Is It Getting Warm In Here?

Well the results are in for what the first 13 episodes of Season 3 should have been. We want to see Chuck taking on 5 ring agents while wearing a towel while Sarah and Carina take on another 5 each while in lingerie getting dressed for a party. Awesome should be explaining to Ellie how he decapitated the bear, but as usual not wearing a shirt, while Morgan beats down a ring agent with a stick. Casey only needs to fight one guy, but he should be a terminator. The scene should end with Sarah telling a drunk Chuck that she’s still in love with him, he’s still her Chuck. So what about those moments and the moments to come? A quick poll after the jump.

I’ll go out on a limb and say that at this point, only the best comedy moment would stand up to Honeymooners. OK, maybe Sarah and Carina in lingerie could stand up to Sarah spending half an episode in her delicates, and there wasn’t any equivalent to Chuck in a towel, but Nina Simone clearly relegates all other Chuck and Sarah moments to runner up status, as does Chuck and Sarah’s fight and one hit on Casey. It is a whole new show. Even Jeffster was good.

But with this new show comes a new poll, by request. There has been a lot of talk recently about too much skin on TV too early in the night. Is Chuck a part of that? Have your say in the poll and comments.

P.S.  Yes, for our European friends I understand that your commercials have topless women selling breakfast cereal on Satrurday morning.  We’re just a bit more uptight here in the states.

About Ernie Davis

I was born in 1998, the illegitimate brain child and pen name of a surly and reclusive misanthrope with a penchant for anonymity. My offline alter ego is a convicted bibliophile and causes rampant pognophobia whenever he goes out in public. He wants to be James Lileks when he grows up or Dave Barry if he doesn’t.  His hobbies are mopery, curling and watching and writing about Chuck.  Obsessively.  Really, the dude needs serious help.
This entry was posted in Observations, polls, Season 3, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

84 Responses to Is It Getting Warm In Here?

  1. joe says:

    First! (or as they say in Slashdot, “Frist!”).

    My only real comment is to append to Ernie’s PS with “Europe is Genius!”

  2. weaselone says:

    I went with occasionally pushes the limits. Truthfully, you never see anything more than what you would see on the average American beach during the summer and in many cases far less. Objectively that means the show never approaches the truly racy, although the chemistry between the two leads can lead to a guilty feeling of voyeurism.

    Still, I feel they push the Yvonne exploitation a little far in some episodes, and the Honeymooners is certainly included in that subset. Certainly, Yvonne’s assets are an asset to the show and useful in attracting a certain segment of the audience, but it really isn’t necessary to have her running around in her delicates for 50% of the episode. I think the last scene of the episode proves that Sarah doesn’t need to be half naked in order to sizzle.

    • weaselone says:

      A slight addition. Devon is probably the male character that is most exploited and arguably has spent more time without a shirt than Sarah over the series. The difference is that the exposure of Awesome’s awesome pecs and abs is equal parts humor and equal parts eye candy.

      • John says:

        Most of the time with Sarah there is a bit of a *wink wink* with her eye candy also. I find the old ‘sexy Sarah’ scenes pretty playful and funny, even if we really have not had that since episode 6 of this season. So I guess I do not see it as really that different.

      • weaselone says:

        That’s a good point.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      There is certainly a bit of a double standard with Chuck and Sarah, but then to an extent I think it is supposed to be a reflection on their personalities. Chuck is constantly in jeans and t-shirts, dressed for comfort, and Sarah, when not in O-O uniform and not in mission-related gear dresses like a business woman (Except when she was with Shaw, then she dressed like Carina…). Still Yvonne could be in baggy sweats and still bring heat to a scene with Zach.

      • weaselone says:

        There’s a key exception to that Ernie. When Sarah is in Chuck’s world, she often dresses down as well, opting for pants and simple blouses for visits and one of Chuck’s t-shirts and boy shorts for sleeping.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        If the preview of Chuck and Sarah watching TV is actually in an episode as opposed to made for the promo then I think the trend you point out continues. Also note in the publicity photos for Role Models Sarah has clearly gone for comfort in sleepwear.

