Ernie Versus the Tooth and the Coming Summer Haitus

A few weeks back I had a funny story I never got around to telling so I thought I’d share.  Sunday night, the 10th I was awakened to a throbbing sensation that while not common, is familiar; I feel a root canal coming on! Yes indeed, several (and by several I mean eight) Ibuprofen later (it was like throwing handfuls of sand into the Grand Canyon wondering why it wasn’t full yet) I was ready to have Chuck knock the darn thing out.  You see this was the Sunday before Chuck vs The Tooth.  On my drive back from the ancestral home  Monday morning I decided to try a few extra strength Tylenol. First I am in no way associated with that product, but wow. Pain free the rest of the day.  The bad, I was so pain-free my dentist couldn’t identify the tooth by testing, and even though I was darn sure I pointed the right one out, she’s shooed me off to the endodontist Tuesday morning with strict instructions NOT to take painkillers before the appointment.  So Tuesday morning I got a root canal, and just for irony sake, I’d pointed out the wrong tooth. Life and Chuck mirroring each other again.  But that’s not why I’m writing or what this post is about.  Present evidence to the contrary.

We’ve got an epic game changing season finale tomorrow night, and things may get a bit dull after that.  So we here at ChuckThisBlog will probably be taking some breaks and scaling things back a bit, but we don’t want to go totally off the air.  This is just too much fun.  We’ve been kicking around a few ideas for things to do in the interminable four months till the next new episode of Chuck.  Let’s discuss and hopefully get some feedback after the jump.

So here we are, facing a few months without Chuck.  Better than the alternative!  In this interregnum between season 3 and 4 we have a chance to do a few things.  Catch up on past episodes, re-watch with some new context, organize to make sure there is a back 9, and just have some fun in a more or less angst free environment discussing Chuck.  So here’s my sort of request and/or assignment.  Start thinking about what you’d like to fill the gap with, and where you, our most valued resource, would like to see this blog go.  Since this is a hobby for all of us keep in mind somethings just aren’t going to happen.  A podcast, well there are several, and it seems our interest is limited.  A page that is more forum oriented?  There has been some thought of that as an add-on.  Overall we think our particular niche in the Chuckverse is the essays and the discussion and the atmosphere we manage to maintain, and we want to stick with our strengths rather than duplicate other sites.  But all suggestions are valuable, they do keep us thinking.  So, feel free to post a few here, or think about it for a few days.  After the excitement and buzz of the finale dies down we’ll try to come back with some polls and suggestions for your consideration.  And as always, thanks for stopping by.  In the mean time I thought we could get a quick snapshot of how we liked the season before the epic and awesome finale changes everything.

Pick your top three.

About Ernie Davis

I was born in 1998, the illegitimate brain child and pen name of a surly and reclusive misanthrope with a penchant for anonymity. My offline alter ego is a convicted bibliophile and causes rampant pognophobia whenever he goes out in public. He wants to be James Lileks when he grows up or Dave Barry if he doesn’t.  His hobbies are mopery, curling and watching and writing about Chuck.  Obsessively.  Really, the dude needs serious help.
This entry was posted in Administrative, Observations, polls, Season 3. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Ernie Versus the Tooth and the Coming Summer Haitus

  1. Darts says:

    My suggestion?
    Throughout the summer, continue to post essays from other fans. The first post I read on this site was Liz James’ guest post entitled “Why Chuck and Sarah Matter.” I thought it was amazing and all of that jazz, and I’m so glad I read it. I’m definitely hoping to read another post like that one.
    ———-
    ———-
    In terms of the vote, it was tough picking only three episodes. I didn’t vote for “Honeymooners” because it was too kissy-kissy and figured a lot of kissy-kissy people would be voting for that. I enjoyed it for sure, but that one episode is not one that made the season for me. There is a lot to this season that just simply isn’t appreciated.

    For one, the darker tone that was set for this season started with “Pink Slip.” Quite frankly, the episode touched me. I thought it was the coolest thing when the episode opened up with Chuck kicking some ass over a case…and then to find it was a training simulation. When Imogen Heap was playing and Sarah threw her ringing iPhone into the pool, it was sad and I felt all of the emotion packed into that moment. And the train station scene where Chuck tells Sarah that he can’t run away with her…oh, man. “Pink Slip” opened the season, and I thought it was great. Perfect? Nah. Brilliant? Definitely.

