Speculation Please: Chuck vs. The Role Models

Well friends, I had a ton of fun speculating on this weeks episode with all of you, and since the promo show for Role Models has already sparked conversation, I thought I’d start a speculation thread.  Here is what we know:

Chuck AND Sarah TRAIN WITH A MARRIED CIA TEAM – FRED WILLARD (“ANCHORMAN”) AND SWOOSIE KURTZ (“PUSHING DAISIES”) GUEST STAR – Chuck (Zachary Levi) and Sarah (Yvonne Strahovski) are assigned to train under Craig and Laura Turner (guest stars Fred Willard, “Anchorman” and Swoosie Kurtz, “Pushing Daisies”), a married CIA team who, despite their impeccable record, hate one another. The Turners’ stormy relationship forces Chuck and Sarah to wonder if they’re doomed with the same fate. Meanwhile, Casey (Adam Baldwin) must train the newest member of the team – Morgan (Joshua Gomez). Sarah Lancaster, Ryan McPartlin and Mark Christopher Lawrence also star.

More after the break!Well, it seems the idea of cohabitation isn’t sitting well with Sarah.  I shook my head at that one, but the card from “The Bartowskis” warmed my heart and made me smile!  I wonder what combination of conversation (now that Sarah and Chuck do that, amongst other things 😉 ) and realization of what they could become will spark resolution.  Yes, that’s right.  I’m going to be anti-angst and say that things should be resolved within the hour.  Funny how warily I say that.  Anyway, Casey and Morgan look very funny and I do think we have a new bromance brewing.  My prediction:  Sarah and Chuck do finally move in together, Morgan moves in with Casey (probably not getting much sleep).  Beckman will have an I told you so moment (about mixing business with pleasure), and Chuck and Sarah teach the Turners about reclaiming the spark in their relationship.  My crystal ball is starting to fog, so I leave you to speculate wildly.  Isn’t it fun to be excited about Chuck again!?!

-amyabn

About amyabn

My name is Amy and I'm in the active Army as my profession. I love the show Chuck and want to see it succeed for many seasons to come. My twitter handle is amyabn.
This entry was posted in Fan Base, Season 3, Wild Speculation. Bookmark the permalink.

180 Responses to Speculation Please: Chuck vs. The Role Models

  1. cas says:

    The part with her not wanting to move in made me scratch my head as well but I don’t want to think negatively at the the moment. One thing I do miss from season 2 is Chucks girlish scream

    • JC says:

      Honestly that seems like Sarah even the new open version.

      • weaselone says:

        ermmm…didn’t everyone speculate that Sarah really wanted to move in with Chuck at the end of Lethal Weapon?

      • Faith says:

        wait, she didn’t? She was certainly having a great time brushing her teeth next to him and all. She looked happy.

      • weaselone says:

        Yeah, but Sarah doesn’t necessarily want to do things that make her happy. Look at Shaw.

        Yes, I suspect Sarah wanted to move in with Chuck, although as he voiced at the end of the episode there was also some reluctance their as it would have been difficult for her to remain professional in such close, extended proximity.

        That makes her refusal here somewhat strange. Either she doesn’t want to move in because now the relationship is in the open so she can have it and her bachelor pad, the relationship is thrilling and terrifying to her so she wants to keep some distance, or she’s yanking Chuck’s chain and she has already de facto moved in.

      • Josh says:

        There’s a chance there’s some Morgan weirdness, so Sarah doesn’t want to move in … remember as per the Call Sheet leak we are due a bathtub scene with Chuck/Sarah and Morgan.

        Also, maybe that scene from the extended promo where Chuck says this is going to be fun (or something like that) could be the resolution of the move in thing. Maybe Morgan moves in with Casey, Sarah moves in with Chuck or I don’t know, Sarah temporarily moves in to Ellie’s place.

      • atcdave says:

        I really wouldn’t read too much into the preview. We’re likely missing some key context issues, and its not like they’re going to break up the team (again). Somehow it will work out well.

    • Crumby says:

      When do you guys think the question is asked in the episode? Before meeting the Turners? That way they would work through the question during the episode and Sarah would agree to move in at the end?

      • Mike says:

        Could it simply be that the new, happy Sarah is joking with Chuck? She says “Why would we do that?”, Chuck begins to panic, she turns around and says “Of course I’ll move in”.

        One thing I’ve learned iss never trust the NBC promos. They cut things to increase the angst. For all we know her response could be to a totally different question.

  2. sd says:

    Okay…I’ll take a stab at it.

    I think C/S find out pretty quickly how much the Turner’s despise one another…cue the big, fat elephant in the room. Chuck doesn’t say the right things to Sarah as in “that will never be us”….and follows with…the move in line…cue the Sarah line.

    It’ll be classic C/S miscommunication b/c the two are still learning to talk with on another and Chuck–while he has really good emotional intelligence overall–has a blind spot when it comes to sometimes knowing what to say to Sarah–perhaps out of “you were faking it???” insecurity.

  3. Josh says:

    Card is from the Bartowski’s not from the Bartowskis
    Weird eh?

    • atcdave says:

      I saw that. I was so careful to get it right when I referenced it last night; then I rewatched today and saw they got it wrong!

  4. Aardvark7734 says:

    I could be wrong but I just assumed that Morgan starts interfering with Chuck and Sarah’s “alone” time, and since Ellie and Devon’s place is empty they decide to move in together there (for the time being). I guess it works out the same way if Morgan moves in with Casey and Sarah becomes Chuck’s new roommate.

    Either way, the resolution of this dilemma will likely occur at the end of the episode, as part of the payoff for what was learned from the Turners.

    I think. 🙂

  5. herder says:

    Ok, lets start with what we do know: Chuck and Sarah are training under the Turners, Casey starts Morgan’s training, Chuck asks Sarah to move in with him and she deflects the question. Also the episode has Awesome, Ellie and Big Mike, other than that not much. I think I read that the Turners end out having feet of clay and that Chuck and Sarah worry that they will end out like them.

    My first question is why are Chuck and Sarah training under the Turners rather than working with them. Is it to prepare to be a spy couple (something that the general didn’t want to know about) or is it some other skill that they have.