        Me, I kind of prefer Sarah in Chuck’s boxers or t-shirt.

      • John says:

        I guess I found it sorta weird that Chuck wears a shirt when he sleeps…I would find that uncomfortable especially where it is warm like Cali. So why not take Zac’s shirt off more?

        Meh double standards. Whatever finding gender double standards is like shooting fish in a barrel they are all over the place in virtually everything.

        Besides There are three hot guys on the show the ladies drool over and we only get two. I am not going to feel all guilty and angsty about it.

      • Paul says:

        Actually, I find women wearing men’s undergarments (particularly boxers) quite attractive, if in a different way than when they are wearing lingerie…

      • John says:

        Either way is just fine with me.

        Ok I admit it I prefer lingerie but then I am a sucker for femininity.

      • Jen says:

        I think there is a bit of a double standard, but it doesn’t bother me here. The do exploit Yvonne’s looks in the show though, but really… she’s a beautiful girl, so i can’t blame them. I’m not offended by it because it doesn’t happen all the time. The only scene kinda overdone for me was the Sarah/Carina scene in Three Words. Sorry guys, we don’t just hang out around each other in our underwear and help dress each other. At least my friends and i don’t.

        When it comes to the guys, i don’t need to see more skin. I don’t even need to see Devon w/o a shirt… but hey, i don’t mind if it’s there 🙂 The bit with the dumb bells packed in his suitcase was hilarious. In regards to Chuck, i like him in his tshirts or any other shirt he wears.

        For Sarah’s PJs, i like that she wears Chuck’s clothes. The lingerie is nice, but for every day i would be doing the same and would be stealing his clothes.

      • John says:

        Well yeah I just got the feeling the Lingerie was just because it was a romantic train trip and all that.

      • drosejr says:

        To leave somewhat of a sour taste in your mouth, she originally went to Paris w/Shaw – why did she pack that lingerie for that trip? Or should we rather assume that she (and Chuck?) went on a shopping spree after the hotel room scene and pre-train?

      • Ernie Davis says:

        The lingerie was definitely for Chuck’s benefit, and hers. After all, seven meals worth of ahem couple-ing doesn’t just happen without some encouragement. 😉

        Chuck was looking a bit worn out the last time he answered the door.

      • Jason says:

        one thing we must assume about sarah in partiular, she is loaded $ wise, she does not spend a dime on herself, probably is making 6 figures for the last ten years …. plus, she probably knows more than one hot stock tip with all of her real world adventures – LOL

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I don’t think we have to assume that. She basically said in Pink Slip she’d saved enough for them to go on the run.

        Actually that could be a bit of future relationship comedy (or drama), when Chuck finds out Sarah makes more than him (due to seniority) and has saved enough to buy their first house with cash.

      • John says:

        drosejr, Sarah’s wardrobe and make-up and hair are one of those things you just have to roll with. She lives out of a suitcase and can pack all her stuff up at moments notice yet has never worn the same thing twice as far as I can see. Further she seems to redo her hair and make up a few times a day. It makes no sense in world that a spy who throws herself into her work would be quite that obsessed with fashion.

        But it is just fun, it gives those viewers who are interested in fashion and beauty something to talk about. It certainly is no more weird than Chuck always being perfectly groomed and shaved…with the few exceptions being the times it is funny for him not to be.

      • Jen says:

        Lingerie works for everyone’s benefit! 😛

        They were in Paris… i’m pretty sure she managed to do some shopping… it’s Paris! She probably bought that awesome beige leather jacket she was wearing. I want it!

        Maybe she’s not a gazillionaire, but i would think she is well off. Those clothes are not cheap.

      • weaselone says:

        Well, Sarah had to be doing something while Chuck was sating his need for DC comics. Maybe the train station had a lingerie shop?

