Speculation Please: Chuck vs. The Honeymooners – Updated

Well friends, I’m trying to get back into the groove for Chuck.  This two week layoff, plus a very very busy work schedule, have left me with precious little time to post or to attempt anything longer.  I have been poking around our blog and the internet and am very excited for Monday’s new episode, so I thought I’d open a speculation thread.  We can start a review thread after the episode has aired.

I’ve seen multiple videos to include a more spoilery Canadian version (they get all the good stuff!).  Here they are:

And the Canadian promo:

I am guessing that the episode will unfold with Sarah and Chuck leaving Paris on a train.  Yeah, I’m that brilliant.  In the meantime, Casey starts training Morgan and comedy ensues.  Beckman will get mad that C&S are off the grid and send Casey and Morgan to get them.  The Canadian promo shows the bit about Chuck and Sarah’s vows-to stop being spies together.  I think their acknowledgement of seeing the Basque terrorist will spur them to action.  That, along with their recognition that they are an awesome team, will make them reevaluate a possible life outside of being spies.  Casey catches up with them, only to be captured, and Chuck and Sarah do the right thing by rescuing him and Morgan (at least I think that is what the flying spin kick stuff is about).  I hope we get some sort of moment between Chuck and Ellie, or even better, Chuck, Sarah, and Ellie.  The promotional stuff says Ellie is mad that Chuck missed her party, not that he doesn’t say goodbye.  I’ve also read in various tweets that we will hear Sarah actually say “I love you” to Chuck and that the bracelet will be making an appearance.  I hope, as I’ve speculated elsewhere, that Chuck gives her an Eiffel tower charm or a train charm to make the bracelet “hers” and not just a hand me down.

I’m curious about Beckman’s reaction.  Will she say it’s about time and then send in the spy couple in the next episode to help?  Will she be mad?  How does she keep Chuck and Sarah in the spy game-blackmail, threats, or is it voluntary?  Will Morgan still live with Chuck (and presumably Sarah) or will he move in with Casey?  Or Anna?  Stay tuned and let the speculation begin!

-amyabn

Update From Joe

I Have Questions!

Are Chuck and Sarah going to be “secret lovers” for a while? If so, how long before it comes out in the open? The promos tell me that Casey’s going to know pretty quickly, and I’m sure Morgan will too. How long before General Beckman and Ellie find out, and which of them will have the most explosive reaction? That’s what I want to know.

We see in the promos that Chuck & Sarah decide to leave the spy life. No one believes that’s going to last very long. But what changes their mind, and when does this happen?

Did “the Director” succeed in getting the CIA Cypher schematics to The Ring, or did Casey stop them? Will we soon see a Ring Intersect Agent? Is this what brings back Stephen?

Can Ellie intersect like Chuck, and did I just invent a new verb?

Who really had Eve Shaw killed, and why? The Ring? The CIA? Langston Graham? Will we find that this is Chuck & Sarah’s first big mystery to solve, and will Bryce help them solve it from beyond the grave? (Bwa-ha!)

– joe

About amyabn

My name is Amy and I'm in the active Army as my profession. I love the show Chuck and want to see it succeed for many seasons to come. My twitter handle is amyabn.
This entry was posted in Season 3, Spoilers, Wild Speculation. Bookmark the permalink.

160 Responses to Speculation Please: Chuck vs. The Honeymooners – Updated

  1. BDaddyDL says:

    um can I leave it at ditto?

    • joe says:

      NO! That would leave nothing left for us to say, BDaddy!
      (We only have a limited supply of ‘dittos’ and I used them up earlier today.) 😉

  2. Faith says:

    “Sarah Walker do you agree to quit he spy life with me”
    “I do”

    :-O *squee*

    • Faith says:

      Ok seriously who has a smile on their face watching Chuck and Sarah on the couch watching TV together?

      Please tell me I’m not the only one lol.

      • Paul says:

        I thought it was cute. I just hope it was taken from an eps and is not something they shot special for a promo

      • Jen says:

        Me, totally! i watched that little piece several times. Go ahead, call me a SUCKER!!!

        😛

  3. Jason says:

    chuck sounds like JR Ewing – I have really high expectations for this episode … wow … double punch casey …. sarah one handed fighting …. sarah chuck with an All Star Wrestlinig tag team kick that would put the Road Warriors to shame ….. motor bike crashin thru a window … chuck on top of a train then swinging thru an open window …. sarah trapped in her room with some baddies …. jeff and lester playing …. a chuck / ellie / maybe sarah scene …. who says the shippers need CS loving …. truth is the show needs CS as a trusting, loving team far worse than the shippers do

    • herder says:

      So much better to be speculating about this than about what something “traumatic and emotional” might be. I don’t know what will happen but I am sure that it will be more fun, popular and well received than what happened in Pink Slip.

      A happy fan base is much more likely to push the show than an anxious fan base.

    • herder says:

      Oh yeah, one other point, does anyone else see the resemblance between Sarah waving at the end of the first promo and the picture of Yvonne in the frak off tee shirt that was taken while filming Natcho Sampler?

    • joe says:

      I think Casey’s the one who’s cuffed Chuck to Sarah.

      I wonder if Chuck bribed him?

      • Faith says:

        I just love how she CAN’T pick that lock…you know unlike helicopter? lol.

      • Jen says:

        I wouldn’t want to pick that lock =P

      • joe says:

        …or the bank vault lock in Broken Heart.

        Now I wonder if Sarah bribed Casey!

      • Merve says:

        Maybe I’m really fishing here, but it’s possible that Sarah will try to pick the lock, but whatever she uses to pick it gets stuck in the hole.

      • Paul says:

        Well considering that the cuffs switch wrists and DR’s teaser that the same person will suprise Chuck and Sarah twice, I’m thinking they get out of the cuffs, get off the train and Casey cuffs them AGAIN.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Well the cuffs switch wrists in the promo, but then so does Sarah’s outfit. It looks like they get cuffed twice. The outfit and the cuffs are consistent. Maybe Sarah does pick the lock so she can change clothes. I mean she wouldn’t want to clash with the Vespa, and her first outfit wasn’t really outdoor wear.

