What Will I Do With My Summer Vacation?

Now its been over a week since we had a new episode to fuss over;  and it will likely be 14 weeks or so until we get another.   So what shall we do?

From a pure Chuck perspective I have a few ideas.   The most obvious is re-watch episodes.  This is a great time to re-absorb details with no pressure of what’s coming next.   Another good one is to discuss your Chuck addiction here.   I expect what will happen here for the next few months is slower paced,  but more detailed discussions of various thoughts and themes from our favorite show.   I intend to read a lot of fan fiction this summer too,  and I will post the occasional article on what I’m reading.   There is sure to be bursts of activity here when actual Chuck news comes available.   ComiCon in late July will be one sure source of news,  but articles and interviews can show up at any time.  You can bet there will be a feeding frenzy here with each new morsel of data.

Some of us have non-Chuck related lives too.  This is a great opportunity to enjoy them without missing an episode or the latest opinion from that idiot atcDave.   I’m excited about an airshow coming up,  a concert and fireworks on the Fourth of July,  a trip to Mackinac, a little bicycling, and summer TV seasons for Burn Notice,  Psych,  and White Collar.  

Stray Tidbits

While I have the floor I wanted to mention a couple of items I’ve seen recently in the news that are of some bearing to us Chuck-nuts.   Meg James of the Los Angeles Times writes that scripted shows are resurging on network television.  Apparently advertisers feel reality TV does not attract a very affluent audience,  and they would rather pay more for the same number of viewers on quality scripted shows.   This can only be good news for Chuck fans,  and TV fans in general.

Comcast had a brief article yesterday on the biggest summer movie disappointments of all time and Superman Returns was mentioned.   The writer ended with a hopeful “at least Brandon Routh has Chuck.”   It sent a chill down my spine.   I’m still thinking,  even as open ended as 3.19 was,  I doubt TPTB will want to bring a character as disliked as Shaw  back for more than an episode or two.    But then if Routh really needs the work….

 – Dave

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to What Will I Do With My Summer Vacation?

  1. joe says:

    Oohhh! This was hard to find! But I have a link to Liz Meg James LA Times Article. It *does* sound positive.

    Lordy, I dislike “reality” TV.

    • atcdave says:

      Of course there would be a link! Silly me reading print.

    • jason says:

      first – I like chuck’s chances versus other scripted NBC shows, the more of them there are, the more chuck can at least rise to the middle

      second, my summer viewing project is fringe. so far I have been enjoying it a great deal, to use the chuck – sarah phrase, my fringe feelings ‘it’s different’ than how I feel about chuck.

      third, one general wt/wt comment about fringe vs chuck, the writers in chuck moved sarah so close to chuck so quickly, I think it caused the outcry of season 3, in fringe, I really have no bother at all over the wt/wt, it is maybe 5% of the viewing experience for me – with chuck, it went way over the top in terms of the viewing experience – maybe near all of it by mid season 3, however, the last 6 chuck episodes seemed just about right, CS were there, but the stories were still getting told.

      • joe says:

        Interesting thought about a summer viewing project. I’ve just started watching Firefly on line (yes, I know. Ernie has already scolded me for my obvious lapse in judgement here). We’re not restricted so much to what’s on the air.

        Yeah – I’ve got 1500 available channels too, but I’m cheap. I want it free, I want it now, and much of it is on-line. I spent my youth with 3 channels in black-n-white and plenty of “snow”. I’m due!

        The 21st century is so cool that way.

      • atcdave says:

        Good comment on the differences in wt/wt Jason. I’ve seen that play out a few different ways, there really is a big difference in how it is played from show to show. Anywhere from not even caring about “romantic” leads, to having it dominate the feel of the show.

      • jason says:

        dave – I know you like the show castle – did you like how the wt/wt ended in season 2 there? I never view castle spoilers, I was shocked by the ending when castle showed up, I loved it – I really don’t care about the wt/wt dance there too much. Is that good for the show or bad?????

