Nominations

And the Chuckie goes to…

There has been some discussion on the fun we’ve had with polls and best and worst, so, upon the suggestion of one of our regular posters, Fake Empire, we bring you the Chuckies.  After the jump.

So here’s the deal.  When the front 13 end we’ll have about two weeks to wait for new episodes.  To fill the time I’ll post several polls for the best and worst so far this season.  You can nominate scenes for a category or suggest a new category.  The categories and nominees will be chosen by me in a completely rigged process based on what I find amusing or interesting, and how many great suggestions I can fit in a poll.  Suggestions that I like so far:

Best Beatdown With A Stick

– Sarah with the Bo in Three Words

– Sarah with the Tiki torch in Three Words

– Chuck in The Beard

– Morgan in The Beard

Funniest Scene

– I decapitated the bear babe…

– Chuck’s first Manoosh contact in the Buy More

– Chuck’s face plant in Tic Tac

– Ellie runs into Hannah in a towel

– Return from jail in American Hero

Best Sarah Smackdown

– Outside the vault in three words

– Courtyard in Three Words

– Two armed guards in Angel de la Muerte

– Above the vault in The Mask

Best Smackdown, One Hit Wonders Edition

– Sarah in Pink Slip

– Chuck in Pink Slip (outside stage door)

– Chuck in Pink Slip (in Mexico)

– Chuck in Operation Awesome (Boom boom pow!)

– Sarah in Tic Tac

Best Pecsploitation Moment

– Javier in Pink Slip

– Shaw in Fake Name

– Chuck in Final Exam

– Devon in the scene of your choice.

Best Exploitation Moment

– Sarah in Pink Slip (white bikini)

– Sarah and Carina in Three Words

– Sarah seducing Manoosh in Nacho Sampler

– Ellie in a bikini in The Beard

Best Casey Quip

– Nice going Walker, another nerd bites the dust.

– Me, I’m the button.

– Sorry about the dog. Obviously, the bomb was meant for you.

– That’s an understandable mistake. One of them looke like a spy, and the other one looks… like Chuck.

– He’s you and you’re her, so be her.

– Oh, whoops. That’s your old file Bartowski. Sorry about that.  Oddly similar…

– Great. Two geeks in a pod.

– I do have some new tranq darts I’d like to try out.

– Those two gab like schoolgirls when they’re out in the field. It’s murder on the ears.

– Hey Shaw, thanks for the coffee. Just the way I like it. Black and bitter.

– When do I get to blow something up?

– Weird huh? Walker helping you get laid.

Best Guest Star

– Vinnie Jones – 3 Words

– Mini Anden – 3 Words

– Armand Assante – Angel de la muerte

– Brandon Routh – Operation Awesome, First Class, Mask, Fake Name, ad nauseum

– Angie Harmon – Operation Awesome

– Kristin Kreuk – First Class, Nacho Sampler, Mask, Fake Name

– Steve Austin – First Class

– Fahim Anwar – Nacho Sampler

– Johnny Messner – Fake Name

– Louis Lombardi – Fake Name

– Tony Sirico – Fake Name

– Diedrich Bader – Beard

– Robert Patrick – Tic Tac

– Mark Sheppard – American Hero, Other Guy

Most welcome returning character after missing one or more episodes

– Carina

– Dianne Beckman

– Daniel Shaw

– Ellie

– Awesome

– Jeff & Lester

– Morgan

– Big Mike

I now open the floor for nominations.  Nothing insulting or personal like best portrayal of an inanimate object, worst season ever, most annoying blogger, or the like please.  We can take those as agreed upon in some cases or best ignored in others.  Thanks for the input!

