Family, Friendships, and Faithfulness

Hello friends, I’m back from my business trip and am finally getting caught up with everything.  I managed to watch (and rewatch 🙂 ) the last three episodes of Chuck while I was away, but didn’t have a lot of Internet access so I am woefully behind on everything happening on the blog.

With that caveat in place, I beg your indulgence as I have been wandering Europe  (Germany and Poland to be specific) with ideas for Season 4.  You may or may not have covered any or all of what I’m about to lay out, but I hope to share my version of S4 and solicit your comments.  I warn you now, this is going to give Ernie a run for his money on length (Note: I didn’t say quality! 😉 ).  More after the break.

I chose the title of this entry to reflect what I think will be the main themes for Season 4.  The dynamics of the main characters should rotate around these themes and how they interrelate to one another.  What I mean by that is that each element is interrelated to the other.  I’ll try to be clearer as I go.  And before I bore you with my projections, I should at least lay out to you what I didn’t like about the last three episodes (don’t worry-I love the eps, but have a few small qualms).

–       I didn’t like Chuck lying.  He lies to his father repeatedly, tries pulling Sarah into the lie, and of course, he had maintained the lie about his health until Shaw busted him out in front of the Generals and Sarah.

–       I didn’t like Ellie forcing Chuck out of spy world.  She needs to understand who Chuck is now, the man he’s become, and his relationship with Sarah.  Ellie hasn’t been able to protect Chuck for years (physically) and he relies on Sarah for the emotional support he used to get from Ellie.  That isn’t to say their relationship isn’t important, but let’s face it, Ellie isn’t Chuck’s best gal anymore.

So what do I want to see?  I’m not a writer, although I fancy myself one, once and a while (thanks for indulging my fantasy through this blog!).  I have an overall progression in mind, and as an unabashed ‘shipper, I have certain elements, throwbacks, etc that I’d like to see.  I don’t have any illusions that I can write the spy stuff, but more the human elements I’d like to see.  Here goes:

Ep. 4.01  should pick up where we left off.  I’d like to see a post funeral gathering at the casa de Bartowski and have short video messages from PapaB be played for each major player.  We know Chuck got his secret video request already, but I’m thinking more along the lines of PapaB telling Chuck how proud he is of him and that he’s special.  Ellie’s message is another message of pride and that she doesn’t have to worry about protecting Chuck any more.  My thoughts on that are to establish/define Sarah’s relationship better as well as to get Ellie out of harping mode-we know more danger lies ahead with Orion’s enemies and it would likely take a fatherly request to get Ellie to back off.  Sarah’s message would be a thank you from PapaB for protecting Chuck, and his being happy that they found each other.  Casey would be asked to look after the whole team, from one father to another.  Morgan’s would be one of encouragement, and Devon’s would be to take care of Ellie.

I would transition to having Chuck take Sarah to the new (old) house.  He needs to apologize withholding info and tell her PapaB gave him the house.  I keep coming back to the line-“a man’s home is his castle” and “this actually is ours” when Chuck flicks the light switch to show Sarah the underground lair.  He plays the secret message.  Chuck tells Sarah that he won’t lie to her, but needs to know if she is ok with him having to lie to Ellie to protect her.  Sarah will understand.  Sarah needs to make Chuck promise to work on making at least one more governor in case his gets damaged.  Chuck gives Sarah free reign to redecorate.  Possible friction point for Ellie and Sarah (in a funny way, of course).

4.02  The team needs new covers.  The OO becomes a Subway with Casey, Morgan, and Sarah working there.  Chuck is working on starting a software company from the house.  The house is done in record CIA time.  Work in a house warming party.  Sarah has Chuck’s Tron poster framed for his office, adds a few details on the back for him to flash on (ie. Her whole name-Sarah needs more backstory).  Chuck adds train and Eiffel tower charms to the bracelet, which she puts on for the housewarming party.  Sarah shows Ellie the old measuring stick of her and Chuck’s heights on their birthdays (you know, when you were little and your parents marked your height on an inconspicuous doorframe?).  Morgan keeps the apartment, Alex becomes his new room mate, with Casey lurking close by to keep an eye on them.  Chuck is wistful when the rest of Team B go out on a mission.  Ellie and Awesome see this.  Chuck starts his research on Orion’s enemies.