    The second thing is about Morgan, maybe he has to lie to Big Mike and starts to understand how hard things have been for Chuck over the last three years, lieing to those you care about. That and why on earth would anybody put a gun in Morgan’s hands, it is the equivalent of giving teenage boys bourbon and car keys (apologies to P J O’Roarke).

    The move in thing is something that doesn’t make sense after the Honeymoon, Sarah was willing to give up her current life because Chuck was more important to her. What did she think being on the run would entail, finding a new town and getting seperate apartments? I can only think that someone (probably the Turners) have said something that has given her pause and in typical Sarah fashion she has punted the question. I also take that as they have brought up the question that it will be resolved in this episode and they will move in at the end.

    We know nothing about Awesome and Ellie except that they are headed to Africa, I guess we get the start of their story, which I think involves the Ring. Maybe we get the Ring counsil again. And the tiger, I haven’t a fecking clue, maybe it has hidden laser beams to suprise Chuck and Sarah.

  6. sd says:

    Okay…how bout this….

    Since Mrs. Turner is a “super spy” who despises her husband and is jealous of the C/S r’ship (perhaps remembering what it used to be like between she and her husband) gets in Sarah’s head…tries to mess with her…like a super spy can…and tell her…oh, yeah..C is great now, will want you to live with him…but will start taking you for granted…

    …which leads us to the promo dialog….

    But all is resolved based on the growing communication skills between our heroes. Ha.

    what do you think?

    • Faith says:

      I like it! It makes sense because they’re still in the early stage, aka easily manipulated stage of their relationship 🙂

  7. Merve says:

    First off, I’d like to mention that this episode will have a tiger in it. Just in case you missed it: a tiger. I have no farking clue why there would be a tiger involved in the whole thing, and to be honest, I don’t really care, because this episode will also include the superbly badass Swoosie Kurtz. And since I’m a math major, I can tell you that the equation Tiger + Swoosie Kurtz = Awesome always holds true.

    I’d speculate in great detail, but I really have no clue what this episode will be about. I’ve noticed that the episode synopsis doesn’t mention anything about Africa, and neither does the preview. This leads me to believe that either the Africa subplot will be a waste of time not worth mentioning, or that something big is going to happen in Africa which will impact the spy plot in a big way that TPTB wanted to keep under wraps.

    About the whole moving in thing, I really don’t think it’ll be a big deal and I’m sure it’ll be resolved one way or another by the end of the episode. There might be some sort of shift in living arrangements, but I don’t think it’s going to have any sort of major effect on the show.

    Finally, remember: this episode was written by Phil Klemmer, writer of such angst-filled romps as “Suburbs” and “Mask.” Be prepared; this episode is likely to end with Craig massaging Sarah and Laura making out with Chuck in the home theatre room. 😉

    • Faith says:

      we don’t agree on much. Heck it seems we’re on different corners more often than not Merve, but Swoosie Kurtz? Pure awesome.

      The episode could suck and it would still be a win for me because she’s in it lol. So I agree with you.

      • Merve says:

        Well, Pushing Daisies is my favourite television series ever, so it’s no surprise that I have an unabashed love for every cast member, Swoosie Kurtz included. If Lee Pace, Anna Friel, Chi McBride, or Kristin Chenoweth ever appeared on Chuck, I’d be a very happy man.

      • Merve says:

        BTW, the reason I’m in my “Pushing Daisies happy place” right now is because I introduced two of my friends to that show tonight. They both loved it. 🙂

      • Faith says:

        Oh, I see. We’re Pushing Daisies pie ‘hos (reference to Molly Shannon – Bittersweets episode, not an insult) lol. I, too still introduce people to it, and me and my friends still do a weekly viewing of it (albeit online lol).

      • Emily says:

        Amen you two.

  8. Paul says:

    Well, from the preview, you hear Sarah saying “they picked the wrong couple to stab in the back.” So are the Turners Ring agents or just set C/S up for failure and made them look bad?

    As far as the moving in quip, I’ll hold specs until I see more teasers. I’m sure the Crazy Canadians will give a more comprehensive view of it. I’m thinking it’s not quite what we are assuming it is at this point.

    • weaselone says:

      They might not be “bad” as in traitors, rather it could be more of a Carina type move in Wookie where the older pair of spies double crosses them to take credit for a successful mission.

  9. Jason says:

    got a chance to watch “undercover blues” – pretty much the series chuck could have ‘borrowed’ a great deal from that show’s concept, one has to suspend belief to a certain extent to watch this sort of show – having the kid and fighting bad guys worked in that movie, but would have to think it might not work on a weekly series – loved the Meurte character in the movie, a hapless, albeit determined bad guy ….

    *************a possible spoiler – if you follow this link to about midpage, you will find under ‘stunts’ a potential guest star’s stunt double for ep 3.19 – assuming it is not a mistake, it is bad news:

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1631530/fullcredits#cast

    • amyabn says:

      PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE be a misprint!

      • Josh says:

        I fully expect Shaw to come back at the end of S3. Vincent aside, Shaw is pretty much the best villain the show has.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Shaw was a good villain for this season, but that isn’t a very high bar. Season 2 had Colt, Sasha Banecheck, Heather, Jill, Uncle Bernie, Smooth Lau, Vincent, a whole crew in Suburbs, and Ted Roark. This season we’ve had Karl Stromberg, Allejandro Goya, Sydney, and Badger. The rest haven’t left much of an impression on me at least.

      • weaselone says:

        Actually, I liked the Ring crew in Beard. I just wish they had done a better job integrating all the Ring spy plots into a coherent story. Plus, they have contradictory organization format thing going on. One minute they’re a decentralized starfish organization, the next they have a central command committee and a nearly indispensable director.

      • herder says:

        Weaselone, another thing that is a bit odd about the Ring is that Honeymooners was the first episode this year that had nothing of the Ring but aside from them being bad guys what can anyone say about them. For an organization that has been in all but one of this years’ episodes they are remarkably opaque in regards to their objectives.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        The crew in Beard wasn’t bad, but they, like most of the Ring villains this season, just didn’t ever seem very scary.