About Ernie Davis

I was born in 1998, the illegitimate brain child and pen name of a surly and reclusive misanthrope with a penchant for anonymity. My offline alter ego is a convicted bibliophile and causes rampant pognophobia whenever he goes out in public. He wants to be James Lileks when he grows up or Dave Barry if he doesn’t.  His hobbies are mopery, curling and watching and writing about Chuck.  Obsessively.  Really, the dude needs serious help.
This entry was posted in Fan Base, polls. Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to Nominations

  1. DaveB says:

    I’m not going to suggest scenes, but we have to have nominations for “Best Casey Grunt”

  2. weaselone says:

    Most touching Sarah and Shaw Scene

    First Class – Shaw relates details about his dead wife.

    Fake Name – Sarah unburdens about Chuck and tells Shaw her real name.

    Final Exam – Sarah unburdens about her red test grief.

    American Hero – Sarah and Shaw kiss after Shaw commits to a suicide mission.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Most romantic Chuck and Sarah scene:

      … Wait a minute… Something’ll come to me…

      • John says:

        What about that time when they almost kiss?

      • Zsjaer says:

        Ernie..i think it was that moment when Sarah cried watching that video Carina gave her in vs the three words..its sad but its the only one i can remember..and maybe the one with the bow too (:

      • Zsjaer says:

        “What about that time when they almost kiss?”

        I felt nothing about that scene..maybe TPTB thought we were suppose to feel something in that moment but with me didn t worked

      • Crumby says:

        Sarah asking Chuck to run away with him. Yeah OK that turned out well! But it’s pretty much the closest thing to a declaration that she’s made to him.

        “We could run, together, you and me.”
        “I’m saying I wanna be a real person again. With you.”

        Plus as much as running away was a stupid idea, who would have say no to Yvonne in that scene? I loved the way she played it.

    • weaselone says:

      Most Romantic Chuck and Sarah Scene

      Pink Slip – Praha Nadrazi scene before Sarah realizes Chuck is staying.

      Pink Slip – Sarah kissing Chuck prior to the slap.

      Angel of Death – Sarah comforts Chuck after Devon is abducted.

      Agent Awesome – Sarah shows up for dinner with the extended Bartowski clan.

      Final Exam – The stakedate.

    • Lucian says:

      Aren’t you forgetting “my dessert is in your dessert?” Clearly, my personal favorite.

      • weaselone says:

        I wouldn’t call that touching, but certainly if you want to open up a Sham romance nomination thread it should go there.

    • Faith says:

      Good god that makes me want to vomit 😉

      wouldn’t close that list yet though haha. Yikes.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        OK, so the nominations for the category “Good God That Makes Me Want To Vomit.” are

        – My dessert is in your dessert.

        – Relax Sarah, I’m the safest guy in the world.

        – I’m going to kiss you now Sam.

        Hmmm, this one could get a bit long…

      • Faith says:

        Haha. Intense competitions are the name of the game Ernie 😀

      • herder says:

        Another vomit line: “I’m always right, it’s an annoying habit”, this from a guy who is regularly wrong.

        And one from Sarah “it was kind of nice”, I mean really, nice to be hit on by your boss, doesn’t that set the woman’s movement back decades?

    • JC says:

      Beard- You can talk to us.

  3. weaselone says:

    For Smackdown, One Punch edition.

    If you change it to one hit edition, you can add Chuck’s kicking of Lester in Agent Awesome.

  4. weaselone says:

    “The Best Pecsploitation Scene”

    Fake Name – Sarah sees a different side of Shaw.

    Final Exam – Chuck get’s physical in the steam room.

    The Beard – Awesome try’s to recapture his awesomeness.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      True, gotta have some categories for the ladies and alternate lifestyle men… It also allows us guys to have the exploitation scenes.

  5. Crumby says:

    Best “Don’t Freak Out”

    Sarah to Chuck when Javier he’s coming in Chuck’s cell – Pink Slip

    Chuck to himself when he’s in the casket – First Class

    Morgan to Chuck when he’s telling him about Castle and the Ring – Beard

  6. Merve says:

    Some suggestions:

    Best line or exchange:
    – “Angel de la Muerte” – Devon: “You and what army?” Chuck: “Um, that would be Sarah, and her fists.

    – “Operation Awesome” – Devon: “Yeah babe, I had to decapitate the bear…in self defense, in order to survive. I’m just glad you weren’t there to see it. It was really grisly.”