      • Jason says:

        morgan has the keys, sarah one punched him into oblivion when he volunteered to let them go, I think sarah has her ‘lioness’ mojo back in the back 6, they have got to do a scene where she gets jealous (lets say more annoyed, I want angsty words like jealousy banned from the chuck sarah discussion) and smacks someone, sort of like a female fitzwald punch

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Sarah with her mojo back and openly jealous for the first time is a scene I want to see. She’s never been allowed to be openly, unapologetically jealous. But no angst. I just want to see Chuck, being his friendly self with another woman and Sarah respond similar to Truth, but with a look that says Chuck, I know I can trust you, so trust me, you are leading this woman on, now stop before I have to hurt you or kill her during the salad course.

        Of course they could do something crazy and have her actually say something… Just a thought.

        The good, at last, thank god, they’re going to let Yvonne and Zach riff off each other (which is exactly what the Tigress scene was) and do some comedy. Yeah, who knew with that expressive face and manner Yvonne could do more than pout and cry while staring longingly at Chuck on a surveillance feed. Speaking of which, how fast do you think those two will have all the cameras and bugs out of that apartment?

      • Jason says:

        ernie – dave’s show he got me to enjoy- the thin man – myrna loy has almost ambivalent trust for nick, yet seems to be able to play the wife role – sort of interesting that the 6 movies all started with ‘the thin man …..’ just like chuck titles start ‘chuck versus ….’

      • amyabn says:

        @Ernie, I would love to see what would happen if Jill shows up! I think Sarah would be far more phased by it than Chuck.

  4. Jen says:

    I’m glad the 3 wk break is almost over n we have what should be an amazing ep coming up! The clips look like a blast n I can’t wait for Monday.
    I think we can all agree that CS will find themselves in a situation where they’ll have to be spies on the train, making them realize how great they work together n how much they enjoy it.
    I’m really hoping for a Sarah/Ellie/Chuck scene where she gets to shatter glass with her happy scream at C&S being together.

  5. Jen says:

    Unrelated comment:
    who thinks that new USA show Covert Affairs about a blond CIA Agent could be inspired by Sarah Walker?

      • JC says:

        Or her sister since the character is named Annie Walker.

      • Jen says:

        U serious about the name????

        I saw the promo last week n thought “Sarah walker rip off!!!! Yvonne is so much better!!!!”, then felt bad for the poor chick n her new show. YS is better though… I’m biased!

    • Paul says:

      Wow…are you series???? There is absolutely no creativity anymore in broadcast TV. Chuck does well, and every freaking network has to have one just like it. The only silver lining is that this might prompt NBC to keep the “original” on air while all the other networks try to air their rip-offs….

      • joe says:

        I gotta say, Paul – I think I first saw the promo about a month ago, about the time American Hero aired. My immediate reaction was to say “This is a ‘poor man’s’ Chuck & Sarah!”.

  6. joe says:

    If I hear Sarah finally say “I love you, Chuck.” then I die a happy man.

  7. JC says:

    All I want is an over the top Ellie reaction to C/S being together.

    • Jen says:

      At the risk of a “ditto overdraft”… DITTO!!

    • amyabn says:

      I think she’ll be ticked that he missed the party, but i hope Chuck turns the tables on her with her “You’re a Bartowski, you can’t go far enough” line. He’ll tell her he took her advice-but it took him chasing her to Europe to catch her!

      • weaselone says:

        I could see that happening. Somehow I think Ellie would prefer having a future sister in law to having Chuck in attendance at her going away party.

    • Ofer says:

      I think Ellie will be estatic that they are back together, but I think it would be hilarious if Ellie then threatens Sarah with bodily harm if she hurts Chuck again. Then Sarah pausing to wonder if she could take an upset Ellie.

  8. Merve says:

    Things I’m looking forward to seeing:
    – Sarah and Chuck handcuffed together. From the promos, we can guess that either it happens twice or there was a serious production error.
    – Jeffster!
    – Casey and Morgan going on some wacky international adventure to track down Chuck and Sarah.

    Things that I’d like to see:
    – The return of Drunk Ellie! The CityTV promo makes it look like we at least get to see Tipsy Ellie or Buzzed Ellie, but full-on “Undercover Lover” Drunk Ellie was hilarious and needs to make a return.
    – A really interesting villain. I think that we might just be getting another boring generic one, especially if he’s just another Basque terrorist, but they might surprise us.
    – I like explosions. I hope that the train explodes. I’m semi-serious about that.

  9. odysszeuss says:

    …I clicked on view upcoming airings for Chuck and it said that the honeymooners episode is going to be on the day before the role models episode is supposed to air. Bummer huh? Just think about how your gonna watch two new episodes in two days. Make sure and check your TV guide, because this Mondays episode of Chuck might not be pre-emped in your part of the United States. Maybe Chuck isn’t pre-empted at all, or its pre-empted for some and not others…

    source: http://zacharylevifan.com/wordpress/?p=3650

  10. amyabn says:

    I also read somewhere that there is supposed to be a Polish rocker on the train-maybe that is where at least one set of hand cuffs come from 😉 It will be cool if we get to hear Yvonne use her Polish.

  11. herder says:

    Ok speculation, I’m going to start with a few assumptions, Chuck and Sarah are together and they are in the spy life.

    -I think that it is Chuck who suggests that they leave the spy life together at the beginning of the show and that it is Sarah who suggests that they go back to the spy life together at the end.

    -Ellie will be either excited, very excited or very very excited that Chuck and Sarah are together and will blurt out something that makes C&S very uncomfortable. It may be living arrangements, marriage, children or something like “now that the two of you are together maybe you can start a real, normal job that suits your abilities, something other than the Buy More and Orange Orange”. Ellie is a mothr hen and now she will have two chicks to look after.

    -Speaking of living arrangements, I see Morgan either ending up living with Casey or looking after the Awesome’s apartment while they are in Africa.

    -The General’s reaction should be fun, it can run the gamut from her expecting this to resigned accepance to outrage. That and having both Chuck and Morgan to deal with on her “best team” could drive her to drink. I wonder if we will see her pop up for communication on the screen in Chuck’s bedroom again, if she does, my guess is that it will be the last time.

    -Who handles Morgan, Casey or Chuck, my guess is Casey which should be fun as his cover will likely be that they have become best freinds meaning he will have to spend time with Morgan both on and off the job, which is why I am guessing that Morgan will eventually endo out living with Casey.