4.03  The four (Ellie/Awesome, Chuck/Sarah) are out to dinner ala vs. The Truth.  They leave and see a gang of thugs harassing a girl in the alley.  Chuck and Sarah do that whole partner look and save the girl, with some remark about the odds-it just isn’t fair.  Ellie looks on in awe, Awesome is just stoked (he’s seen them in action).  We see a montage of scenes over time of family gatherings at the various apartments, with various Team B members coming or going from missions without Chuck.  Would be a nice touch if Chuck is growing his beard again-just to show he isn’t happy, although he is trying to fake it with Ellie.  Then Sarah comes back hurt-nothing life threatening but enough to push Chuck over the edge a bit.  He challenges Casey on how he could have let her get hurt and Casey is mad at himself; he retorts that he isn’t Chuck, he doesn’t have his skill set.  Chuck goes upstairs to take care of Sarah.  Ellie is upset and says this is why she doesn’t want Chuck to be a spy.  Morgan will have his moment to shine and explain how good a team C&S are.  He goes to his bag and pulls out a disc.  He put together a “best of” DVD from various surveillance tapes for submission for a best spy team competition (hey, it’s corny, but this is still Chuck) and Ellie sees first hand how good they are.  Devon has his moment, telling Ellie that he took them to Africa to get away from the spy business, but was almost killed by a mosquito.  Casey points out that Chuck chose to be a spy.  Upstairs, Chuck shaves the beard off, determined to tell Ellie he can’t keep his promise.  Ellie surprises both Sarah and Chuck with her “blessing” that Chuck reteam with Sarah.

4.04  Open with the family (the main 6) playing the game they were playing in vs. The Wookie, only this time no one has to lie about their answers.  Ellie, Devon, and Morgan are amazed at some of their answers.  Casey gets a phone call and comes back to discuss their next mission.   They finally got the details they were waiting for on what they are looking for.   They are going undercover at a fashion show.  (I chose this because I read an interview that said Yvonne wanted to do something like this).  Chuck gets a phone call then hangs up.  He looks at Sarah and says, “it’s for you” and then the doorbell rings.  Sarah gets up to open the door.  It’s Carina, who explains that Chuck called her for this mission.  Alex shows up too.  Morgan is uncomfortable because he likes Alex and has a history with Carina.  Carina can rib Casey for Alex’s age until he fires back that she is his daughter.  They divvy up their roles for the mission.  Sarah gets to be an Aussie.  Cue Chuck giving her how to talk like an Aussie lessons  (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=enIlx5gEO9M&playnext_from=TL&videos=MRS_VQY3vlI) which cracks me up every time.  It’s between Casey and Morgan to play the gay fashion designer (Carina has already declared that it can’t be Chuck because of the way those two look at each other, he plays the boyfriend) and Chuck declares that Casey has a “cop face”, so he should be Carina’s bodyguard and Morgan should be the designer-sorry buddy.  Mission ensues with much comedy.  Towards the end, Chuck’s watchband gets broken (not the governor) and Chuck starts having flash problems again (not as bad).  Carina will leave, departing some pearl of wisdom-maybe she’s rethought the cardinal rule of spying.  Sarah shows up at Ellie’s for some girl talk.  She has a request for Ellie, but it has to stay between them.  Her request is that Ellie take up Orion’s research on the Intersect.  Ellie will balk at first, until Sarah lays out what the Intersect is and how it is affecting Chuck.  Sarah pulls the “you’re a Bartowski speech.”  The women bond over a “we love Chuck moment” and Sarah promises to provide Ellie with all of her dad’s research that she can get her hands on.  The guys show up.  Ellie pulls Chuck aside later and hands him a small box.  It contains their mother’s engagement ring.  Ellie tells Chuck that he thinks he’ll be needing it and for whatever it’s worth, he has her blessing.

4.05  We get a mission looking for one of the named folks in Orion’s lair (Castle 2 if you will).  Sarah teaches Chuck how to do link analysis on the computer (basically that is what is on the back of the Tron poster) and they finally include Casey and Morgan on Castle2 and what Chuck has been up to.  The team decides to work out of Sarah and Chuck’s house, so they get Jeff and Lester cleared with the authorities and make Big Mike the Subway manager.  This option gives Anna a chance to come back.  We meet some whacky ex spy who worked with Orion and MamaB.  We find out that MamaB was Orion’s handler.  Chuck proposes, Sarah says yes.

4.06-4.10  More missions to fill in the spider web of information on this new enemy.  I would love to see Roan return, the best spy competition (could be a means to flush out sleeper agents from the Ring or Fulcrum), etc.

4.11  Ellie makes breakthroughs on understanding the Intersect.   She’s found a way for Chuck to better compartmentalize the information so it doesn’t overwhelm him.  Ellie throws a bachelorette party for Sarah.  Carina returns, Alex is there, and even Beckman surprises everyone by attending.  It is a small gathering, since Sarah doesn’t have many friends.  The men return to link up.  MamaB crashes the party with a small contingent of security.  Guns are drawn.  MamaB calls her folks off.  Beckman calls her “ma’am”, Ellie and Chuck call her mom, and MamaB replies that she is called many things.  We get the backstory on why she left.  She’s back because her family is in danger.  Chuck spills the beans on what he’s found out about their collective enemy.