    – “First Class” – Serena: “Is this your first mission?” Chuck: “Maybe.”

    – “Fake Name” – Chuck (as Rafe): “Because I like cupcakes, that’s why. Who doesn’t like cupcakes?”

    Best silent comedy moment
    – “Nacho Sampler” – Chuck mouthing “intercourse?” after hearing Manoosh say that word.

    – “Operation Awesome” – Chuck’s frantic hand gestures during Awesome’s explanation of his absence.

    – “Nacho Sampler” – Chuck and Sarah’s sarcastic grins at Casey’s enthusiasm for WeapCon.

    – “Beard” – Morgan making his way through the hallway in Castle.

    Weirdest retcon or goof
    – “Three Words” – Lester referring to Underpants Etc. as “Underpants Unlimited.”

    – “Tic Tac” – Ellie is now pursuing neurology instead of cardiac surgery.

    – “Angel de la Muerte”/”Tic Tac” – Casey was still Alex Coburn at the time Premier Goya claims that Casey was trying to assassinate him.

    If I think of any more categories, I’ll post them later.

    • Crumby says:

      Best silent comedy moment

      – American Hero – The return from jail scene with : Morgan shaking his head after Awesome’s “the truth?” and the unspoken “What?!” on Casey’s face about his public exposure.

  7. Jen says:

    Hey,
    Best Sarah Smackdown

    Tic Tac when Sarah bdrops down from unerneath the jeep and beats teh 5 goons.

    I’m trying to think up more stuff, but people leep walking into my office… emails rain in, and the phone won’t stop ringing. AAAAAAH!

    • Matt Simons says:

      Agree with Sarah and the 5 goons.

      Casey is kind of getting the short end of the stick on the nominations, so I would like to nominate Casey taking out the guy (Colonel Keller) that was going to kill his old fiance.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I’m going to add best Casey quips and most expressive grunts when I get a chance to watch and identify some. Suggestions are welcome.

  8. Fake Empire says:

    I was away for a few days and am humbled to read this blog entry! I look forward to seeing how this turns out. May I propose a new category with nominees for your consideration:

    Best Song:
    1. Wait It Out – Imogen Heap (Pink Slip)
    2. Model Homes – In Flight Safety (Three Words)
    3. Bears – Sam Isaac (Operation Awesome)
    4. 40 Day Dream – Up From Below (Nacho Sampler)

    The music is a powerful and appealing part of Chuck, sometimes as much as the actors’ lines, IMHO.

    Speaking of lines: “Because Awesome is awesome and Grimes is a moron.” (Beard) and “Me. I’m the button.” (Three Words) Both spoken by the poet laurete John Casey.

    • Faith says:

      I love it. Definitely my kind of topic…

      Here are a couple more:

      in my sleep – Austin Hartley-Leonard feat Kendall J – train station song

      swim until you can’t see land – Frightened Rabbit – fountain talk with Ellie and them Casey

      • Ernie Davis says:

        You guys will never be able to limit it to less than a dozen! But, yes, best song is a good idea. We just may have to have a preliminary round on that one, and if one of our resident music experts (cough) wants to compile a list I’ll post a poll to narrow it down after 3.13

      • Fake Empire says:

        Yeah, those are great too Faith! I love me some Chuck music . . . often have my Chuck playlist going while driving, doing laundry, cleaning the house, etc.

        Ernie: good call – it would be difficult to keep that list short . . a preliminary round would work!

      • Faith says:

        Ernie, I’ll do one over…I’ll put up an in page link to listen to it like this:
        https://chuckthisblog.wordpress.com/2010/02/28/the-message-in-the-song/

        🙂

      • Crumby says:

        I’ve listened to “In my sleep” all week! Love this one!

      • Fake Empire says:

        Faith: I somehow missed your blog entry on the songs when you originally posted it because 1) you know I’ve curtailed my posting habits this season due to overall fatigue with the show; and 2) I only post through my iPhone so when I do log on, I only see a few topics immediately available.

