Comic Con 2010

HI friends, I’m back from yet another trip and wanted to get some conversation going on the upcoming Comic Con.  I took the liberty of copying this info from our friends at ChuckTV.net

“Warner Bros. just released their Comic Con 2010 details, including the scoop on Chuck at this year’s geek fest. The panel will be Saturday, July 24 @ 10AM in Ballroom 20. Confirmed to attend are cast members Zachary Levi, Yvonne Strahovski, Adam Baldwin, Joshua Gomez, Sarah Lancaster, Ryan McPartlin, Mark Christopher Lawrence, Vik Sahay, and Scott Krinsky, plus co-creators Josh Schwartz and Chris Fedak. Alan Sepinwall and Daniel Fienberg from HitFix will moderate the panel.

A “special video presentation” is being touted in addition to the Q&A. They won’t have begun filming season 4 yet, so what could that video be? We will be on hand for both the panel and the press room to bring you all the scoop!”

I wanted to see if any of our readers were going to be there to see the Chuck panel and would be interested in being an iReporter for the blog?  Needless to say I would love to go, particularly if it meant I could meet up with my fellow blog writers and meet some of our readers.   I don’t think that is going to happen <sigh>, so instead I thought it would be fun to play reporter and list out questions I would want asked and thought you might enjoy playing virtual reporter as well.

One of the things I’ve noticed in the past is that we mostly end up hearing from Zach and Josh, with Schwedak getting a few words in.  That isn’t necessarily a bad thing-they are both very extroverted and funny.  But as most of you have figured out, I’m very interested in fleshing out Sarah Walker and her character.  Some of the  questions I pose are serious, and some are to get the comedic responses going!  So with my caveats in place, I will post my questions after the break. 

1.  For each panel member, I’d like to know what projects (personal or professional) they worked on during hiatus.

2.  For Sarah Lancaster and Yvonne Strahovski, I’d like to know how they feel about their characters interactions now that Ellie knows Sarah and Chuck’s secret.  Will she truly realize that Sarah is Chuck’s “best gal”?  How would they each like the season 4 relationship progress? I for one felt there was friction between them, both with the “is my husband safe with you” line to the way they chose to block the final scenes at the apartment.  You had Sarah and Casey separated from the rest.  Maybe I’m reading too much into it, but I am curious, and the excellent guest post by Kris from SWFG echoes some of my thoughts on this as well.

3.  For Lancaster, how would Ellie feel if her mom came back?  Would her reaction be different if her mom was a spy (protecting them) vs. just abandoning them?

4.  For Yvonne, I’d like to know what she thinks Sarah’s mom’s background could/should be?  Will we see Mama Burton this season?

5.  For Lancaster, what type of plot, if any, would she like to see Ellie (or Ellie and Awesome) have to do a spy mission on?  ie. they end up having to go undercover with Team Bartowski.  Same question for Ryan McPartlin, but his would be as a couple, as Devon has had his solo adventures with Team B.

6.  For Josh Gomez, how does he feel about the evolution of Morgan G. Grimes and being involved in the spy world?  How will he handle being out on Team Bartowski while Chuck is riding the pine?  How would he feel if Morgan had to play Sarah’s boyfriend on a mission?

7.  Will we get to see Anna Wu this season?

8.  What past guest stars may make a return appearance this season?  Carina (I personally hope so-she pushes so many people’s buttons!), Roan, Shaw (I really really hope not!), Jill, Jack Burton, Cole?

9.  Will Big Mike be opening his Subway franchise now that the Buy More has burned to the ground?

10.  Will Zach get to sing on the show this season?  The guy is talented!  Chuck upstaging Jeffster or serenading Sarah gets my vote!

11.  Will Jeff and Lester be exonerated?  Will they work for Big Mike or try to gain employment at Underpants Etc?

12.  Will Chuck ever start his own cover company to allow for his personal spy mission, handed down by Papa B?  I’ve always advocated that he take over Perseus’ company, and he could do it from the home office (assuming C&S move into the house).

13.  How does Adam Baldwin see his character evolving as more of a partner/friend to Sarah and Chuck (vs. the boss of old) and his role as a father to Alex?  Will Alex be making more regular appearances?  Will Kathleen be making an appearance?  Would he like to see Casey get involved with her or will his choice of love of country keep him away?

