opens with a Brandon Routh SuperMan flyby of the Warner logo. Foreshadowing or what!

  6. Rick Holy says:

    Got both the DVD and the Blu Ray. But experiencing something odd with the Blu Ray. On Disc one, it doesn’t go to a menu where you can choose which episode, etc. It just has like a WB logo and then it immediately launches into episode one where Colt is holding Chuck upside down. When I hit “disc menu” on the remote, instead of going to an episode list, it just brings up a menu of deleted scenes! I’m stumped! Is anyone else experiencing any “weirdities” with their Blu Ray copies??

    • atcdave says:

      I haven’t got the S2 Blu-Rays yet, but S1 did launch directly into the episode instead of the menu. I much prefer the menu structure of the DVDs, although, obviously, hi-def rocks.

      I would think, when you hit menu, you should get an episode list. Are there chapter stops, or can you skip easily from one episode to the next? It may be your disc is defective, although that is a glitch I’ve never seen! Hopefully, my Blu-Rays will come today, and I’ll post here how mine work.

    • Gord says:

      I have 2 menu buttons on my controller – one is called disc menu and the other is labelled popup menu (above the button)/ title menu (below the button). The title menu is the only one that will bring up the episodes for me, and will only work once the disc is playing. It is rather annoying, and my S1 blu ray works the same way.
      You might want to look over your blue ray controller and see if it has a similar button.

    • atcdave says:

      Good point Gord, different manufacturers use different labels; I’ve also seen “Menu” and “Top Menu” (OD mentions “Pop-up Menu” on a PS3). On my S1 Blu-Rays I know it was the “Menu” button (used it more times than I care to admit!), but as they say, individual results may vary!

    • Ernie Davis says:

      I think “menu” usually goes up one level in the tree. Try it twice unless you have a “top menu” button.

  7. OldDarth says:

    You have to hit the pop up menu when the episode is playing. That is with a PS3 BR remote – not sure what the corresponding button is on others.

  8. OldDarth says:

    Josh Schwartz tweeted this upcoming music sneakpeek for Season3:

    http://blip.fm/profile/JoshSchwartz76/blip…pe-40_Day_Dream

  9. atcdave says:

    I’ve got an update above on the Blu-Rays.

Leave a Reply