        Anyway, you did an outstanding job with synching the lyrics with plotlines, characters’ emotional states and situations, and the potential effects on the viewers. That was a good read, and your passion for both the show and analysis are clearly evident.

        As you know from when I was on the NBC boards, and from my username, I greatly enjoy the music. “Fake Empire” remains my favorite song from one of my favorite epi’s: “Break Up.” Ironic for a shipper to like an epi with that name, but I do. Oh well.

        Speaking of irony, sometimes the songs don’t appear to match the plot developments or just simply make you wonder: “Love It All,” “Skinny Love,” or “Creature Fear” come to my mind.

      • Faith says:

        Thank you FE. That was around slow and very depressing times around these parts so fitting I suppose.

        Yeah I think sometimes the songs are just pleasantly sounding…but when they do match and expand on the plot/script it’s a flash of brilliance.

        Tonight we heard another gem (ha–name!) and if Ernie and company would allow me, I’d like to do a message in a song part 2 🙂

        P.S. Fitting..the National is much like you lol.

      • Fake Empire says:

        I will look forward to your part 2, because I have “faith” it will happen. More fun with names! 😉

        The National is like me? Hmm, intriguing. Perhaps because I live relatively close to DC? Hopefully not because I’m a “fake.”

      • Faith says:

        lol The National as in…lyrical and profound.

      • Fake Empire says:

        Thank you Faith! Wow. I take that as a high compliment because I view you in the same way – along with your intelligence and sense of humor. I am humbled. 🙂

    • John says:

      Best Song:
      Sexy Bitch – David Guetta ft. Akon

      • Jen says:

        Good one John. Now every time i hear that song come on i think of the ep.

      • Gabbo says:

        Best Song: Bears. A) because its great; and B) because it was predictive of the turmoil that was coming even as things seemed fine…

    • Jen says:

      How about “Backwards Walk” by Frightened Rabbit from Pink Slip, when Chuck is walking towards Sarah? That song breaks my heart. Powerful lyrics.

      • Matt Simons says:

        “Backwards Walk”, “In my Sleep”, and “Wait it Out” are the songs that best described the Chuck/Sarah relationship. I bet iTunes saw a nice bump in their download rates after the episodes they appeared in.

      • Faith says:

        sigh…Living a Lie – Daniel Zott.

    • Gina says:

      I agree with a lot of the ones mentioned but also wanted to give a shout out to “Dancing with Myself” by Billy Idol & Generation X that played in vs. the Beard when Chuck was sitting alone in Castle studying his flashcards. I laughed so hard.

      • JC says:

        My g/f downloaded Down River by The Temper Trap from last night’s episode. Wow that might be the best song from the show ever.

  9. Matt Simons says:

    Its too bad that we are restricted to this season, because the best Casey grunt comes from the scene where the General says, “the 80’s are over.” Casey’s grunt sounds like a puppy whining. That is still one of my favorite Casey scenes/grunts.

    Casey quip from this year is the one where Shaw and Sarah are fixing supper and Casey says, “never thought Walker would be helping Chuck get laid.”

  10. herder says:

    Most unintentionally funny line, Morgan: “he’s as stiff as a board” consdering that so many people have been making the same comment about Shaw, it was nice to see a character say it too. I say unintentionally because at the time it was filmed I don’t think the whole Shaw = plywood thing had yet developed.

  11. Anders says:

    What type of car is Shaw driving?

    • Fake Empire says:

      Not sure, but I am certain it’s not fast enough to get him out of the show and out of some fans’ doghouses in a quick fashion. 😉

  12. pandachuckkk says:

    Are these polls gonna come with clips??

  13. Merve says:

    The pecsploitation category reminded me that all the main cast members have had shirtless scenes except Adam Baldwin and Vik Sahay. It’s time for Casey and Lester to step up! In fact, why not kill two birds with one stone and have them both shirtless in the same scene? That could be hilarious.