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Sorry guys, we don’t just hang out around each other in our underwear and help dress each other.

        Yeah right, next you’ll tell me you girls don’t have sleepover lingerie pillow fights either.

      • Jen says:

        Oh yeah, we have sleepover lingerie pillow fights all time. Those do happen…

        😛

      • Anonymous says:

        Jen! Don’t reveal all our secrets! lol.

      • Faith says:

        sorry Anonymous was me.

        I think and like Sarah’s purposely different outfits when she’s with Chuck. It’s a good but the little things that makes the difference and as she said her home is with Chuck. Or rather…Burbank with Chuck lol.

      • Jen says:

        Ah, well, there goes my big mouth. I have spoken more than i should…

        😛

  3. Jason says:

    I almost did not vote, but then did for too much (I don’t care too much one way or the other however), really, it is almost like they check a box off each show, man with shirt off and women in some state of undress, often does not really contribute to the show – the picard star trek in the beginning seemed to try to force some sex, when they moved more into straight sci fi, they did much better.

    IMO, chuck needs to move into straight warm, comedy, with a cheesy spy plot attached – but I am pretty sure that is not happening, I still like the show, but I think serious, drama, and angst (with exploitative, but meaningless undress) will continue to trump warm, lite, comedy for the show’s duration.

  4. Paul says:

    Actually CHuck is pretty tame compared to most other shows. The most you get is the females running around in skimpy lingerie or maybe a bikini, and the guys with thier shirts off. There are a lot worse offenders during prime time.

  5. Merve says:

    It all comes down to one simple thing: sex sells. Having Yvonne in lingerie or Ryan with his shirt off is just good business. That being said, Chuck has been pretty good at keeping that stuff very tongue-in-cheek. The only time it ever felt like “exploitation” to me was the dress-up scene in “Three Words.”

    (Okay, now I’m laughing uncontrollably thinking of Devon asking Chuck, “Would you like to see my snake?” Man, “Sandworm” was such a great episode.)

    • Jen says:

      Merve, i feel the sam eway about that scene in Three Words. IT must have been a guy who wrote that scene 😛

      • Jason says:

        was a while back, but I recall my wife and two of her college friends getting ready for a wedding at our house, running around pretty much like that, much as I enjoyed the show (it wasn’t anything I hadn’t seen) – I finally hi-tailed it out of there and hit golf balls for about an hour, that is how the ep 2 scene felt – a good show – but very ‘voyerish’, the manoosh scene almost looked like that is how it felt for casey and chuck even, didn’t it? but the 3.14 lingerie on the train, that really worked for me, it was real, it was for chuck to feel good about sarah, and for sarah to feel great about herself, and it was, well, hot

    • John says:

      Yeah the dress up scene in the pilot was funny because you see Yvonne putting on weapons and the bullet proof vest and the poisoned hair pins and contrasting that to Chuck hamming it up in front of the mirror.

      The dress up scene in Three Words was just a bit over the top and silly sexy…nothing wrong with that naturally…but really you don’t need to have Carina or Sarah do stuff like that to be sexy. They just need to be present.

    • Merve says:

      The implicit message in all of this is that showing skin will help the show get renewed. That’s just the way it is, folks.

      • atcdave says:

        Does anyone seriously make viewing decisions based on that? OK, maybe I don’t want to know.

      • Merve says:

        Not really, but it can be a draw. To keep viewers interested, the show actually has to be good. Luckily, Chuck is good.

        Basically:
        – Show skin in promos.
        – Deliver on promise of skin in show.
        – Keep viewers interested with a great show.
        Chuck gets renewed.

        To be clear, I’m not implying that Chuck’s renewal will hinge on how racy the show is, but I’d be kidding myself if I didn’t think that it could help.

      • Merve says:

        Sorry to double-comment, but on the flipside, if they push it too far, they risk losing the “family” viewers. They’ve got to walk a thin line, and I think that so far they’ve succeeded, so they should just continue what they’re doing with regards to raciness.

