Renew – Why?

Because of Episodes Like Chuck vs. The Honeymooners. That’s Why

Oh, of course you liked it. You’re a romantic, right?

Tell me, please. What do you think of this?

The Spring season has always brought a bit of panic to fans of Bartowski & co: the show just barely squeaked by into season three last year, thanks to an extensive viral fan campaign and more than a few Subway sandwiches.

And from the comments there:

J22134

I work for NBC and we love CHUCK. We want to bring it back. Just give us an excuse. Support the show.

If I may address the commenter, I can give you several million, one for every fan who watches the show, Ms. J22134. We’re not exactly your usual fans. We’re articulate shnooks, to say the least, and we’ve demonstrated (and will continue to demonstrate) that we support the show’s sponsors. We’ve been called the most engaged group of fans in television, BY THE SPONSOR. It’s a well deserved rep.

And that’s only the obvious part. As you can tell from the number of times we’ve sent Chuck and its cast members to the top of fan-polls, the number of posts written to the NBC boards and even the number of comments here in this blog, the numbers of viewers alone do not begin to tell the story of our energy and commitment.  NBC should know this because every day we show again that we are more than passive watchers, and this is not what a normal fan would do.

I can tell you from experience, Ms. J22134, that the show’s demo skews a little older than you like. But this means that we’re not the kids who are easily manipulated. We are often their parents. When we spend, we spend intelligently, sometimes wisely and always in our family’s interest. Quality entertainment is in our family’s interest.  Rare shows like Chuck, shows that speak to our own experiences and passions  are in our interest and we are loyal to them, loyal to a fault. Your network can sell that to your advertisers because we can be a formidable economic ally.

Do you need more reasons?  I have one more.  Speaking frankly, we no longer need to watch shows that offer us less.  Chuck has set the bar that high. When it comes down to it, You – you need us. Please give us a reason to stay with NBC.

Oh boy! Got carried away there for a second.  But it felt good.

– joe

About joe

In my life I've been a professor, martial artist, rock 'n roller, rocket scientist, lover, poet and brain surgeon. I'm lying about the brain surgery.
This entry was posted in Fan Base. Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Renew – Why?

  1. Faith says:

    It would be criminal not to like this episode, this show and worthy of a lifetime in prison to not renew it 🙂

  2. Hannah says:

    I like how you used that line from the pilot. It’s very fitting.

  3. Crumby says:

    Why renew Chuck? Because it would be unprofessional not to! 😉

  4. John Poole says:

    Um because if you cancel it I will hate NBC with all my black black little heart.

  5. Jen says:

    Well put Joe. Chuck is a high quality product, unlike most of what’s on TV (yes, im a little biased!),with the most engaged and active fans i’ve ever seen… this is more of a “Chuck Experience” than just being a Chuck viewer.

    NBC needs to do the right thing and renew Chuck and promote the heck out of it. This show can seriously bring the viewers back to this channel, specially now with this new “reset” with C&S and a spy couple, HELLO.. this is TV Gold!

    • joe says:

      You know, Jen. I actually think that NBC has done a pretty decent job promoting Chuck this season. I notice my pulse racing every time I see one, especially if I see the promo on a cable network.

      I hope that they *continue* that kind of promotion.

      Assuming that the show is renewed, I can see that once again we’re going to discuss the idea that there’s a better time slot for it.

      • John says:

        Going up against House with Trauma and Wheel of Fortune in front of us and Law and Order after is just about the worst spot possible.

        Amazing we maintain above 2.0 really.

    • Matt says:

      Joe,

      You are awesome! I couldn’t have put it any plainer than you just did. I feel a kinship with most Chuck viewers because of the reasons you just stated. It is quality, it is passion of mine, and I will do what I can to make sure it comes back! If it means everyone gets Subway gift cards for Christmas again this year, then so be it.

      The Subway box was filled with Save Chuck comments in many different styles of ink (just in case they caught on to me writing on 10 different cards every time I went in)

      • joe says:

        Hey, Matt. Here’s the coolest thing.

