Choices and Greener Grass

Well friends, I’ve decided to look into my cracked crystal ball and share some thoughts for our upcoming episodes of Chuck.   As this arc is nearing the middle, or in my view, the bottom, I choose to be optimistic for coming out of this fog of character assassination and move on to a flurry of more fun episodes, getting back to the things that made us fall for the show in the first place.

With that said, I know we are still bottoming out and I think that 3.08 is still going to be darker than I would like.  In that vein, I’d like to share another song I think would be appropriate and why I’ve selected it after the break.

A good portion of the first 7 episodes has dealt with everyone’s choices.  Chuck choosing to become a spy and what it is costing him.  Sarah dealing with choosing Chuck and a “normal” life, only to be rejected.  Devon sees the, well, awesome and exciting aspects of the spy life, only to see reality and that the grass isn’t as green as he thought.  In each scenario, a character thought the other choice, the other side of the proverbial fence, was better, the grass greener.

Chuck learned in Nacho Sampler how hard it is to be a spy and got a taste of how hard it has been for Sarah (and to a lesser extent, Casey) these last few years when you like your asset.  Sarah has seen first hand how hard it has been to juggle a “normal” life with the spy life and the toll it takes.  Devon is barely holding it together after the high of adventure has worn off.  Each thought the other had it so good but reality is showing them another side.

I chose an old ‘80’s song called “Wouldn’t It Be Good” by Nik Kershaw.  You can click the link to listen or scroll down to read the lyrics.  I could see this being sung by Jeffster.  The song says it better than I, but I could see this being played as we see a montage of new decisions being made by our favorite characters that will move them out of this low spot they are in.

I envision things like Chuck breaking it off with Hannah and seeing her off. Sarah telling Shaw they can’t be more than professional colleagues, putting the charm bracelet on, and them meeting at the fountain.  Chuck and Sarah agree they should go back to their old cover, only we know it isn’t a cover at all.  It is a starting point, and it doesn’t fix the relationship in one fail swoop, but I don’t want a magic reset button on the last 7 episodes either.  The cover gives them plausible deniability with work, but we know it’s real, because it is.  Maybe then we can move forward and get back to the fun.  I’m curious to hear what you think!

-amyabn

http://www.elyrics.net/read/n/nik-kershaw-lyrics/wouldn_t-it-be-good-lyrics-18.html

Wouldn’t It Be Good lyrics

I got it bad
you don’t know how bad I got it.
You got it easy
you don’t know when you’ve got it good.
It’s getting harder
just keeping life and soul together

I’m sick of fighting even though I know I should.
The cold is biting through each and ev’ry nerve and fibre

My broken spirit is frozen to the core.
I don’t want to be here no more.

Wouldn’t it be good to be in your shoes even if it was for just one da:
And wouldn’t it be good if we could wish ourselves away.
Wouldn’t it be good to be on your side

The grass in always greener over there.
Wouldn’t it be good if we could live without a care.

You must be joking
you don’t know a thing about it.
You’ve got no problems
I’d stay right there if I were you.
I got it harder
you couldn’t dream how hard I got it

Stay out of my shoes if you know what’s good for you.
The heat is stifling
burning me up from the inside.
The sweat is coming through each and ev’ry pore.
I don’t want to be here no more. I don’t want to be here no more.
I don’t want to be here no more.
Wouldn’t it be good to be in your shoes even if it was for just one day. . . .
I got it bad. you don’t know how bad I got it. .. .

About amyabn

My name is Amy and I'm in the active Army as my profession. I love the show Chuck and want to see it succeed for many seasons to come. My twitter handle is amyabn.
This entry was posted in Angst, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Choices and Greener Grass

  1. herder says:

    The song is one of my personal top ten eighties one hit wonders and I can see it being used in the show. Unfortunately I don’t think your scenario for Fake Name is going to happen, I think they will drag it out longer than that.

    I do agree that the bracelet will make a comeback, maybe even in this episode, it was Ali Adler who used it again in Three Words with Carina saying “this looks like something a sucker in love would wear”. When Sarah wears it again, we will know that she is again a sucker in love.