      • atcdave says:

        Your last comment is what I’m concerned about. I do agree they mostly do a good job; but it is a fine line. I know I don’t mind what they show (!), but between my wife and friends with kids I do hear concerns on occasion. And I no longer have young single male friends who might consider it a draw; so I guess to my mind the concerns outweigh the appeal.

      • Ethan says:

        It’s all about the demo and cliche as it may sound the average casual viewer that’s within the demo is attracted to … attractive people showing some skin.

        But either way, I really don’t think Chuck is too racy a show. But granted I m in my late 20s and have no kids so … I ‘d probably think that 🙂

      • Merve says:

        Dave, that’s a good point. I guess that the important question isn’t “Is Chuck too racy for 8 PM?” but rather, “Is Chuck too racy for its audience?”

  6. amyabn says:

    I voted for occasionally pushing the limits. I think it’s funny that Chuck wears the Dennis the Menace’s dad’s PJs. I wouldn’t mind him shirtless on occasion 😉 I noticed his biceps are getting bigger too! I have to stop drooling on my keyboard!

    The Sarah and Carina scene was a bit much, but I love it when you see them stocking up on weapons.

    I don’t mind Devon shirtless, but the spandex should be banned-for life!

    • John says:

      As I said most guys living in Cali probably wouldn’t wear shirts while sleeping it is too hot. They should remove his shirt but only for, you know, realism. 😉

      • ChuckNewbie8 says:

        People here wear uggs when it’s 60 degrees. I will never understand that.

        Actually if you want to be really technical their apt has a fireplace in every room. Those are not gettin used. It’s 70 degrees and I’m wearing flip plops, a (Jem and the holograms print specifically) t-shirt and jeans. 🙂

      • Jen says:

        Here in Miami people bust out the boots and scarves as soon as we hit the 60s. It’s never really cold here so any chance to wear winter wear is good 🙂

        Also very funny is that you see some wearinng sandals and light jackets in the witner cause we don’t have closed winter clothes. We dress like that and then complain it’s cold. WE are funny… :O

    • Jen says:

      Amy… yes, i noticed the biceps 😉 I don’t need to be thinking any more about them. I like this guy too much, so i don’t need to start seeing him on TV w less clothes :O

      It’s hot in Cali, but i’m sure the appartment has central AC. I live in Miami where it’s hot and humid 99.9% of the year and we still wear PJs.

      I love it when girls kick ass, so seeing them “hide” weapons is cool.

      • John says:

        Really? I live in Texas and run the AC all night but I also have the fan on and wear only boxers. When I see Chuck in his sweat pants and T-shirt I am always like ‘really man?’ but maybe it is not as uncomfortable and unrealistic as I think.

      • Jen says:

        I even wear socks to sleep! I like to put the AC on low to keep it chilly.

    • Rick Holy says:

      Re: the Spandex. AGREED. No dude should be wearing Spandex (shorts)!! Spandex has become the new “speedo” when it comes to guys. TBTG most guys these days wouldn’t wear a speedo if you held a gun to their heads. Now, if we could only make a little more progress like that on the Spandex front!!! 🙂

  7. JLR says:

    I voted occasionally pushes the limits… Then again, I find myself more conservative in that regard since I’m no longer in my twenties (ugh)..

    • atcdave says:

      I voted the same JLR. Its generally not a big problem; just a couple scenes, like the already discussed dressing scene in Three Words, go too far. It seems a couple times a season my wife will mention something being inappropriate, so I take that as a barometer; if she’s uncomfortable, a lot of other viewers probably are too, and we really don’t need that.

  8. Rick Holy says:

    I went with “occasionally pushes the limits.” From what I can tell on this blog, the age range is probably mid 20’s to 50 plus. So for “folks our age,” everything in CHUCK has really been pretty tame – even the scene with Sarah and Carina dressing each other.