4.12-4.13  We get yet another epic, game changing finale with a wedding.  Casey walks Sarah down the aisle (sorry, as much as I’d like to see Gary Cole again, it would be too much of a repeat of the Orion scenario), Morgan and Awesome are groomsmen, and Ellie and Carina stand up with Sarah.

Ok, so are there holes?  Yep, and you can drive a semi-truck through all of them.  I just wanted to hit some of the things I think are important-themes, and how I would go about accomplishing them.  I have been guilty in the past of comparing how the writer’s do their thing with how I see it playing out (I know you are all shocked) so I will have to be cognizant of that as we get closer to S4 and my reactions once we see the season unfold.

Until then, I will dare to dream, Chucksters, and continue to bore you with my contrivances.  Cheers! -amyabn

About amyabn

My name is Amy and I'm in the active Army as my profession. I love the show Chuck and want to see it succeed for many seasons to come. My twitter handle is amyabn.
This entry was posted in Fan Base, Season 4, Wild Speculation. Bookmark the permalink.

69 Responses to Family, Friendships, and Faithfulness

  1. amyabn says:

    Wow, I’m replying to myself, but I just read SD’s guest post (great work!) and you nailed it! I am trying to address your issues here because I saw the same things.

  2. Ernie Davis says:

    Great stuff here Amy, and not just the impressive word count. 😉 I like a few things you brought up. In general I like your idea that they be a little more pro-active with some of the Chuck and Sarah history and relationship mythology. I want to see the things that matter to them from their “cover” years addressed in a new context. The only things Sarah is seen moving into Chuck’s are two pictures. One is from the “worst Valentines day ever” in Suburbs, yet they obviously look quite happy. The other is from Ellie’s wedding. We’ve also been treat repeatedly to a picture of Chuck and Sarah on their trip to find Roan Montgomery in Palm Springs (you can tell from the clothes). Since all Sarah’s treasured Chuck possessions, including the charm bracelet, come from the cover years, even though all those episodes found Chuck and Sarah in a pretty good place, I’d like to see that addressed. Maybe toss in the Princess Leia picture too. I think Ellie having a heart to heart with Sarah about what Chuck is going to do with his life now that he isn’t a spy would be an interesting place to start. I think I also like your idea of Chuck regressing without a real goal or purpose being the sort of catalyst for the conversation.

    Ellie seeing Chuck in action is a great call. She needs to get out of harping mode, and in much the same way Chuck’s dad had to be confronted with his son as a fully grown man with his own goals to see it wasn’t his decision to make, and to help him rather than second guess his worth and his calling is what a father should do. That given, Chuck’s lying was way overplayed for angst, so they’ve beaten that one to death far quicker than the romance and the fauxmance and need to end it. I understood why Chuck would initially lie to his dad rather than have to explain how less than a day after he freed himself he changed his mind, and be, as we saw almost belittled by his dad as being of no use to the CIA without the intersect. I thought they overplayed Chuck’s lie in this instance as totally unnecessary when it was clear that Chuck had some emotional reasons for not wanting to go through this with his dad even if there were no cover concerns and his dad saw through the lies immediately. If Chuck’s knife twist of “you know me I wouldn’t lie” was excessive writing for the purposes of generating angst Stephen’s “why would the CIA be interested in you without the intersect” was an underplayed shot below the belt given Chuck’s well known insecurities in living up to his potential going back to Dream Job. Chuck’s lies to Sarah were also overplayed, but now that they’ve overplayed them they need to stop. What the doctor said to Chuck in Tooth, “it’s a new science, time will tell” was a far cry from what Shaw revealed. And given that Chuck knew his dad was working on a cure I could see deferring a conversation Chuck knew he needed to have until he had the good news to go with the bad as well intentioned when dealing with someone known for recently freaking out about a new life together.

    It’s the season 3 formula, play it big for angst applied to excess again. I liked the subtlety they used to do better. Which is my biggest S4 worry, which style they’ll use for these stories, which will inevitably involve drama and conflict, of family friendships and faithfulness.

  3. atcdave says:

    Great post Amy, I’d be pretty happy if things play out that way. And I like Ernie’s comments too. The biggest issues I currently see for S4 are Ellie finding a more “age appropriate” role to play in Chuck’s life; and Chuck knocking off the lying. Both really nead to happen quickly if the show is going to remain fun. You know what’s likely to happen though, neither of these things will even come up again and they’ll find some other form of childish angst to annoy us with; and we’ll spend most the season wondering if we’ll ever see believable adult, spy type (life and death maybe?) issues dealt with. OK, I’m being a little cynical, they did do the “spy will” thing, and quite well actually. Hopefully we’ll see more of that and less of the other.