      • atcdave says:

        As you know, I’m on record as saying I never like triangles, I really don’t. But that said, it bothered me far less on Castle than on Chuck. I think part of it is that while I enjoy Castle a lot, I don’t really relate either character so much. That, and there really hasn’t been much going on between them. Chuck and Sarah at the end of S2 read like a done deal to me, so the further interference was annoying (to say the least it was no longer cute or funny); while Castle and Becket are only just approaching where Chuck and Sarah seemed to be in late S1. The pacing is just very different.

      • seb says:

        Fringe is such a great show, and to be honest Anna Torv is my favorite Aussie actress playing an agent with an American accent on TV. Ahead of Yvonne. Shocking, I know, but there’s no accounting for taste 🙂

      • herder says:

        Seb, good luck with the revcovery from the terrible, terrible head injury that you clearly have suffered 🙂

  2. Crumby says:

    I think I’ll watch Firefly too (no I haven’t seen it yet…)

    I’m also thinking about re-watching a little Alias, to see the similarities with Chuck. There are plenty, but I probably missed a lot of them.

    • atcdave says:

      Be sure to follow up Firefly with Serenity. Even together its less than a single season ought to be. I just finished a rewatch myself, brief but brilliant.

      • Crumby says:

        I’ll check out Burn Notice too. You guys keep talking about it, it must be good!

      • atcdave says:

        Burn Notice was my favorite show in years, for about 8 weeks until Chuck premiered.

        Chuck, Burn Notice, and Castle almost make this a golden age for scripted programming.

      • joe says:

        I haven’t seen Castle (yet). But I’m interested.

        You might want to consider adding Royal Pains to the list too, Dave. It’s not a hi-octane adventure like Burn Notice; it’s gentler. But it has the same kind of charm that we see in Chuck, Burn Notice and White Collar.

  3. Chuckaddict says:

    I’m getting my spy fix this summer by watching the entire series of Alias. I’d never seen an episode until last weekend. We had a newborn when it premiered, so I couldn’t get into it right away. By the time things were back to “normal” it was too late to jump in. So far I like it, but it’s just not as multi-dimensional as Chuck.

    As for Shaw, I’ve formulated a theory about the character and how it played in season 3. If it holds any water (most of my theories haven’t), I don’t think we’ve seen the last of him. I think there might be long range plans involving his return. I’m trying to get some back-up reference from this season, so I guess I’ll be re-watching s3 this summer also. I’ll post my theory when I find more confidence in it…

    • Crumby says:

      Alias is a spy drama, so it doesn’t have all the comedy and lightness that Chuck has. And the spy stuff are way more complicated to follow… After a while I didn’t even remember what it was about 5 episodes earlier… But I loved the show. The first two seasons especially.

    • atcdave says:

      Hey Chuckaddict, don’t be shy about your theories; we’re always happy to hear more. Of course we’re always wrong, but you just have to laugh, that’s part of the fun! (Unless its another triangle; then keep it to yourself! no fun, not funny!)

      • Chuckaddict says:

        I was hoping to get my thoughts more organized, but here goes…

        My basic theory is that Shaw was in the employ of the Ring from the beginning. This premise goes a long way in explaining some of his behavior this season.

        The theory began with my trying to figure out what Beckman meant in Angel de la Muerte when telling Shaw “we need to tell them. It’s too dangerous. They need to be prepared.” The only thing I can come up with is the Governor (this is the big leap). That would mean that Shaw knew about the need for the Governor all along. All of the sudden the Ring knows about the Governor in Living Dead? How did they find out? Beckman told Shaw, Shaw told the Ring. Shaw wanted it kept secret from Team B.

        It also would mean that Beckman knew about the need for the Governor. This also could come into play in season 4. What happens when Chuck finds this out and he’s no longer in the employ of the government? Assuming he’s working for himself, following Orion’s legacy, doing things that government’s are afraid to do… Orion didn’t trust anyone, CIA/NSA included. Will Chuck follow the same path himself?