        When I started watching Chuck, I thought it was just me; something peculiar and unique about the fact that it had obviously hit a chord with me. I thought it was a very personal thing.

        I’ve discovered this year, doing this, that it just isn’t.

        Thanks.

      • Chuck604 says:

        Glad I found this place this year, it’s been a great ride with a few bumps, but it’s a whole lot better when you get to share it with many people that have a common vested interest in such a great show. Though when it comes to speculating the future, not my strong suit. =)

  6. Jason says:

    I would throw back to NBC in a different way, fans in general loved how silly and sappy seasons 1 & 2 were, hated the evil, dark path that the powers that be took them on in early season 3, now are reveling in the return to the chuck story line proper. The challenge for NBC as an entity is to insist that chuck stick to its guns now, and see what Tv’s top couple ever can do as a couple – now paired, why cancel after 6 episodes – might give NBC a chance at a top notch show. I for one tried several NBC shows this season as result of chuck – just to support NBC – I would guess that many would, especially if more chuck themed shows were on NBC – warm, funny, sappy, romances surrounded by whacky friends – & joe you are right, that is how I recall growing up and maturing, my friends and I often laughed about how our lives would have made hilarious sit con plots.

    • joe says:

      I hear what you’re saying, Jason.

      This was a reaction to my loss of naivatee when I realized how much all of what we see is micro-managed by the networks. No matter who they are, the creative talent must see their jobs now as more than just bringing some artistry and quality to the story they want to tell. They have to find a way to tell a store despite – not with – the networks dictating every detail. I understand the networks’ need to manage costs. They’ve crossed the line into determining every aspect of the who, what, where, when and why of a story. Huff, huff!

      Well, almost every detail. They HAVE crossed the line.

      I’ve made the determination, in my own mind, that as business entities they were better off before, when they kept some semblence of distance between them and the creative talent. WE were better off. I make this judgement because I’ve seen it in other fields too, like the one I’m working in. I make this determination because I see that they DO have the potential to wreck a great show.

      Sigh. Call me Don Quixote.

    • Gord says:

      Yes this is what Chuck should have been during this entire season. I recently read an interview with Robert Duncan McNeil (Tom Paris and a producer on Chuck). He was saying that we (TPTB) were afraid to put them together because we were worried that it would mean the end of the show, but when we did we discovered how great they (Zac and Yvonne) were together.
      Really? The fans could have, and did tell them that.
      There is no going back now. I think it would be show suicide to split them up again. Sure they can have quarrels, Chuck can sleep on the sofa once in awhile, but there is no way that they will split up again.

      It might be amusing if Cole or Lou were to show up in an episode, trying to throw a wrench into the works, but I think Chuck no longer has a thing for brunettes, unless Sarah dies her hair; and Cole knows that he will always lose the girl to Chuck Bartowski.

      There is so much they can do with an S4, more back story/relatives showing up, a wedding at the end of the season, a baby for Ellie and Awesome, a PLI for Morgan or Casey (or both).

      In future seasons we could see Chuck and Sarah having a family, and learning to juggle that with their spy life.

      As I commented in the episode thread, Chuck has entered the age of enlightenment.

      I am so looking forward to watching the series finale at the end of season 20. That will be the season that starts with Chuck and Sarah driving their kids Steven and Samantha Bartowski to Stanford to start their year. Chuck will flash on a bad guy posing as a professor then Gen Casey will force Chuck and Sarah to go undercover as guest lecturers and try to avoid running into their kids.

      I bet I’m the only one speculating on Season 20. The show deserves that long a run.

  7. joe says:

    I see the early ratings are in.
    2.1/5.98 for the show, which is “steady”.
    Seidman at TV By the Numbers said earlier that this kind of number is still “white knuckle time, but the show has chances for renewal.”