I’m sure you have many burning questions, and I’m sure I can come up with more, but for now, let the speculation begin!

-amyabn

About amyabn

My name is Amy and I'm in the active Army as my profession. I love the show Chuck and want to see it succeed for many seasons to come. My twitter handle is amyabn.
This entry was posted in Fan Base, Season 4. Bookmark the permalink.

84 Responses to Comic Con 2010

  1. Jan says:

    Great questions. My daughter and I will be at Comic Con and I will print these out to take with. I will add them to my questions.

    This is a dream come true for kiddo and me. We were only able to get tickets after they released the unused blocks of tickets a week ago. My daughter’s interests are in shows/presentations other than Chuck…so it’s especially exciting for me to have the chance to connect with other Chuck fans in person.

  2. aardvark7734 says:

    Amy, have you considered sending your questions to Alan Sepinwall or Daniel Feinberg? Apparently, they’ll be co-moderating the panel on Saturday. While it’s still kind of a long shot that they’ll use your questions, you have three things going for you:

    1. It’s really easy to just pop your questions in email to: sepinwall@hitfix.com or feinberg@hitfix.com.

    2. Sepinwall has a history of asking fans for his questions – I submitted some for the NYCC I attended where he moderated and he wrote me back.

    3. Comments to the HitFix announcement of the pair’s “Chuck” panel moderation carried a strong theme of “ask more questions yourself” rather than just turning the podium over to the audience early, which Sepinwall has done in the past. If they comply, they’ll maybe need more questions then they anticipated.

    Anyway, it was just a thought, and might increase the potential of your questions being asked. Whether they’ll be answered or not, that’s a whole other ball of wax. 😉

    • amyabn says:

      Great idea, aardvark. I will shoot Mr. Sepinwall an email with a link to this post, as I hope more folks will chime in with their burning questions. Then he can take his pick (or not!) of our questions.

      • joe says:

        Alan Sepinwall is also reading comments in his blog at Hitfix, Amy.

        There aren’t so many there (yet) that a good suggestion would get lost.

      • amyabn says:

        Joe, I sent Mr. Sepinwall an email and cc’d Team ChuckThis. I may need to cut and paste just the questions everyone has submitted, but I’m happy to do that if that is how he’d like them. Looking forward to getting clips of the Con on YouTube so I can enjoy from afar.

  3. atcdave says:

    Some really great questions Amy. My (loaded) question would be “will Chuck continue lying to the important people in his life (especially Sarah) or should we all start looking for a new ‘everyman’ hero on TV to root for?” (I have no qualms about pointed questions after the garbage they put us fans through in S3!)

    • alladinsgenie4u says:

      Yeah. You are right on spot with your question. I find myself being concerned about it in the same way. Lying Chuck (especially to Sarah) – lowers his credibility as the good guy we all root for.

  4. Ernie Davis says:

    I keep wondering when they’ll finally change the name to reflect what it really is. Nerdapalooza!! Although I’d settle for Nerdvana.

  5. Ernie Davis says:

    Oh, and as for a pointed question, I’ll quote Sarah.

    Shaw?

    • Joseph (can't be Joe) says:

      That would be the “loaded” question, wouldn’t it.

      What was Sarah thinking, and why didn’t anyone knock some sense into her?

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        There was no 2×4 handy for knocking some sense into her. (and I am not talking about the wooden variety – the one that was glued to her forcibly by the writers)

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        What!! Only a single word reply. ” Please dont give up on the things that make you great “. ( i.e fantabulously detailed posts).

    • atcdave says:

      I’m of two minds as to if I’d prefer to forget S3, or if I want to see some damage control. Given that last season the damage control generally made me even angrier, maybe the forgeting about it is the best option.

  6. Ernie Davis says:

    Oh, the serious question. Will we see Chuck Versus Comicon? Please?

    • BDaddyDL says:

      I was all for this episode. I thinks the cons have become a fun part of the Chuck Universe. Unfortunately I dont know how you could do it moeywise. It would be boatloads of fun though.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      It’s probably too late to set it up this year, especially since Yvonne has been shooting in Australia, but Chuck starts shooting July 19. If they had set it up with Comicon ahead of time it would be the perfect opportunity to shoot some locations in the hall Friday night when the whole cast is in town for the Saturday panel, or even shoot some live stuff, with appropriate crowd control and security. It’s one of those golden opportunities that probably will never happen, sadly.