    • amyabn says:

      I appreciate your feedback. I’m an optimist, a romantic, and heck, I’ll call myself a shipper (more because I think the two characters and their state of mind/interpersonal relationship colors everything else rather then it being all about them being together). I think a cover “reset” for whatever bogus reasons is a good place for them to get back to where I want them to be. I just want to start the climb back, if that make sense.

      • herder says:

        I agree with every word you just wrote, unfortunately I don’t think that is where the writers are going to go, yet. Then again my record on predictions as to where the show is going isn’t exactly stellar, so there is hope.

  2. joe says:

    Good song, Amy. I’m not familiar with it – there was a time in the ’80s when I thought the music was so bad I just couldn’t listen to it any more. It wasn’t until Hootie and Dave Matthews became popular that I turned the radio back on.

    Lately I found myself hearing old Jim Croce songs and being amazed at how well they fit. He and I share the same Alma Mater – I sang and played guitar underneath the same trees he did, about ten years after. Music gets very personal, doesn’t it?

    It feeds the romantic in us.

    And I do believe the songs are telling us part of the story, too.

    • herder says:

      I’m kind of lucky because of my age that a lot of the eighties references are so easy. I think that it is an accepted fact that everybody thinks the music that they listened to at a certain age, usually 15-30 is the best music ever created. As I was that age in the eighties I get the music references, also as a kid living in Montreal in the seventies I could hardly miss the use of the name Guy Lafleur, I even vaguely remember Von Hayes playing for Pittsburg too. So I get a number of the in-jokes about character’s names. But I have to say I have always been blown away by the indie pop music that the show uses, Bon Iver, GlasVegas, the Thermals, (I’d add the eels and E, but I’ve been a fan for years) and numerous others.

      While I can make suggestions about which eighties hits might fit a situation, I am more than content to just wait to hear which new gems of the newer stuff they toss in. This and the clever use of names has always been one of the extra pleasures that the show provides.

      • joe says:

        Absolutely, herder.

        My musical memory goes as far back as Bill Haley and the Comets, The Witch-Doctor Song, and The Everly Brothers. (Oh, and my hockey memory goes back to a 6 team league. Lafleur is definitely in it!)

        My problem is that so much of the music I have on my iPOD fits, it becomes hard to explain to others! Then I *have to* wait for the new gems they toss in, so people understand.

        The music becomes our common language.

    • Big Kev says:

      Joe,
      Are they ever. Rewatched Fat Lady this weekend, and the incredible Frightened Rabbit, “Keep yourself Warm” scene. It’s not until you hear the whole track and really listen to the lyrics that you realise how stark and brutal that song is. You listen to it on top of the looks on Sarah and Casey’s faces and the slowmo as they run up the stairs…..I know it’s coming, but it just gets me every time I watch it. TV doesn’t get any better.

      • amyabn says:

        I really love Frightened Rabbit. Their use of Backwards Walk in Pink Slip is awesome and well chosen. I had never heard of a lot of the bands used in Chuck, but I’m glad I’ve been exposed to them.

      • joe says:

        That’s one of my favorite scenes, Kev.

        Perhaps you’ve hit on a big reason Chuck holds up so well to multiple viewings. If you take the time to listen to the music and read the lyrics, often the scenes are enhanced and more meaning comes out.

  3. lizjames says:

    Amy-
    Well, you know, I’m old so I need you to give us songs. I like this.

    But I am still smarting from that Sam Isaacs thing at the end of Awesome. Man, THAT is spot on for Chuck and Sarah–and VERY said.

    “We’re uncomfortable here” scares me…

    • amyabn says:

      I have to catch up with my S3 Chuck songs. I have a playlist with most of the songs (some I didn’t like so I didn’t download) from the previous seasons. I’ll have to download this one. I really like all the Frightened Rabbit they’ve been using. I had never heard of them until Chuck.

  4. JC says:

    I can’t believe you mentioned that song. I had my first kiss while it was playing.