      • Merve says:

        The way I see it, the Ring does operate as a network of decentralized cells, but they also have a small central command structure that coordinates Ring activities and assigns duties to the various cells. However, the individual cells operate independently of each other.

    • Crumby says:

      I don’t mind having Shaw reappearing if the story makes sense and is interesting. As much as I loved the Other Guy, it didn’t made much sense WRT the Ring and the spy story for a “season finale”.

    • Merve says:

      IMDB tends to be an unreliable source of information. They’ve got so many of the villains and one-off characters’ names mixed up. I don’t really trust them.

      • BDaddyDL says:

        for example they did not have shaw listed in some of the episodes he was in. TPTB use imdb to their own advantage.

    • atcdave says:

      I’m not really worried about Shaw returning as a villain; but notice Brandon Routh himself wasn’t listed. Its entirely possible this will just be some flashback scene, and Shaw’s involvement will be neither new nor major.

    • BDaddyDL says:

      Growing up near New Orleans made undercover blues that much better. Although Levi Yvonne had more chemistry the first day of shooting then quaid and turner.

      Having said that beating up muerte with a babystroller was hilarious

    • atcdave says:

      Undercover Blues is one of the funniest/silliest movies I’ve ever seen. There are certain elements I would love to see captured on Chuck; obviously, I’m a sucker for the devoted/loving couple motif. But I love the super-imposing of the ordinary with the absurd; and the nonchalant way the Blues deal with it, like its all just a day in the life….

      And yeah BDaddy; Levi + Strahovski = way more chemistry.

  10. Ernie Davis says:

    First, I agree with Merve above. I have no idea what will happen so no credence whatsoever should be placed on my pure speculation. That said.

    I agree the Turners will likely pull some sort of spy world prank or Carina like move, setting of a battle of spy couples, culminating in a tiger placed in the Bartowski residence. I say it’s in reference to Chuck and/or Sarah referring to the other as a tiger/tigress. The move in thing is probably not a big deal, and actually could be the opposite. Remember in First Date Sarah wanted Chuck to explain about “a girl like you”. That ended up, well almost working out for them. And I noticed a slight smile on Sarah’s face as she said it and walked away. I like that in the publicity photos Sarah is wearing the bathrobe and booties that Yvonne wears between takes (if you follow some of the BTS photos and Zach’s Ustream videos).

    In further spec, of COURSE BR will be back. We just don’t yet know if it’s a dream or reality. Of course it’s probably reality, otherwise he shouldn’t need a stunt double. Quite frankly now that he’s pure evil I don’t mind. Especially if Chuck and/or Sarah get to shoot him again. This time keep shooting till the mag is empty, please. (I thought Shaw floated a little too long for a guy with what should have been two sucking chest wounds, one to each lung. I won’t go to the inevitable jokes about wood and, well you know.)

    • herder says:

      Wood and what? witches, ducks, small bits of metal?

      This episode is my bet for Morgan to get tranq’d, the usual suspects are Casey (5-4), Sarah (6-1), and Chuck (15-1) any one else (50-1).

    • Crumby says:

      I like the battle of spy couples thing. And we Sarah likes to win so, could be pretty funny, like “OK fine, let’s get married, will see what they think about that!” lol

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Yes, this time weigh Shaw. If he weighs the same as a duck, burn him, and not in the metaphorical spy sense.

    • Merve says:

      I hope that if Shaw does come back, then the show will take the opportunity to make fun of itself.

      Chuck: “Holy crap! You’re alive?”
      Shaw: “They used one of the European clinics. The same one that brought back Bryce Larkin.”
      Chuck: “We should really close that clinic down.”

    • joe says:

      I haven’t seen that promo yet (whew!) Shaw is coming back? Maybe? I can live with the idea of a zombie-shaw or maybe a Freddy-Shaw (Chuck does have nightmares, right?). I only hope that doesn’t last too long, though.

    • cas says:

      Ernie- I know he only shot him twice but Chuck did keep shooting until the Mag was empty in the other guy. If you listen closely, the last shot had a distinct sound. The kind of sound it makes when the mag is empty and if you watch it again and look at his gun, you can see that his gun was cocked back and stayed that way which happens after you fire your last round. I was in the militay =).
      I was a little disturbed myself as to why an agent would bring a gun with only 2 bullets, then I just dismissed any speculation that I might have had because I liked the ending so much.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Wow, I never caught that. I am familiar with semi-autos and how they stay cocked back if there isn’t another round, but I just never saw that. I’ll be forced to watch that scene again.

        Maybe Chuck can borrow the mini-gun. Or the tank. Sarah always appreciates the tank.

      • atcdave says:

        I forgot the tank has sentimental value, that really is the way to go!

      • Paul says:

        Well, to be fair, for the most part of this season, they’ve been using airsoft pistols in place of real ones (likely for cost containmen and set safety). While airsoft guns (particularly gas blowbacks) can mimic real firearms pretty well, they are not 100% exact simulations.

    • JC says:

      I still hoping it’s some sort of dream and Eve Shaw is the real villain.

    • atcdave says:

      Forget emptying the mag; I want to see Shaw blow-up. With serious military grade explosives, not one of these wussy gasoline fire balls they normally give us; I want to see a shock-wave, and the ground shacking!

      • Ernie Davis says:

        As above, I say the tank. Sarah appreciates the tank. I’d guess a high-velocity depleted uranium round would pretty much vaporize Shaw. Then the tank could drive back and forth over the spot on the ground till Shaw is less recognizable than the dead horse they once beat into oblivion.

      • BDaddyDL says:

        seriously, you got to stop sugar coating things, tell us how you really feel!

      • atcdave says:

        I like the way you’re thinking Ernie!

      • joe says:

        Ernie, you should consider collecting the ashes and blasting them into space – I suggest a solar orbit.

        It’s the only way to be sure.

      • Faith says:

        with our luck there will be a single piece of ash left that can be cloned and boom—Shaw returns.

        AHHHHH!

      • lucian says:

        I’m guessing Shaw’s ashes are combined with Bryce’s ashes and a super evil foe is created – Sharkin. When Sarah kills Sharkin she is able to get some real closure.

      • Crumby says:

        Kryptonian could try to send him back though.

      • Chuck604 says:

        Or if you want to save on resources good old double tap to the head of Shaw will suffice.