    I also voted for “The Nacho Sampler” and “The Other Guy.”

    “The Nacho Sampler” was poorly received from what I read after it was aired. I, on the other hand, liked it. A lot. (And I can’t be the only one…because someone else gave it a vote besides me.)

    “The Other Guy” was a great would’ve-been finale. Chuck shooting Shaw felt so rewarding…after watching the piece of cardboard trying to claim Sarah as his own. Of course, the dream sequence in “The Tooth” is another story. DIE, SHAW, DIE! GET IN THE %$^&@*( FOUNTAIN!!!

  2. Josh says:

    Other Guy
    Op Awesome
    Beard

    But to be fair Beard is a slightly distant third for me. While there’s a bunch of episodes that I was ok with this season there just weren’t as many that stood out for me, except Other Guy and Op Awesome. Those two I was really entertained with, the rest I ‘d rewatch some, sure, but doubt they ‘ll still be in my DVR in a month or so.

  3. Freddy J says:

    I’d say organize local watch parties. There’s nothing greater than discussing chuck and having some watch parties to do it in would ROCK!

  4. Faith says:

    How to pass the time…

    I don’t think it would be feasible to do a daily existence like we do now over the summer lol. But a weekly could be doable.

    A Chuck-me-mondays sort of existence. With introspections and deep analyses and the occasional trivia would work.

    In the off season on the laker blogs I go to, we pretty much go for weeks without a new thread but inevitably people will post something or say something just to keep in touch. I get the feeling these months will go a lot faster than we think anyway.

    • atcdave says:

      I agree Faith, I think things will go fairly quickly. And may only be like a 14 week break, so there isn’t even enough time to rewatch the whole series on a week to week basis. Maybe we should rewatch S1 and discuss if each episode still has any relevence at all. (I think most would)

      • BeCoolBoy says:

        Oddly, Dave, Season 1 is like a walk in the park now. Great, great fun. It’s actually season 2 that is harder to watch because they denied the ending of Colonel. So Season 2 seems almost pointless. But Season 1 just gets better and better. There are a couple of less than great episodes, but nothing I wouldn’t rewatch with pleasure…

      • atcdave says:

        I agree BCB. Colonel seems bitter sad at this point. But S1 has been called back to many times since Other Guy, and has less emotional intensity between Chuck and Sarah, which makes it easier to rewatch now.

        Here’s a stray thought, if we learn Monday night that Shaw never had any interest in Sarah, and he was purely using her to embitter Chuck, would it make S3 easier to take? My first thought was no, since I was mainly annoyed with Sarah. But this idea seems to keep coming up, and perhaps by making her more of a victim from the beginning, it would help some. (I mean with my overall dissatisfaction with the characters; much of the season remains irredeemable).

      • joe says:

        I agree too, BCB. Everyone knows by now that I just love season 2. But it DOES seem harder to watch! I just want to get to S3 and especially, all the post-American Hero episodes.

        I can’t believe they got to me so much.

      • Faith says:

        Oddly enough I felt like that before season 3.2. But now I have a different perspective and I can believe (or force myself to believe) that it’s a believable progression. That said I still have some left-over internal grumblings about Chuck’s constant “I want a normal life” speeches. But it’s not as bad as it was earlier in the year lol.

        In any case, I do agree that S1 gets all the more watchable.

        Well we can do favorites, sequential viewing and then close it off (last weeks to premiere) with season 3. That way we get the full Chuck experience in the allotted time.

        You and me both Joe. It’s not quite as brilliant as S2’s last 6 in my opinion but it’s really, really good. Which is kind of odd for me to say because this season has had some of my most favorite episodes…or at least one 😉

      • BeCoolBoy says:

        Dave/Joe/Faith-
        I’ve just ignored s3 E1-11. To me they make no sense.