    I’m a little more optimistic than that. Based on the reactions around the web, I’d say the chances for renewal are decent now, with a great chance of going up. Fan engagement counts.

    • John says:

      Joe we also picked up 200,000 viewers after three weeks off which is quite a relief. We are picking up more viewers every new episode so we should see the ever important demo go up here pretty soon. We just have to keep scrambling and getting the word out.

      • Gord says:

        Also considering that playoff Hockey is on, those numbers are pretty good.

        Unfortunately my team is out of the playoffs now (Sens lost to Pittsburgh) so I don’t mind missing the odd hockey game.
        I sure hope the finals don’t end on a Monday night though. I would truly be torn.

      • Chuck604 says:

        That’s tough Gord, fortunately for me the Canucks are still in it to win it. Now that the Blackhawks are our next round opponent, it’s time for some payback. But I’ll put the Canucks on the backburner if they have a cup game on Monday nights, unless its a game 7.

      • BDaddyDL says:

        as long as Chuck isnt moved to Saturdays, and LSU is not playing, Chuck comes first. GEAUX Tigers

      • Chuck604 says:

        Daddy you from Baton Rouge? I’m from Canada, but I follow college football up here. I don’t have a favorite team, but I follow the Tigers and most of the SEC. Actually, my high school sent a guy done there to play for you guys. Sorry about getting off topic.

      • BDaddydl says:

        I grew up 90 minutes away from Baton Rouge. I actually saw some Chuck fans on a website named TigerDroppings, when i am not at work Ill let them know about this site.

    • atcdave says:

      I’m actually really happy with those numbers. They’re not great, but its a big improvement, and the word of mouth for this episode should be dynamite. I predict a steady upward trend from here to the end of the season (assuming it stays mostly fun).

      • Gord says:

        I think I read that although the share was the same, they did gain an extra 200,000 viewers. So lets hope that trend continues.

      • Chuck604 says:

        Dave,

        I think that if they keep the mood of the episodes consistent for the most part like the Honeymooners the upward trend will continue to gain momentum. Hopefully that will go a long way in persuading NBC to renew Chuck for another season.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Sorry about that Gord (Pens fan here).

        I think there is usually about a week delay in ratings/episode quality feedback loop. If you look the big dive came a week AFTER Fake Name, so while it is encouraging that we’ve picked up a bit I look forward to (please) another bigger uptick next week. If that’s the case I’m going to say another season is probably going to happen. After all, it’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new show, well you know.

      • Jason says:

        ernie – like the little boy who cried wolf, the creative bunch has a trust issue with the fans, for 3.15 NBC puts out an ‘angsty’ promo this time with sarah saying essentially ‘get lost’ when chuck asks her to move in, just the wrong tone to send to this crowd (from what I understand, that is NBC, not fedak and schwartz?) – the episode quality is part of the issue, but the promo’s are possible the most important thing right now, seasoned fans like you and I will watch anyhow & realize it is probably a ruse, but borderline fans reeling from the psycho season 3, didn’t need that scene in the promo.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I may be wrong, I’m at work and can’t watch video right now, but as I recall Sarah had a small smile as she replied “Why would we do that?”. If that’s the case I think it’s more likely she’s either playing with Chuck or pulling another “What about me?” on Chuck to get him to gush over how much he loves her.

    • Faith says:

      1. playoff hockey? Reallly? lol.

      2. it was pre-empted by some stations apparently in the Oregon region for the playoff Basketball game between Portland and Arizona.

      3. 2.1 is “steady” for us. It means Angela Bromstad’s THR article about Chuck being almost good to go, is go. 1.9 is death.

      • Chuck604 says:

        Well Faith, like I said earlier playoff hockey takes a back seat to Chuck on Mondays. Any other day probably not. Unless its a Stanley Cup Final game 7 and my team is still in it, then there maybe some hand wringing in which choice to make.

