A Funny Thing Happened…

Chuck is a comedy. Sometimes. The romance, the action, the spy stuff and the drama, and the angst, often tend to get more attention. I think it’s because while the spy stuff is often silly and full of plot holes, the drama (and angst) contrived and the romance soapish, the comedy usually just plain works. It often can save the other elements, or remind us just how much fun this show is when we’re being dragged through another round of angsty PLIs. There were some great comedic performances and moments this season, let’s relive a few. After the jump.

Vote for your top three comedic moments, and discuss, by all means, discuss.

Oh, and no disrespect to Jeffster, but they’ll need their own category, lest our choices overwhelm us.

About Ernie Davis

I was born in 1998, the illegitimate brain child and pen name of a surly and reclusive misanthrope with a penchant for anonymity. My offline alter ego is a convicted bibliophile and causes rampant pognophobia whenever he goes out in public. He wants to be James Lileks when he grows up or Dave Barry if he doesn’t.  His hobbies are mopery, curling and watching and writing about Chuck.  Obsessively.  Really, the dude needs serious help.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to A Funny Thing Happened…

  1. Emily says:

    Devon’s ” I decapitated the bear, babe” has to be one of the funniest scenes I’ve ever seen on Chuck! Had me still laughing ten minutes later, as well as just now, when I read it on the poll!

    • Ernie Davis says:

      That one and then the scene in the lobby with Julius the security guard really showed Ryan McPartlin’s talent for comedy.

    • Jen says:

      The decapitaed the bear scene to me is the funniest of the whole season so far… and that’s saying a lot cause there have been too many good comedic moments, as the lists shows. But that scene, with Ryan McPartlin’s facial expressions, Sara Lancaster’s face of disbilief, the camera angles, Chuck in the back trying to direct Devon… AH, too funny!

      • atcdave says:

        I predict that scene will win in a landslide. Second place is harder to guess.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        My two after “decapitated the bear” where Chuck’s first try at Manoosh and Awesome talking to Julius the security guard.

  2. Jen says:

    oh, and the closing line:

    “It was grizzly!”

    HAHAHAHAH, i was rolling!

  3. Josh says:

    Grizzly Bear first

    Man down! I’ve been tazed. I can’t feel my legs. Bring a stretcher, wheel barrow, possible change of pants second

  4. Sole says:

    I also LOL’ed when Morgan was gonna attack the ring agents with the electric knifes…

  5. John says:

    I loved the scene where Casey, Devon, and Morgan are commenting on how great Shaw is during the stalker mission. “He ordered for both of them. That’s a power move bro.”

    Cracked me up. Way to help your boy get confident.

  6. Jason says:

    my sense of humor must be very different, I think I could come up with dozens of others I liked more than the grizzley awesome story (I find awesome to be tiresome in this show however), for example, I laughed at the scene in 3.3 when devon asked about the armed guards and the guns, chuck essentially said we have ‘sarah’, reminds me of a great crocodile dundee line when he says “I got a donk”.

  7. weaselone says:

    You missed some good moments with this one, including Sarah’s few comedic moments, Casey as the button and Sarah as Chuck’s army.

    Went with “The cat’s a bear” scene, Chuck vs. the Plexiglas and the return from jail. Nice combo of situational and physical comedy.

  8. JC says:

    I’d like to add a couple.

    Basically everything Morgan did in Beard. From arming himself with electric knives, comparing the situation to Red Dawn and the Ewok jab at the end.

    • Warp says:

      Yes! I love the scene where Morgan and Chuck emerge from Castle… the head gesture towards Chuck and Chuck’s facial expression + waving hands.

  9. Merve says:

    Somoe of my favourite funny scenes that didn’t make the poll:
    – From “Angel de la Muerte,” Devon: “You and what army?” Chuck: “Um, that would be Sarah and her fists.”

    – From “Operation Awesome,” Chuck’s plan backfiring. Sydney’s and Shaw’s reactions were priceless.

    – From “Operation Awesome,” Morgan firing Lester.

    – From “First Class,” Morgan getting stuck in the toy machine. I couldn’t stop laughing when Morgan fell out with all the toys.

    – From “First Class,” Serena: “Is this your first mission?” Chuck: “Maybe.”

    – From “Nacho Sampler,” Sarah seducing Manoosh, especially the “Frak Off” t-shirt sight gag.

    – From “Nacho Sampler,” Sarah tricking Manoosh into thinking that they had slept together. Plus, we got Chuck calling Casey “Tranqenstein.”

    – From “Fake Name,” Chuck impersonating the assassin and saying that he liked cupcakes. (Actually, I couldn’t stop laughing pretty much any time Chuck impersonated Rafe because it was just so ridiculous.)

    – From “Tic Tac,” Chuck pretending to be from the gas company.

    – From “American Hero,” Jeff being the “Picasso of creepiness.” I’m still shuddering from that one.

