What’s New in Fan Fiction

We’re kind of at a low point now for official Chuck activity,  and this site has shown it.   Over a month since the season finale,  and several weeks yet until we’re likely to hear any real news about S4.   But there is still plenty new to read over at FanFiction.net.   So I thought I’d take some time to talk about a few more favorites of mine and update things that have been discussed before.

For tradition sake,  and to prove I truly have no imagination,  I’ll discuss three stories that haven’t wound up in the main body of the blog before.   The three of these stories are from throughout the history of the show,  and two have been mentioned in the comments section of these entries before.

The first I want to mention is “Sarah vs. the Long Flight” by Go-Chuck-Go.   Its quite an old story now,  first published in December of 2007;  so that’s before S1 had even finished   (between 1.11 and 1.12 to be precise) which means several things will come up that we later know to be impossible,  so just remember the S1 reference point.   Its a sequel to “Chuck vs. His Reality”,  if you’re ambitious,  read both.   But honestly,  the sequel is far stronger.   Go-Chuck-Go obviously put more care (and a more thorough beta process) into the second story.   But the story’s hook is inspired and the reason for my consistent recommendation of this story.   It picks up after Chuck has reason to believe Sarah and Casey both are trying to kill him;  so he flees “off the grid.”   We know from the start its all a misunderstanding,  but the government wants their intersect back,  and its quickly clear Sarah has other plans.   Suffice to say,  Go-Chuck-Go’s version of Sarah has been inspired by Yvonne herself, which leads to a unique resolution.   Its a fairly short story that can be read in two hours or less,   and there are no major content concerns.

The next piece I want to mention is a one-shot,  that is a single chapter,  called “Finally” by Aardvark7734 who should be familiar to all regular readers of this site as a valued contributor.   It was written mid S2 on the premise of the intersect project coming to an end in the near future.   Its Chuck’s last attempt to reach Sarah before she is reassigned.   Its a fun piece than can be read in 15 minutes and has no content concerns at all.

The last thing I want to mention is a massive work in progress called “What Fates Impose” by Frea O’Scanlin.   The author is a brilliant narrative story-teller and captures the feel of the show,  including minor characters, very well.   “What Fates Impose” is a complete Chuck AU;  that is,  it starts in September of 2007 with a completely alternate beginning and back-story.  It seems Chuck was never kicked out of Stanford,  and he joined the CIA right after graduation.  But things didn’t go so well from there,  and he wound up a failure in a secure bunker in Siberia.   Bryce still sends him the intersect on his 26th birthday,  and Sarah provides an immediate rescue from said bunker to get things off to an exciting start;  but things are otherwise quite different in this setting.   The writer is currently 28 chapters in and we’re only just past the 2007 Thanksgiving gathering.   As I said,  this is epic stuff.   Excellent story telling.   My only concern on this work is that updates are coming very slowly;  when one considers how far we have to go (the writer has suggested she’s going at least as far as Intersect 2.0),  I’m wondering if this will become another abandoned work   (several writers have started fun tales they never finished).   I hope this story is finished,  if it goes the distance,  it will be novel length.   I would allow 5 to 6 hours just to read the work so far;  its a great story so far and Frea O’Scanlin has a good narrative style;  handles humor, drama, and action well.   The content is a little more intense than the previous works I mentioned,  let’s say a PG-13.

I need to update previous works I’ve mentioned here too.   The Dark Intersect by BillatWork is now complete.   This was a long and involved story,  that finally has a satisfying end.   For a long time,  Bill was providing an example of how to tell a good story with Chuck and Sarah as an established couple;   but now that the show itself has gone there,  he seems to consider himself obsolete.   Hopefully he’ll find more stories he has to tell,  I’m already missing his regular updates.

BDaddyDL,  another regular poster and friend of this blog, recently finished his first story,  “Sarah vs the Death of Charles Bartowski.”   Don’t let the title fool you,  its a heartwarming and upbeat piece of writing.   It only takes about 1 hour to read and would be rated PG.   The author has already started work on a sequel that will hopefully start posting soon.