  8. Chuck604 says:

    This show better be renewed or else I’m going to a dark place that will take some time getting out from. Ironically, though what hooked me on this show was actually a very unpopular espisode. Looking back on it, my first experience of Chuck was the Fake Name. After that I had a really good impression and bought S1 and S2. After watching those straight, my impression was that Chuck was a goldmine. It was great show with a lot of great elements, great soundtrack, a bunch of sci-fi and pop culture references; not withstanding the great on screen chemistry Zach and Yvonne have. Then I continued to watch the rest of this season, and I started to understand what everyone’s deal with having such an emotional investmend in the direction the show was going. I’m just glad it’s back to where it should be, and hope that NBC and the TPTB have a better idea of where to take the show and hope that Chuck gets that opportunity.

    • Merve says:

      I can see why longtime fans would hate “Fake Name,” but most of the episode is absolutely hilarious, so it’s actually not a bad jump-off point.

      • Chuck604 says:

        I guess I was fortunate in that sense, I was kind of buffered by seeing some of the low points of the series first, which at the time I didn’t think was pretty good before I saw a lot of the great qualities this show exuded.

    • Chuck604 says:

      I mean exudes.

    • Matt says:

      Drama-wise, it was probably one of the best episodes we’ve had. I like Chuck taking on an alter-ego of a hardened killer. He was really in the zone. It also made Casey a fan of Chuck which was a necessity in the last couple of episodes. With Morgan brought into the fold, the Buy More crew and Ellie, and Devon are going to get little to no screen time next season. The budget is going to be cut to the bone until Chuck can bring in the viewers it should be bringing in.

      BTW – Sunday night after the football season is my hope for Chuck next season. It started out at a 3.0 and I think would have stayed above a 2.7 for a season average. It doesn’t share too much of an audience with anything currently kn Sunday night.

      • John says:

        Heck Sunday night would be a great timeslot even outside of football season.

        But also: Sunday Night Football. During the season it is really hard to find a night where you are not going up against a game. Well ok maybe Tuesday.

      • Chuck604 says:

        Only problem with Tuesdays is after the winter break you’ll be going up against American Idol. The following of that show is an unnatural phenomenon.

      • weaselone says:

        That show’s following is an unholy one. 😉

      • John says:

        Sometimes I wonder if it isn’t a little repetitive just watching the same contest year after year…but I guess it isn’t.

  9. Chuck604 says:

    No kidding weasleone. They are drinking a huge cauldron of cool-aid. I don’t understand it at all, I watch it only when my wife tells me there’s a good performance. But that is like a half an hour at the most of the entire season.

    Yeah John, I don’t understand how it isn’t repetitive. If Chuck goes to Tuesdays, I’m forcing my wife to stop watching Idol.

  10. Robert Haar says:

    Joe, I hope you pick this up if you are still looking at the above posts.

    Well they finally did it right. I’ve had plenty of negative things to say about the 1st arc which I won’t repeat here.

    On the other hand I’m willing to give credit where credit is due. As was noted in an earlier post if
    they had done this throughout Season 3 there would not be a ratings issue now and a danger of cancellation.

    That being said last night’s episode was superb, the best they’ve ever done. They finally got around to portraying Chuck/Sarah the way we always knew they should be. Too bad it took so long.

    Speaking of chemistry it appears some new effective
    comedy has been added. Morgan/Casey and Morgan/Beckman are simply hilarious to watch and great fun. Jeffster had some nice moments
    too. The scene of Chuck/Ellie with Sarah appearing
    in the doorway was touching. The final scene where
    Chuck kisses Sarah tenderly on her forehead in bed
    was just great with no interruptions. Why was this
    not done before? The show’s charm and magic has been restored. Let’s hope they keep it there.

    The ratings held at 2.1 with the state of Oregon
    blacked out because of a NBA playoff game. What really needs to happen now is for everybody who wants this show back is to watch in REAL time for
    the next 4 weeks and get as many people to watch as possible. This will be CRITICAL for the show’s renewal. Don’t take anything for granted.