    -With everybody living in the same aparment building, I think we will see the return of fountain talks and the use of the Morgan Door (and maybe Sarah putting a lock on the Morgan Door).

    -I would guess that both Cuck and Sarah go back to their cover jobs, the Castle is underneath Orange Orange and they need the acess so Sarah keeps her job, the Buy More is close by and Morgan is assistant manager so Chuck says put.

    I’ve not sone any speculation about the Ring as we still don’t know who they are or what they want to accomplish.

    • Crumby says:

      “Ellie will be either excited, very excited or very very excited that Chuck and Sarah are together and will blurt out something that makes C&S very uncomfortable.”

      I totally want to see that!

      • Paul says:

        Well considering that Ellie looks like she is drinking heavily during the party, it will be an, ahem, interesting conversation.

    • amyabn says:

      Herder, you bring up a great point: The Ring. Are we to assume that because they caught the director, they have been neutralized? I’m guessing no as we saw three? shadowed individuals, including a woman, at their little tribunal. Still don’t know what they want, goals, etc. I also agree with most that I found Fulcrum much more of a threat. Should be interesting. Will they keep after remnants of the Ring or will that be swept under the rug?

    • Ernie Davis says:

      I like some of your points herder. One interesting thing I see is that they are setting up the Bartowski-Woodcomb-Walker-Bartowski-Grimes-Casey residence as another Buy More of the spy world. No matter how many agents they send in, none ever come back. I always thought there was a certain logic that of course everyone in the spy world knows about the Burbank Buy More, but who is going to be stupid enough to actually go there? Now the apartment building, in the back 6 being inhabited with only spies so far as we know, can become the Buy More of Echo Park. This sets us up for the most secure apartment building in the world and some fun from that, like a full tactical response to a Jeffster attempt at stalking.

      Also, you guys know my dream for season 8 with Ellie and Sarah (and possibly Anna Wu) pregnant at the same time and the guys response to a hormonal free fire zone in the courtyard.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Oh, and as for the Ring, I think we get an episode or two of them on the ropes and not much of a factor until they start the setup for the season finale in about 3.16 and 3.17.

      My feeling is that 3.17 Chuck v. The Living Dead reveals the Ring’s plot to build an army of emotionless intersect soldiers. Zombies in essence. Unless they managed to resurrect Shaw by then, which I’d be fine with, now that they’ve defined his character. I think he’d make a good zombie. 🙂

      • amyabn says:

        Maybe that is why COL Keller wanted the laudinol? Dope up enough agents with laudinol and intersect uploads and look out world!

    • herder says:

      I will try one bit of intersect speculation, Chuck is starting to have dreams, in the synopsis for the tooth he thinks that his dreams indicate trouble for a foreign dignitary. Perhaps this is the intersect doing this, when it makes a certain connection with information it comes out as a flash, but when it is a less certain connection between bits of information, more in the nature of a speculation it comes out in the form of a dream. Under this idea the Hart to Hart bit is a dream of Chuck’s that imagines the way that his spy relationship with Sarah is headed, this dream occurs before Beckman send them to train under the role models in 3.15.

      • Merve says:

        That sounds pretty cool, herder. My personal spec is that Chuck is starting to have untriggered dream flashes.

      • Merve says:

        Sorry, by that I mean that the intelligence is actual Intersect intelligence, but his dreams are starting to draw on that intelligence. It could be interesting; Chuck might actually be more useful asleep than awake.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I like a lot of these ideas. I had a similar thought to the dreams that are flashes of intel, or the intersect reacting to a dream as if it were real. My other thought is that the Ring is further along on some aspects of the intersect since their motives are less pure. They’ve found a way to transmit something that triggers flashes or can disable the intersect. Or perhaps they plan o controlling a Zombie army with specific flashes, kind of like in Serenity they set off a specific response in River Tam, and Casey could get his butt kicked again…

        Man, Casey is gonna take a serious couple of hits to the face this episode I just realized there are at a minimum one frying pan and a double punch.

  12. Crumby says:

    What I also want to know is what skills Morgan uses to find Chuck?!

    • amyabn says:

      Chuck probably put something on his MySpace or Facebook page that Morgan caught on to or maybe SarahWalkerCIA put something out on twitter? LOL!

      • Paul says:

        speaking of which….that twitter page keeps coming and going. Does twitter crack down on that kind of stuff?

      • JC says:

        I don’t think so, I’ve seen tons of twitter accounts for fictional characters. Quite a few for this show in fact.

    • Crumby says:

      LOL

      He probably knows every little things Chuck wants to see or do in Europe, considering that “he’s like the Intersect on Chuck.”

    • Ernie Davis says:

      He knows Chuck craves Subway and hacks in to see where the last Meatball Marinara with extra jalepeno was ordered.

  13. Ernie Davis says:

    OK, Here’s my speculation. Since Ellie and Awesome leave for Africa at the end of this episode Casey must get the frying pan to the face this episode. So, Casey must be back in Burbank and Chuck and Sarah are off the grid for a little longer than Beckman is comfortable with. Casey sneaks into Ellie’s to see if he can find something like a contact number and gets the frying pan before he can explain. He tells Ellie, after the fact that Chuck and Sarah are missing, possibly eloped. Ellie informs Casey that Chuck is never missing, just ask Morgan where he is, which sets up Morgan’s skill reveal.

    Probably a few nice Chuck and Sarah doing normal stuff scenes, followed by Casey finding them on the train. Unfortunately Chuck and Sarah have already committed to stopping a terrorist attack, hence the in unison sorry and punch. The plot is thwarted but one terrorist escapes and manages to capture Casey and Morgan, after Casey briefly gets the jump on Chuck and Sarah enough to cuff them again. Chuck and Sarah locate the terrorist, steal a Vespa, rush to the scene and save the day.

    Casey covers for them, since the went off grid to capture a terrorist and foil his plot. Beckman lets them be a team, they arrive just in time to see Ellie and Devon off and announce they are a couple/engaged.

    I had a few scenes of dialog in my head. I’ve been thinking about how they would present the couple post coupling for the first time. My dialog didn’t quite work, but I’ve decided the first scene of Chuck and Sarah has to be shot like Lethal Weapon, the two of them in bed from above, except both are staring straight up with goofy smiles similar to Chuck’s after the closet in Truth and they reprise using I Can See Clearly Now from suburbs.

