Ratings And Around The Wires

It’s The Only Game In Town

Early numbers are in for Monday’s episode, and the most pessimistic reading says that they were “solid”.  Reactions go up from there. You’ll see that Chuck got at 2.6 in the 18-49 demo and 7.3 million viewers, but other sources say that the last half hour was at 2.7. If that holds up, it is an excellent number, especially for a Monday night, and most especially for NBC.  Chuck‘s showday + 1 (DVR) viewing have always been excellent.

Increases during the course of the hour are a good thing.  2.6 for NBC on a Monday is even better!  With a 2.1, Heros (the show following Chuck on NBC) appears to be in extremis.

Interested in what the rest of the season might hold? Yvonne and Adam give a tantalizing hint or two to Michael Ausiello. “The best is yet to come.”

Tell me anything, Yvonne! I’ll believe you!!! (love-struck sigh…) ;>

– joe

About joe

In my life I've been a professor, martial artist, rock 'n roller, rocket scientist, lover, poet and brain surgeon. I'm lying about the brain surgery.
This entry was posted in Found On-Line, Rumors. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Ratings And Around The Wires

  1. Rick Holy says:

    I think the numbers are solid. Let’s face it, CHUCK has done better in that time slot (against tough competition) than – it seems – anything else that NBC has put in that slot.

    Hopefully there can be a little increase over the season. Last night’s episode was great – alot of fun – more of the kind of CHUCK entertainment that we’re used to.

    Keep spreading the word. “If you build it, he will come!” If you keep talking about it, eventually people will watch!

    And don’t forget Subway! I still say if it comes down to being on the bubble, Subway can again be a help – as long as they’re seeing a return on their investment (esp. on Monday nights). No they won’t be the savior, but they can certainly help save us if we’re on the bubble again.

    I wonder if Subway will start any kind of CHUCK promotion. I saw a little sign in my local Subway for The Biggest Loser (another NBC program). Would make sense to do CHUCK once the Subway product integration starts up again. (From what I’ve heard, by episode 5 or 6 the “footlongs” will make their celebrated return to the show). After all, Big Mike can’t survive just on donuts!

    Keep up the great work, everybody.

    Keep on Chuckin’ !!!

  2. atcdave says:

    Very exciting about the ratings. Hopefully, with a couple of good episodes, we’ll start to see more good buzz, and those numbers will creep up further. I’m the most optimistic I’ve been yet for S4!

  3. atcdave says:

    Funny how Yvonne is usually so much more encouraging than any of the writers! I would say, things everyone wants to see in episodes 6-10 is quite specific.

  4. Lucian says:

    Her comments were good news. Hope springs eternal!

  5. Ernie Davis says:

    Check out the very detailed casting call over at ChuckTV. It seems Chuck and Sarah are spending a lot of time together in their compartment while on a train trip. Hmmm, could Chuck be getting a do-over on that train ride and running away with Sarah, at least for a bit.

    • herder says:

      It’s funny, I was thinking of how the writers like to bring things around this morning and thought “what if she asked him to run again”, there is no way Chuck would turn down Sarah twice. But it would have to be part of some plot where they couldn’t trust their own side. The show could split between Chuck and Sarah running and Casey trying to protect Morgan and the Awesomes.

      • atcdave says:

        I think that actually could be a fun story. But it could only work as a short term fix. As I’ve said before, Chuck is too entwined with his family and friends; I think Sarah would find he wasn’t the Chuck she fell in love with if he were reduced to a life of looking over his shoulder, and having no contact with old friends and family. But for a few episodes that could be a blast; of course we’re talking kind of about an expanded Colonel scenario, what fan wouldn’t want that!

  6. weaselone says:

    I though Adam’s comments were interesting. Any theories about his “You don’t wanna jump a shark uh even if it is a superman shark” comment?

    Is he dropping the hint that Shaw isn’t exactly what he seems and that Sarah won’t be doing quite as much jumping on him as some fans fear?

  7. OldDarth says:

    I took Adam’s comments to mean that the showrunners and cast are very cognizant of the fact that having Sarah sleep with anyone other than Chuck, even SuperMan, is a show killer.

    • joe says:

      Oh yes; very cognizant. They could have Chuck be intimate with Jill, but Sarah? I don’t think the character will be able to be intimate with anyone but Chuck, and that, only after a lot more healing has occurred. Maybe it’s a double standard, but I don’t think so.