      • Faith says:

        knock on wood joke? Nice!

    • weaselone says:

      Somehow I knew hell wouldn’t have him…

  11. Crumby says:

    What I’m curious about is Chuck’s reaction to Sarah’s answer about moving in. The guy can be insecure…

    Maybe she’s just teasing him. I find her answer pretty funny.

    • Jan says:

      I’m with you. Wouldn’t put it past NBC to amp up the angst…
      Wouldn’t put it past Sarah to say that, then go to the car to get her suitcase

  12. weaselone says:

    So now my actual predictions regarding this episode based on the promo.

    The purpose of the mission is likely to be rather mundane, probably involving the procurement of some McGuffin. The focus will be on the internal dynamics of our three spy couples and their interaction with each other. Sarah and Chuck will be tasked to work with the Turners to obtain the important intelligence artifact of the week with the more experienced couple ostensibly serving as mentors for the newer spy couple. Chuck and Sarah will probably do the heavy lifting on the mission only to be double crossed upon its completion.

    The Turners won’t be working for the Ring or other enemy organization, but like Carina in Wookiee will be looking to pad their own resume and show up a rival, in this case the new younger, disgustingly attractive and happy spy couple consisting of Chuck and Sarah. Having recovered from her 12 episode bought with bipolar disorder, isn’t going to take this laying down. Sarah the spy is back and she has a reputation to maintain. Hi jinks ensue as the Bartowskis and Turners battle for control of the MacGuffin, although I expect that at some point they will have to combine forces to overcome a third party. Either that or the lot of them will have to be rescued by Casey and Morgan.

    As for the move in thing, I think Sarah has already for all intents and purposes moved in at the point the question is asked, or she’s just dropped the world’s most transparent hint that she wants to move in. Chuck asks to make it official and Sarah responds by teasing him and in the next line asking him to help her get her stuff out of the car.

    • weaselone says:

      Possible situation:

      Sarah’s bringing in piles of clothing and her heavy bag.

      Chuck: What’s all this?
      Sarah: I’ve stayed here every night for a week and needed a few additional changes of clothes.
      Chuck: And the bag?
      Sarah: Chuck, this doesn’t happen by accident. If I’m going to spend all of my time here, I need to bring over some of my fitness equipment.
      Chuck: How would you like to move in?
      Sarah: And why would we do that?

      Sarah ambles towards the door and turns.

      Sarah: Chuck, aren’t you going to help me unload my stuff from the car?

    • Ernie Davis says:

      I think your spec is probably pretty close to the mark. The move in together could be interesting. We’ll see how the Morgan effect pushes things one way or the other. He’s learning about boundaries, but given the much spec’d bathtub scene Morgan will likely be a pivotal aspect.

      • BDaddyDL says:

        i keep hearing about this bathtub scene, where did y’all see, or hear about it?

      • weaselone says:

        I haven’t sen this spec either, although I don’t have a nose for spoilers.

      • amyabn says:

        Go to our spoilers page. There are a bunch of scanned pages. You can see it there. 🙂

      • Paul says:

        There were leaked call sheets back in February (around the time of Mask) that described a few of the end scenes in Honeymooners and a few scenes in Role Models. One of the scenes involves Chuck, Sarah and Morgan in a bathroom with a bathtub. Some have specced that it may be a callback to 2.01 where Chuck walked in on Ellie and Awesome showering together.

  13. weaselone says:

    Oh, I don’t know if anyone else mentioned this, but Sarah asked Chuck to move in at the end of Beefcake which was 2.15. Here we are at 3.15 and Chuck’s asking Sarah. I’m just saying.

    • Merve says:

      So, if I follow your logic, Sarah’s going to ask Chuck to take a vacation with her in 3.22?

      Wait a sec… 😛

      • weaselone says:

        Maybe if there were 22 episodes in season three. Perhaps NBC could hook us up and order another 3 episodes and we could have a season 3.3.

    • Paul says:

      Well, to be more accurate, Sarah was telling Chuck that they had to go to 24hr custody because of Cole being captured. Chuck didn’t have much of a choice initially. It kind of morphed into a pseudo-living together thing in Lethal Weapon.

      • Crumby says:

        Sarah did say at the end of Beefcake “it means we can’t break up and we have to move in together”.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Well Sarah more or less TOLD Chuck they were moving in together, but interesting point. Also they woke up together in 3.16 with the shot from above and we ended with the similar shot from above. Hmmm, wonder if we get another wake-up scene similar to Lethal Weapon, complete with teeth being brushed. Sarah having her own toothbrush at Chuck’s will inevitably lead to moving in. Or we could get a Morgan version of Chuck walking in on Devon and Ellie.

  14. Ernie Davis says:

    I almost forgot to mention, Casey didn’t get a frying pan to the face. That means the Bartowski-Woodcombs will be back from Africa before the season is over.

  15. herder says:

    So, time for a bit more speculation as we really don’t have a lot of hard info on this episode.

    – The Bartowski’s, I presume that this refers to Chuck and Sarah, interesting that she is comfortable with identifying herself as so closely involved with Chuck’s real identity rather than the Carmicael’s or the Charles’s, even if it is on a mission.

    – Is this the episode where we see Awesome on a stretcher with a bandage on his head or is that later, my guess is later, this is setting up the Woodcomb’s in Africa.

    – So likewise I think Casey getting the frying pan to the head is later too.

    – Do we ever get to see the General in Burbank again to settle who is tinyier, her or Morgan.

    – Casey made reference of personal experience to deciding spy life or personal life do we see a return of his fiancee and child Alex or is that story on hold for season 4.

    – We have seen photos of Chuck in a tux and Sarah in formal wear as well as Casey and Morgan at the opera(?) are these related.

    – The Bartowski’s scene has the Turner’s in sleep wear, Sarah in a bath robe and four glasses on the table is this some sort of swingers party or something (I know, ick).

    – Again, Morgan with a gun? Casey is the one who once said “Bartowski’s got a gun, we’re dead”, between him and Morgan, Chuck is the capable one.

    – Finally we still haven’t heard Sarah say “I love you” to Chuck, does this happen here or later or did she say it between their many meals in their train compartment.