  14. joe says:

    Here’s my spec. Morgan is an agent. Anna LIKES that, and we know Julia Ling returns! Ipso Absurdium. Anna has a real shot at becoming an agent too.

  15. herder says:

    I had figured that the frying pan would be later, after Ellie and Awesome return from Africa, but your idea words just as well if not better. I agree with the rest of the plot guesses.

    I do think the first scene of Chuck and Sarah are of them in bed together somewhat like Leathal Weapon but this time instead of Sarah jumping out of bed and saying “busy day, lots to do” you get something like “morning Chuck, did you sleep well” and they both start grinning. They stay in bed and either start to do what comes naturally or they talk a bit about their situation and what their future plans are (or both). Either before or after that scene you get what is going on in Burbank and Casey and Morgan speculating about what is going on with Chuck and Sarah, probably this is where you get Casey’s line about Chuck needing a walker after Walker is done with him. That and the General’s reaction to their being off the grid.

    • herder says:

      This was supposed to be in reply to Ernie’s post above.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I had a similar take on the first bed scene, but my idea was to use it not just for shippery fun, but to set up how they now speak and punch in unison abd know each other’s moves well enough to do WWF style roundhouses, and set up the Chuck’s gonna need a walker line. Like I said I never quite got the dialog to work IMO, but here’s my last try.

        Scene, hotel room, Chuck and Sarah in bed, but, not like in Lethal weapon. They are both on their backs, staring off into space with goofy smiles like Chuck had after the closet in Truth. Music, I went with I Can See Clearly Now. Maybe the Jimmy Cliff version this time, but that’s just me.

        [In Unison] Wow…

        Chuck: That was…
        Sarah: incredible. I thought after nearly…
        Chuck: a week it’d be, you know…
        Sarah: It would be a little less…
        Chuck: well not less incredible, just …
        [unison] Wow.

        Sarah moves closer, they embrace and start all that cuddling stuff.

        Chuck: Sarah, I hate to be the one to break the mood, but sooner or later, we’re going to have to…
        Sarah: get out of bed for something other than room service…
        Chuck: and deal with …
        Sarah: Beckman, and Casey, and …
        Chuck: what we’re going to do with …
        Sarah: the rest of our lives.

        [a pause, some cuddling, perhaps a kiss or two]

        Sarah: Chuck? [going into seduction mode]Maybe before we do… well I know we’ve been making up for lost time, a lot of lost time and… Do you think you could…

        Chuck: [Famous raised eyebrow and semi-smirk, they exchange a knowing look] I think I can manage…

        Sarah: …cause I mean it’d be fine if you… I mean it’s been, I mean we’ve… it is kind of exhausting…

        Chuck: [reflecting a certain certainty now] No, no, I can definitely manage. But hey Sarah, I think I pulled a hip flexor or something when we… Well I think you’re going to have to take the lead this time and…

        Sarah: [rolling over on top of Chuck] No problem… After all it’s a team effort.

        [assorted kissing, etc]

        Chuck: Go team!

        Cue Credits.

      • Jason says:

        not sure if do to the uniqueness of the two stars, or the way the WT/WT was written, but I agree, just tons of stuff should the writers want to exploit it, I keep waiting to hear this line from sarah – “chuck, did you just flash?’

      • amyabn says:

        @Jason
        and Chuck replies, “yep, ever heard of a little book called the kama sutra?!”
        Bartowski eyebrow dance and then goes in for a kiss.

        Yeah, I’m a sap.

      • herder says:

        Fun ideas Ernie, the only thing that I’m not sure of is the music, I’ve been thinking of the ukelele version of “somewhere over the rainbow”, too lazy to figure out who did it.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Great song herder. I’d agree, except that I Can See Clearly has a pre-established meaning and history. By the way it was done by Israel Kamakawiwo’ole. No I can’t pronounce it, but I have a co-worker who is married to a Samoan guy who can. He was a Hawiian who weighed in at about 600+ lbs and died young, before that song became a minor hit. Those not familiar here’s a link. The video was too big to embed here and I don’t know how to re-size.

      • joe says:

        Ernie, about your opening scene, two words…

        “Oh, behave!” 😉

  16. Ernie Davis says:

    One thing that one of the promos points to, if it’s part of an episode and not just for the promo, is we’re going to see another side of Sarah Walker. We already know what Casey does in his downtime. It involves HotPockets and scotch and military documentaries. (Or in one case surveillance for fun like tuning in to the Walker/Bartowski sleepover in Truth, complete with milk and cookies. He knew it was going to be amusing…)

    I’m like Chuck in DeLorean. The idea that Sarah Walker has a personal life just boggles the mind.

    • amyabn says:

      This is great: speculation within a speculation post! What does Sarah Walker do in her down time?
      -work out. Would love to see her heavy bag in the apartment. Chuck defends heavy bag, sarah defends Tron poster.

      -cooking? We know she has grown from her gourmet weiner burning (helicopter) to being able to make a wicked breakfast (Suburbs). Maybe she takes cooking classes (it’s not like she has a kitchen in her hotel room).

      -knitting? Could be funny, to include her explaining that the knitting needles double as awesome weapons.

      What can you guys come up with?

      • herder says:

        This is fun, the only image that I have in mind is Sarah moving in, arriving with a huge heavy bag and a tiny suitcase. That and parking the Porche next to the Crown Vic.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I say she learned Klingon. That would be epic. I also like knitting.

        I’ve been trying to think of something along the lines of Casey’s Bonsai tree. Something that seems out of character, but oddly fits. Knitting might be it since Sarah is skilled with pointy objects.

        We know with a degree of certainty she isn’t into music, computers (for fun) or gaming. I’m coming up empty, other than Klingon.

      • Crumby says:

        Maybe she plays music. She had a violon or something in a Cougars flashback.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Just her deciding she needs a hobby to be more “real” and then trying them out one by one could be hilarious. She’d start with gaming and computers, try a Bonsai, move on to collectible figurines and commemorative plates when she temporarily develops a Home Shopping Network addiction while in a lull in the action, and settles on knitting, cause she already has the knitting needles. She just never thought of using them that way.

        I like the image of the Porche, the Crown Vic, and the Nerd Herder parked next to each other.