  4. aardvark7734 says:

    Amy, it’s hard to make a short reply to a post as epic as yours without it coming across as trite or underwhelming. But I need to try here because I just don’t have enough time to do it justice.

    I love your season. If I could, I’d forward the entire thing to TPTB and force them to address every theme and story element you mention. I’d even go so far as to say that, based on how dysfunctional I thought S3’s first two-thirds were, adopting your season outline in its totality as the baseline for S4 might not be a bad starting point!

    I can’t comment with much specificity about each of the character journeys you’re proposing, but I’m happy about all of them, particularly with your focus on how they work in relation to each other. If I have to pick out two that make me gush, having Morgan be the catalyst for the softening of Ellie’s anti-spy conviction (through his ‘best of’ DVD) and Sarah asking Ellie for help with the Intersect’s effect on Chuck are definitely my favorites. 🙂

    Most of all, what hits me about your season is the way it revisits so many of the things we love about these characters – most of the time the very qualities that endeared them to us in the first place. It’s both a new story and a tour through our favorite “Chuck” moments, all at the same time.

    It’s just wonderful, and I hope it accurately predicts the shape of what we see in S4.

    • aardvark7734 says:

      P.S. If TPTB DON’T do something like this, but instead decide to self-immolate through some kind of angsty, deceitful, soulless disaster, you should proselytize a bunch of fanfic writers with your outline as a bible and write an alternate S4.

      I’m not kidding, and I’d humbly volunteer my own services behind your banner.

      • amyabn says:

        Thanks aardvark. I wrote fanfic for CSI a while back, but have stuck to themes (so far) for Chuck, mostly because of work demands. I actually have mentally scripted most of what I tried to describe above, but found the length already daunting for the average reader and since I lack imagination for spy plots, I felt it better to hit the relationship angles.

        I would really love to go to Hollywood to visit with the Chuck writers to see the process, be a fly on the wall, so to speak. Dare to dream, I guess!

  5. kg says:

    Holy Cow Amy

    You returned with a bang. You definitely brought the meat, girl.

    You have given season four some serious thought. I like how you organized your thoughts with actual episode numbers. I think many of your ideas should be forwarded to TPTB.

    • jason says:

      the heck with forwarding the ideas, how about sending amy there, the writing team could use her in the room each day, I have very little confidence the creative team will hit anywhere near the mark of what amy wrote, although I must admit, I am trying to keep my expectations very low so not to get too upset when they start doing stupid things, really, the lying in season 3 fell as flat as the LI, only thing it hasn’t harmed anyone (yet) – amy or anyone – a ? do you think the engagement / wedding would be logical for 4.13 either way, or with impeding cancellation, did you place it there in what may be ahead of schedule???

      • kg says:

        My bad. You are correct, Jason.

      • atcdave says:

        I’d bet money there will at least be an engagement by the end of S4, possibly a wedding.

      • amyabn says:

        I predicted the engagement where I did because the show has remained on the bubble for the last two seasons. Quite frankly, I was surprised (and ecstatic) when we got a S4 at all, particularly when the ratings didn’t rebound as I thought they would-the back 6 were, well, Awesome!
        I’m hoping the writers will get them engaged so it is out of the way, so to speak. It cements the relationship for so many characters. Ellie has to accept it, and her role in Chuck’s life. Sarah has the security and normalcy she craves. Chuck is happy because he got the girl. The wedding can be the finale, whether it is the season or series (please just be season!).

        Many argue, both here and in other forums, about what is central to the show. I think the show finally found its balance when you had Chuck and Sarah, happy and content in the background, while working on spy stuff. I think most can agree that when C&S are happy, we are happy, whether you think the ‘ship is that important or not. It sits in the background and allows the other plots to come through. It is the simple things, as others have pointed out, like the touching, the quick kisses, the small talks (like when Sarah explains she lifted PapaB’s drivers license) that feed the shippers and keep us content. It quickly fixes the azimuth on which the season should focus, which is family, and let’s us get on with the spy stuff.

      • atcdave says:

        Very well put Amy, agree 100%!

      • Dave2 says:

        It’s a shame that Peter Cook is dead, because we really need a reprise of the impressive clergyman for a “Chuck” wedding…Imagine bullets flying, Chuck and Sarah doing tag-team on the bad guys, and the impressive clergyman saying “And Wuv, twue wuv, wiw fowwow you fowevah..”

      • joe says:

        More Princess Bride references, please!

