A Song for Sarah

I was in a spring cleaning mood and decided to explore one of my closets recently.  For those of you too young to know anything other than MP3’s, I had a box of cassettes and cassette singles that just begged to be gone through.  I was at the point of realizing that other than an old Walkman, I didn’t have anything to play them on.  I was torn.  Most of you have probably realized that I LOVE music, and most can listen to a song and it transports you to a memory.  I decided to spend a good part of the afternoon spending way too much of my iTunes gift cards (and then some) on downloading the songs that had good memories attached or that I just really liked.  I came across the following song and thought it was absolutely perfect for Sarah.  More after the break.

The song is Lady Fingersby Luscious Jackson.  I always liked the song but I really took the time to listen to the lyrics. Then I had to download them and share them with you (if you hit the hyperlink-thanks Faith!) you can listen to the song on that page).

“Ladyfingers”

If you need me to be sweet
then I can give you what you need
’cause I know you never came first baby
I’m so tired of my guns and my vanity
I’d like to trade them in for some sanity
and I know it didn’t come too easy
It didn’t come easy to me either
from the freezer to believer in love

Well I got ladyfingers baby
I got kidgloves
baby I got heart

I bet you didn’t know that I could treat you right
that underneath the armor
there’s another girl
she’s standing with a suitcase
ready to run
in case you’re wondering
why she’s so quick to come and go
why she’s so quick to come and go
she might be new, she might be old
she might be scared as hell
she might not be so bold
she might not be so bold

[Chorus]

The lyrics sum up the transition she is trying to make:  from Agent Walker to Sarah.  Look at her journey over the last three years.  She has gone from hardened spy, because as Carina says, “try ’em on, like them or leave them…might have to leave them in five minutes or shoot the in the head” to a woman who is clearly happy playing Martha Stewart like happy homemaker in the Suburbs.  Sarah was ready to run with Chuck, three times by my count (Marlin, Colonel, and Pink Slip).  She has slowly shown us she has cracks in her armor and most of them are vulnerable to one Charles Irving Bartowski.  Now if only Sarah believe in her feelings long enough to show Chuck the chinks.

-amyabn

About amyabn

My name is Amy and I'm in the active Army as my profession. I love the show Chuck and want to see it succeed for many seasons to come. My twitter handle is amyabn.
This entry was posted in Inside Sarah, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A Song for Sarah

  1. Jason says:

    joe, my son plays college basketball, watch most the home games with his girlfriend, she loves the dancing and the music during timeouts, I try to be interested but I don’t know any of the songs without her explaining them to me, which is sort of my lot in life – anyhow, they always play a song at half time from pink, ‘so what’ which just cracks me up for some reason, it struck me after attending a game after 3.7, I would just love to see a sarah scene working out on the punching bag to that song working out the frustrations thru flashbacks of 7 episodes of angst

  2. amyabn says:

    I have a few more songs rattling around in my head that I will spring on you soon! I try to pace out my song posts because I don’t want to be too repetitive.
    I like Pink. When Sarah acts all wishy washy, I think of Pink’s “Leave Me Alone (I’m Lonely)”.

    • joe says:

      Amy, I thought I was good at bringing in meaningful music! You’re the best!

      This one is a gem.

      • amyabn says:

        Thanks Joe, that is high praise coming from you! I pick songs that I think might have a snowballs chance in hell of making it on the show-just to test my creative “muscle.” I have another song for her that I was really stuck on before I picked this one. It is called “Something That You Said” by the Bangles. The lyrics are just about perfect for how Sarah is feeling-Chuck said I love you. She heard it, no third parties, no room for misinterpretation. You can listen/read the lyrics here: http://tinyurl.com/y99jw96
        Let me know what you think.

      • joe says:

        Love it. I found a 30 second clip by Googling it too. The mood is just as perfect as the lyrics.

        Sigh. I could do this forever with the music. I’m still struck by how much 1970s Jim Croce music fits Chuck at different times.

        I still love the Oasis Morning Glory album. About half a dozen of those songs fit (including, surprisingly She’s Electric, but that one is merely cute).

  3. Faith says:

    This song really resonates with me, especially after listening to the Chuck me tuesday podcast where they talk about how Sarah’s not strong. She isn’t really. She can’t make herself go after the one thing she wants in this world (especially considering the one time she got close to doing that she got bit in the ass, damn you Chuck!). But when the “I know you never came first baby” comes…sometime in season 3 (how’s that for optimism lol), whoa baby I’m happier than Colonel 2.0 lol.

  4. Ernie Davis says:

    I have to admit that one of my great joys with Chuck has been re-discovering a side of the music industry I’d lost track of. I’m old enough to remember the punk/new wave craze in the late ’70s as a teenager. I saw The Police and U2 both on their first US tours. I just remember how new and different so much of the music seemed back then, and I get that feeling again with a lot of the musical selections for Chuck.

    Amy, I also sympathize. I have 300 LP’s and boxes of pirate and mix tapes that I keep telling myself I’m going to digitize…some day.

  5. herder says:

    One song I have sort of hoped would show up in this love trapazoid arc is and older one, Dire Straits’ “Romeo and Juliette”. Although the words don’t exactly fit, the sense of sadness and longing does. That and Mark Knopfler’s guitar picking can carry a montage or extended scene.

  6. Crumby says:

    One song made me think about what Chuck could tell Sarah so that she finally open up to him is “Is it OK?” from Damien Saez.

    Is it ok baby?
    Is it what you wanted
    to wipe your hurt away?
    Take your make-up off
    For a minute
    Will you show me who you are?
    Will you?
    Don’t be scared of me, babe
    Show me who you are
    I will keep the cold away
    So don’t close yourself down
    It’s ok
    So don’t close yourself down
    It’s ok, baby

    Questions in your eyes
    Tell me more than tears
    In this barren land
    I’m holding on to you

    Don’t be scared of me, babe
    Show me who you are
    And I will keep the cold away
    I’m holding on to you

Leave a Reply