    • JC says:

      I know Baldwin at Wondercon said they would address Casey’s family in these back six. Plus IMDB has his daughter in two hour finale. Not the most reliable source though.

      Could be the Ring is threatening his family once again.

      Casey and Morgan at the opera seems like it’s from The Living Dead because they were filming at an LA concert hall. Also from the long promo, you get a quick shot of Chuck with a gun in a tux, with track lighting above him. And the whole I’m not crazy bit, looks like he’s wearing a tux.

  16. JC says:

    TV Guide has minor spoilers about this episode and the finale.

    Chuck and Sarah are already in need of relationship coaching, and in the May 3 episode they get some from a married spy team, played by Fred Willard and Swoosie Kurtz. Chuck’s dad, Stephen, designer of the Intersect, returns May 17 and stays for the two-hour finale, which cocreator Chris Fedak promises is “a monster story that puts the entire show into a blender.” Fedak adds that secret spy organization the Ring stops chalking up Chuck as a moron. “They finally see both him and the Buy More as a very real threat they need to smite – and they’ll do things no other villain has ever done to Chuck and his team.”

    Bye Bye Buymore?

    • BDaddyDL says:

      This makes sense since Chuck may have to go under even more of a budget crunch. Putting the show through a blender allows them to save money in case buy mor is history, or if, and this is my guess, Devon is killed off.

      • atcdave says:

        I’d hate to loose Devon, and that would really leave Ellie in an odd spot. Maybe if Ellie is also written out (making Africa permanent or something).

        Now blowing up the Buy more is strangely appealing…

      • JC says:

        I doubt Ellie will be gone since they did that retcon of her medical specialty. So that leaves Papa B, Devon, Casey or Morgan as the likely deaths. I think this might be an Empire Strikes Back type season finale.

      • Chuck604 says:

        I can imagine Jeffster rocking the place while flaming debris falls down around them. LOL

      • atcdave says:

        JC, the choices you list is why I expect Papa B to die. His death could be powerful to several of the shows main characters (Obviously Chuck and Ellie; Morgan knows him way back; and if he’s given his “blessing” and charge to protect his offspring to Devon and Sarah; not to mention the whole “served his country well” bit; most of the characters care about him) and yet as a minor character his death would have little impact on the main direction of the show.

        All that said; if another round of budget cuts are coming, I could see Ellie and/or Devon being eliminated too. I just really hope not.

      • Chuck604 says:

        It makes perfect sense to have Chuck’s father killed. Like you said Dave it would have a big impact on several of the characters without having to create the same effect by killing off a series regular. I read somewhere that Ellie and Devon aren’t suppose to be going anywhere, but we’ll see hopefully there won’t be anymore cuts.

      • atcdave says:

        I remember a bunch of us having the same discussion as S2 wound down; we pretty well guessed at Bryce’s demise, while considering Orion an outside possibility. We were all expecting the Buy More to be cut then too. Even a lot of the fanfic writers like the idea of Chuck having his own software company as a cover. He could keep his own hours, and still employ the same losers. Production-wise, you’d think they could save a lot of money by dropping the large set of the Buy More, and all the extras they use every time they shoot there.

        Yet the Buy More is sort of a signature part of the show. While I could see them dropping it for reasons that are practical both to the story and production costs; I would still be a little surprised if they actually did away with it.

      • Chuck604 says:

        Thing about the Buy More though was they did a lot of product placement during S1 and S2. The thing I remember the most was a lot of those big cut outs for video games just as they were about to be released, so it was a good way to do subtle product placement. Though you could very well do the same thing if Chuck started his own tech firm.

      • JC says:

        Dave

        I’m on board with Papa B being the most likely death. But its so obvious I just wonder if they’ll pull a fast one on us. At this point I would say the only untouchables would be Chuck & Sarah.

        As for the Buymore I don’t know, I think it all depends on the direction of the show. Getting rid of it would be a risk but it does open the show to be more spy focused.

      • Crumby says:

        I think it would be a shame to see Ellie and Devon go. They’re the only left with a “normal” life. Buy More isn’t normal, right?!

        Having only one of theme go would be pretty dramatic.

        And they’re the real role models for Chuck and Sarah. They love each other, they communicate well, they’re ready to make sacrifices, etc.

      • Stef62 says:

        I’m thinking Devon, as there was a comment in an interview he did around the time of the Captain America actor hunt, where he said something along the lines of ‘that he was happy to play awesome for the time being’, or something like that

      • Jason says:

        I spec’d deveon quite some time ago, he is the most expendable of the big 6 cast members. The one who would make the biggest impact, both $ wise and show wise (as in harm the show substantially) would be casey. Devon gone would allow ellie lots of range in terms of scenes, including giving a female angst and LI component, that would take some pressure off of TPTB to kick sarah and chuck’s relationship around.

      • Stef62 says:

        It also allows them to turn Ellie into a recurring character on the show, if they send her off to grieve with her dad, or help look after him.

        The specced new romance I was angling toward Morgan, and Caseys daughter, if they re-introduce her, and her mother in the subway ep

      • Merve says:

        There’s almost a 10 year age difference between Morgan and Casey’s daughter. Any romance between them would be kind of…icky at this stage.

      • Paul says:

        Merve, Casey’s daughter is approx 20 years old. Morgan is about 27 or 28. That is really not unheard of.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        My guess is that if they go there, ick is what they’re looking for, at least from Casey’s perspective. Or the budding romance could be Casey and his ex.

      • Jason says:

        I think morgan could be hilarious with casey daughter, esp if she is 1 – a nerd or nerd lover (I’ll explain), and 2 – if morgan likes her, more sisterly than loves her. if so, then it sets up a lester, jeff and casey’s D trio of friends and hijinx which probably would not please casey or morgan (or chuck or sarah or her mom much either) which would give the girl even more reason to befriend them & 2 would give casey reason to sulk around all day long, and be mad at morgan for literally doing nothing wrong, could even play out that at the end of a season, casey may want morgan to be his D’s B/F …. might not be expressing this perfect, but I think the entire thing could play out remarkably funny

      • Jason says:

        and in true ‘chuck’ fashion, the moment morgan were to start liking casey’s D, then she could start liking someone else – and then they could not talk for 13 episodes – the daughter happy, morgan miserable, and casey essentially clueless, as ALL fathers are about their daughters and romance.