      • BDaddyDL says:

        hey wait use your ring phone

        i have no ring phone

        Oh you mean this ring phone
        //////

        and for fun Morgan should look at casey and say “you are the brute squad.”

        Does this mean Shaw was only mostly dead?

  6. amyabn says:

    Thanks all for your feedback and kind remarks! It is humbling to be received so well by such esteemed writers.

    • joe says:

      Never underestimate your talents, kiddo! You just bowled over 3 out of 4 of the admins on this blog. 😉

      See? This is why this place really *is* my favorite read.

  7. Chuckaddict says:

    Kudos, Amy. IMO your absence is now well worth the wait. Here’s to hoping TPTB are at least a touch similarly minded as you. I think your version for S4 would be a great watch and fit superbly into the canon!

  8. BDaddyDL says:

    I started reading this yesterday afternoon. I had to stop and wait till this morning. I wanted to give such a fantastic post the time it so richly deserved. Thanks.

  9. Merve says:

    That was an interesting post, Amy. First off, I’d like to address your quibbles:
    – I agree with you. Chuck lying to his father was stupid and pointless. It didn’t accomplish anything. Maybe the revelation of Stephen’s secret life at the end of “Ring Part 2” was supposed to soften the blow, but it doesn’t change the fact that Chuck lied to his father for three-quarters of an episode. As for Chuck’s lie to Sarah about his condition, it bothered me a little, but I can let it slide because there was no malicious or selfish intent there.

    – While I don’t approve of Ellie forcing Chuck to quit the spy business, I can see where she’s coming from. All of Ellie’s firsthand experiences with the spy world are negative: she nearly died from poisoning, her husband’s lies caused tension in her marriage, she was manipulated by a rogue CIA agent, and her father was killed by a spy. She hasn’t seen any of the good that Team Bartowski has done; in her mind, the spy world doesn’t have many positives. I’m okay with Ellie’s actions for now, but I’d expect her to change her mind once she does see some good in the spy world.

    Now for speculation. I like a lot of the ideas you have, Amy. I can see some of that actually happening. Is most of that going to happen? Probably not. That’s not necessarily a bad thing. TPTB have a lot of interesting directions in which they can take the show next season. Whatever they do, I hope that it’s a little less predictable than how the back 6 unfolded. When I watch season 4, I want to think, “Wow, I didn’t see that coming.” As for my own wishes for next season, I don’t want to get into plot points – fanfic is not my territory – but I’d like to see some general things:
    – Chuck and Sarah are together and committed now. Great. I don’t need to see an engagement or a wedding. Either of things would be nice, but I’m not going to lose sleep if the series ends with neither of those things having happened. That being said, now that the initial relationship jitters are out of the way, the show is free to explore other character dynamics. I don’t know how many of you are familiar with Pushing Daisies but that show did a similar thing in its second season. Once the central couple had been firmly established, the other relationships were fleshed out in more detail. I’d like to see Chuck do something similar. Sarah/Ellie, Morgan/Alex, Casey/Awesome, etc. could all provide avenues for new stories.

    – Specifically, I’d like to see Team Bartowski mix things up. The show doesn’t always have to use the spy couple and the odd couple. It’s fun to see Casey and Sarah working side-by-side. We saw Morgan and Chuck sort of working together on a mission in “Tooth” and I’d like to see more of that. Casey working alongside Chuck the spy was something good that came out of “Mask.” (*gasp!*) And I don’t know how Sarah would deal with Morgan, but I’m sure that it would be hilarious.

    – Jeffster is a great comedic duo, but using them separately can also be funny. They should mix it up a bit.

    – I hope that the writers haven’t been scared away from using drama based on some of the negative fan reaction earlier this season. The show needs some drama or else it floats off into La La Land, like in “Role Models.” (However, based on the Mama Bartowski revelation, my fears of a lack of drama are probably unfounded.) I’d like to see the show take advantage of its full tonal range. It can go dark as long as it’s still funny, and it can go light as long as it still has some dramatic weight.

    – Finally, no Chuck/Sarah babies, please. Thanks.

    • joe says:

      Great points, Merve. Sarah and Morgan together on a mission would be golden. The idea of mixing it up must give the writers enough fodder for a couple of seasons.

      And I agree about the reaction to The Dark. I have a deep love-hate relationship to it, and I don’t want to see it gone. I just wrote my part of the recap for Role Models, and really, a large part of what I said is that it’s a needed respite and a fun romp. We had to have that for many psychological reasons (or, at least, I did).

      But the show excels by the way it uses all the elements – comedy, adventure, drama and romance. I may say that I’m over the loss of the Buy More, but that doesn’t mean I’m glad to see it go. I’m sad about it, and hopeful that the silliness isn’t gone with it.

    • joe says:

      Oh, wait! I forgot to mention – No babies, Merve? Really?

