Real People

Star Struck

Yvonne & Bailey

The world is a much smaller place than it used to be. When I was very young, I was fortunate enough to see JFK on the campaign trail, twice. The first time, I happened to be in a 2nd story window of a bank where my aunt worked, and had an amazing vantage point. The man went by in the motorcade, saw me and waved right at my window.

Right then, I knew I’d grow up to be Bill Clinton. Or something like that. It’s easy to get star struck. If that was a once-in-a-lifetime event, how come it is that we can now literally greet celebrities daily?

I’m suddenly in a very new world. How odd it is to have exchanged tweets (plural) with Adam Baldwin, Ali Adler and even one with Josh Schwartz. Well, me and a zillion others. I sometimes let myself realize that this is some sort of everyday miracle, and that they are outgoing people and love to communicate as much as I do.

They are much more approachable than you might expect, even those who are the shiniest of stars. And it’s wonderful to see that, despite the withering effects of the spotlight on them constantly, both Zac Levi and Yvonne Strahovski insist on being real people. Adam Baldwin would be the first to say “…And don’t you forget that!”

– joe

About joe

In my life I've been a professor, martial artist, rock 'n roller, rocket scientist, lover, poet and brain surgeon. I'm lying about the brain surgery.
This entry was posted in Fan Base, Found On-Line. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Real People

  1. Ernie Davis says:

    Thanks for that post Joe. This is something I was actually thinking about bringing up, how great everyone in this cast seems to be. Real genuine people who care about their fans. Yvonne in that picture is only the first example. Zach bought his publicist a car. Ali Adler put Yvonne in touch with Bailey (the little girl in the picture) and they made sure that on that visit to LA Bailey not only got to meet her idol, but got a set visit to Chuck. These are wonderful people who take time out of what must be hectic lives to make a little girl’s dream come true. It’s a wonderful thing to see and it makes it a bit easier to see why we invest so much in these people. It comes across on the screen and you just want to root for them.

    And don’t you forget that!

  2. Rick Holy says:

    Agree with your sentiments totally. I’ve been fortunate enough in my life to have what a friend and I call “brushed with greatness” (re: encountering celebrities unexpectedly in public places).

    Met Robert Vaughn (“The Man from Uncle”) in a Chicago restaurant about 15 years ago. Ran across Mickey Dolenz of the Monkeys in the Detroit airport years back as well. Had a nice chat with Max Weinberg in a Chicago eatery when Conan O’Brien was filming his show at the Chicago Theater 5 or so years ago. Literally “bumped into” Smallville’s Annette O’Tool and her husband (Lenny from Laverne Shirley and “This is Spinal Tap’s”) Michael McKean. And most recently had the chance to rub elbows (and get an autograph from) the internationally famous Broadway (Tony award winning singer) Lea Salong (of Miss Saigon fame).

    It’s always a surprise when one of these “brushes with greatness” 🙂 happens.

    It would be AWESOME to have one with someone associated with CHUCK. (If I said I wasn’t a wee bit envious of that cute little Bailey, I’d be lying!!) You’re absolutely right – they ARE real people – not “Hollywood snooties/snobs” – and they place great value on the support of their fans. Maybe that’s, in part, why we care about the show so much, because we care about it’s “stars” as well.

    God bless ’em all!!

    And BRING ON THE CHUCK!!!

  3. Gord says:

    That is such a sweet picture of Yvonne and Bailey. I hope they do an episode where Yvonne gets to interact with children. If the show lasts long enough, wouldn’t it be great to see Sarah and Chuck have children?

    As for celebrities, I imagine most of them are just regular people that just happen to have a very exciting and interesting job.

    Just like everyone else, I’m sure that they appreciate when people acknowledge their accomplishments.

    It’s funny but I have never been an autograph hound, or made a big deal about being around celebrities. I met a few when in the military, when they came to provide entertainment for the troops. It was special to us that they took time out of their busy schedules to be there, and we showed them a good time with a few late night parties. I think they liked being treated as one of the guys. Mind you these were Canadian celebrities, and we tend to do things a little more low key here.

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Real People « Chuck This -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