      • The Shrink says:

        The Roof the roof the roof is on fire. We dont need any water let the m*****f***** burn could be the song title to the blaze at the buymore

      • atcdave says:

        I do agree with JC about Chuck and Sarah being the only untouchable characters; but Casey is pretty close. It would also be a shame to off Morgan now that I actually like him for the first time in the show! Jeff and Lester are too funny. That really does leave Ellie and Devon as the most likely of the primary cast to be cut; which would really be too bad. I think they do represent the normal part of Chuck’s life. Perhaps with Chuck and Sarah as a couple, that function becomes less important.
        Some of the speculation about Morgan and Alex is interesting; seven years isn’t a big age difference; but I would add, when my wife and I met, she was 19 and I was 26. She really struck me as a sweet kid; but too young. It took almost six years before she seemed like an adult friend I ought to be dating! I think Casey’s horror at having Morgan around her would be priceless. Does anyone know the actress from anywhere? Is she even up to a bigger role? or is she a one-shot we’ll never see again?

      • JC says:

        The only reason I even mentioned Casey as a possible death is because of his daughter being in the finale. Sacrificing himself to save his daughter would be the ultimate redemption from the choice he made earlier in his life.

        Morgan because Chuck brings him into the spy world and he seems to have no fear of it. And it totally fits within his character to do something to save either Chuck or Sarah. Look how he was in Beard.

        Devon because of all season they been foreshadowing his fear of the spy world. He’s been targeted by the Ring already, plus his death effects Ellie.

        But I’m probably reading to much into it and its Papa B. Ellie’s medical retcon points to his death and he’s the most expendable.

      • herder says:

        What about Big Mike, they killed off one Buy More manager in Emmitt this season why not a second as the Ring seems to target the store in the finale.

      • John says:

        What if they kill Jeff and Lester?

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I’d thought the same thing about Big Mike. He could go down with the ship, in a manner of speaking. Orion now seems a bit more expendable with Ellie becoming a neurologist, especially if Papa B passes on notes on his work. This is also a way to bring Ellie into Chuck’s world and give her plenty of opportunity to go crazy big sister on Chuck. Then again, we could get to kill Shaw again. It was a significant death the first time, it’d be extra special this time. Especially if they use the tank. 😉

      • atcdave says:

        Killing Big Mike would be genius! They could make offing Buy More managers a running gag; like being a drummer for Spinal Tap!

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Unfortunately Big Mike doesn’t add a lot to the show anymore, so he’d be the most disposable character. The bad part, who’d be next in line for the job? Morgan. They just fixed that character, now they’d have to kill him off at the end of S4.

      • atcdave says:

        Maybe they’d bring in that guy from Buy More corporate who does the Geico commercials. He’d make a great disposable manager.

      • Merve says:

        I’d laugh if Big Mike choked to death on a doughnut because this time around Emmett isn’t there to save him.

        But seriously, they haven’t used Mark Christopher Lawrence much this season; his character is the most expendable.

      • Jason says:

        guys, i have seen a quote saying significant budget cuts on regular cast, that ain’t big mike, or jeff, or lester (any or all of whom might be cut as regulars and brought back on occasion). I think CS are untouchable, and since ellie is the only other lady, and chuck’s only family, she has to be pretty close. That leaves morgan, casey, and awesome as high dollar guys. Morgan or casey would so change the show, that I am left with awesome as the odd man out, plus, he has been written in such a manner almost foreshadowing his death IMO?

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Are you sure that isn’t about what happened last year? They did take a big hit on regular cast last year to get renewal. If the talk is that NBC is trying to lower their fee again and WB is trying to do it that could be bad news.

      • atcdave says:

        That’s a reasonable spec Jason, we’re just goofing around. If they are looking to make regular cast cuts, Devon is the most likely candidate. The spoilers from Fedak sound very ominous, they could even kill Casey; that could really save some money; and ruin the show, but still….

      • JC says:

        Another sign that points to Devon is that new character Justin from DWB who isn’t what he seems. What better way to get at Chuck and Orion than through Ellie.

      • JC says:

        Don’t know how true this spoiler is but the guy has been pretty accurate. Supposedly the Buymore set was “blown up” again this season. He said they did the same thing last year but it was never filmed. He’s the same guy who saw Routh on set filming during the back six.

      • atcdave says:

        Define “blown-up.” We heard last season, shortly after filming ended, that the set was being dismantled. Perhaps they were simply mothballing it, or even doing serious cleaning or something, but obviously it was back.

        I wonder if this is simply the same thing again.

      • JC says:

        From what he said it sounds like something major happens there that’s tied to the story. But he also said he doesn’t know for sure, I think he might work at the lot but not on the show. So I’d chalk it up as a rumor more than a spoiler I guess.

        About last year, he claims it was damaged for the story and that’s why tour groups weren’t allowed on set.

      • amyabn says:

        I think they could pass the Intersect torch to Ellie via a pair of sunglasses, ala Manoosh or the update Bryce gave Chuck. Just info on the intersect. Papa B’s intersect is finally too much for him and he dies. Or Devon dies trying to save him. I say that because he is a major character. It could set up all sorts of stuff-Ellie being mad at Chuck for the spy life taking her husband, Ellie not knowing about the spy stuff killing Devon, but finding out about Chuck, Sarah, Casey, and Morgan; or she could start being mother hen again and interfering with Chuck and Sarah’s relationship. Just a couple of scenarios to play with.

    • Paul says:

      But is that “realtionship coaching” spy relationship or personal relationship…..or the interaction between the two? And those 2 kids having relationhship issues is not something unexpected at all. In fact, I’d be surprised if it was all flowers and rainbows.