      • joe says:

        My suspicion is that she’s tried her very best to master Nintendo Duck Hunt, just because she knows Chuck loves it so much. But Sarah’s discovered that she can’t quite get the hang of it… 😉

      • amyabn says:

        I think it would be cool for Sarah to learn Klingon for Chuck and Chuck learn Polish for Sarah, and neither tells the other. They could do a scene where one says something to the other, a surprised look, then the other replies. It would mirror Sarah speaking to Carina in Polish and Carina replying in Swedish.
        Chuck told Ellie, in First Date I think, that he wanted to travel Europe (check), and learn an obscure language. That could also lead to a reveal if Ellie questions Sarah on speaking Polish and we learn that she studied business and eastern Europe at Harvard. I guess I would like more backstory on Sarah and that could be a way to get it.

      • Jason says:

        would it not be great – if she were to become a show fan blogger, on some ‘fake’ will they – won’t they show, constantly complaining to chuck about TPTB, maybe even have fedak guest star as a fake showrunner, have chuck have to calm sarah down as she wants to punch the Fedak’s lights out, what a funny twist that could play out as, another fun thing idea, what if jeff has the same hobby, and they become buddies on the blog without knowing it, sarah figures it out when lester calls jeff ‘starfish69’

      • Merve says:

        That sounds like a pretty fun idea, Jason, but last time they tried a meta-joke, the fan base got “insulted.”

      • Russ says:

        I would love to see Chuck and Sarah boxing on a wII.

      • Paul says:

        I could see a pissed off Sarah doing Duck Hunt as a way to “cool off”, get frustrated and pull out her real gun and shoot the screen. Kinda like a throwback to Beverly Hills Cop 2.

  17. Gord says:

    All I know for once, I had a speculation that was more or less correct. The trip starts out as a vacation, until Chuck and Sarah see the bad guy on the train.
    As to who will make the decision to stay in the spy life at the end of the episode, I think they will come to the decision mutually. Because of what happened on the train, they will realize that they need to continue using their spy talents. They are good at what they do, and they are making a difference in the world.

    Finally, I’m thinking we will see a goodbye scene between Chuck, Sarah, Ellie and Awesome. We will even get to see an exchange between Sarah and Ellie. I’m thinking that Awesome will ask Chuck to help him get their luggage into the car. As they are off doing that, Ellie and Sarah will share a heartwarming moment. Simultaniously, Awesome and Chuck will have a similar heartwarming conversation. It just seems like too good an opportunity for TPTB to pass up.

    • joe says:

      Hi Gord!

      Man, I keep forgetting that Ellie & Awesome are going off to Africa soon. Do we know that it happens this episode? – or is it just sometime in the back-six?

      You’re right that it’s going to need a major scene.

      • Paul says:

        It’s the B plot for this eps. I think one of the last scenes is the goodbye between C/S and Ellie. Maybe we’ll see Sarah wearing the bracelet (Ali Adler said to watch for it) and Ellie gets the hint and asks Sarah to take care of him for her.

    • Merve says:

      If any pair of characters on this show needs a heartwarming moment, it’s Devon and Chuck. Their relationship needs to be repaired.

    • Russ says:

      I can see Ellie telling Sarah to protect Chuck from Morgan and Casey’s influence.

    • Gabbo says:

      Well, if the French spoiler shooting schedule is any guide, the next to last scene is when Chuck, Sarah catch up with Ellie before Awesome and Ellie leave. No Awesome.

      So what’s the percentage that Ellie looks to Sarah and says, “Take care of him”? I’d say, given how TPTB are mad about callbacks, the percentage is 100 percent. After all, Bryce and Shaw said “Take care of her” to Chuck about Sarah.

      • Russ says:

        Could they parallel the conversation between Jill and Sarah from S2 vs.the ex.It would be an interesting conversation because both care so deeply for Chuck.Ellie being over protective and suddenly realizing Sarah is really totally committed.It’s real! Sarah is going to look out for him and she doesn’t need to worry.

      • BDaddyDL says:

        I admit this scene holds the most suspence for me, I am really looking forward to it, I want to see another Sarah Ellie conversation.

        Also when do you think Ellie finds out?

  18. Faith says:

    I wasn’t sure if you guys read this yet. Scifi mag article on Chuck…

    I’m only going to post 1 link and type out the rest because Akismet (spam detector of wordpress) hates having more than one link:

    FOR TWO WEEKS the ‘Shippers were furious–‘Shippers, as in fans of NBC’s Chuck and the relationship of the central characters Chuck and Sarah. They were not amused when the writers temporarily broke Chuck and Sarah up and sent them off to other relationships in an episode called “Chuck versus the Mask,” just before the series took a two-week Olympic break.

    Apparently the world as we know it was about to end, the sky was literally falling, chocolate had vanished off the face of the Earth, AND it was the worst episode on television for any show ever!

    “It was the most dramatic backrub in the history of television,” laughs executive producer and co-creator Chris Fedak. “It was a very cataclysmic event that happened on the last episode of Chuck” before the Olympics.

    Adorable little Kristin Kreuk, Smallville’s Lana Lang, apparently was akin to the devil because she managed to turn Chuck’s head away from the ‘Shippers’ beloved Sarah.

    “I’ve heard that people are responding negatively toward that relationship,” says Yvonne Strahovski, who plays Sarah on Chuck. Zachary Levi plays Chuck.

    Fedak admits he was taken aback by the response. “We didn’t know that’s where we would be breaking for two weeks,” he laughs. “We weren’t designing it as an emotional cliffhanger. It was more designed to go into the next episode, which certainly deals with the issues that we’re bringing up with Episode 8, the Chuck/Sarah/Shaw triangle. So we didn’t know that was going to happen because we didn’t know there was going to be a break there.”

    For Fedak it’s a mixed blessing. “We want our fans to be really excited. The fact that they’re passionate about the show and that they get upset and they get excited and they get emotional about our show is awesome. I think any person telling a story on television, or any type of story wants the person watching it to be invested, I think that’s what we ran into.”

    It was the kind of reaction that can only happen when viewers have been inspired by Chuck and its beloved characters. In fact, it wasn’t that long ago when fans were buying Subway sandwiches by the bag-full with hopes of sending NBC and Chuck’s major sponsor Subway a message that they wanted the show back for a third season, despite marginal ratings last year, NBC listened.