The other work I’ve been commenting on NinjaVanish’s “Chuck and Sarah vs Themselves” continues to update slowly (maybe its just a summer thing!).  In his last chapter of this retelling of S3, most of the team had just returned from their mission to Afghanistan,  which I don’t seem to recall actually happening in S3;   so this seems to be getting more “AU” as it goes!   I’m really excited to see where this goes next.

– Dave

About atcDave

I'm 54 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 31 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Fan Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to What’s New in Fan Fiction

  1. Robert H says:

    Where can these stories be found? Please advise.
    They sound very interesting, thanks.

    • atcdave says:

      Robert, there is a link to the Chuck page of fanfiction.net over on the right sidebar of this page. Just be warned, this is a good way to waste some serious time! (have fun!)

      • atcdave says:

        I should add that searching the site is fairly easy, you can search by author or title from any page (top menu bar). And since I’m providing both titles and authors on their correct form, they should all be easy to find.

  2. PeterOinNJ says:

    I have to admit that fanfic is a guilty pleasure of mine. I discovered it during the dog days of last summer that stretched till January and new episodes of Chuck. I don’t follow it during the season because I frankly see myself getting easily confused or frustrated, but it is the dog days again and I have found a couple of new entries that are good, enjoyable reads. All are early in their development and there is no telling where they will wind up, but they have captured my interest and I will be looking for updates.

    One thing I look for in a fanfic is how closely the author keeps the characters “in character”. One is Chuck vs the Mini Skirt by Extreme Stratusfaction. It’s lighthearted, funny – and so much in character. I love the banter between Chuck & Sarah and could easily see how their relationship could evolve into what is written. It’s only in it’s first chapter and I’m looking forward to seeing where it goes.

    Another is Chuck vs The Inevitability of Life by chuckfan56. An AU that features a strong, confident Chuck that still has all of the qualities that make him – well, Chuck.

    Finally, Chuck vs The Inevitability of Life by chuckfan56 is an AU with an interesting twist. Chuck & Sarah as childhood friends that get separated in their teens by the circumstances that define their lives until fate brings them together. The twist is that Sarah is an emotionally confident CIA agent who is obviously still drawn to Chuck, while Chuck is a modern day Robin Hood who steals government information to fuel the intersect. Oh yeah, and Sarah is there to try and find this Robin Hood. This one should get interesting quickly.

    So this is my modern day summer beach reading – thanks to my iPhone – guilty pleasures that will hold me over until September.

    • atcdave says:

      I really got into fan fiction last summer also; and it became a real refuge for me during the “dark days” that were most of S3.

  3. aardvark7734 says:

    Thanks for the mention, Dave!

    I’m glad you enjoyed the story.

    • atcdave says:

      No problem Aardvark, you know I only mention the best…

    • kg says:

      Aardy, your letter was thoughtfully and beautifully crafted. So much detail, but also well written.

      In addition to getting a little misty eyed (LOL), I found myself thinking this well articulated effort by Chuck would have saved the characters and the fans weeks of needless angst. This would have been timely at any point of season one or two.

      I want to emphasize the quality of your writing. I wanted to like some of the other stuff on the site, and while many of the ideas are great, the execution is lacking structurally by some of the authors.

      There’s no natural flow, some of it makes little sense and some of the folks just don’t have a clue how to quote characters.

      Anyway, none of that existed with your work. You get an A in my book.

      • atcdave says:

        I know what you mean KG, but the writers at fanfiction are all amateurs, many are actually children. I’ve noticed a huge leap in quality from high school age to college age. But regardless of age, the unifying theme is enthusiasm. I’ve started reading many stories that I decided were not worth the effort so I simply stopped (at least once right around chapter 7…); but I always love that so many people are inspired to invest time and thought on the setting we all love so much.

      • aardvark7734 says:

        Thanks, KG, I really appreciate your kind words!

