Memorial

Not Exactly Chuck Related

Remembrance

People in the US are celebrating Memorial Day (formally known as Decoration Day) this last Monday of May. Perhaps too many of us think of this national holiday as a celebration of the start of summer.  Besides the fact that the astronomer in me goes “AAARRRRGGG!” when I hear that (“Summer? SUMMER??? The Sun is no where near it’s northern-most point in it’s path around the ecliptic!!!”), and besides the fact that I love the barbecues and the sound of children swimming in the community pool, that’s not what it’s about.

It’s a remembrance for those who have died in the service of our nation.

It’s also become a tradition to consider and be grateful for those who are veterans and for those who are serving right now, like our own Amyabn. If they were real, Casey would salute you, Sarah would consider you a partner and Chuck would be in awe.   Something tells me that the real life actors who play those roles have very similar reactions.

Thank you, Amy.

Now I’m off to start my barbecue!

– joe

Update: Proving that he’s out to make me a truth-teller, Zac Levi tweeted this moments ago:

Thank you to all our service men and women. Thank you to the wounded. Thank you to the fallen. Thank you to all those that have served…

About joe

In my life I've been a professor, martial artist, rock 'n roller, rocket scientist, lover, poet and brain surgeon. I'm lying about the brain surgery.
This entry was posted in Observations, Off Topic. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Memorial

  1. BDaddyDL says:

    I want to thank you for putting this up. My father served in Vietnam, and it is because of his service, and so many others that I can sit here in front of my computer and type whatever I please.

    I also have a suggestion, and before you roll your eyes at me please read this: http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6009001/1/Section_43_Site_3174 It is about Casey going to Arlington. It is worth the read, and if you have never been there he does a nice job of describing a small part of it. No one can probably give a complete look. It is not possible to describe such a beautiful, awe inspiring, yet incredibly sad place.

    Finally to all of you who post or are just lurkers, and have served in the military. GOD BLESS YOU and Thank you For your Service to this Country.

  2. Hope says:

    Thanks for posting this, one of my family’s good friends is over seas on a tour right now. I hope and pray he’s still ok. Happy Memorial day everyone.

  3. Faith says:

    Happy Memorial’s day everybody.

    And for those in the military (I know we have a few on here, and of course one of our fab four: Amyabn), we salute you and we thank you. With all our hearts. You guys are the true heroes.

  4. Rick Holy says:

    We honor the sacrifice and remember the lives of all those who have fallen in service to their country and in defence of peace and freedom. And we also remember the sacrifice made by their families – the ones “left behind.” God bless one and all.

    Peace, all. PEACE!!

  5. weaselone says:

    A belated thanks to all those who serve, have served and will serve. My expression of gratitude my be a day late, but the sacrifices and duties for which it is bestowed are ongoing and ever relevant.

Leave a Reply