      With her, intimacy is very much “of the mind”, and marks are a completely different animal. It’s Chuck who won’t be able to handle them, I’ll wager.

      This is very much different from the Brennen character in Bones, by the way.

      • atcdave says:

        I think that’s a good take on it. Of course I’m hoping its even better news than that. Somehow, when the dust settles, I’d like to know she was never even really interested in anyone else. I’m really having problems with the idea that Sarah, who has problems with intimacy and commitment, and rejected Chuck because he chose to be a spy; would then get involved with her boss in just a couple episodes (3.07 is supposedly when it all hits the fan). I think it will all play better if she’s trying to get info from/on Shaw; or maybe even if its about Chuck’s training/self-control. Yvonne did describe epis 6-10 as something we would all like. Of course, she could just be playing the PR game, or be utterly clueless. She also could mean things set in motion in 3.06 that will resolve well by 3.10. So many possibilities!

        So far, I would say the relationship has been fairly torturous, which coincides well with her earlier comments. I just hope it doesn’t get too much worse before it gets better. (for the record, I actually expect it will get worse first, I just hope it doesn’t).

  8. Lucian says:

    I hope that is part of Chuck’s “Chuckness” that doesn’t change. IMO its one of his best qualities.

  9. lou federico says:

    I am a idiot and was wrong about my prediction on the ratings. Very Soild at a 2.6 with House moving up its season premire. Loved the last two episodes and I allowed my dislike for the first cloud my judgement. Next week is a big one too!!!

    • atcdave says:

      I’m on the same page with you on all counts! Thrilled by the solid ratings; didn’t like 3.01 at all; liked 3.02 a lot; loved 3.03!

      • joe says:

        I just watched 3.02 for the second time. I almost forget my initial reaction (I seem to recall my wife’s reaction better!), but this time, I was thrilled with it.

        Chuck has two major speeches, one in the courtyard when he’s trying to save Carina and the other, on the thumbdrive-saved scene in the vault that Sarah sees at the end. In both, Sarah’s reactions are much more important than Chuck’s words, which was the focus of my attention the first time through.

        That, and Morgan comes off even better on the second viewing. Carina’s “had better, but not very many!”

      • atcdave says:

        Yeah, I watched it for the second time with my wife, right before 3.03 was on. Not only did I like it a lot; she was very happy to see a good Chuckisode. Better reaction than 3.01 got. I’m back at work tomorrow, it will be interesting to see what more casual fans of Chuck thought.

        Problem is, now we’re spoiled; only one episode a week seems like a rip-off!

      • joe says:

        Ha! Dave, my wife just walked past and said “Gee – I wish Chuck was on again tonight!”

  10. ChuckNewbie8 says:

    As I was watching the episode last night it occurred to me Chuck is of a dying breed. I don’t just mean the fact that the entire familly can watch it, or the fact that it’s both equally funny and adventurous, actiony and romantic but because it’s all of that and the character depth is beyond anything in television.

    I think we’re finally getting to the point where people are developing discernible taste when it comes to entertainment. Chuck will finally start to win out. 🙂

    Interesting how the last hour got more love though, could it be because of the Chuck-Sarah hug? Haha, jk.

    • atcdave says:

      What is CBS’s Monday line-up? I know its sit-coms; it may be some people watched the 8:00 show on CBS then switched to NBC at 8:30. I don’t relate to ever watching half a show, but something is going on.
      I believe I read somewhere once (how’s that for an authoritative sounding start) that if a Nielson viewer tunes it at 8:01 it doesn’t register until the next half hour. Its hard to believe in this day and age a limitation like that would be accepted by anyone; but again, something is going on.

      • joe says:

        At 8:00 CBS has on How I Met Your Mother, and at 8:30 Accidentally on Purpose.

        House is on at 8:00 on Fox.

        CBS’s comedy line-up continues at 9:00 with 2 1/2 Men and TBBT, which are both ratings blockbusters.

      • atcdave says:

        Isn’t How I Met Your Mother also quite succesful? That may be a big part of the answer.

      • joe says:

        It’s not a show I watch, but it’s been on for several seasons already. I do believe that it’s considered a ratings success.

    • joe says:

      I’m not sure that there’s ever been a show like Chuck before, Faith.

      The classics of bygone eras – Andy Griffin, Bewitched, Father Knows Best, Ozzie and Harriet, Gilligan’s Island, I Love Lucy – they all seem lesser, some how. The comedy was light – good, but of little consequence.