  7. OldDarth says:

    These would be the questions I would hope to be brought up at this year’s SDCC:

    1) Sarah name reveal was a gimme the fans waited for over 2 years to happen between Chuck and Sarah. It was stolen and given to Shaw. Please explain the thought process and rationale behind this decision.

    2) The same situation exists with the bracelet. Please be aware that the fans are expecting a payoff. We never got one with PapaB. Please make sure we get one with the bracelet and MamaB – the original bracelet that Chuck gave Sarah that is.

    • Merve says:

      Sarah’s real name is a very weird issue. It has a completely different meaning and importance to the fanbase than it does in the context of the show.

      • jason says:

        as did sarah’s relationship with shaw

      • joe says:

        It IS a very odd thing, Merve. Tomorrow or the next day when it’s posted, please look at my review of Subway and then let’s discuss how important the issue of the name is.

        I have a feeling it’s actually more important than we thought, but in a different way.

    • atcdave says:

      I mostly agree with you here OD, although again I’m thinking more pointed; “What are they going to do to make those things right?!”

  8. Joseph (can't be Joe) says:

    Merve,

    I understand what you are saying. But really the context of the show only matters TO the fanbase.

    As I’ve stated before, I would rather never have known Sarah’s real name, than the way it was revealed. It just another part of Midlle Arc Sarah that I can’t understand.

    • Merve says:

      I’m not defending the actual name reveal. It was a WTF? moment for me (though not nearly as big a WTF? moment as Shaw randomly hitting on Sarah or Chuck lying to his father). What I’m saying is that the name itself holds a different meaning than a lot of the fanbase wanted it to hold. I don’t think that the significance given to it (i.e. shame) is invalid; it’s just different from what I had expected (i.e. an intimate secret).

      • Anonymous says:

        I don’t understand what you mean by “shame”.

      • Joseph (can't be Joe) says:

        The above Anonymous was me, sorry,

      • Merve says:

        I’m not sure that “shame” is the right word, but I can’t think of a word that captures the idea that “Sarah Walker,” the strong, confident spy in love no longer sees herself as “Sam,” the lost, emotionally-stunted woman.

      • atcdave says:

        I think that could still be fixed by having her reveal a LAST name to Chuck (Samantha Lisa ???), and then Chuck’s flash on everything. It could still be salvaged as something special, but there is so much that needs salvaging from last season, my money is on them just ignoring it.

      • Merve says:

        The way I see it, they wrote themselves into a corner with “Cougars.” They created a situation where:
        – Sarah doesn’t want to revisit her past.
        – Chuck no longer wants to know about Sarah’s past.
        – Chuck thinks he knows Sarah’s real name.
        – …and they’re both happy that way.

        With “Fake Name” and “Subway,” they wrote themselves further into that corner:
        – Sarah associates “Sam” with who she was and “Sarah Walker” with who she is now.
        – “Sam” connotes shame whereas “Sarah Walker” connotes pride.

        At this stage, a real last name reveal wouldn’t accomplish much. Sarah is “Sarah Walker” now. Neither she nor Chuck wants to dredge up her past, and it’s probably going to stay that way.

        Of course, all of this (even “Cougars”) runs counter to how the scene at the end of “Wookiee” plays. In that scene, it seems as if Sarah thought of her past and real name as intimate secrets that she wished she could share with Chuck but couldn’t because of the nature of her job. Despite the fact that “Cougars” kind of overwrote it, fans wanted a dramatic payoff to that scene. I doubt that when Sarah was revealing her real name to Shaw, fans were thinking, “Hey, this kind of makes sense, given what happened in ‘Cougars.'” (I also doubt that Sarah’s backstory had been fleshed out as far back as “Wookiee,” which might explain the “Wookiee”-“Cougars” inconsistency.)

        So, all that to say: I understand and appreciate what they did with Sarah’s real name, but having her reveal it to Shaw in a moment of weakness was a clumsy way to get there.

      • gabbo says:

        Don’t mean to steal lizjames’ thunder on her own post, but it looks like she’s just put up a Shaw-Sarah column called “Why Shaw and Sarah Mattered.” It talks about ALL of this issues, including the problem with the name reveal.

