All That I’m Asking For

Well all, I’m back from my business trip and have been desperately trying to keep up with all the awesomeness I missed here on the blog.  I was able to watch Fake Name and Beard while I was gone (albeit behind all of you) and I am struck with a sense that we are getting back to the elements that made me love the show in the first place.

Without rehashing how TPTB could have done things, I choose to focus on what I hope is the final resolution to the Chuck and Sarah relationship.  Ernie’s State of the Union article hits on these things so well, so I will refrain from a rehash.

I find myself trying to figure out how this pairing will come about-how the OOC damage that has been done sporadically over the first 7-8 episodes will be undone or make sense.  I’ve never subscribed to the “it’s the destination, so put up with the ride” sentiment, but am choosing to be optimistic (I blame Joe 🙂 ).

And so I have chosen yet another song for your reading/listening pleasure.  Lyrics, links, and commentary after the break.

I love the band, Lifehouse.  Their new album “Smoke and Mirrors (Deluxe Edition)” is really good.  I chose the song “All That I’m Asking For” and have highlighted (bolded) some key sentiments in the song.

“All That I’m Asking For” by Lifehouse   (Listen Here:  http://tinyurl.com/ycy2znq )

gravity pulls and
we fall from the clouds
we prove to each other
that we’re both human now
the time that we spent
trying to make sense
of it all

all that i’m asking for
is that you need nothing more
and nothing comes in between
our love and it’s fragile, see
all that i’m asking for
you’re all that i’m asking for

now we walk together
knowing where we’ve been
knowing mistakes are being mistaken again
it’s in the past tense
there is no making sense of it now

all that i’m asking for
is that you need nothing more
and nothing comes in between
our love and it’s fragile, see

all that i’m asking for
you’re all that i’m asking for

in the still of your hands
anything can happen now
with every beat of my heart
love speaks in silence

in the still of your hands
anything is possible
with every beat of my heart

the time that we spent
trying to make sense, of it all

all that i’m asking for
is that you need nothing more
and nothing comes in between
our love and it’s fragile, see

all i’m asking for
is that you need nothing more
and nothing comes in between
our love and it’s fragile, see

all that i’m asking for
you’re all that i’m asking for

I love that the song acknowledges past mistakes and a desire to move forward.  No need to rehash everything.  Chuck has had his relationships with Jill, Lou, and Hannah.  Sarah has had her relationships with Bryce, Beefcake, and Petrified Wood (aka Shaw).  They’ve made mistakes and hurt one another, but I think if nothing else comes from all the angst we’ve stomached this season, they will find that middle ground they so desperately seek with one another.  Wouldn’t it be nice, not to mention adult, to just accept one another and start the new phase of their relationship as equals?  I think this song is a great place for them to start that journey together.  Now what do you think?

-amyabn

About amyabn

My name is Amy and I'm in the active Army as my profession. I love the show Chuck and want to see it succeed for many seasons to come. My twitter handle is amyabn.
This entry was posted in Music, Season 3. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to All That I’m Asking For

  1. Faith says:

    There are some talks that after Beard and Chuck’s epiphany that there will be no going back for him. No Jill, no Lou, no Hannah. Granted in either one of those situations there was no going back, usually after the relationship ended and having chosen Sarah. But this time around he means it 😉

    BTW I love Lifehouse. We missed you around here Amy! Good to have you back.

    • amyabn says:

      Thanks Faith. I really missed being able to participate with you guys, but the trip was really productive!
      I just wonder what Sarah’s epiphany moment will be. Will Chuck get hurt? Will he do something sweet to show her he hasn’t lost himself? Will Morgan have a solo “evening of Morgan” with just himself and Sarah, or maybe he plays relationship counselor for them like he did for Ellie and Awesome. Any way they write it, it needs to happen soon! Let’s put em together and close that chapter. As someone else pointed out, all the talk is about the relationship, so if they really want to get past that, put them together and move it to the background.

      • joe says:

        Big smooches, Amy!

        A Sarah epiphany moment! You know, I wasn’t thinking in those terms, but that’s gotta happen, right?

    • herder says:

      I like the idea of Casey forming his own B team or C list of spies; Morgan, Awesome and maybe Jeff and Lester. It could be fun to watch Casey’s head almost explode with the frustration of dealing with these guys as it will be like the proverbial herding of cats.

      I can see them taking the job of undermining Shaw, making him look bad in front of Sarah and Chuck stepping in to prevent him from hurting them.

      I can see Chuck as he gains confidence not only passively frustrating Shaw but openly challenging some of his decisions, and lets face it some of Shaw’s decisions deserve to be challanged.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        We already saw Chuck face down Shaw over Morgan at the end of the beard. Shaw didn’t like it much, I think. It’s sometimes hard to tell.

      • amyabn says:

        Wood isn’t usually considered expressive…;-)

  2. Crumby says:

    It’s all that WE’re asking for anyway 🙂

  3. Lucian says:

    I am thinking fairly soon they need to be playing Rickie Lee Jones’ classic, “Chuck E’s In Love”. (I know he is Chuck I or Chuck B, but it’s a great song).

  4. Pingback: Episode of the Week: Chuck vs The Beard (3.09) | Chuck This

Leave a Reply