        As to Shaw in the last two hours coming: I don’t think they are going there. I think we’ve heard enough times from TPTB that they were positing Shaw as an “alternate reality” perfect mate for Sarah that we have to accept that it was there intention. We didn’t see it on the screen and didn’t believe it, but it’s apparently what they were going for.

        I don’t begrudge them Shaw anymore. But I am still angry at their making believe the end of Colonel (and WHAT the end of Colonel DEFINITIVELY told us) didn’t exist. I understand repetitive music cues and hand gestures.

      • atcdave says:

        BCB I also mostly ignore the front episodes of S3. I still like 3.03, 3.04, 3.09 and 3.10; but I agree they don’t make sense with what we knew of these characters through S2. One of my concerns with the finale is I hope we don’t learn to much more about the Sham. But I expect we will. Maybe it won’t be so dreadful this time. I do remember the various quotes about Sarah supposedly having a “meaningful choice” this season. But the finale was filmed after TPTB started to realize how utterly POed many of the fans were by this nonsense. Maybe (just maybe) they will do something to soften the blow. As I said, I don’t really expect it. Its just another of those vain hopes I expect to have shattered on a Monday night. Maybe all I can really hope for is that they won’t make things worse again like they did in Living Dead.

      • Crumby says:

        I didn’t like how they handle Shaw (who did anyway?) but I like that they showed him as conflicted in some way in Other Guy. Shaw being a supposed great spy who was betrayed by the CIA or thinks he was, worked for me. I actually have some concern about Shaw being showed as a complete psycho. It could damaged the conflicted part that I liked.

        I don’t hope to discover that Shaw was bad all along. It wouldn’t make sense to me anymore. I know that it didn’t transpire that way on screen but Shaw being an “alternative” to Sarah is what they were going for and so I don’t want them to erased that, it’s too late now.

        I don’t want to see Sarah as a victim. Being lost enough to think Shaw could be a real alternative is enough for me. If they actually give us in the finale some reason why Sarah was with him, I think I’d actually like that. We know they’re done anyway, and that whatever they had, Sarah chose Chuck before she learned about her red test. Understand why she would go for him wouldn’t be a bad thing IMO.

        Whatever they do I just hope it makes sense. I hope they don’t jump the shark and damage what they’ve done in the previous episode. What they did and how they did it wasn’t perfect but contradict it wouldn’t be a good way to go for me. I’d rather them giving us elements to understand what we didn’t before.

  5. sd says:

    There has been a lot of discussion from time to time about inconsistencies in the show…most notably in S3. Now, to be fair–some of what has been considered an inconsistency was assumption—but some was just flat out—uh? What comes to mind for me was Awesome chiding Ellie for being able to do heart surgery but unable to figure out her computer and now she’s in neurosurgery?

    It would be interesting to do our own Tron Poster on what we believed to be true in seasons past that didn’t turn out to be the case in this season.

    Thoughts?

    • joe says:

      Heh. Cute! Our own map.

      I just re-watched Living Dead and happen to catch another minor slip up. Know what? I can’t even remember what it was, now. It just doesn’t seem that important to me.

      I’ll never be a good critic if critiquing means just finding the flaws. By the time the music plays, I just enjoy it too much for that.

      • sd says:

        I agree, Joe…at the end of the hour…or in tomorrow’s case…two hours…Chuck is flat-out entertaining.

        I guess my interest is that TPTB have long talked about the chuck mythology…and usually mythology is built to not be contradictary.

  6. kg says:

    I have to admit I don’t loathe the season overall as I once did.

    Sticking to it and watching the season play out and reading so much well written stuff on this blog helped make the angst and misunderstandings much more tolerable.

    Yeah, in retrospect Pink Slip and a few other episodes aren’t so bad now. They are what they are. Part of the journey I guess. Makes you appreciate more the episodes and scenes you do like.

    I don’t believe there’s any doubt that Other Guy should be everyone’s number one. Then it’s completely up in the air. It comes down to individual choice and tastes.

    After careful deliberation I finally chose Beard and Honeymooners. I guess I’m one (raising my hand here) of the kissy-kissy types that Darts alluded to. I liked that Chuck and Sarah momentarily ran for each other and finally has a semblance of a vacation.