      And the dramas? The Man From U.N.C.L.E. was great, but it’s descendent is NCIS, not Chuck; an occasional chuckle and attractive characters, but no laughs and no intimacy.

      Adventure? Charley’s Angels come to mind, but that seems hardly capable of getting my pulse to race (except when Farrah was on screen, of course).

      The closest thing I’m aware of is still Babylon 5 – THAT made my pulse race, and I cared about them. But comedy? Not hardly. In season 4 there was barely any relief from the drama at all.

      I’m hoping that Chuck is a new breed entirely; a show that make you feel more than one emotion, and makes you care for the characters intensely. As dumb as it might sound for a man my age to say, it’s truly a show that has changed me, somehow.

      • atcdave says:

        I think purely in tone, there are shows that are similar. Burn Notice, Castle, Psych, White Collar; all have action, adventure, comedy, in various ratios. Broadly speaking, it is a time tested formula, and my all time favorite.

        I think several things really set Chuck apart from the crowd though. To me, it starts with Chuck himself. As a lifelong nerd, I never recall a main character I could both identify with and respect so much. So many other elements of the show are extremely well crafted. I can’t think of another show that does so much, so well. For so many of us nerd-boys, its a perfect fantasy; nerd saves the day, nerd gets the girl (um, some day). I can’t answer for women and non-nerds who love the show, but that’s my take.

      • ChuckNewbie8 says:

        The spy thing has obviously been done. Chuck on any given day can give 24 a run for its money. The romance aspect has been done, in fact I’m seeing eerily similar plot points to the Office’s Jim and Pam when it comes to that (I hope not coz I don’t want to wait until season 6 until they get married lol). The comedy, there are some shows that are arguably funnier. In all honesty (and I know I might get flack for this) but Lester and Jeff? Just Dwight and Andy reincarnated. Then if you take into account the dramedy aspect, Pushing Daisies is perhaps the best example (I love PD) of all that.

        But nowhere in television can you get all this and get such complex, like-able characters. Sarah Walker alone has the complexity of all the female lead parts in television today, combined. You add in the likeability of Chuck, and his sense of family? It’s just a special breed. And I would be whipped and quartered if I forget Casey’s one liners! lol.

  11. OldDarth says:

    For me Chuck is a descendant of Quantum Leap. I find the characters of Sam Beckett and Chuck very similar.

    Needless to say, the casting of Scott Bakula as Chuck’s dad is spot on in so many ways.

    • ChuckNewbie8 says:

      Olddarth, in more ways than one.

      I don’t know if you’ve ever seen it but there was this short lived series in CBS called “Mr. and Mrs. Smith” starring Scott Bakula and Maria Bello. Loved it. Major chemistry. Talk about your ironic and freaky similarity lol.

      • Gord says:

        Yes I saw it and loved it, but unfortunately it was very short lived.
        Another series that blended spies, action, comedy and romance was a show called Scarecrow and Mrs King. It starred our very own Papa Awesome Bruce Boxleitner and Kate Jackson (who by the way might make a decent Mama Bartowski).
        Come to think of it Maria Bello might make a decent Moma Walker. Wouldn’t having the whole group make an interesting episode. Papa B, Mama B, Papa and Moma Awesome, Papa and Mama Walker (Burton or whatever). After all don’t you think they should all be at Chuck and Sarah’s wedding?

  12. OldDarth says:

    D’oh! Forget about that one!

  13. weaselone says:

    I think a lot of people let their expectations for the Chuck and Sarah relationship color their view of the entire episodes, even those who wouldn’t describe themselves as shippers. Upon watching a second time and already being aware of what to expect on the relationship front they were able to enjoy and appreciate the other aspects of the show.

    • joe says:

      Lots of truth in that, Weasel. I haven’t had a chance to see 3.03 a second time yet – maybe later this evening. Already my opinion of it has changed for the better, even though I was thrilled with it the first time.

      I’m sure you read my posts in the NBC boards – what’s changed is my opinion on the “let’s be friends” scene. After rewatching 3.01 and 3.02, I think I understand the nuances far better.

      And I’ll be able to get past my own history to be more objective!