      I have a feeling that there’s a large Chuck contingent out there that really, really wants more than one, counting Ellie’s. 😉

      • Merve says:

        I would’t mind seeing an Awesome/Ellie baby. But a Chuck/Sarah baby just seems like a show-killer at this point in the series. Maybe in four or five seasons’ time…

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I agree with you about a Chuck and Sarah baby, but I really want to see the pregnancy scare that sends Chuck and Sarah, and Casey and Morgan into … interesting directions and situations. I’m greedy, I want to see it this season just in case it’s the last. Toss Carina into the mix it could be hilarious. I would say toss in Ellie and Awesome but my guess is that Chuck telling either of them before Sarah was sure would result in an impromptu vasectomy for Chuck

      • BDaddyDL says:

        I can see an image of a pregnancy test in the bathroom, Chuck looking at it, and the the Chuck intro plays.

        If they leak it before there would be HUGE ratings

      • amyabn says:

        How about Alex getting pregnant-by Morgan. The least likely couple, and having to deal with Casey! Oh boy! It could make all of them take a hard look at their relationships (C&S, A&E).

      • JC says:

        Sarah being pregnant would be a great way to end the series.

        Some kind of big family gathering, Sarah & Chuck announce the news, cue the Chuck Me line by Casey. Role Credits

      • atcdave says:

        I agree with JC, a Bartowski (as in Chuck/Sarah) on the way would be a perfect series end. If we get as far as S8 they might actually add a pregnancy/baby to the show, but I’m in no hurry for that (as I said, S8). Ellie/Devon could happen any time, I don’t really see it as a big deal either way.

        And Amy, Alex and Morgan? That’s just wrong! Would Casey force him to marry her? Or would he just kill the bearded gnome?

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I’ll agree with that, it would make a great ending. I’ve said before I want to see both Ellie and Sarah pregnant at the same time (we can maybe now add Alex) with the Casa Bartowski-Woodcomb-Grimes courtyard becoming a hormonal free fire zone for Chuck, Devon, Morgan and even Casey as they try to flee but find there’s nowhere to run to. Seeing Sarah get all maternal and emotional could be enough comedy in itself to justify it. Ellie getting maternal and emotional isn’t much of a trip. BUT, watch Casey, who is obviously now invested in family going hog wild to protect all his new nieces/nephews, and dare I say it… GRANDCHILD would be great. Bring back Carina one last time to dig at Casey as grandpa and highlight what Sarah has chosen. End the season with the epic game changing three women go into labor while the bad guy attacks and Jeffster inadvertently saves the day episode that ends with three births and everyone retiring. End of show.

        OK, got a little carried away. I think they need to do the pregnancy scare for one reason. Angst. But the good kind.

        Chuck and possibly Sarah are out of the spy game temporarily. As Amy said there will be a few episodes to work out how everyone rejoins the spy world and in what capacity. Just as they figure it out and think things are settled, bam. A plus on the pregnancy test. Sarah’s face. “Oh Chuck.” Roll credits. Everything is back up in the air again, but in a way I think the fans and casual viewers would both love. Play it for both comedy and drama. Have Morgan find the test and think it’s Alex’s. Have Sarah, due to her newfound relationship with Ellie run to her as she freaks out (she is a doctor after all) then Awesome finds the test and of course assumes it’s Ellie’s and starts handing out cigars. There is SOOOO much material here (mostly comedy) I just don’t want to see it go to waste.

        But unfortunately I’ve broken my own rule. I have so much written in my head I doubt I could ever get it out if the episode actually aired. Could they make it as awesome as I imagine? Hope springs eternal. 🙂

      • joe says:

        Ah, therein lies the danger, Ernie. We all start to have our favorite-episodes-that-have-not-been-written (except in our heads…).

    • BDaddyDL says:

      I think that the dynamic duo really need to be engaged by the end of the season. the sooner the better.

      I am just not sure where it should happen. The beach, the fountain, in their apartment, someplace else. I have to admit I have given this some serious thought.

      • amyabn says:

        how about while dancing to a special Nina Simone song in their backyard, then Chuck takes a knee?

  10. sd says:

    I actually think the beach where Sarah meets up with Chuck in the pilot…excellent callback…and brings the story of their r’ship full circle.

    • atcdave says:

      I vote for the beach too. That really does need to happen this season, the sooner the better really. Sorry I’m such a sap. I’m a big fan of marriage; 13 years of it and it makes me happy every day!

      • joe says:

        Seconded!

        To paraphrase Mae West, “I’ve been single, and I’ve been married and married is definitely better.”

      • Dave2 says:

        They could end the series on it: Pregnancy test, Sarah wigs out, Chuck finds her at the beach.