  14. Crumby says:

    Best call back?

    Sizzling Shrimp & Private Eyes – Final Exam (call back to well Sizzling Shrimp)

    “I have the most vivid dreams sometime” – Final Exam (call back to 3-D)

    “Chuck, don’t freak out” – Pink Slip (call back to the Pilot)

    I don’t have time to complete the list, but you see the idea…

  15. Fake Empire says:

    Ernie, if you’re still fielding suggestions and willing to consider one more from me (which I know must look perilously close to OCD now): this season is replete with OOC moments that have set the show’s tone and caused much head-scratching. So:

    Moment That Made Us Scratch Our Heads the Hardest:

    1. Sarah telling Shaw that she liked him kissing her neck.
    2. Chuck consummating the relationship with Hannah so quickly.
    3. Sarah telling Shaw: “My name is Sam.”

    I’m sure there are plenty others that aren’t immediately coming to mind . . .

  16. Crumby says:

    Best Guest Star?

    Adoni Maropis – Pink Slip
    Vinnie Jones – 3 Words
    Mini Anden – 3 Words
    Armand Assante – Angel de la muerte
    Brandon Routh – Operation Awesome, First Class, Mask, Fake Name, Beard, Final Exam, American Hero, Other Guy
    Angie Harmon – Operation Awesome
    Kristin Kreuk – First Class, Nacho Sampler, Mask, Fake Name
    Steve Austin – First Class
    Fahim Anwar – Nacho Sampler
    Johnny Messner – Fake Name
    Louis Lombardi – Fake Name
    Tony Sirico – Fake Name
    Diedrich Bader – Beard
    Robert Patrick – Tic Tac
    Mark Sheppard – American Hero, Other Guy

    I don’t really know who he’s considered guest star and who’s not…

  17. Ernie Davis says:

    Added some categories and nominees. Feel free to suggest more of each!

  18. Ernie Davis says:

    Here’s my proposed poll for the best non-Jeffster comedy scene. If you have an opinion or addition speak now or complain later anyway.

    – Chuck returns to the BuyMore, in his bathrobe
    – Alejandro Goya dances with Ellie
    – Devon and Julius in the lobby waiting for Chuck.
    – Devon: I decapitated the bear babe
    – Chuck’s first contact with Manoosh
    – Chuck fetches Casey’s laser pen.
    – Ellie runs into Hannah in a towel
    – Morgan sneaks into Castle
    – Chuck’s faceplant into a plexiglass wall
    – Chuck in Beckman’s waiting room with the gun
    – Morgan: Man down!
    – The Team B B-team (Casey, Morgan and Devon) return from jail.
    – Chuck’s John Hughes moment ruins Pretty in Pink for Morgan

    • Crumby says:

      Morgan telling Chuck there’s a CIA base under the Buy More.

    • herder says:

      Don’t forget Sarah and Fitzroy “was that necessary?” “yes”. Also, after “the Bear” story, the one about Casey being publicly intoxicated and wetting himself.

    • Jen says:

      I’ve been raking my brain all day trying to come up w somethign else, but i think u have them all.

      I found the exchange between GB and MOrgan at the enf of Other Guy pretty funny.

  19. Ernie Davis says:

    Now we have to come up with the best Jeffster moments. Actually narrowing it down might be a better way of putting it.

    – Jeff: “How may I service you” in Pink Slip
    – Jeffster succumbs to spiked Jail Juice in Three Words
    – Boom boom pow!
    – Lester punches Jeff in the background.
    – Fight club cage
    – Lester gets brainwashed
    – Jeffster meets Hannah
    – Morgan hires Jeffster to stalk Hannah
    – Jeffster reports on Hannah to Morgan
    – Jeffster speculates on how Chuck gets the girls
    – The blood oath at the beginning of Beard
    – BuyMore Revolution
    – Casey vs Jeffster in a first round knockout.
    – Litigious Jeffster in Big Mike’s office
    – The Tuna-roni
    – Jeffster stalks Shaw

Leave a Reply