        The image of Shaw fiddling with his wedding ring at the end of Op. Awesome would then have the dual meaning so common in the show. It shows his inability to let go of the memory of his wife, but also shows his involvement with the Ring, not just foreshadowing it. It would be interesting to see if all the Ring agents had something as simple as the same ring to identify their membership.

        In Mask, Sarah is clearly affected by the poison gas while Shaw isn’t. Shaw the super-agent makes the “mistake” of opening the canister unprotected? If he’s a Ring agent, he knows what’s in the canister and had already taken the antidote. He ends up looking like the hero, saving Sarah, when he’s the one who actually poisoned her! He ends up gaining her confidence and so begins the hated arc. The motive? Drive a wedge into Team B.

        In Beard, Shaw leaves Chuck (who isn’t flashing) at the Buy More, exposed. Another mistake by the super-spy. while the Ring moves in? It just seems too convenient. Shaw underestimates Chuck’s abilities without the Intersect, and Morgan ultimately rescues him. Then Shaw’s ready to sacrifice the Intersect? He seems to be in cover-up mode when returning to Castle. The fandom seemed confused by the ending to this episode, at least I was. This may help explain it.

        I haven’t watched American Hero again to see how this theory fits in. I have a feeling that Shaw wasn’t really “sacrificing” himself, however. Another bait-and-switch from Shaw?

        How many times did Chuck (the spy-in-training) rescue Shaw (the super-spy)? It seemed that each time, Shaw almost looked disappointed. Like his plans failed, again and again.

        I don’t think Shaw knew that Sarah killed his wife from the get go (Beckman claims even she didn’t know). I think this is what pushed his revenge over the edge, and he blew his cover (or double-cover).

        Now he’s probably in a cell somewhere flashing without the protection of a Governor and completing his descent into psychosis. It’s a classic comic book villain progression. Batman’s “Joker” started out as a thug, but didn’t become psychotic until dumped into the vat of acid. Look what Chuck’s done to Shaw. Shot him, defeated him, took the Governor and left him to be reduced to a demented form of himself. My guess is that there’s another “epic” battle coming in the future before Shaw is finally dead.

        It’s funny, I never really saw the connection between Chuck and Comic-Con before I came up with this theory.

      • atcdave says:

        I like the idea of Shaw being bad from the start, but I’m pretty sure that isn’t intended. We’ve been told he was some sort of perfect match for Sarah in another life or some such drivel, so no matter how aweful looked on screen, I think we’re supposed to believe he was a good and heroic agent until driven mad by his wife’s death and learning of Sarah’s involvement in it. That doesn’t prove they won’t try to retcon it. Given how unpopular Shaw proved to be that might not be a bad direction go. And I do agree there’s a lot of forboding indicators early on Shaw is up to no good. And I would agree either way he was clearly trying to divide TeamB. That is why my mid-season speculation threads were always called “Shaw’s Evil Plan”; we all knew he was no good long before we were supposed to know that.

      • Judy says:

        I agree. I think don’t think the writers intended Shaw to be a ring agent from the start, but they scattered quite a few red herrings about. I like the way you culled them out, chuck addict. Shaw
        certainly made too many mistakes for a super spy.

        I have a theory about Shaw turning to the Ring. When shaw learned about his wife’s death they had lots of images flashing. What if they were encrypted with subliminal messages that directed his subsequent behavior? I know it’s farfetched, but fun to speculate.

      • Chuckaddict says:

        I know, I’m giving this too much thought again…

        I guess it doesn’t matter if Shaw was bad right from his introduction. I don’t think we’ve seen the end of him. It true comic book fashion, he’ll return someday as Chuck’s demented arch-nemesis. I don’t think TPTB can resist it.

        Any other thoughts on what Beckman was referring to with “we need to tell them. It’s too dangerous. They need to be prepared”? Did she (and Shaw) know about the need for a Governor all along?