    Strahovski was in Australia shooting several movies, including the romantic comedy I Love You Too, which is about ot be release in Australia. “I would get e-mails about the Subway stuff going on and how all the fans are writing letters and it was kind of amazing. We were all on the edge of our seats for awhile there,” she says.

    “I think we were all amazed at how the fans stood up for us and we really do have them to thank for pushing it and basically helping us get this third season going. It’s the greatest season for Chuck in terms of viewership and ratings and stuff.”

    Ratings have improved for the little show that could, enough to make it the number one show on NBC Monday nights. It’s still not a “hit,” but it certainly has landed in “solid” status and the likelihood of a fourth season is making it look ilk our favorite spy and his lady (assuming those dastardly writers don’t break them up again) might have plenty of time to continue their love affair. You can call that a win for the ‘Shippers.

    As one half of that relationship equation, Strahovski is thrilled to see the fan interest an the show’s growth, because it allows her to play her marvelous character on a series that has brought some fun back to TV.

    “I think we all really scored with this show,” says the Australian actress. “The most special thing about it is that it’s like the greatest mix of action, comedy, and drama. We all get to be part of those worlds. Unlike other actors, who often get a show that is predominantly drama or predominantly comedy, we get to play in so many different worlds…I feel really lucky to be playing a character as great as Sarah Walker. I get to kick ass. I get to have romantic interests. I get to be part of that funny world as well, and I really couldn’t be happier. I think she’s a really great character and that’s the most fun for me.

    “Chuck is becoming more of a spy, and I think for Sarah, she’s becoming more of a human being and learning how to be somewhat normal. And it is kind of baby steps for her because she’s always been in the spy world She doesn’t know it but I think she’s sort of unraveling a little bit more this season and we’ll definitely see more of that in the episodes to come. You get to see her more raw side.”

    Sarah’s “raw” side is something many fans might enjoy seeing. Few would deny that Strahovski is one of the most beautiful women on television today, or that she can look tough shooting a gun and kicking butt with the best of them.

    “She’s pretty damn hot,” says Fedak. “When we were casting the show it was really hard to find that person who can sell that she’s funny, can fit into CHuck’s regular everyday world, but also go into the spy world and hold a gun and be amazing. It wasn’t until we were on the pilot and we’re up on the roof and Yvonne was holding a gun and we had Adam Baldwin and Zach Levi, and it was like, “I hope this all works.” She was wonderful. It was like one of those moments where you were looking at the monitor giving thumps up. She had that kind of crazy mixture of great, wonderful, warm actress mixed with kickass superhero.”

    And now she can throw a punch. “She can totally throw a punch. She is an incredible athlete. I think that you train to be an incredible athlete in Australia—someone who can throw a punch. I think that is usual there.”

    “Straight up I think Sarah’s a very strong, intelligent woman, and being a spy is something that not many of us get to do on a daily basis,” says Strahovski. “So jumping into that world and getting to pretend to be a spy every day is pretty fun. The physical aspect of the role really attracted me as well because I’ve always been pretty athletic growing up and a bit of tomboy, and very much into rock climbing, camping, and all sorts of sports. To get to do stunts on a weekly basis is really, really fun for me, and I love doing all my stunts and wire work in the fight scenes and all the cool stuff we get to do.”

    Working on Chuck is more than a little different from her other series experience on the Australian television series Headland.

    “Chuck is such a large scale production and Headland was about a bunch of university students and their lives and it was far more normal, if you like,” she says. “Chuck is based on some far-fetched ideas that we all believe in as characters and the audience comes on the journey with us every week. Our show just has so many elements in it; we have to do so many stunts and go on so many locations and we have so many bad guys come in. We have some great guest stars, as well like Brandon Routh and Kristin Kreuk playing love interests. Scott Bakula, Chevy Chase.” And this year, along with Bakula, who returns to play Chuck’s brilliant spy father, Back to the Future’s Christopher Lloyd checks in as Chuck’s therapist.

    While the exuberant Strahovski loves talking about all things Chuck, there’s one thing she can’t talk about.

    “I think most of the surprises for me are to come and haven’t aired yet, s it’s hard for me to talk about. I really badly want to talk about the stuff that hasn’t aired,” she laughs.

    However we finally know Sarah’s real name…it’s Sam. That was a nice revelation for the actress, although it was even more shocking that the information was given to Routh’s Shaw and not to Chuck.

    “It is those little things we keep finding about the characters and t he family and how it’s kind of getting dangerously close to the family. Chuck’s secret is creeping in on that family life of his. So there are definitely surprises coming up.”

    To that end, ‘Shippers get ready. You’re either going to love or hate Chuck’s “super epic game-changing” direction of the season, which “essentially changes the show in a really special way,” says Fedak.

    How special? You’ll have to watch, he says.

    http://yfrog.com/7gyvonnescifip3smallj

    • JC says:

      This a recent interview? If so wow Fedak and company still don’t get what people’s problems were about that episode. Or he’s just unwilling to admit it and keeps spewing the same old BS. Best piece of advice just keep your mouth shut, you’re not doing the show any favors.

      • Faith says:

        Yes I believe it says June 2010 on the page.

      • JC says:

        Gotcha and I really didn’t mean to come off negative or anything but interviews like that drive me up a wall. He did the same thing with Mo Ryan.

      • Merve says:

        Honestly, I don’t see what Fedak said in this interview that was so controversial. All he said was that he was surprised at the magnitude of the negative fan reaction. Frankly, I think a lot of us were surprised; after witnessing the reaction to “Mask,” it seemed as if the Internet had exploded in a seething mass of rage.

      • JC says:

        I didn’t see rage until anyone who had problem with it was called a crazy shipper or compared to the one idiot who called for a boycott.

        And that ties into the core problem, they think it was the Sarah/Shaw relationship itself. When in fact it was how it was handled.

      • JC says:

        Honestly I don’t even want to drag up all that stuff again and it was my mistake to even comment on it. My fault on bringing up.

      • Jason says:

        all 19 are shot and ready to be viewed – they are what they are – fedak and co have had all the feedback any creative team could ever ask for – they shot the last couple fully aware of what the fans thought of 3.7 / 3.8 and they are in the process of creating season 4 … I’m interested to see what they do – I am spoiled enough about 3.14/15 to know I am going to really like them – skeptical enough to say after 3.1-12, I have very low expectations for 3.16-19 – what drives me up the wall – they all seem to know it – i.e. 13,14,15 are really great – the rhetorical ? is why in the hell don’t they do ‘great’ tv each week, there seems to be some underlying theory that ‘weekly great tv’ turns fans off – how dumb is that?