        I’ll pass on your comments to Course Jester, who invested a healthy chunk of his own time beta reviewing this story to make it better and promoting it on various forums for no reason I can figure other than being a good guy. You should check out his own stories as well, I’m sure you’ll like them.

      • BDaddyDL says:

        I do believe the letter story is really good. As far as the jester 11 roses and Chuck vs the transdementioal cold killer is both hilarious and great charah all at the same time.

  4. OldDarth says:

    Must echo the shoutout for ‘What Fates Impose.’ It is THE Chuck fan fiction to read. Doubt we will ever see anything ever top it.

    It is FANTASTIC!

    • atcdave says:

      I would agree, if its finished! There are several very talented writers out there, but I think “What Fates Impose” is unique both for its quality and scope.

  5. Bernardo says:

    Fan fic could be quite addictive and time consuming, trust me. Just reading all of Biilatwork´s stories cuold take you hours upon hours. An addiction, yes, but a quite enjoyable one.
    And Peteroin, i think that the second fic that you are talking about is “the roads to you are winding down”, a new fic, but with lot of promise.
    I agree that sometimes the time between updates could be quite upseting. One of my favorite fic “Chuck vs the double agent” (one of the best AU out there)is taking forever to get a new chapter.

    • Frea O says:

      Hey, Bernardo, mxpw is hard at work on the next chapter of “Double Agent.” I nagged him into it last night, and you’re going to LOVE what’s coming next, I promise. There’s sex and violence and maybe even candy.

      And Dave, just wanted to drop a note and say thank you very much for the shout-out and the very kind words! I liked the write-up and the synopsis (I kind of think you’ve made my humble story sound better than it actually is :-P).

      Yes, “What Fates Impose” is going to go past Intersect 2.0. I can’t and won’t say if it’ll include every event up to and past that point in time or if I’ll skip great gobs of time, but I hope that you aren’t too worried that I’m abandoning it. I’m really not. I’m a little writer’s blocked right now, a problem I dealt with by writing a new, one-shot addition to what I call the Fatesverse (debuting Monday!), but there is actually a plan, a method to the madness, and a roadmap to get us through Chuck’s crazy agoraphobic world, I promise.

      And I don’t think Old Darth up there would let me abandon it even if I wanted to! 😉

      Might I recommend, for those of you looking for a great look at what happened right after Chuck didn’t get kicked out of Stanford (since “Fates” starts five years after), reading I Am Not Amused’s “Chuck Vs. the Simple Twist of Fate?” Excellent characterizations of Bryce, an interesting path forward for our conflicted hero, and some great stuff coming! I’d rate it PG-13, just to be safe, and it would take probably an hour or so to read. But, oh man, what a fulfilling hour.

      • OldDarth says:

        “”And I don’t think Old Darth up there would let me abandon it even if I wanted to!”

        Your writing is a rare treasure. Each new installment is a gift. If circumstances arise that bring about a cessation of the story before its conclusion, there will be no complaints on my end.

        Disappointment? To be sure.

        Nothing will mar the enjoyment and entertainment you have generated for those that read your work.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Frea O, since you’ve stopped by I have to say I have thoroughly enjoyed “What Fates Impose” and I look forward to the next chapters. It was the first fanfic I ever read (on ATCDave’s recommendation) and it got me hooked immediately, so I can now blame both you and Dave for my lack of productivity and too many late nights. 😉 I also wish you had gone a little further with the companion piece from Sarah’s POV. At least till Burbank. But I understand there are only so many hours… Thanks so much though for the wonderful entertainment.

      • atcdave says:

        Frea it is great to see you here! I’m glad to hear you are still working, in spite of writer’s block. Its not meant as a dig that I questioned you finishing though; I understand this is a hobby, which means you are paid no more than we are here, and I’ve seen so many very promising stories just go idle. You’ve tackled a huge undertaking and I completely enjoy it, so let me join the chorus of those saying “keep it up!”