      • atcdave says:

        I think it was just about Operation Awesome, they may have leaked or encouraged the information that lead the Ring to Devon; seems lame but its all I got.
        We may see Shaw back next season, but I don’t think they’ll use him more than one or two episodes. No matter how much they want to use him, they have to be scared that show ratings dropped over 20% during his story arc.

  4. Crumby says:

    My first job was to catch up here! I’ve missed the discussions since the finale.

    I’ve read both “Finale First Impressions” thread tonight, we’ll catch up with S4 speculation tomorrow 🙂 .

  5. Jen says:

    My summer plan is a personal one… get to know my best friend as my “boyfriend”. Yep, we started dating after 15yrs of knowing each other! He’s a big sci-fi fan so i’ll have him share his love for Serenity and Firefly with me. I’ll try to make him into a Chuck fan 🙂

    • atcdave says:

      You can’t go wrong with Firefly! My wife loves it too. And Jen I think that’s the best way to start a relationship, my wife and I were good friends for 6 years before we started dating. It sure takes a lot of the “making an impression” game out of the dating. We’ve been married 13 years and I swear I love her more every day.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Sepinwall is doing a summer re-watch of Firefly, and I think Joe and I are planning to blog about it here. It starts June 8 and every Tuesday after. Before there was Casey, there was Jayne.

      Me, I recently got hooked on Legend of the Seeker. I’m trying to pace myself, but it’s tough.

      And congratulations. 😉

    • joe says:

      Oh, what took you so long, Jen? 😉

      And more seriously (not to mention, profoundly(!)), new love is a great thing. Moreso after 15 years in the discovery.

      Now do your best to make something of it, my friend!

    • Jen says:

      It’s a thing of timing n now the time is right. We both have every intention of making it work. It’s very exciting n I’m very happy 🙂

    • kg says:

      Jen

      the best of luck with both ventures.

  6. Jen says:

    I let someone borrow my S1 DVDs and i fon’t know who 😦 i’m gonna have to guy buy it again. BOO!

  7. kg says:

    Chuck is an outstanding show I believe would have done well or been appreciated shall we say, in almost any era.

    But the plain truth is that this show could not have arrived at a better time in history. I agree. Most of the stuff on the tube the last three years has been crap. I think that’s a legitimate reason as to why this little show stood out for me when it did.

    As I’ve alluded to Joe, Monday is the only TV night I actually plan for and anxiously await. If not for Chuck, the whole CBS lineup would be a sweep.

    In addition to 2.5 Men, Big Bang Theory and CSI Miami, I also enjoy How I Met Your Mother and Rules of Engagement and viewed the latter two shows a couple of nights ago in Chuck’s absense.

    But the main point I wanted to make concerns the Chuck finale. Although epic, it was another two hours of programming in which Ellie and Sarah didn’t talk. “Is my husband safe with you,?” was all we got.

    While Devon and Morgan did their best to explain Chuck’s surprising life, based upon their limited second-hand knowledge, I would also assume Chuck’s explanation to his sister was decidedly vague. And it appeared on screen Chuck’s desire was to portray his father as non crazy and a hero.

    It was not that long ago when Ellie admitted she thought Sarah was special. She implored her brother not to give up so easily.

    Therefore, I would have liked to have seen a conversation between Ellie and Sarah. She could provide Ellie a woman’s perspective on such alarming and life-shattering news.

    It would give Sarah a nice opportunity to admit to Ellie just exactly what her brother means to her. She could admit that her feelings for Chuck were real all along despite the cover, the mission and the deception. She could impress upon Ellie how Chuck is a true American hero.

    A development, I suppose, we could look forward to in season four.

    • weaselone says:

      We could see this in season 4. Orion’s legacy has been cast into Chuck’s lap and he has no choice but to don his father’s belt if he wants to keep his extended family safe. In order to do so he has no choice but to continue on as a spy and break his promise to Ellie.