    If I have a concern, it’s this. And believe me, I’m not a prude. However, kids watch this show – young kids – 5th grade – even younger (I know from some of the kids at my parish school who tell me they watch it – they know what Fr. Rick’s favorite program is). Remember cute little Bailey who dressed up on Halloween as Sarah last year? What was she – 9, 10?? So there are some young kids watching (probably with their parents). Kids get exposed to ALOT these days – and at ages far too young for them to process it. Cripes, we have 12 year olds “sexting” each other on their cell phones!

    So I think they could tame it down a little bit. Still keep the romance, still keep the “heat” between Chuck and Sarah, still show Yvonne looking like the beauty that she is, but really, are most watching for Shots of Yvonne in bra and panties? I doubt it. And like some have alluded to previously, she could make a Hefty garbage bag look sexy (Kind of like Chuck’s comment to her on the train, “You make even the names of terrorist organizations sound sexy!”).

    So, don’t have to do away with “the skin shots” entirely, but a little bit of tone down probably wouldn’t hurt – keeping the kids who ARE watching in mind.

    • atcdave says:

      Very well put Rick, I agree entirely.

    • lucian says:

      As the father of an 11 year old, who really likes the show, my preference is they keep it “pg”; normally they do.

      • joe says:

        Parenthood definitely changes attitudes.

        Here’s a what-if. What if Chuck was a 9:00 show? I’m not sure fewer kids would actually watch, but the exact same wardrobe seems wouldn’t raise any eyebrows. Right?

    • Mike says:

      I think they handle it extremely well compared to most shows. I have a 10 year old daughter who lives for Chuck every week. It’s one of the few shows we all enjoy in our house. That said, we screne the show before she gets to watch an episode. That way, if there is something a little too much for her, we can skip over it. For the most part, we skips scenes for violence (Emmett’s death anyone?) more often that we do for the sexy aspects.

      Take vs the Honeymooners. Sure, Yvonne spent a large amount of time in her underwear, but her outfits had decent coverage. For the ultimate romance episode, they didn’t have many direct references to Chuck and Sarah having sex (other than Casey’s intercourse comment to Morgan in the Buy More). They never had a scene with C/S coming up from under the covers with nothing on or all sweaty. They never had any of the infamous TV “walk out of the shower and suggestively drop the towel” scenes. It was all well played and implied, but not shown or talked about. There really wasn’t much we had to skip over because it was too sexy for the kid. The scene in Colonel and a few in the Jill arc we skipped, but usually the writers and directors of Chuck are pretty aware of their 8pm time slot. While I appreciate the Yvonne scenes and the wife enjoys all her Devon scenes, I don’t hink they push the limits too much.

      Compare Chuck to some of the other shows on TV and it looks good. I can’t turn on HIMYM, 2.5 men, or Cougar Town (to name just a few) in front of the kid because all they talk about and show is way too much for her age.

      • Mike says:

        I forgot to add that even with all the sexiness in vs the Honeymooners, the only issue our daughter had in the entire episode was why Sarah would go to get Ice Cream in her underwear and robe instead of throwing something else on. To be honest, I was kind of wondering the same thing myself. The trains in Europe must have liberal dress codes for their dining cars.

      • JC says:

        Chuck said it best “Europe is genius” and not just pastries for breakfast.

      • Rick Holy says:

        Not to get “priestly” here, but GOD BLESS you good parents for being involved in your kids’ lives so closely to screen/monitor/edit what they watch on TV. I think – from folks I’ve talked to – some people have NO IDEA what they’re kids are tuning in to. (After all, now days kids all have their own TVs in their own rooms, don’t they??).

        While I did say that they could tone it down a little, I also do agree that they’ve overall been very good – at the end of the day, pretty tasteful and not “over the top” like so many other shows.

      • atcdave says:

        I do agree with your comments Mike; funny thing about the ice cream scene, I made a comment to my wife (who gets pretty intense ice cream cravings), “you don’t need to go out in public like that for ice cream!”