    I liked that they both were willing to interject themselves into what they believed was a mission. I liked that they went back to help their friends. And I liked that they vowed to be together and partners in the spy world. It was all neat.

    Of course in Beard, I liked that Chuck came out of his funk and was able to flash after coming clean to Morgan. And I appreciated that the often conflicted and bamboozled Sarah of season three finally stood up to Shaw and begged him to give Chuck more time in Castle. Even if it was only five minutes.

    • kg says:

      Before I forget, I still can’t watch Mask again. I’ll view just about all the other ones, but I have no use for Mask.

      There are elements of Fake Name I don’t like and parts of other episodes I don’t care for, but there’s really nothing in the Mask that does anything for me.

    • Crumby says:

      And Sarah also backed up Chuck about Morgan in Beard.

      • kg says:

        She’s been sensational.

        Since end of American Hero, she’s been all the things we and Chuck fell in love with and then some.

        The “then some” basically consists of admitting she fell for Chuck after fixing her phone and before he diffused bombs with computer viruses, finally telling Chuck those three little words and getting past her “for now” syndrome and moving out of the hotel and into Chuck’s apartment.

  7. kg says:

    Dave

    I like Shaw as a villian. Routh plays the evil, revenge-driven psycho quite naturally. This is what he should have been all along. He’s terrible as an LI. That’s been obvious.

    To answer your question, yes it would. Several weeks ago I too was annoyed with Sarah. But we’ve agreed that both she and Chuck made mistakes, didn’t talk enough or forces conspired to interrupt them.

    And besides, Chuck has accepted her for who she is. He loves her anyway the good with the bad. And you have to admit that since Sarah cut Morgan loose (and possibly since Chuck told her he loved her four times) she has been utterly sensational.

    Not only has she returned Chuck’s love, she temporarily ran with him, agreed to move in with him, finally used the word “love” instead of just “fell for”, she went back for him when it appeared as if Chuck really was crazy, and she’s been patient with him despite him withholding information about side missions and the intersect draining his brain.

    • atcdave says:

      Yeah KG, that’s how I’m starting to think. Sarah has been better than ever since the end of American Hero. Dang I wish they hadn’t wasted most of the season, but its in a good place now. really excited for Monday night! I didn’t feel that way for much of the season.

  8. JC says:

    Tic Tac and Honeymooners are my absolutely favorite episodes this season. The only episodes that fell flat for me were Mask and American Hero. The rest of the episodes I liked but had some major issues with.

    I’m almost positive I’ll be at SDCC this summer so I’ll try and get some pictures with the cast if I can. Hopefully my friend will be there she’s a PR rep for Fox Studios and might be able to score me backstage access. If I know for sure it’ll happen, I could have people send me questions they’d like asked to the cast & crew.

  9. Crumby says:

    I chose Tic Tac, Other Guy and Honeymooners.

    I loved that we had one episode like Honeymooners. It felt like some kind of reward. And I found it really funny, and pretty every relationship was well played. And well Jeffster actually sang well! How weird was that?! Anyway, I think I loved it for its uniqueness, because we won’t have much episode like that and that’s fine.

    Tic Tax was really good. We had Team B back, a casey centric episode with actual conversations between CS, great great great action scenes, the “start comedy and then super-tensed” scene when Casey is made, that scene was awesome, and probably a lot of scenes that I forgot.

    Finally, Other Guy was great. I still think that we overrated it because the rest of the season has been so hard. In this episode we got Chuck killing the villain we hated so much and finally getting the girl. But he didn’t have Ellie and Devon. But still it was awesome. And I really appreciated the Tank!

    I really liked Beard and Tooth too. But hey, you got to choose!

  10. OldDarth says:

    The Living Dead – PapaB for the win.
    Three Words
    The Other Guy

  11. hagit_d says:

    hey chucksters!
    i’ve been working on a little something for the Chuck fandome, to help us all pass the 4 months hiatus.. if you have the time please visit: http://chucksession.blogspot.com/
    hope you’ll like it..

    • joe says:

      That was fun, Hagit! You got me on a couple of the questions!