  17. Jason says:

    Not sure where to put this, but I have been as guilty as anyone making fun of OldDArth’s seemingly skitzophrenic take on season 3, but much like the series chuck 3.14 episode, what he wrote about 3.14 is really great IMO:

    http://chucktv.net/2010/04/28/into-the-light-or-o-canada-eh-episode-3-14-chuck-vs-the-honeymooners/

    In particular, he reflects about the entire season after he reviews 3.14 (reflection is at the bottom). I love reading stuff by people I don’t always agree with, and I thought what he wrote was – well – ‘awesome’, not quite ‘epic’ or ‘gamechanging’, that is reserved for those evil ‘powers that be’ – LOL

  18. herder says:

    I’d say an Ent, but they were good wood.

  19. herder says:

    Was looking at the promo, interesting that Sarah says they picked the wrong couple to backstab. Not that she shouldn’t want revenge, but that she wants it as a couple and not as spies.

    • atcdave says:

      Yeah herder, I liked the sound of that; well that and “The Bartowskis” calling card. I don’t get the first “why would we do that” line, but I doubt its anything to worry about.

      • amyabn says:

        I think, based on the second spoiler, that her little run in with Morgan at the fridge may have led to that comment (and for those who were wondering, Morgan is at least wearing a shirt). Sarah could be saying that why should I move in-you already have a room mate, which sets up a serious conversation (well, here’s to hoping) about what they want for the future, what to do about Morgan being a third wheel, etc.
        It would be funny if they parallel the conversation Morgan had with Chuck when Morgan said he couldn’t move in with him. Maybe with Anna back (will she be in this ep?) or with Casey training him, he’ll find an excuse to move out.
        In another thought, wouldn’t it be funny if Morgan complains to Sarah that now that she is here, he isn’t getting much sleep at night. 😉

      • weaselone says:

        I’m not sure whether Morgan will be the cause or not. Certainly one night of him walking in on her raiding the refrigerator in a revealing outfit isn’t going to fluster a woman who opens the door to her train cabin with her robe open and seduces men as part of her living.

        Personally, I think Morgan is the one who should be upset because it looks like Sarah may have been drinking orange juice straight from the container. It’s not exactly polite under any circumstances and given Sarah’s attire Morgan might have further concerns.

      • weaselone says:

        Whoops…there’s a little bit of double entendre in that last statement that wasn’t quite intended.

  20. Jason says:

    have not seen much promo activity, last week I posted something like this and a whole raft of things got released, maybe this will do the trick again. Funny, 3.15 & 3.16 are the only two episodes left until renewal decision is made, I am shocked that a whole wave of promotion is not going on, especially given my ‘gut’ feel that 3.16 is not going to be a very ‘nice’ episode I don’t understand why they are not knocking doors down getting info out? If the next 10-14 days don’t go well, they have quite a bit of time on their hands??????

    • Crumby says:

      Shouldn’t they do some kind of promo showing Honeymooners moments like CS finally together, the handcuffed fight, Corgan-Masey-Crimes hilarious tandem, Beckman comments or else, to attract viewers that give up during the dark hours of season 3? Like “YES we finally made it happen and you can laugh again!!!”

      I’m sure it would at least arouse curiosity. Maybe even arouse curiosity of people that have heard of the show but never gave it a shot.

  21. rac2873 says:

    I have not see this promo but someone saw it during Fallon last night. This is from another board.

    The move in scene again, another shot of the tiger and the older couple, Sarah and Chuck kissing, and then it’s nighttime and Sarah stands up from the fridge in a sexy time outfit, and Morgan is standing right there.

    Based on Morgan alone I don’t think it is a secret why Sarah will not move in with Chuck. lol

    • herder says:

      It was on NBC tonight, I had just got in from work and flipped on the tv it was in the first set of commercials for who do you think you are. Nothing new except for the Sarah at the fridge with Morgan scene, which could be a reason for her to hesitate about moving in, didn’t notice if Morgan is exposing any low hanging fruit, but if so, that would be reason to pause.

      • rac2873 says:

        Here is the promo.

      • Crumby says:

        Maybe Morgan will be the one uncomfortable! lol

        Sarah isn’t exactly shy…

        Chuck woud probably also have a problem with Morgan seeing Sarah like this.

  22. JC says:

    Season 3, Episode 17 “Chuck Versus the Living Dead”
    CHUCK TRIES TO KEEP HIS SPY LIFE SECRET FROM HIS FATHER — SCOTT BAKULA (”QUANTUM LEAP”) GUEST STARS — After his last dream, Chuck (Zachary Levi) asks Morgan (Joshua Gomez) to help him on a side mission. Their investigation becomes complicated when Stephen J. Bartowski (guest star Scott Bakula) returns and learns that Chuck downloaded the Intersect 2.0. Luckily, Chuck’s father may be able to help his son. Yvonne Strahovski, Adam Baldwin, Ryan McPartlin, Scott Krinsky, Vik Sahay and Mark Christopher Lawrence also star.

    • Crumby says:

      So is Chuck keeping from everybody except Morgan that he’s still having dreams?
      That could be the secret he’s not telling Sarah about.

      • weaselone says:

        That is sort of strange given that Chuck’s already dropped hints to Sarah regarding his dreams. Perhaps Beckman, Sarah, and Casey are still skeptical and continue to think he’s losing his marbles, so he confides in Morgan. I don’t know whether this says bad things about Chuck regarding his trust in Sarah, or Sarah in regards to her support and trust in Chuck.

      • 904 says:

        Maybe he doesn’t want to burden Sarah with this information for work specific reasons.

        Now that they’ve tenuously decided they can be lovers and spies, Chuck probably doesn’t want to risk that. We know Sarah would choose to run with Chuck over espionage, so perhaps Chuck initially doesn’t want Sarah to have to consider that choice again. He hopes he can fix himself without bring Sarah into it.

        Of course, for the sake of drama, we know it won’t work out so neatly.

      • weaselone says:

        Or the side mission he sends Morgan on has nothing to do with the dream, or the dream has nothing to do with espionage.

      • weaselone says:

        Somebody on ChuckTV suggested that Morgan’s mission might be to obtain an engage ring for Sarah. Basically, Chuck taps Morgan much as Awesome tapped him in Chuck vs. The Marlin with the goal of keeping his perceptive, superspy wife in the dark regarding the upcoming proposal.

