In Appreciation

To The Contributors, Commentors and Readers

There was no question that the blog stats for our little effort would increase with the start of the new season of Chuck. What I didn’t expect was the tremendous interest, excitement and quality of all the commentary.

We had been averaging about 1000 “hits” a week for the last few months. The week before the season 3 premier, this blog had over 2000 hits, and this week is already at 3000, two days before the stats are finalized.

Thank you!

Ann Althouse has one of the most successful blogs in existence, yet she contends that it’s because of her readers and those who post comments. I agree. I’m not out to set records or to influence TPTB by the power of the brilliant analysis generated here (although, that would be nice… ;> ).  I just wanted a place to write what I felt was worth saying about the show.

And there was plenty worth saying! To this day I’m a little surprised that so many have that same itch – to write and to talk about these characters and about our aspirations for them. Josh Schwartz has said that the show is about wish fulfilment. Perhaps he’s correct about that. We state our wishes here. I’ve seen that with co-workers who discover this mutual interest and can’t stop talking about it! People who were basically strangers suddenly bond because of a story – amazing.  Have you seen that happen? I have, and I see it here constantly. That may be as old as human nature, but it’s a fresh as a new day.  And I enjoy it when it happens.

I’m very glad that you’ve let this be a platform for your own thoughts, and gratified by the level of discourse.

We have, apparently, may people who are reading, but not commenting.   Please consider this as invitation to join in.  We’d love to hear your insights as well.

– joe

About joe

In my life I've been a professor, martial artist, rock 'n roller, rocket scientist, lover, poet and brain surgeon. I'm lying about the brain surgery.
This entry was posted in Administrative. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to In Appreciation

  1. OldDarth says:

    Thanks for opening your doors to us.

  2. Gord says:

    Well it sure is a great way to share our excitement about Chuck.
    I can’t believe I have devoted so much time to a TV show. Not only writing and reading in blogs/boards, but also rewatching episodes umpteen million times.
    I have already seen the first 3 episodes twice, and plan to watch again this weekend before 3.04 airs here in Canada on Sunday night (couldn’t resist rubbing it in).
    Like I said, I will play nice and not put any spoilers up and ruin it for my friends south of the border.

  3. OldDarth says:

    Gord enjoy while we can because that will change due to Leno/Conan kerfuffle. Starting in March CITYTV will move Chuck to Mondays at 10:00pm.

    http://tinyurl.com/yhr2ono

  4. amyabn says:

    Gord, I say to enjoy it. I’m stuck, Chuck-less because they won’t sell it to me on iTunes. I’m willing to drop the cold hard cash on the HD season pass, but it isn’t being offered. sorry to drone on, but I’m feeling sorry for myself and going through withdrawal.
    To get back on point, I want to thank everyone for their awesome contributions and observations. I can’t really contribute right now because I can’t see the episodes, but I appreciate you nonetheless.

    • atcdave says:

      Amy, have they actually told you if it will or won’t be available. My situation isn’t as all or nothing as yours; but I was really hoping to have it on my iPod by now. Will this be changing any time soon? Does anyone know?

      • Gord says:

        At ChuckTV.net, they stated that Apple lost its contract for Chuck. I think they said it had to do with how much they were willing to pay per episode But still no word on Amazon.
        I wonder if it wouldn’t make sense for them to sell the digital episodes directly from the NBC Store, like they do other Chuck stuff.

        Amy, you might be able to watch the episodes on-line using hotspot shield. It might be worth a try for you.

      • atcdave says:

        Thanks for the heads up, I just sent them a nasty note. I’m sure that will fix it!

      • atcdave says:

        Much to my embarrassment, I’ve concluded after more research, that there is no particular hold up on Chuck at iTunes. It is probably just due to the late changes in the air dates. Hopefully we’ll see it available soon.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Dave, don’t toy with my emotions like that. Do you mean you actually got an answer? I was about ready to start a letter writing campaign to whoever was responsible for this travesty.

      • atcdave says:

        A letter writing campaign might not be a bad idea, but not yet. I haven’t got any answer. But the story about them being at impasse with NBC is in error. Its based on a contract dispute that happened two years ago, and does not currently have any bearing. I will post here if I get an answer from Apple (my guess would be, not before Monday, 1/18). But I’m leaning towards pure schedule mess-up.

      • Michael says:

        I note that sometime between 6 am and 8 am MST, Season 3 showed up on Itunes (the Canadian store, at least).

  5. herder says:

    I can’t tell you how much I appreciate this site, it has longer, more thought out posts than most other sites. There is no insulting posts aimed at other posters just respectful dialogue and above all no heavy handed moderators or censorship. Thank you for going through the effort to create and maintain such a site.

  6. Lawrynce says:

    This is not only the best blog about my favorite show, but one of the best I have visited on any topic. I drop in several times a day, even if I don’t comment frequently, to read the posts and wonder about the magic spell the show has cast on us. I admire the diversity of opinion, the strength of expression, and the “awesome” analytic approaches with specific references from the episodes. Thank you for opening the door and letting us in.

  7. Ernie Davis says:

    I just wanted to add that I was thrilled to be invited to contribute to this site and I’m grateful for everyone’s kind words. But I also have to add to what Joe said. I often learn more from reading the comments than I do writing one of my, as Rick puts it, Magnum Opuses. The writing is fun and I love it, that’s why I do it, but the comments is when the party begins!

  8. lou federico says:

    I want to thank NBC boards for killing the fun with the heavy handed nazi approach to maintaining their boards. Had they not been DB’s then Joe would not have created this save heaven of chucktastic talk. Thanks again joe

Leave a Reply