    I’d like to throw out my own suggestion for a song when the C/S moment happens.

    Can’t Get You Off Of My Mind- Lenny Kravitz

    Life is just a lonely highway
    I’m out here on the open road
    I’m old enough to see behind me
    But young enough to feel my soul
    I don’t wanna lose you baby
    And I don’t wanna be alone
    Don’t wanna live my days without you
    But for now I’ll have to be without you

    *chorus*
    I’ve got a pocket full of money
    And a pocket full of keys that have no bounds
    But then I think of loving
    And I just can’t get you off of my mind

    Babe can’t you see
    That this is killing me

    I don’t want to push you baby
    And I don’t want you to be told
    It’s just that I can’t breathe without you
    I feel like I’m gonna lose control

    *chorus*

    What are the rules and reasons and the dos and don’ts
    Tell me baby tell me baby
    What do you feel inside

    • amyabn says:

      Great choice, JC. I have sooo many songs I would use and plan on trotting out a few more for future episodes that have been weighing on my mind. Another good one I just listened to is Daughtry’s “It’s Not Over.” Keep the ideas coming!

      • JC says:

        I can’t help but picture Jeffster doing a cover of “Out of Touch” by Hall and Oates.

        The song fits the whole C/S drama but it would a little humor to it. And they’ve already used one Hall and Oates song, so somebody is a fan.

  5. Faith says:

    Whoosh. That sound you hear is all this going over my head haha. Sorry age?

    Although how about this for age…forget Creature Fear, when they do actually make love I’d like to hear Marvin Gaye’s “Let’s Get it On!” Haha.

    Speaking about how they solve this current conundrum though…I would feel somewhat cheated if it’s just an epiphany that happens that brings them back together. Mostly because been there, done that. I’d like this time to be about more than that…I guess that’s why I’m clinging to the con thing. It would jibe with something new, something we haven’t already been through before.

    Finally still holding up hope for the fake friendship, real relationship. I’m envisioning hiding from Beckman and “mission talks” in Sarah’s apt overnight…it’s just homework haha, with Casey accidentally turning off the audio and video because they get all annoying in his eyes lol.

    • amyabn says:

      sorry for going old school on you Jem. I loved the video for this song and had a little crush on the singer (back in the day).

      I”m with you. I love the con idea, but I think that will take longer to be revealed to us. I really hope they can go back to their cover so they can truly see what they miss about being together.

      I would also love to see Beckman come on to give them a mission and in the same way she did to Casey in Suburbs (we need a real couple), she gives Mr. and Mrs. Carmichael the mission and snubs Shaw. That could also be a catalyst for the Ring to continue thinking Sarah is more important and that something is up with her. Let’s move things forward already!

  6. ReadySet says:

    Well, if we’re making suggestions…

    In my mind, the song playing at Devon and Ellie’s rehersal dinner where Sarah and Chuck had the “it’s real” moments: If Only You Knew by Patti LaBelle

    I must have rehearsed my lines
    A thousand times
    Until I had them memorized
    But when I get up the nerve
    To tell you, the words
    Just never seem to come out right

    If only you knew
    How much I do
    Do love you
    If only you knew
    How much I do
    Do need you

    I dream of moments we share
    But you’re not there
    I’m living in a fantasy
    ‘Cause you don’t even suspect
    Could prob’ly care less
    About the changes I’ve been going through

    It’s silly cause 80s soul ain’t the Schwartz meme, but, boy if that song wouldn’t fit for the e13 happy ending, I don’t know what would… I know Ernie Davis doesn’t like us writing our own story lines, but in my mind, this is Chuck and Sarah’s song…

    • amyabn says:

      I don’t think it matters (and I think Ernie will back me here) that it isn’t that we all write our own storylines-it’s that we hold the writers to our imagined scenarios and they disappoint us. Then we are unhappy. I think Mask was a wake up call for me personally. I have Chuck and Sarah in the courtyard, deciding to try the cover relationship because Sarah is always in the Buy More and Chuck is always running out for yogurt (the most important meal of the day) and it “makes sense” to go back to the cover. As herder pointed out above, I don’t think the writers will go the way I see it, but I have to keep that in mind as episodes unfold.