  6. Big Kev says:

    Frea, I’d like to echo the sentiments everyone has expressed about “Fates”. It’s been a wonderful read and I’m really looking forward to what’s to come.
    In some ways I loved the Sarah POV piece even more. I thought the voice you gave Sarah and her motivations was authentic and illuminating. I know you’ve said you don’t plan to write much more in Sarah’s POV but many of us would love to read more should you change your mind.

    • Crumby says:

      I agree “What Fates Impose” is really amazing! The compagnion piece “To Resist Both Wind and Tide” was awesome, I love the way Sarah is written. And I really liked “Truth, Lies, and the CIA” too. The whole Fatesverse is freaking amazing!

    • BDaddyDL says:

      I completely agree with you. The entire Fates series is fantastic. Although,To Resist Both Wind and Tide’s is better in my opinion.
      As good ass she is in Chuck’s voice her grasp on Sarah is absolutely fantastic. If I am not mistaken, Frea has said if she starts on Sarah’s pov she wont be able to stop. I hope I am not putting words in her mouth, but I do know anything with her name on it will be read immediately.

      • Frea O says:

        Oh, BDaddyDL, OD, and everybody else, I should probably let you know that little piece I’m debuting on Monday…

        It’s in Sarah’s POV.

        But it’s a one-shot, and not part of “Wind and Tide.” I’ve let two people read it. One screamed. The other fell off his chair. And I may be exaggerating.

        And hee, Big Key, sorry about keeping you up late nights! I should really include a warning on that story that it does cause sleep deprivation, and not just for the author!

        Thanks again for all of the kind words and compliments, but maybe y’all should stop before my head is too big to fit through doorways again. Aardvark did that to me once and it’s been a pain to get those doorways Teflon-coated. Also, expensive. 😉

        PS – New chapter of Fates on Tuesday, too.

      • OldDarth says:

        Two pieces in two days! Woot!

        I actually prefer not being in Sarah’s POV – keeps the mystery and tension intact.

      • atcdave says:

        You know Frea, getting inside Sarah’s head has been a topic of much discussion around here lately, I think a lot of people look forward to that (umm, obviously not everyone!).

  7. Robert H says:

    Thanks atclave for the info and all above for comments and ideas. Should make for some very intersting reading.

    • atcdave says:

      Robert, as you may have noticed from some of these comments, it can lead to sleep deprivation! So be careful!

  8. BDaddyDL says:

    2 tips that I often use when I am reading fan fic. If its 11pm dont start a long story. reading till 3am is not a good thing.

    When searching for a story, see if it is completed. There are some great unfinished fan fic, but it can be really fustrating. Of course things like fates are not complete, but it is updated regularly. Thank God

    • atcdave says:

      I’d ditto both of those. I’ve been surprised by a few unfinished arcs, you get three stories in and suddenly there is no more, it can be frustrating. But we’re all hobbiests so its hard to demand anything! Do a little research on reviews and auther’s notes before you start something huge. Also be aware, although MOST stories end in a good place for Chuck and Sarah, there are significant exceptions; again, do little research before starting something big.

      And rest assured I’m a happy ending sort of guy, so if I liked it, it will end happy at least for Chuck and Sarah.

  9. Course Jester says:

    Aardie, I posted recommendations for your story because it’s a good story. No other reason was required. And while I thank you for your mention of my beta work on “Finally”, I would simply reply that it was your idea and your writing that made the story so good. I just helped to polish up the apple a bit. 🙂

    Thanks also for the mention of my own stories. New readers are always appreciated. I’ll return the favor and recommend that everyone check out Aardie’s in-progress multi-chapter story, “Chuck vs. The Unsanctioned Relationship”. It’s excellent. It’s been awhile since he updated that one, but I have it on good authority that more is on the way. 😉

    Oh, and everyone should be sure to check out Frea’s new one. It’s caused quite a stir on more than one website today…

Leave a Reply