      • odysszeuss says:

        @ ernie: our commercials have NOT topless women selling breakfast cereal on Saturday morning. 😉 (at least not in germany) we should aks crumby about the french tv…
        …but you are rigth. not in commercials but in the normal puplic tv you often have subtle introduced topless or halfnaked people. the ever find a reason to show them.

        @ Mike: …go to get Ice Cream in her underwear… => that really was curious/strange, even for an european. And open the door half naked getting the train- roomservice?!? I have no Problem with my wife topless at the beach in marbella/spain on vacancies, when everybody is “dressed” the same way. But nearly nothing in a train. Thats not appropriate. At Chuck this “outfit” later is part of her drunken wife lost in the wrong bathroom cover, ok… But still…

        @ Rick Holy: …now days kids all have their own TVs in their own rooms, don’t they?? => AND Computer & Internet (with sex ads, sex banners, google hits with sex pages but you are serching for (children)toys) …it’s 2010… sex sells, an it’s everywhere (but look at my quote @ Mike)

        @ Mike: …have a 10 year old daughter who lives for Chuck every week… => It’s all about age. You never can protect her for ever. But with your methode she’ll be old enough for all these disturbing impressions (age of puberty, sex, girl becoming a woman, boy’s becoming am man). Let your kids beeing Children as long as you can. That’s a good thing. There is nothing wrong with it.

        @ Mike:…Yvonne spent a large amount of time in her underwear, but her outfits had decent coverage… => I’ll go with that absolutly. The Emmet Millbarge Szene was really coldblooded. That’s quite more disturbing then any underwear szene in chuck…

        @ JC: “Europe is genius” and not just pastries for breakfast. => btw. all these food refernces are really a french thing, nothing paticular european. the topless at the beach thing probably is an european thing. but the food is all french 😉

      • Crumby says:

        Just so there is no confusion between Sarah’s dressing code and French customs, this is not a French specific way of getting ice cream. 😉

      • Paul says:

        It should be… 😉

      • BDaddyDL says:

        i’m sorry I must disagree, just like for the guys, to wear certain clothing you should have a license to wear it. For example, If I tried to get away with what Devon wears I would be arrested for disturbing the peace!

      • weaselone says:

        Good point. I risk arrest just by wearing loose fitting jogging shorts and jogging pants. Baring skin should be left to the professionals.

      • Jason says:

        the time of night sarah went for that ice cream, the dining car was probably made up of guys drinking to excess, which to most women scantily clothed would spell a big problem, of course, if you are sarah walker, you just ‘fitzwald’ the first smart a$$ in the nose and order your ice cream and be on your merry way – by the way – that is the reason chuck had to become a spy – he proved 2 times in 3.14, that he can ‘fitzwald’ someone (casey and the interpol agent) just as well as sarah, evidentily without flashing

      • weaselone says:

        He also did it in angel of death.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        To be fair the robe is less revealing than some of her clothes for dates with Shaw were.

  9. dan says:

    Im sorry but i will always appreciate Yvonne in underwear. Whoever designs those scene’s is a good man.

    • joe says:

      Hey, Dan. Nobody’s gonna argue with that. I can even quote some of the straight women here who think Yvonne S. is hot.

      What’s really cool (and maybe a bit unprecedented) is that so many of the fans (male and female) are really protective of the cast and Yvonne in particular. I suspect that this group would object to exploitation quicker than anything, no matter what form it takes.

      • JC says:

        Remember the reaction from the interview she did recently on Attack of the Show? People were so angry at the guy he actually apologized on Twitter.

      • Faith says:

        did he really? Wow. Power of the people!

      • BDaddyDL says:

        wow I did not know either, good I saw it. I am not going to call him a bad name, but he deserved it, Yvonne is somebody’s daughter. Thank goodness for me she is not old enough to be daughter.