        I’m not certain they’ll go that far, but it’s quite possible that the dream and Morgan’s mission are not directly connected, or even that the dream isn’t espionage related. Chuck may have come up with plans to surprise Sarah that have nothing to do with a wedding, but a need to keep them secret from her or a lack of time due to a mission could lead him to depend on Morgan to carry out his instructions.

      • herder says:

        Hmm, relying on Morgan for something important, that’s a recipe for disaster. Why do I have a mental image of Morgan returning with magic beans.

      • JC says:

        Honestly people not believing Chuck in regards to anything spy related doesn’t surprise me. That seems to be the standard MO, in Other Guy everyone seemed to forget Chuck saving the day in Am Hero. I wouldn’t be surprised if Morgan was the only person who did.

        So I’m guessing this episode ends with the whole I’m crazy scene. Its interesting that Morgan isn’t there.

      • Crumby says:

        He could keep it from Sarah just to protect they’re relationship. If the government learned that she was holding important information regarding the Intersect because of their relationship, they could try to separate them. That’s why he could want to keep her in the dark.

  23. Gord says:

    Tonight I saw the Canadian Promo on City TV. A few new clips, but not really much in the way of being a spoiler.

    There is a line from Fred Willard to Swoozie, in reference to Chuck and Sarah – “They remind me of us 30 years ago”

    I checked, unfortunately this clip isn’t up on the City TV website.

    The only speculation I will make on this episode is that it is going to be great.

  24. Paul says:

    I’ve been scouring youtube and the Canadian promo hasn’t been posted….yet. C’mon, Canada, help us out, eh?

  25. herder says:

    Not necessarily this episode, but are we likely at any time to see tipsy Sarah, we’ve seen Ellie, Chuck, Jeff, Casey and Awesome under the inflence. We know Sarah does have the occasional drink, after all the champagne in the train couldn’t have been for Chuck alone. So a tipsy Sarah; does she become more amorous towards Chuck, does she point out his flaws, does she bemoan her situation. It could be funny or sad, but it would be interesting.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      We sort of saw a tipsy Sarah in Truth. After Chuck told her how beautiful she was she looked like she was about to jump Chuck’s bones right there and then, mission or not. As for the future, I think Sarah is a little too controlled to let loose like that just yet. I think a lot will have to do with how safe she feels with her new arrangement.

      As for Jeff, have we seen him sober? I thought “tipsy” was his default setting. Can’t quite recall Awesome being drunk either.

      • joe says:

        Poll topic, Ernie? Who’s more fun. Tipse Ellie, Tipse Sarah or Sober Jeff? 😉

        Perhaps the answer is Drunk Casey!

      • herder says:

        I was including Awesome from the bachelor party in Broken Heart when in fairness he had a couple of drinks, was tranq’d then was brutally hung over.

    • atcdave says:

      Sarah seems like someone who would rarely or never want to loose control.

      And Joe, I would say tipsy Ellie is most fun, but sober Jeff is the least likely!

      • joe says:

        Even Jeff standing upright is a rarity.

        “Welcome to the Buy More, Sir. How my I service you?” Classic!

      • herder says:

        I was thinking of a stressful social occasion (not her forte) such as double dating with Morgan and Anna or the Bartowski family reunion now that she is de facto a Bartowski. That or maybe the Turners spike her and Chuck’s drinks as part of the “stabbing in the back”.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        That is an interesting thought Herder. Suddenly Sarah is faced with a whole mess more real than she’s ever had to deal with. There’s also precedent for the unprecedented, as in Chuck with the Johnny Black.

    • ChuckNewbie8 says:

      I’m going to go with Casey. I think might just turn to lady feelings fever drunk…remember with Ilsa? Haha.

  26. odysszeuss says:

    Crazy Sarah Walker sleeps with a night light and a sleep mask because the dark is afraid of crazy Sarah Walker

  27. Ernie Davis says:

    So what is Sarah’s deep dark secret that keeps her from wanting to move in together?

    I say it turns out she really is a cannibal, much to Morgan’s chagrin. Puts that late night snack at the fridge in a whole new light, eh?

  28. herder says:

    As near I can figure out we start this episode with the “Hart to Hart” dream sequence, maybe it is Morgan who has the dream, when he wakes up he goes to the fridge and runs into Sarah, maybe he says something awkward. Chuck asks Sarah to move in the next morning, she stalls. The General has Chuck and Sarah observing the Turners for guidence on how to be an effective spy team, she also orders Casey to train Morgan, we go to credits.

    After that, a bunch of stuff happens, the Turners are unpleasant, for some reason a tiger shows up and it all ends happily. I think I’m missing some details in this second paragraph.

    • ChuckNewbie8 says:

      I think it starts off with them watching TV myself. But either way it’s a fantastic beginning.

      • herder says:

        Ok, maybe we start with the tv watching bit then Morgan interupts, Morgan and Sarah at the fridge and a bathroom scene that Morgan interupts too. This could be a theme that leads to Sarah hesitating about moving in.

    • atcdave says:

      Gee herder, I didn’t notice any details missing, that seemed pretty complete to me. (hard to go wrong with ” a bunch of stuff happens!”)

      • herder says:

        I’ll go out on a limb here, there may be some kissing between Chuck and Sarah thrown in. That and the General will be exasperated about something, oh and Casey will be unhappy and frustrated with Morgan.

      • atcdave says:

        You forgot commercials….

    • Ernie Davis says:

      herder? Do you secretly work for NBC writing show synopses?

    • JC says:

      I’m guessing we’ll start getting some clues about Chuck’s dreams, the security breach that threatens all the intelligence agencies and some Doctor without Borders action.

      • herder says:

        Maybe we even get the beginning of the Ring’s evil plan. I forgot about Ellie and Awesome so yeah them too.

      • JC says:

        I always figured Ellie and Awesome in Africa somehow ties into the Ring storyline.

      • atcdave says:

        Are we even sure they’re in this week? I would have guessed we wouldn’t see them until next week.

      • ChuckNewbie8 says:

        “Sarah Lancaster, Ryan McPartlin and Mark Christopher Lawrence also star”

        No Jeffster this week but no Big Mike next week…full cast.

    • joe says:

      Weeeelllllll!

      Now it looks like you got a sneak preview, Herder!

      This was spot-on.

Leave a Reply

