Hooked on A Feeling!

Well friends, work has kept me exceedingly busy the last couple of weeks so a special acknowledgment of my fellow blogmeisters is in order as they have taken on the bulk (well, all) of the S3 rewatch/recap.  With that said, I have to admit that I find myself in the position of not wanting to watch a lot of S3.  I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve rewatched Other Guy and key favorite scenes from several S3 episodes.  I have also found myself going back to S1 and S2, looking at the evolution of Morgan, re-familiarizing myself with Sarah falling for Chuck (somewhere between fixing her phone and before defusing bombs with computer viruses), and lots of great Chuck and Sarah moments in between.  I have avoided Poochie, Hannah, and other nonsense like the plague.  It is this reason, that feeling I was left with at the end of Other Guy, that I don’t feel compelled to subject myself to those painful moments in a season that is mostly forgettable in my estimation.  And so, with that positive feeling (that I refuse to let a rewatching take away), I have resorted to subjecting you to what music has come to mind based on the positive position I find myself in.  This is a long one-brace yourselves.  More after the break.I first must admit to a bit of trepidation as I anxiously await, along with you, for episode 3.14.  The previews have me very excited, but my knowledge of the modus operandi of TPTB have me worried that the proverbial rug will be pulled out from underneath the fandom once again.  I think the excellent guest post from LizJames has tackled that very well, so I leave that sentiment as just that-the little nagging voice in the back of my head telling me not to get too excited or too positive.  BUT I find myself not being able to stop smiling as I rewatch elements of Beard, American Hero, and Other Guy.

From Sarah’s perspective, I’ve chosen a few songs to capture this newfound happiness.  The first song is by an artist named Plumb.  Her song, “Blush (Only You)” are so sweet.  The song speaks of being in love with the right person.  Here is a link:   http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/plumb/blushonlyyou.html    Here is a sample of the lyric:

“When you look at me I start to blush
and all that I can see is you and us
well baby I’m so free to be in love
with you, with you…

I wanna be in love with only you
I wanna watch the sky turn grey then blue
I wanna know the kiss thats always new
I wanna be in love with only you
just you

stars will fall
and dark will light the way
we’ll hit the ground
and fall into the shade
i’ll light the night with fire
and run away with you”

The next song from the Sarah perspective is called “Inner Smile” by Texas.  I couldn’t find just the song, but someone did the lyrics with the song here:   http://www.last.fm/music/Texas/_/Inner+Smile   It is such an upbeat song and captures the feelings so well.  I’ve selected a few of the lyrics to explain the POV:
“You gave me something like loving
And took me in so soon
You took my feelings from nothing
Came back at noon
Just meet me, I’m ready
To show myself to you

So if I lose my patience
You must try to understand
(Try to understand)
If I lose my patience, oh yeah

You make my wishes as much as
Your kisses make me blue
You found my river, now will you
Escape away too?
But baby, I’m ready
I’m falling into you”

From Chuck’s perspective (and I’m really curious about the men’s reaction to my selections), I chose two more songs.  I still feel like Chuck is pinching himself-like he can’t believe the nerd got the girl.  His commentary about not liking the guy he used to be helped me choose “Sick of Myself” by Matthew Sweet.  Song here:  http://www.elyrics.net/read/m/matthew-sweet-lyrics/sick-of-myself-lyrics.html   I’ve listed a portion of the lyrics below.  I think they speak to the challenges Chuck faces as he is trying to choose his path, whether that means he chooses being a spy or choosing Sarah, or if there is a happy medium:

“You don’t know how you move me
Deconstruct me
And consume me
I’m all used up
I’m out of luck
I am starstruck
By something in your eyes that is keeping my hope alive

But I’m sick of myself when I look at you
Something is beautiful and true
In a world that’s ugly and a lie
It’s hard to even want to try
And I’m beginning to think Baby you don’t know

I’ll take or leave
The room to breathe
The choice to leave you
I’ll throw away
A chance at greatness
Just to make this
Dream come into play, I don’t know if I’ll find a way”

And finally, I went back to one of my favorite bands, Lifehouse.  Their song, “All In” (listen here: http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/lifehouse/allin.html) sums up the place Chuck finds himself in, now that he has chosen to go after (and subsequently “catch”) Sarah:

“All night staring at the ceiling
counting for minutes I’ve been feeling this way
So far away and so alone

But you know it’s alright
I came to my senses
Letting go of my defenses
There’s no way I’m giving up this time
Yeah, you know I’m right here
I’m not losing you this time

And I’m all in, nothing left to hide
I’m falling harder than a landslide
I spend a week away from you last night
And now I’m calling, calling out your name
Even if I lose the game, I’m all in
I’m all in tonight, yeah I’m all in, I’m all in for life

There’s no taking back what we’ve got
Too strong, we’ve had each other’s back for too long
There’s no breaking up this time
And you know it’s okay, I came to my senses
Letting go of my defenses
There’s no way I’m giving up this time