    • atcdave says:

      I would say without hesitation my expectations for the relationship color my view of the show. I don’t feel any need to apologize for it either. As a lifelong “consumer” of adventure themed storytelling I know pretty clearly what I like and what I don’t. Chuck is an excellent show, and pleasing/fun/exciting on several levels. I am currently very disappointed in the way they are handling the central relationship. I find it cliched and depressing in the worst possible ways. It hits harder because my hopes have been so high for this show (I imagine my own reasons for liking the show to begin with, as mentioned a few posts up, has something to do with it too!).
      Many have been quick to say the writers owe us nothing and should follow their own artistic vision for the story. Fine, I owe the writers nothing except my honest opinion of the story they tell. As indicated above, I’ve been mostly very happy with this show, when I’m not I speak up (I do love the internet!).
      I’ve also said elsewhere I believe this is heading to a good place. If I didn’t, I’d have already left. In time, I may appreciate the troubles that were overcome. But I will never let them say “the fans love it when….” if I don’t agree. I do owe the storytellers my honest review; especially if they’re drawing incorrect conclusions about what I want to see.

      Sorry, rant over. Point being, the central relationship does color everything else. I have said many times, and many others have too, that my enjoyment of every aspect of the show is colored by how Chuck and Sarah relate to each other. By their own words, that is the heart of the show. And when the heart is sick, nothing else feels right.

      • Faith says:

        Bra-vo. Inspired words. Rant or no rant.

      • Rick Holy says:

        I’m with ya, brotha – 100% !! I, too, am expecting/hoping for a big “payoff.”

        I also come at it from an additional perspective. I’m a sucker for the underdog – and say what you want about her as far as looks, skills, etc., etc., but “Sarah” is an underdog in many ways – based on her past/upbringing.

        I loved the last part of ep. 2 when Sarah views the security tape footage of Chuck. And I’m hoping for MORE Sarah/Ellie moments like we saw in episode 3.

        Chuck “had” a family at one time – before mom and dad left. Sarah, it seems, NEVER really had a real experience of what “family” means. She’s getting that now by association/osmosis or whatever term you find appropriate. That – and obviously the direct relationship with Chuck – is, I believe (like you), if not THE central “story within the story” at least it’s right up there.

        Thanks again for your NON-rant. In this one person’s opinion, you’re on the money.

        I’ve got high hopes for this season based on what we’ve seen esp. in the last two episodes. And bringing Scott Bakula back for part/all(?) of the “back six” is going to make it even BETTER!!

    • Gord says:

      I enjoyed the episodes right from the first viewing. Yes there was pain in the first few, but I was still on the edge of my seat. Also think that that pain will lead to one big pay off later on.
      After that scene with Carina and the charm bracelet “this looks like something a sucker in love would wear”, I have a feeling the first sign that all is right with Chuck/Sarah will be that bracelet on her wrist.

      • atcdave says:

        Yeah, I do agree its heading to a big payoff. I still say Pink Slip is too dark and not very fun. I liked the next two very much, except the relationship has been set too far back. I trust it will get better.

  14. Gord says:

    Did anyone check out the spoiler on episode 3.14
    The name of the episode is Chuck Vs the Honeymooner. It has Chuck and Sarah on a train trip together.
    Did Chuck finally get that Eurorail pass he wanted at the end of first date?

    On an unrelated note, Yvonne needs our vote over at E! online. She is slipping fast and this is the last night of voting. http://www.eonline.com/uberblog/watch_with_kristin/b161135_girl_on_top_final_showdown.html

  15. Lucian says:

    It’s interesting to me that the show seems literally to be darker – kind of a Gotham City thing going on where almost everything is happening in dark places; lighting is more high contrast and intense (or maybe I’m projecting).

    • joe says:

      I’m going to have to start a discussion on this. My initial thought, like most everybody’s, was that yes indeed, this is much darker. Especially after Emmett’s grand exit.

      But now on second viewing (especially after “Angel de la Meurta” again), I’m not sure that’s the right way to describe it. I’m leaning towards saying it’s much more intense.

      The writers were very clever in many places in how they went right up to the line that makes a show something other than family rated. When Casey protests the idea that he give blood to save the dictator (very Dr. Strangelove, btw) he says “You take one drop of blood from me – I swear to God I’ll rip your… and he goes under with a Whoooo!. Every adult ended that sentence for him and laughed.

      I think much of the darkness was really projected by our own experiences in just that way. We can see it in the unfinished sentences, and in the stolen glances, but it’s a very subtle, atmospheric thing. On the other hand, the heightened intensity is everywhere.

Leave a Reply