  7. sd says:

    Since we’re talking music and lyrics…I always thought this David Byrne song would fit well with the last episode of Chuck (which is when I think S/C get together). The song, if One Fine Day

    One Fine Day lyrics

    Saw the wandrin’ eye- inside my heart
    Shouts and battle cries- from ev’ry part
    I can see those tears- ev’ry one is true
    When the door appears- I’ll go right through—oooh

    I stand in liquid light- like ev’ryone
    I built my life with rhymes- to carry on
    And it gives me hope- to see you there
    The things I used to know- that one fine

    Chorus: One fine day
    One fine day

    In a small dark room- where I will wait
    Face to face I find- I contemplate
    Even though a man- is made of clay
    Ev’rything can change- one fine-

    Chorus: One Fine Day…

    Then before my eyes- Is standing still
    I beheld it there- a city on a hill
    I complete my tasks- one by one
    I remove my masks- when I am done

    Then a piece of mind- fell over me
    In these troubled times- I still can see
    We can use the stars – to guide the way
    It is not that far- one fine….

    Chorus: One fine day
    One fine day…

  8. Zsjaer says:

    ..that music is part of my memories 🙂
    Those last 10 minutes of the ep 7 made me remember Deep Purple´s “Mistreated”..lol

  9. Faith says:

    I don’t quite remember where it is we were talking about Sarah clinging to the “fake” relationship because it’s real to her but something came to me today.

    Does Chuck know this? Or is he so out of whack, insecure, etc. that he doesn’t realize that she puts so much of her emotions/feelings/hopes in that fake relationship? I mean he does tend to go on and on and on about a “normal” life and what that entails (or at least he used to) that he might not realize that by saying that and thinking that he’s inadvertently hurting her.

    The answer? Not sure lol. But if you recall the bracelet scene in vs. Santa Claus when Sarah says to him, “Chuck this is something real. Something you should give to a real girlfriend” he says, “I know.” So to him what is fake is also real. At least to a certain extent. Which may explain why they break up so much when they were never a “couple” to begin with lol.

    • lizjames says:

      Faith–I think, in fairness, it’s okay to give Chuck a pass on this part of things. They should have given Chuck a little more insight into itshould have been more observant, of course, but it’s hard to pull that off. Hell, most of the fans don’t get this, either, and they see the whole picture.

      But I actually think the charm bracelet is going to be HUGE in episode 8. That’s gotta be why Adler threw it into episode 2 and raised the stakes by having Carina call it something a woman in love would wear…

    • atcdave says:

      I think has been a bit of a disconnect between them for a long time. Chuck is always eager to know what’s real (can’t blame him, but impossible given the circumstance). Sarah clings to the fake relationship because she knows real hasn’t been attainable. It will be interesting to see how they sort it out. But we need to be clued in soon, I’m getting cranky!

  10. Lucian says:

    The relationship was just as real for Chuck as it was for Sarah (probably moreso); this is why she had to repeatedly “remind” him that it was just a cover. I don’t think Chuck could have done much more than he did to let Sarah know how important she was to him.

    As an aside, this idea that Sarah has to “forgive” Chuck for Prague is ridiculous, IMO. What she was asking made no sense for either of them.

    This was the point that some adult conversation would have been really nice to see. They may have still decided they were heading in opposite directions, and a relationship made no sense, but that would be honest pain, not the pain caused by two people who can’t seem to express what is really going on with them. That is stupid angst, not good drama.

    • atcdave says:

      I agree entirely Lucian; that may be why I’ve been cranky about the “reset” all season. Sarah asked an outrageous thing of Chuck, that he never could have done (Chuck, the friends and family guy, running away to hide off grid from the worlds largest intelligence organization; just not going to work), and she should have known better. She should have been more embarrassed than angry. The worst example of s-angst since the Mauser thing.

Leave a Reply

