A Familiar Name, A New Format

Many of you will recognize the name of bdaddydl.  He’s been a regular commenter here for quite some time.   He has just taken the plunge as a Chuck Fan Fiction writer,  with his first chapter of his first story now appearing at fanfiction.net  (I’ll include the link under Fan Fiction on the sidebar).   He’s off to an excellent start and promises a sweet story with a good ending,  so don’t be put off by the set up.   This is his 15th anniversary and the last chapter is dedicated to his wife,  so it better not be a downer!

I will write more about this in the weeks and months ahead.  With the show now entering a several months hiatus,  it will be a while before any “official” new Chuck material comes available.   Fan Fiction is a fun and often satisfying outlet when you need a Chuck “fix”.

 – Dave

About atcDave

I'm 54 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 31 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to A Familiar Name, A New Format

  1. BDaddyDL says:

    I want to thank you and Joe, your input means a lot. I was shocked to see this posted here, and I am humbled to say the least.

    I have found out some interesting things today about fan fiction which I will post tomorrow. Right now I am off to dinner. I was able to do this right now because I am “Waiting on a Woman”.

    • atcdave says:

      Look forward to your lessens learned. It often surprises me how little overlap there is between our different groups. When I write on this topic it generates very little interest, and there’s only a couple fan fiction writers I recognize who have ever posted here. I’m not sure if that actually reveals anything more than people sticking with their first interest, but it does surprise me a little.

      Its OK though, we’ll remember when you’re famous and adored over at that other place that WE had you first!

  2. joe says:

    Truth be told, BDaddy, I felt honored that you wanted my input. You see, I never thought of myself as a writer – just someone who loves the show.

    And to find others who share that, well, it’s a good thing.

  3. Michael says:

    Great news, guess I needed a final push to jump into the fan fiction pool…this is it! 🙂

    Thanks BDaddy and thanks Joe for spreading the news.

  4. BDaddyDL says:

    When I wrote this story it was supposed to be something for my wife, and to see if I could write a fictional short story. Over 7000 words later (and growing) it is not so short anymore. I decided to post the first chapter online yesterday, so even though the part I was writing for my wife was not complete, I could at least say it was started on our anniversary.

    To be honest I was a little overwhelmed from the response I got. With this being my first story, and not writing anything for over 16 years, I thought a couple people would read it and that would be it. I found out this morning people from 38 countries have read the story, and over 500 people have read the story. Last night, I also got 22 email notices of people who actually wanted to be notified when chapter 2 comes out.

    All of that has made me take this much more seriously. I feel a personal obligation to make this story as good as I can make it. I have always been the guy who wants everyone to have a god time. Now I will try to do this by writing.

    I do have a request though, I started posting on this board because people could disagree civilly, and that quality of the ideas being posted is immense. I would be honored if you let me know what I have done right, but more importantly if I am staying true to the characters, and what should be improved.

    • BDaddyDL says:

      Joe please don’t sell yourself short. You’re writing along with Faith, Liz, atcdave, Ernie Herder, and so many others gave me the courage to try this in the first place.

    • atcdave says:

      Its awesome to hear you’re getting so much traffic right away. I think Fanfiction.net is a very heavily trafficed site, so hopefully it will keep up. I know look forward to reading more.

  5. herder says:

    Up to this point I have avoided fanfiction, but I think that this is my summer project, to read what is being written and see where others take the story that I am so involved in. I have long appreciated Bill at Work’s postings and will try BDaddyDL’s too as his posting show an appreciation for the story too. When I do I’ll send a comment as to what I thought, but if others are recommending it that is a pretty good sign that it is something that we all will enjoy.

  6. Ernie Davis says:

    I’ve started reading some. I’ve enjoyed most of what I’ve read.

  7. odysszeuss says:

    updates/chapter2??? go on BDaddyDL you’ve got work to do. your story is gripping. now, you have an obligation to your readers. perhaps you can leave here a comment, when the next chapter is online?!? thx for your efforts.

  8. BDaddyDL says:

    I am working on that today. I should have it out by the end of the day. I am also pulling a waynes world screaming I am not worthy.
    As a side note. Last night the story will be longer then I imagined. It is a challenge. I think I can do it. In the process, it should improve my limited skills, and make it more enjoyable.
    Odeysszeuss thank you, comments like that make me try to find more time to do this. It is greatly appreciated.

  9. BDaddyDL says:

    I need some help. I am trying to think of someone other then star wars about a really good driver or pilot. I want to use it in my story, but I cant think of one.
    As a little bonus whoever comes up with the one I use will be in the story, I have a special place reserved.

    • JC says:

      Maverick from Top Gun or Starbuck from BSG

    • jason says:

      i’ll give you four – tom paris (chuck director robert duncan mcneil) was his ships best pilot, a couple of comedy ones – fonzie (who jumped the shark in happy days) drove a motorcycle better than anyone, jackie gleason from the honeymooners drove a bus, I doubt if he did it well, but he might be the most famous bus driver ever, if you aren’t pretty good you never heard of him, but pure comic gold – and tom cruise in top gun

    • atcdave says:

      Or if you want historical; Rickenbacker, Doolittle, Gabreski, Hoover, Yeager.

    • BDaddyDL says:

      OK I am going to use starbuck. JC what name do you want me to use?

  10. jason says:

    that is pretty old you never heard of him – i.e. jackie gleason or ralph cramden on screen name

  11. Lola says:

    I want next chapter! This is really good BDaddy 🙂
    Congrats!

Leave a Reply

