CBS Moves The Big Bang Theory

Shuffling

Televisionary reports that CBS has decided to move its blockbuster hit The Big Bang Theory from it’s Monday 9:30 time slot to Thursday.

The big news is that CBS is moving Monday night juggernaut The Big Bang Theory to Thursdays at 8 pm, where it will go head to head with NBC’s Community as the Eye looks to launch a new comedy toehold on Thursdays. Survivor meanwhile moves to Wednesdays and Fridays will now serve as the home for Medium, CSI: NY, and new drama Blue Bloods.

TBBT has not been a direct competitor of Chuck for ratings.  The CBS show that airs during Chuck, How I Met Your Mother, is currently scheduled to air in the same time slot next season.

I’m going to speculate (and this is pure speculation), that some shuffling and counter programming is going to occur, and CBS’s move is only the first in a series of schedule changes for next season involving all the majors.

Okay, networks! Prove me wrong!

– joe

About joe

In my life I've been a professor, martial artist, rock 'n roller, rocket scientist, lover, poet and brain surgeon. I'm lying about the brain surgery.
This entry was posted in Administrative, Rumors, Wild Speculation. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to CBS Moves The Big Bang Theory

  1. cas says:

    Looks like Undercover will have some competition after all. CBS will also move Survivor to Wednesday at 8.

  2. Jen says:

    Can we all sign a petition to have FOX reschedule House?

    • joe says:

      I hear that Olivia Wilde is going to “take a break” from House. She plays “13”, Dr. Reme Hadley.

      Too many cast changes. When Kal Penn (Kutner) left to be in the Obama administration, it showed that they had made a mistake by introducing the newer characters at all. Amber’s death, Sela Ward (as House’s ex, Stacy Warner), Cameron leaving… It’s too much for all but the real House addicts.

      • Jen says:

        I don’t really follow house. I like the show, but I’m content w catching reruns. But man! It gets all the monday night viewers that should be watching Chuck!

  3. Merve says:

    How I Met Your Mother has been declining in both quality and viewership. (The same goes for House, apparently, but I don’t watch that show, so I can’t comment.) Dancing with the Stars will always be a ratings juggernaut.

    In the somewhat unlikely event that House and How I Met Your Mother continue to decline while The Event and Chase flop, Chuck will look pretty good by comparison and will be in good shape.

    If anything else happens, be prepared to buy a lot of sub sandwiches.

    • Patty says:

      Why is Dancing so popular. I tried to watch it occasionally before I got into Chuck. They always have people with a professional background amoung the “contestants” (i.e. Donny and Marie, Kristi Yamiguchi etc.)! Guess who does best for most of the series!!! BLEH!!

  4. Ernie Davis says:

    The shame is that I just caught one episode of Community and thought it was hilarious and might be something I’d start to watch, in addition to Big Bang Theory and Chuck. The thing is I DVR everything, except Chuck. Hmmm. May need to upgrade to the DVR that can do two channels at once. Or catch Community on OnDemand. I was semi-boycotting CBS for not having any way to watch TBBT other than live or wait for the DVD, but when I switched to Fios and got a new DVR I broke down and started recording and watching TBBT again.

    • Merve says:

      I’d definitely choose Community over The Big Bang Theory. Aside from its awful pilot episode, Community has been pure gold.

  5. Emily says:

    I LOVE Community! Its hilarious!!! It really picked me up during Chuck’s ‘dark period’. I never got into TBBT, but i guess I only ever watched the pilot and a few random episodes, so i haven’t really given it a chance.

Leave a Reply