      Many thanks for the write up. And your absolutely right about the fandom – Not a day goes by that I don’t want to thank everyone for being so great. I’m getting repetitive and trite, but Chuck fans are a special breed.

      Don’t let it go to OUR heads, now! 😉

  12. Ernie Davis says:

    One possible idea. Alan Sepinwall is doing a summer re-watch of Firefly and will be posting a series of spoilery and spoiler-free reviews. While most of the discussion rightly should take place on his blog we could do some parallel re-watching and posting here amongst our little group. We could either put it on a separate page or I could make my page public and host it there if there is interest.

    • jason says:

      ernie – I’d be game to participate, do one sometime for wonderfalls – it isn’t that many eps and is a hoot – maybe you and I would be the only ones watching – my summer project is ‘fringe’ – I like it quite alot – the major wt/wt seems much less volatile than chuck – i enjoy comparing other wt/wt’s to chuck – in many ways – I can see why wt/wt’s are apart in general – yet it is very easy to also see why CS had to get together – it was written different than most wt/wt (if not acted different or maybe just something subliminal between zack and yvonne, either way, as sarah put it, chuck and sarah are ‘different’)

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Wonderfalls might be a good idea too. I’ll see if it’s available online somehow.

      • JC says:

        Might I suggest the OC. I’d be curious to see people’s opinions who haven’t seen it and how it compares to Chuck.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        People are just determined to get me to watch OC. In all seriousness I’d have no objection, other than it’s a genre I’m not very interested in. From a practical POV I looked it up on IMDB and it is at least 90 episodes, which makes a summer re-watch a bit tough. I was looking for something closer to a dozen episodes that could be done one a week in June, July, and August.

      • JC says:

        Honestly I’m not a fan of the genre but the show was very good. I’d at least give the first season a shot, that was its best.

        But if you’re looking for shows with less episodes, Dollhouse or Journeyman are my choices.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Well enough people have told me that I may have to catch an episode or two. Some day.

        I thought of trying to do Dollhouse S2. What is Journeyman?

      • JC says:

        Journeyman is Quantum Leap meets the Time Travelers Wife. All 13 episodes are on Hulu, the cast is great especially Kevin McKidd.

      • Chuck604 says:

        The OC was a good show for the first two seasons and from the third season onward the show totally deteriorated. I actually watched Dollhouse from beginning to end. Sarah Connor Chronicles was supposed to be not bad, but that’s what I heard from a bunch of people. Isn’t Journeyman about a guy who time travelled back in time and got stuck in the past, and he’s trying to find a way back to the present in order to be with his wife?

    • herder says:

      Freaks and Geeks is always fun, Sepinwall did them about two years ago. It does have the advantage of being more limited, I think 13 or 17 episodes.

    • lucian says:

      Might be fun to do a couple of episodes from differenet series that the Chuck cast has done.

  13. Ernie Davis says:

    Here are my thoughts so far. I’ve re-watched Firefly recently, but I’ve also been such a proponent that if people want we can parallel Sepinwall. Wonderfalls is a great quirky comedy/drama that I think Chuck fans would love. I like the idea of Freaks and Geeks, or there is another I watched called Life As We Know It.

    Then there is another idea. Parallel Chuck s1 with s3. Is Three Words s3’s Helicopter? Tango paired with Angel of Death? Just a thought.

    Let’s keep the suggestions coming, and maybe over the weekend I’ll put together a poll for those interested in a summer re-watch.

    • gabbo says:

      My guess, Ernie? You rerun season 3, you reopen the same old wounds and replay the same old arguments.

      The poll you put up shows ZERO votes for Mask or Fake Name, the two most controversial episodes. First Name got just one vote. More than 50 percent of the “best” vote centered on just two episodes. No other epsisode got double digit support. Abd only two episodes got more than 5 percent of the vote.

      A rewatch would leave very slim pickings and very warmed-over arguments.

  14. Crumby says:

    Ernie, are you guys gonna do a re-watch and reviews of the Back 6 like you did for the Front 13?

    I really enjoyed it, and it helped a lot to gain in perspective.

Leave a Reply