    – From “American Hero,” Morgan leading Shaw out of the restaurant. I burst out laughing when Morgan said that the call “might not happen right away.”

    – From “Other Guy,” Sarah telling Chuck that she appreciated the tank.

    – From “Other Guy,” the elevator scene. ‘Nuff said.

    • Jen says:

      I think what these polls show is that Chuck is an AMAZING show. I’m reading the nominees in the list and the other moments mentioned by others here that didn’t make the list and just thinking about them brings a smile to my face or actually makes me crack up outlod, making my office roomie think i’m nuts. Chuck is most definitley special, a show like no other… look at how much good stuff there is even in a season that had us in a “low point” for most of the time. What a shame it would be is there was no S4… the cast and crew deserve to keep making the show, and i want to keep watching!

      • Merve says:

        I definitely agree, Jen. I watch a lot of TV comedies: How I Met Your Mother, 30 Rock, Community, Cougar Town, Better Off Ted, and Modern Family. The only one that makes me laugh more than Chuck is Better Off Ted, and I’m 99% sure that Better Off Ted will get canceled.

      • Jen says:

        I love Cougar Town. THere are many good shows out there, but to me none compares to what we have in Chuck. It’s the total package!

    • Crumby says:

      I loooved the “might not happened right away. So be patient.” Morgan has been hilarious this season!

      • Rick Holy says:

        He went from often being annoying in Seasons 1 and 2 to being FANTASTIC in Season 3. I think between Morgan and Casey, that helped get us through some of the more “angsty” episodes.

        And now it looks like they’re going to be “paired up” for at least one or more episodes. Should be a RIOT!!

      • atcdave says:

        I’m pretty excited about seeing Casey and Morgan paired together more. Talk about the odd couple!

      • Crumby says:

        Yeah Go Corgan!

    • Merve says:

      Whoops, I just realized that a couple of the moments I mentioned involved Jeffster. Silly me.

  10. Warp says:

    I love the “yeah… noe nue no…” in vs the Tic Tac

  11. Rick Holy says:

    O.K. I know this has NOTHING to do with this thread, but what the heck. There’s another “Save Our Show” poll out there. This time in USA Today. Who knows what if any difference “winning” these polls will make when “decision time” comes around, but it would be “awesome” to win another. This one’s a little more involved – asks you some questions about yourself (demographic questions), but it’s not anything overwhelming.

    So….. If you want to “make news” again by having CHUCK win yet another “Save Our Show” poll, here’s the link:
    http://www.usatoday.com/life/television/news/2010-04-13-sos14_N.htm

    Take care, all. And PEACE!!!

    • John says:

      I already voted but please do if you have not already.

      It may not help to win all these internet polls but it surely doesn’t hurt.

    • Jen says:

      Thanks for the heads up. I just voted. This one only lets you vote once though… i’ll try to get around that =P

      • Rick Holy says:

        Way to go, John and Jen!!

        If some of you want, please post that USA link on some of the other CHUCK web sites. I tried, but there are a couple of sites that I think for some reason don’t like me any more (or there was some kind of glitch), because my “post” didn’t post! BUMMER! 😦

        Thanks, Joe, for never putting me in the “dog house.” That’s why this CHUCK site is the best. It takes all comers – and deals with everyone’s opinion – and does its best to respect those opinions.

        Do we sometimes disagree? Sure. But that’s part of the FUN!!

        So VOTE for CHUCK again everybody. And “Keep on Chuckin’!”

        You all ROCK!!!! Peace!

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Jen, usually they block by cookie, so if you can find the right cookie and delete it, you can vote multiple times. If it’s by IP then other than renewing your DHCP repeatedly, if you use DHCP, then you’re out of luck. Not that I condone cheating. I just like to be an enabler.

      • Jen says:

        Got it Ernie. I found the precise cookies and got rid of them. I’m voting again 🙂

    • Jen says:

      For this USA poll… i’m blocking the site for cookies. Let me know if you guys want to know how.

      Don’t know if my voting “method” should be posted on this very decent site =O

  12. SarahWalkerCIA says:

    SarahWalkerCIA returns to Twitter this weekend. We’ll talk cupcakes, Prague, handcuffs and hear from some friends I met in DC, too.

    Thanks for thinking so highly of us. Chuck says Bonjour!

    • drosejr says:

      Yay! Been missing the wit and the chance to use Google Translate. Bring back CarinaMillerDEA as well.

    • SarahWalkerCIA says:

      All I can say is that it was traumatic and great. Kidding…

      BTW, Chuck isn’t all that smart about Twitter so if you send an email to sarahwalkercia (at) fastmail.fm, we might have time to let you know when we’re up and running again. Or, more precisely, when we’re NOT running…

    • Paul says:

      Glad to see you’ll be keeping all of us up to date again. I miss reading about your, ahem, adventures.

Leave a Reply