      • weaselone says:

        Apparently, if every episode were awesome then all the episodes would be mediocre by definition. Perhaps they don’t grasp that there are sufficient mediocre and sub par television shows out there that great episodes will never be average.

      • ChuckNewbie8 says:

        I don’t think it’s fair to say the fanbase are primed for aggression/dissatisfaction. A lot of us here go into it weekly with the highest hopes and expectations only to be brought down to earth. So how much is it a fool me once shame on me fool me twice aspect? Speaking for myself almost none.

        I go into the episodes stupidly hopeful but interviews in which they purposely twist the screw does not help.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Well I didn’t discover Chuck till later, but I can’t imagine the angst of waiting for a renewal decision after The Ring. Hopefully this time we’ll know there is another season on the way before the cliffhanger airs. And hopefully we’ll get a full season and not have to wait till January.

        OK, probably too much to hope for, but it is basically going to be a new show, again. Or the original show, again.

      • atcdave says:

        Wanted to reply to Merve a ways back. What Fedak says that is upsetting is he congratulates himself for an excited and invested fan base. I know he has to be careful what he says, but he ignores the bigger issue; committed fans are invested (by definition, right?) but casual viewers are leaving in large numbers. He should be worried about the impact of the LIs and heavy handed use of angst, not pleased with it.

      • Merve says:

        I really didn’t read any self-congratulation in his words, but since they’re in print, it’s hard to tell.

      • atcdave says:

        I guess you’re right its hard to be sure; I’m just always hoping for signs of lessons learned, and I didn’t see that either. Just to verify, I am very happy with where things are now; I’m just hoping they don’t go there again.

      • Jason says:

        here is another cartoon, I think I might spend a little time and clean them up at some point, but they don’t take much longer to do than typing up a blog comment, this one is called “sarah vs TPTB”

        http://www.xtranormal.com/watch/6474083/

      • amyabn says:

        Jason, you are a freaking genius! and I just watched “Sarah and Beckman” talk things out in her office. ROTFLMAO! Bravo!

      • Jason says:

        glad you enjoyed them amy, really are easy to do, if I took some time, I would think they could be pretty cool, heck they are pretty cool anyhow, gotta run

      • Crumby says:

        Jason your videos are hilarious!!!

  19. herder says:

    It’ll be interesting to see if the character mentioned in the casting calls (steward) that comments about Chuck and Sarah not leaving the room makes it on to the screen. I have my suspicions that his character was a leak to calm down the angry mob by saying don’t worry it will work out in the end.

    His appearance or non-appearance could tell us something about how TPTB manage information.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Herder, I don’t think there is any doubt that there were, ahem “leaks” meant to re-assure shippers. Things like a shooting schedule don’t just turn up by accident.

  20. Ernie Davis says:

    So here’s a question. Casey, we’re speculating, is sent to bring Chuck and Sarah back. We see however in Zach’s U-Stream that Casey seems to have a tranq gun. Understandable, owing Chuck his reinstatement and all, sort of, that he wouldn’t want to kill either Chuck or Sarah. But are we seeing the beginning of a kinder gentler Casey?

    • Jason says:

      can’t very well have casey shooting chuck and sarah can we? I am interested for the show tonight, but the hold your breathe moments for me will be the following 3 tuesdays for viewing figures. The higher the bump the next few nights, my theory says, the more the low viewing numbers were due to show quality. So if we see 2.0, 2.0, 2.0 things like competition killed the show. But if we see 2.2 thru 2.6 or more the next 3 weeks, the more likely that the low episode quality hexed the ratings by vexing the fans. Will know soon enough.

    • weaselone says:

      I’d have to guess that when Beckman orders Casey and by extension Morgan to bring Sarah and Chuck back in, she doesn’t mean dead, on a platter, with apples shoved in their mouths. She probably wants them alive and back working for her after she provides them with an offer than can’t refuse.

      Somehow, I don’t think Chasey chasing Charah around with his regular arsenal would be conducive to that end, particularly if Morgan is chewing on his leg the whole time and needs to be put under, not put down.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Oh, we definitely need to see Morgan tranq’ed because Casey’s ears can’t take it anymore.

        And I still think “I feel like a daffodil” was one of the all time funniest lines in the series.

      • Crumby says:

        I think that’s what’s happening in the scene in the promo where Casey and Morgan are sitting next to each other and Morgan’s head fell on Casey’s shoulder!

    • Jen says:

      I’ve been thinking about this, and for Casey this is new territory… i think he’s learned that while he has a job to do and he IS the job, he now has friends to count on, specially after Tic-Tac where C&S definitley proved to him friendship and loyalty. I’m sure this affects how he works with them now… love in is the air with Team B 😉

      • Ernie Davis says:

        But he can still tranq Morgan, right?

      • Jen says:

        Occasionally tranquing Morgan is a show of GREAT love for the rest…

      • joe says:

        Oh you guys! Where’s the love for the little bearded man??? 😉

      • Jen says:

        The love is strong for Morgan… But really, how cool would it be to be able to tranq anyone who starts getting annyoing or overbearing, like Morgan can? Or just for his safety? I wish i could walk around my office with a tranq gun 😛

      • herder says:

        Hmm, for the office those five minute tranqs would be great, the eight to twelve hour ones seem a bit overkill. For Morgan, it depends on the offense, if it is something like the deleted dinner scene from the Break Up, and eight hour tranq would be appropriate. On the other hand minor offenses like the dinner date with Carina in Wookie, a five minute time out would seem earned. For the IOU, I don’t think that they have a tranq that lasts long enough to fit the crime.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Herder, just calculate the dosage for the time between Barstow and Paris.

      • amyabn says:

        ooh…the return of tranq-enstein!

  21. Ernie Davis says:

    So it seems Morgan will be the new Chuck, Casey will be a kinder gentler Casey, Chuck and Sarah will be Chuck and Sarah v2.0, Shaw will be decomposing, Jeffster will be a creepier version (if that’s possible) of Jeffster, Awesome is less Awesome and Beckman will remain Beckman, perhaps with a shipper hiding somewhere underneath…or not. So where does that leave Ellie? Outside a very few scenes I think she’s due for a big episode. Any bets on Orion’s return and Ellie?