And I’m all in, nothing left to hide
I’m falling harder than a landslide
I spend a week away from you last night
And now I’m calling, calling out your name
Even if I lose the game, I’m all in
I’m all in tonight, yeah I’m all in, I’m all in for life

I want it, I want it, I want it
I want it, I want it, I want it, yeah
I want it, I want it, I want it, yeah

And I’m all in, calling out your name
Even if I lose the game, I’m all in, I’m all in for life
And I’m all in, nothing left to hide
I’m falling harder than a landslide
I spend a week away from you last night
And now I’m calling, calling out your name
Even if I lose the game, I’m all in
I’m all in tonight, yeah I’m all in, I’m all in for life
Yeah I’m all in, I’m all in for life ”

I’m not sure what the back six episodes are going to bring, but I’m hooked on the feeling I have right now (sorry, I don’t like that particular song, although it probably would work too!) and listen to these songs to help me wait it out (sorry, couldn’t help myself 🙂 ).  Let me know what you think!

-amyabn

About amyabn

My name is Amy and I'm in the active Army as my profession. I love the show Chuck and want to see it succeed for many seasons to come. My twitter handle is amyabn.
This entry was posted in Inside Chuck, Inside Sarah, Music, Season 3, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Hooked on A Feeling!

  1. Faith says:

    You’re definitely not alone Amy. I hate to say it, but I’m separating myself this time from the blog-think-sync. While a rewatch may give me new perspective, especially with Other Guy in mind, I just can’t stomach it right now lol. So I too have been rewatching the fun times…the much, much early times and I have to say relationships aside, Casey and Morgan has grown leaps and bounds. It’s less obvious but no less powerful.

    P.S. Love the songs (plural), new ipod grub lol.I’m all in!

    • Faith says:

      I should add that for the first time in awhile (lol I commented before I saw your post in Cementing…) I’m feeling optimistic and happy. It’s a good feelings. “I’m good here” (Wookie).

    • amyabn says:

      I feel like I should offer more analysis, but I really think the lyrics speak for themselves. I also think that cautious feeling has slightly dampened my enthusiasm, which is why I felt compelled to do this entry-to offer something positive!

      • joe says:

        Heh! You just did, Amy. This post is now a resource.

        I have to say that I feel remiss because I simply haven’t paid enough attention to the music so far this season. And much of the story is right there.

        And that goes back to the idea of re-watching. Yeah, I’ve had to make myself do it for some of these episodes. I shouldn’t have had to work so hard at that (Joe nods to Dave). And man, was it worth it. I’m stunned, actually.

        It’s a large investment of time and energy. But if you decide you might give it a shot sometime, I’ll encourage you all the way. Needless to say, I will be pre-ordering the S3 DVD soon.

  2. herder says:

    Yeah, I good here too, still don’t want to rewatch most of season 3 but I have lost count of the times I have seen the Other Guy. Last night I even went as far as rewatching both Final Exam and American Hero. I’m looking forward to 3.14 with hope and excitement and that is something that I haven’t been able to say for most of this season. Also great choice of Matthew Sweet, definitely under-rated, we need more of him and the Eels.

  3. Gabbo says:

    Good stuff, Amy, thanks.

    And speaking of music, did anyone see what went up tonight from “Sarah Walker” on Twitter? An amazing song that “Sarah” claims reminds her of what happened in Prague. It’s a jazz vocal, not the kind of stuff they actually play on Chuck, but I thought it was spot on for “Sarah” post prague.

    The feed is here: http://twitter.com/ciasarahwalker

    The song is called Blackberry Winter. Talks about a woman reflecting on “all the love you wasted on someone you never really had.”

  4. Jen says:

    Amy, i’m right there with you, still on the C&S high… i won’t even re-watch Mask… i disliked those last 10min so much and the whole PLI thing that i deleted it from my DVR. Other Guy, i’ve rewatched several times, also some parts of American Hero.

    Thanks for sharing this music. The same has been happening to me; i’ve been connecting lyrucs to Chuck and Sarah.

  5. adi says:

    Amy,
    You are the best. Thanks for the lyrics.

  6. ChuckNewbie8 says:

    Hey look! Perfect timing.

    • amyabn says:

      Great minds think alike! Thanks for sharing! I’m heading to work with a smile on my face-not a bad way to start the day.

  7. amyabn says:

    While I find it odd replying to myself, I must say that I contemplated doing a whole article on the music that fit what we got on screen. An example would be John Mayer’s Heartbreak Warfare. I wanted to re-imagine the episodes with music that reflected the way the episodes made me feel. I voted against the idea as it was too dark.

    • Anonymous says:

      Funny you mention Heartbreak Warfare cause everytime I hear it I connect it to Chuck and Sarah. The line ” drop his name, push it in and twist the knife again. Watch my face, as I pretend to feel no pain” makes me think of the ridiculous LI situation (that is thankfully over!!!).

      If u haven’t seen JM live, I recommend it. I don’t care what the media says about him… He is an amazing writer n musician.

Leave a Reply