      I can see Sarah being the first and perhaps only person he fully informs of the situation. He’s probably not going to want Morgan, Ellie, or Awesome fully clued in on the degree of danger they’re in, but he’ll need Sarah’s support and more importantly he’s probably learned that protecting Sarah by lying to her is a counterproductive course of action.

      Sarah could intercede on Chuck’s behalf when he either reveals or Ellie uncovers that he is still involved in the spy world.

      • herder says:

        What I would like to see is some sort of a scene where Chuck shows Sarah his father’s lair and says something along the line of “I don’t want to tell Ellie, Morgan, Casey or the CIA about this until we decide what we’re going to do about it”.

        I can also see a situation where Chuck will drop his promise to Ellie in a heartbeat if Sarah is in danger. For example she goes on a mission without him and is captured, Chuck gets pulled back into the spy world to rescue her; “I’ll always come back for you”.

    • atcdave says:

      Weaselone, I sure hope that’s how it plays out. I would like to see Sarah as Chuck’s only complete confidante with all aspects of his life. I mean, that’s sort of how it ought to be, right? I wonder if TPTB will get that. One of the great strengths of this show the first couple seasons was how easy Chuck was to relate to for many of us; I think a lot of what went wrong in S3 ties back to Chuck behaving in ways most of us would hope we would never do. Chuck keeping secrets from his significant other is certainly an example of that.

      • kg says:

        Absolutely Herder.

        And Ellie would have to understand Chuck’s plight if Sarah was indeed captured.

        Although she claims she and Devon are just “regular” people, she and her husband jumped into help Chuck, Sarah and Casey without any hesitation.

        Although not formally engaged or married, for all intents and purposes, Sarah IS family. She’s on Team Bartowksi, that practically makes her a Bartowski.

        Besides, in spite of his promise to his sister, Chuck and Sarah had already made vows to each other over seas. Casey (reluctantly) and Morgan bore witness to such.

      • kg says:

        Yes Dave

        Before Weaselone jumps on us for erroneously labeling Chuck a liar, at least in relation to Sarah, I will say his penchant for “withholding certain elements of information” from Sarah has gone on long enough.

        He’s got about 14 weeks to get this right.

      • atcdave says:

        Well put KG. maybe passive lying vs. active lying? One may be worse, but both are bad and ought to be beneath Chuck.

  8. kg says:

    I guess this is directed at Faith if my memory serves me correctly.

    Before I forget, heading to Los Angeles this weekend to watch my Celtics pound your Lakers.

    Seriously, it should be an epic series. Forget all the hot air and hype about the past. You have two teams here that won 12 games in these playoffs. Two teams that never had to play beyond six games in six combined series.

    Each deep, strong-willed and battle tested. Each a champion within the last two playoff seasons. Each not losing more than twice to a particular playoff foe. I honestly can’t see this thing not going seven games.

    • joe says:

      Kg, I have to ask. Are you talking about the basketball series, or about Chuck???

      😉

      Amazing how both those interpretations fit.

      • kg says:

        heh heh. True Joe. My subconscious must have been working overtime. Starting simply with epic.

  9. jason says:

    if you want to see sarah lancaster in another role, watch episode 4 season 2 of everwood. She is on 2.4 thru 2.22, as a ‘dreaded’ LI, named “Madison”, she is adorable in the show, has sort of a sad ending for “Madison”, but in 2.4 she absolutely is well “awesome”, somewhat reminds me of her ellie role, even though she is younger here, she pretty much bosses the ‘boys’ around. don’t know if this like works or is allowed, but this will get you to the episode, hope you enjoy it.

    *ttp://www.watch-everwood-online.com/Watch_Everwood_Online_Season_2_Episode_4_East_Meets_West.html

  10. House Episode says:

    Find all episodes of tv show how i met your mother from here: http://www.episodevideos.info/category/how-i-met-your-mother/

Leave a Reply