        Sarah: “I can’t hide from this, can I?” Chuck: “Not from me.” Shoulder bump. “Talk to me Sarah.”

        Long soliloquy about being who she is, and how a child never figured in her life, etc. Ending with Chuck presenting her with an ring.

        Chuck: “Trust me, Sarah”

      • BDaddyDL says:

        Dave that is a perfect ending. The only thing more I can say to that is WOW!

        I just had one of the best days in my life yesterday. It was not perfect, but it was great. I am so glad and blessed that my wife said yes to me 17 years ago.

        So i guess I will third that motion. Looks like we have a quorum.

      • atcdave says:

        I think that means they have to do it!

      • Joseph (can't be Joe) says:

        My thought for an ending was, of course, at the beach with Sarah and Chuck sitting watching the sunset (as opposed to sunrise).

        Sarah has her hand protectively (or so it could be implied) over her tummy, when she looks at Chuck and says “Remember when I asked you to trust me?”

        End credits.

      • joe says:

        Hi, Joe! Good to see another one here.

        And now I don’t know who I want more to say “Trust me” – Chuck or Sarah – when that baby announcement comes.

        Did we just start an official unofficial rumor??? 😉

  11. amyabn says:

    I CAN’T believe I forgot to add this to my prediction rant, but Chuck needs to sing to Sarah. Now I don’t know if Yvonne can sing, but I have been really impressed with Zach and his singing voice! First I saw him singing with Katharine McPhee: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=un60RISzE-A

    Then I saw this interview: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ivbdK4P3nNQ&feature=player_embedded where he sings Michael Jackson. Sorry not a MJ fan, but his voice is really really good!

    I had speculated at one point that Katharine McPhee could guest as a cousin, which would be used for comedy if she went back to brunette-‘cuz we know how Chuck is with the brunettes-then Sarah finds out she’s family. I would really like if they sang “Terrified” which is the first video. The lyrics fit and I could just see Chuck not able to take his eyes off Sarah.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      And Chuck busting out the tunes at some point would be totally in character. After all he played Perchik in Fiddler On The Roof. 😉

      • amyabn says:

        And he was great!

      • AngelTwo says:

        Perchik sings “Now I Have Everything” to Hodel in Fiddler. I think there are two characters in Chuck for whom the lyrics fit:

        (perchik)
        i used to tell myself,
        that i had everything,
        but that was only half true,
        i had an aim in life,
        and that was everything,
        but now i even have you.

        i have,
        something that i would die for,
        something that i would live for too-
        yes!

        now i have everything,
        not only everything,
        i have a little bit more
        besides haviing everything,
        i know what everything’s for.

        i used to wonder “could there be a wife?”
        to share such a difficult,
        wand’ring kind of life.

        (hodel)
        i was on the outer side,
        waiting right here.

        (perchik)
        who knows tomorrow where our home will be.

        (hodel)
        i’ll be with you and that’s home enough for me.

        (perchik)
        everything is right at hand.

        (both)
        simple and clear.

        (perchik)
        i have something that i would die for,
        someone that i would live for too!
        yes!
        now i have evyerthing!
        not only everything,
        i have a little bit more
        besides having everything, i know what everything’s for

    • SWnerd says:

      Aw, that Michael Jackson one was really good too. They definitely need to exploit this additional talent of his.

  12. SWnerd says:

    Holidays. Must have holidays. They’re all about family and we got a fall start this time. I’d like to see all these: Bartowski Mother’s day, Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas. I’ll settle for at least two, but one has to be Christmas because I freaking love that holiday.

    • amyabn says:

      I would still like a surprise party for Sarah’s birthday. If he gets a flash (after she fills in her real name on the back of the Tron poster), he would know her birthday, etc. It could be very sweet and we know that Sarah can be heart-warmed!

  13. ChuckNewbie8 says:

    I apologize profusely at the tardiness of this comment but…

    I have just been heart-warmed. I knew you could do it 😉

  14. Ernie Davis says:

    We’re now looking for nominations for an actress to play Chuck’s mom in s4. The ideas we’ve kicked around so far are:

    Lynda Carter
    Kate Jackson
    Alberta Watson
    Jaclyn Smith
    Lena Olin
    Jeanne Tripplehorn
    Isabelle Adjani
    Jaqueline Bisset
    Kate Mulgrew
    Mary McDonnell

    If you have additions to the list post a reply and we’ll have a poll to pick the actress we want to play Mama B. Use whatever criteria you want, but remember Ellie (Sarah Lancaster) is supposed to look just like her.