    • herder says:

      When I read this, all I hear in my head is “he’s you, you be her” from Natcho Sampler. Having said that, the ground is set for some truely great Casey lines, come on, Chuck and Sarah together, Morgan a spy how could he remain silent.

      This is a guy who got off such great lines as Sarah couldn’t help dipping her chocolate into Bartowski’s peanut butter and that Morgan should be in a bunker because Awesome is Awesome and Morgan is Morgan. There has got to be a lot more coming.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Yeah, but now that Casey can’t feed the angst (Congratulations Chuck you’re now qualified for conjugal visits, Imagine that, Walker helping you get laid, etc) he’s gotta find some new Charah material.

        He’s got years of Chuck material that works just as well for Morgan.

      • Jason says:

        ‘by the time walker gets done with Bartkowski, he’s going to need a walker’ – not a bad start eh?

      • herder says:

        I don’t know how difficult it can be to come up with material, them being handcuffed to each other (and how familiar they might be with that over the past week) seems a likely target. Sarah’s comfort or lack of it at them wearing wedding rings seems another easy target.

        As far as Morgan is concerned, you may as well start a pool to guess how many episodes before Casey tranqs him, my guess, two.

      • weaselone says:

        I’m thinking Morgan won’t make it through tonight.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Hmmm, before Casey tranq’s him or before he’s tranq’ed. Remember at least at first Morgan is still living with Chuck and Sarah. Now that Sarah and Chuck are real (and looking for some real alone time) how long before Sarah decides Morgan needs a timeout? Of course if Morgan does for Chuck and Sarah what he did for Devon and Ellie in Beefcake (drawing the hot bath, martini’s the roast in the oven, etc) it might earn him a reprieve…Till Sarah catches him raiding the fridge naked. Come to think of it shouldn’t we include the possibility of an accidental Fitzroy scenario?

        I say Morgan’s first knockout is at Sarah’s hands in just such a reaction.

      • Jen says:

        Which is the clip that has Casey talking about the walket for Chuck?

      • amyabn says:

        I have always loved the chocolate/PB reference. What episode was it in originally?

      • atcdave says:

        Sensei (2.09).

    • Josh says:

      the walker for chuck thing was in a review (televisionary) not a clip

  22. Jason says:

    sepinwall’s opinion of 3.14, and on the couple – funny thing, ever since he wrote that 3.7 review of the mask, he has been as big a shipper as anyone, I think the fan reaction to the WT/WT in season 3 suprised the veteran show watchers? anyhow, here is the link:

    http://www.nj.com/entertainment/tv/index.ssf/2010/04/chuck_finds_love_and_is_better.html

    [ed. Sorry, Jason. This got put in the mod. bin by the filter. I really, really dislike that thing! – joe]

  23. Ernie Davis says:

    Mo Ryan interviews “Captain Awesome”.

    Alan Sepinwall’s thoughts here.

    • ChuckNewbie8 says:

      “And now that Chuck and Sarah are finally together as a couple, “Chuck” is dialing back the relationship angst and serving up the adventurous, amusing fun that it does so well.”

      awesome.

    • ChuckNewbie8 says:

      I don’t care what you say Mr. Sepinwall I have already a subway on hand for tonight lol.

      Ok. Found this notable:
      “Tonight’s episode has new lovebirds Chuck and Sarah trying to get away from the spy business for a while – and possibly forever – by taking a romantic train trip across Europe, which of course gets interrupted by an impromptu mission. They are happy, they are in love, they have chemistry to burn – which is why so many fans wanted them to get together way before now – and rather than distract from what works on the show, their new relationship only enhances it. A Chuck and Sarah partnership that combines kissing with kung fu fighting becomes one more amusing note for the show to play, and there are a couple of cleverly choreographed action scenes tonight where the duo have to take on the bad guys while handcuffed to each other.”

      I’m sure it doesn’t bear mentioning but hooray!

    • herder says:

      My favorite bit:

      “…Adam Baldwin’s grouchy killer, who reaches new levels of hilarious contempt as he has to work with a bearded clown on one side and two disgusting lovebirds on the other.”

      How could this not be funny?

  24. Waverly says:

    I’d like to see some acknowledgement from Beckman that Chuck was right about Shaw. Might as well make it funny for the audience, too, depending on how it’s done.

    I think Beckman and almost everyone in Team B deserve a “heart-warming” moment. Especially funny would be with Morgan, although that might be difficult to set up.

    I am concerned that Chuck and Sarah are going to take the idea of running-away forever too seriously in this episode. Chuck could at least explain that Beckman explicitly gave him a week off.

    When Beckman interrupted Chuck and Sarah in the Paris hotel room, I wish Chuck had said that Sarah would be unable to perform her duties for a few days because she was still recovering from the effects of the poison.

  25. JC says:

    I love that my local newspaper called this episode of Chuck, the can’t miss show of the week.

  26. amyabn says:

    WOW! Totally off topic, but I got this clip of Zach singing with Katharine McPhee. The boy can sing! Can I suggest a guest spot with Jeffster!

    • Ingrid says:

      Wow. I think I’m even more in love with him now than before, if such a thing is possible. 🙂 😉

      • amyabn says:

        I know! Is there anything this guy can’t do? And the lyrics are perfect for the show to boot. I know that over on Mo Ryans interview of Yvonne, a reader commented, or rather asked if Yvonne could sing. Could be interesting if they both could. How about a little serenade for the future Mrs. Bartowski?

      • Ingrid says:

        Seriously. His voice is gorgeous, I’m very impressed, and I’m sure they could fit singing into a show, if only just as a cover. On “Get Smart” several of the characters had to pose as a singers at different times, so it could totally work. 🙂 (I’m actually going to go to a movie this week, if possible, just to see this clip during the screenvision program.)

    • Jason says:

      that song would really work in tonight’s episode, will probably get done on you tube by night’s end

      • amyabn says:

        I think someone already did!

      • amyabn says:

        How about they have Katharine McPhee come on (back as a brunette) as Chuck and Ellie’s cousin. Chuck gets up to sing with her to Sarah. Let the squeeing begin! SQEEEE!

Leave a Reply