    Once again congrats to the producers. They finally
    got it right. Now keep up the good work and don’t go
    crazy on us again. Just hope it’s not too little, too late.

    Who knows? Maybe “The Force” will be with us (and NBC) when a final decision is made, thanks.

    • joe says:

      I just rewatched 3.14, Robert. Man, it’s even better (funnier and more tender) the second time around.

      I’ve got a lot of faith that it’ll be renewed.

      • lucian says:

        I had a chance to watch this episode again last night – like the best ones, it gets better watching it a couple of times. There is no other show out there that is entertaining enough (for me) to rate multiple viewings. I don’t know if the iTunes purchases make a difference, but I would bet this episode does well in that regard. Hopefully that is factored into how they determine the popularity of a show.

      • Crumby says:

        The episode is #5 of the iTunes TV show downloads at the moment.

        http://www.apple.com/itunes/charts/tv-shows/

  11. kg says:

    Some networks volunteer to be heroes. Others are asked to be.

    Are you ready to step up NBC? To put aside your own personal goals and help those who need it, to serve the greater good?

  12. Jason says:

    anyone know the answer to this question, or like to try a guess, other than chuck, what is the best show on NBC? Ideally, not a reality show, something scripted – all opinions considered valid?

    • Merve says:

      Do you mean highest-rated or favourite? If we’re going with favourites here, I’d have to say Community. (There was a time when I would have said 30 Rock, but that show has gone waaaaaaayyy downhill this season.)

    • weaselone says:

      The Office

    • joe says:

      [Sound of crickets chirping…]

      I got nothin’

    • John says:

      Um…30 Rock seems pretty funny. My wife loves it.

    • Faith says:

      Office is awesome…but I don’t know if it’s the best scripted show in NBC. Chuck is it.

      But after Chuck there’s 30 rock (funniest show in television), Parks and Recreation (up there but less fan fare with 30 rock), Parenthood is apparently awesome (don’t watch, wouldn’t know).

      As for Renew-Why?

      Because I already had a show get canceled on me this week. 2nd one in 2 years. My tv watching heart can’t take anymore.

    • Jen says:

      I agree with The Office. i would love 30 Rock cause i love this Baldwin too and Tina Fey is a comedy genius, but i can’t stand Tracy Morgan… he kills the show for me.

      I saw some Parenthood promos and it looks good, but i don’t watch. Parks and Recreation didn’t capture me… it’s too much like The office to me and i already watch that one.

      Right now, the comedy i will NOT miss is Cougartown on ABC. That CRACKS ME UP!!!!

      Still, the only show i watch religiously, live, and are obsessed with is Chuck. Nothing copares 🙂

  13. Merve says:

    You know, the best thing about “Honeymooners” isn’t even the episode itself. (In my opinion, the two episodes that preceded it were better.) The best thing about “Honeymooners” is that the fan base is actually excited again.

  14. herder says:

    Interesting article on TVBTN about shows skewing male or female. Apparantly Chuck skews male, no suprise, but the suprise is that it is the highest skewed male show that is not animated. No offense to women, but in terms of renewal it might be an advantage to be able to say that the show attracts a hard to reach demographic.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      That is interesting. Oddly I always got the impression that this blog skewed slightly female among readers, or at least among regular posters.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Of course I could be mistaken since some screen names aren’t really gender specific. Maybe it’s time for a demographic study of our readership here.

    • Jen says:

      I’m not surprised becuase in the end this is a spy show, with lots of Nerdy/SciFiy/PopCulturey references. I think most girls are out there watching The Batchelor, DWTS, or god knows what else. I dont’ know what other channels have on on Monday nights.

      I’m a girl, i’m a techie (nerd!), i love music, pop culture, and good witty dialogue (i really love dialogue a lot). Plus, anything were we have a girl kicking ass is awesome to me… so in short, Chuck was made just for me 🙂

      It helps that if i ever met a guy like Chuck i would like him… a lot! 😛

Leave a Reply