    • AngelTwo says:

      Logic dictates that before we get the reveal on Chuck’s mom, we’ll find out about Sarah’s mom. Who plays her? My choice: Jeri Ryan. A little young, I admit, but if you look at Strahovski during the Nina Simone scene in Honeymooners, the resemblence is uncanny.

      • amyabn says:

        I guess we can do two polls!
        I like Peta Wilson for Sarah’s mom. Yes, she’s young too, but she could have been young and dumb when she hooked up with Jack. And if Alberta Watson makes the cut as MamaB, that would give us two members of La Femme Nikita inserted into the mythology.

        I like Jeri Ryan too.

      • jason says:

        that would explain alot, always suspected Yvonne had a little ‘borg’ blood in her

      • AngelTwo says:

        Amy-
        Young and dumb are EXACTLY what I was thinking, too. How does Sarah end up with a rolling-stone father and not her mother? One logical assumption is that the mother was too young to care for Sarah. And having Jack Burton take Sarah with him rather than abandon her would humanize him a bit.

        Either way, though, I can’t imagine TPTB wouldn’t go with a Sarah-mom reveal before the Bartowski-mom reveal.

      • Merve says:

        If they’re going for the funny, maybe Markie Post could pull Sarah’s mom off.

        As for Sarah Ellie and Chuck’s mom, I have no clue. Josh Schwartz said that needed someone who could “kick ass.” I don’t know what he means by that, but it sounds interesting.

        Edited by Ernie to keep people’s heads from exploding

      • Merve says:

        Sorry, that should say “Ellie and Chuck’s mom.” If Sarah and Chuck had the same mom, the world would explode.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Sorry Merve, I guess I jumped the gun, but I couldn’t let that one go too long!! We are way past George Lucas style retcon of a few steamy kisses.

      • Merve says:

        Agreed, that would just be…gosh, I don’t even want to think about it.

      • joe says:

        Merve – Markie Post? Wow! Great suggestion. Oddly, Meg Ryan works too, for the same reasons, I think. I have a hard time separating the two actresses in my mind.

      • amyabn says:

        @angeltwo, I think it would be interesting if Sarah’s mom was a grifter too, or perhaps a young affluent girl who was conned/fell in love with Jack. They have Sarah, her parents flip out and make them separate. Sarah may not know her mom didn’t want to be out of the picture and that she has been looking for Sarah (Samantha) ever since. Could be touching, hits on Sarah’s abandonment issues, and gives us another family member.

      • joe says:

        Angel, Jeri Ryan is a pretty good suggestion, especially if they want a physically strong character. The idea that Jack would go with a younger woman who wised up fast fits.

        Ryan’s characters have been pretty humorless – at least the one’s I’m aware of. And certainly Sarah’s reluctance to talk about her feelings is “borg-like.” I see the start of a great confrontation there!

      • herder says:

        Nobody has suggested the obvious candidate for Sarah’s mom, Olivia Newton-John. It would even give a reason to “rediscover” her Aussie accent.

      • BDaddyDL says:

        that reminds me i quickly glanced at a photos a while back thinking it was a picture of Yvonne, but nope it was olivia newton john

      • AngelTwo says:

        I like Markie Post, too. Good idea… I also like Susan Sullivan, but she’s tied to Castle now…

        As for Jeri Ryan, well, I happened to see her on an episode of Leverage recently and she was good and funny. And she’s long past her Borg stage after her Boston Public and Shark roles. She’s a decent actress who probably has had real trouble being taken seriously because of her, er, phyiscal attributes. Hollywood, sadly, still too often sees a good looker and an actor as mutually exclusive. (Which is, not coincidentally why Strahovski has worked hard in Australia to cultivate the girl-next-door image…)

        As for WHAT Sarah’s mother is, well, if TPTB hold to the conventions, she’d be “bad,” too. If Orion “did it all for her,” we have to assume Mama Bartowski is a good guy. Which means Sarah’s mom would have to be a bad guy.

        BTW, I was just going to write “Samantha’s mother” there. And then it struck me: TPTB could ret-con that and have Sarah’s mom claim that Samantha is NOT her “real” name, either.

      • jason says:

        Lindsay Wagner is 60 years old, 5’11” tall, the bionic women would make her a nice fit for mama b, she also seems a nice fit for papa b

    • JC says:

      I’ll throw out Rene Russo for Mama B. As for Sarah’s mom I still stand by my pick of Cheryl Ladd.

  15. BDaddyDL says:

    I actually thought of who I think would be great as chucks mom. Erin Gray she played Col Wilma Deering on Buck Rogers.

  16. joe says:

    I just had a flash, but this time it’s definitely a day late and a dollar short.

    Sarah’s grandmother! Who else but Betty White could fill that role?

  17. Pingback: Music Selections for S4: Dance With Me « Chuck This

Leave a Reply