      • Crumby says:

        I do think we all love Yvonne (male or female). They played with that, but it’s never vulgar or slutty or whatever. She’s just a gorgeous woman.

        And we also all recognised how good of an actress she is. She’s not just here for her look.

        So as a woman I have no problem with the way they play with that. I agree the scene that may have been over the top was the Carina/Sarah scene in 3 Words. Other than that it is often played for the story or comedy.

        I also agree that it is part of the character to see more skin from Sarah than from Chuck, but they definitely could take Chuck’s shirt off more often, to equalize a little. Aren’t they supposed to be more equal now that Chuck’s a spy? And we’ve seen that he does look good in a towel, so…
        So showing a little more skin for Zach and a little less for Yvonne?

      • Jen says:

        Crumby,
        I like how u think. I’m all for equality. I don’t need any more help in liking Zac any more, but i will NOT complain if he shows more skin 😉 All in the name of being fair!

        It seems we all feel the same way about that scene in 3 words. That is the only scene in all 3 seasons that made me roll my eyes.

        In regards to Yvonne, i respect her, so it bothered me how that guy treated her. I’m so glad he apologized.

      • Crumby says:

        And Zach has been seriously working out or something, he is clearly more in shape this season. Would be a shame not to show it :p .

      • Jen says:

        If he does, i guess i won’t have a chance to get rid of this silly crush!
        I’m sure seeing more of Zac is not part of the 12-step program i should be on.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Well, while I’m not going to talk about my crush on Zach or how much I want to see his biceps I will say one thing, he’s obviously worked out a lot and his fighting scenes are getting a LOT better. He’s not quite up to Yvonne’s level yet, but those kicks (and I’m pretty sure the first one in the cafe was really him) are looking a lot more realistic than he did in The Ring.

  10. mclovin says:

    sorry. lol. was just getting used to the whole posting thing. finally got it right. thank you for the welcome!

    • atcdave says:

      Hey McLovin, welcome to our blog. I think you’re the first I’ve heard here from South Africa, we’re pretty international anymore. Posting does take some getting used to, and the blog isn’t really designed as a forum, which only makes it harder. But I would say that’s one of the more amusing mess-ups I’ve seen! We look forward to hearing more from you, and may require your local knowledge depending on where in Africa Ellie and Devon are heading….

  11. Mclovin says:

    No worries atcdave. Hopefully they’ll watch a couple of soccer world cup games here, that would be a nice change of pace!

  12. Lola says:

    Hey everyone!

    Welcome Mclovin. I’m quite new my self, and also from Argentina 🙂 – So guys, sorry 4 my english!-

    I voted on “about right for 8pm”, but again, im on my 30s’ no kids and due to time diff, i watch the show at 10pm…
    In Argentina public TV runs news at 8pm and the actual shows starts at 9pm.
    But i have to say that as someone who grow up devouring news , since I was 6 years old and rushed to the door at 7am before my younger bro. and parents could woke up and take the paper (yes, i am a nerd!) the violence on TV these days is pretty up, and sometimes exceeds reallity. But Chuck is a show that usually rapps it up in comedy, and that is ok with me. I guess the situation is on the edge when the violene is inserted in drama, as it was with Emmet.

    • joe says:

      Hi, Lola, and Mclovin. I can’t tell you how much I enjoy seeing first-time posters make an appearance. And I’m really happy that they’re coming from all over the world. Surprised, too! But that’s the way things are in the 21st century. Minor miracles all around us.

      Emmett’s demise was just about the most shocking event all season, but really, Shaw’s was the most graphic. For my money, Chuck slamming a whiskey at the end of Nacho Sampler was the darkest (because he was a changed character), and Sarah revealing her name and nearly dying in Fake Name was the most disturbing.

      I’d wager that I was more disturbed than the kids when Sarah revealed her name to Shaw!

  13. Mclovin says:

    Hey lola. Thanks for the welcome. Are you coming down for the soccer word cup this year?

Leave a Reply