        It’s the first time I actually understood what TPTB were going for with Sarah and Shaw. Thank heavens she wrote it cause now I’m at least a little less angry about it. Although Liz is pretty clear it was very badly written.

        I found it here:
        http://www.articulateschnook.com/10/070510shaw.html

      • joe says:

        Gabbo, thank you for this link!

        But I’m a little mystified; Liz’s column is not appearing on the Articulate Schnook main page (at least for me, yet – it’s a server-dependent kind of thing). I encourage one and all to go visit, but be aware that Liz may still be in the process of editing.

      • JC says:

        It’s not the fact that she revealed her name that’s the problem. It’s she’s never revealed anything to Chuck at all. So the first time Sarah has opened up to anyone on the show and it was Shaw. Completely mind boggling.

        To me the key difference in Cougars was that offered up something to Chuck as reward. She didn’t want to share with Chuck and that’s why he refused.

      • Merve says:

        The key thing is that Chuck said that he didn’t need to know who she was because he knew who she is. It was as much about Chuck respecting Sarah’s privacy as it was about Chuck realizing that Sarah’s past didn’t matter to him.

      • JC says:

        I get that Merve, but who is Sarah Walker? Sam Lisa something and Jenny Burton they’re all a part of who Sarah Walker is now. At the time of Cougars I can understand her not sharing but after Other Guy I can’t.

        Not once has Sarah willingly shared anything about herself past or present to Chuck. And at this point in the show, a throw away line in Role Models about “you know how I grew up” doesn’t cut it.

      • Merve says:

        The show has crafted a really bizarre stalemate. If Sarah sees herself as “Sarah Walker” and not as “Jenny Burton” or “Ilana Truffault” or “Sam Lisa Whateverherlastnamewas,” then she’s never going to want to share her past with Chuck. And if Chuck doesn’t want to pry because the only important thing to him is how Sarah is in the present, then he’s never going to ask about her past. At the very least, since “Tooth” it seems as if Sarah is willing to be more open about her present feelings with Chuck, but if she’s ever going to open up about her past, something is going to have to break that stalemate. Sarah will have re-evaluate her past and what it means to her. The best way to do that is by bringing back Sarah’s father, or better yet, by bringing Sarah’s mother into the picture. Those two characters might be able to offer Sarah a fresh perspective on her past. Even then, for any revelations to be meaningful to Chuck, he would have to change his opinion on Sarah’s past; he would have to start believing that while Sarah might be a different person than she was ten years ago, her formative years are an important part of who she is today.

        I say all of this because if Sarah is going to open up to Chuck about her past, it has to be done right. A random “fanservice” scene won’t cut it. The writers have to take the situation that they’ve built into account.

      • amyabn says:

        Merve, you are brilliant. I’m not sure how to showcase Sarah’s journey from con artist to hero or why at this point it would matter.
        I’m still stuck on Ellie being a catalyst for more exposition on Sarah’s past. I think simply an explanation of how skilled Sarah is would lead to back story conversation.
        PapaB already alluded to it with his question of whether Sarah had an intersect too. How did Sarah Walker get so good? She speaks several languages (Polish, German, Russian, Swedish), is awesome with knives (all the way back to High School), kicks butt, etc. Chuck could try to shield her from Ellie’s questions, but Sarah decides to open up-you know, the new improved Sarah who actually communicates.
        We could also learn about her mom-just a glimpse, but enough to make it meaningful if she returned. I don’t know that we need deep exposition, but just flesh out her background more. College, CIA training, etc.

      • ArticulateSchnook (aka lizjames) says:

        Hi, sorry, folks. The “Why Sarah and Shaw Mattered” thing mentioned above wasn’t exactly ready for prime time. But it is now and it is listed on the ArticulateSchnook.com home page. And just for you, Joe: A picture of Sarah Walker smiling in Season 3 🙂

        It’s here: http://bit.ly/abdapu

        And the first newsletter will be out tomorrow, I promise…

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Hey Merve, Amy. I know I’ve spent a lot of time and pixels on Chuck’s journey, but lately I’ve been putting more thought into Sarah’s. I think it is going to be tougher because for a while (my theory is) TPTB didn’t really consider her journey or at least consider it as important. We really didn’t get any back story on her until Cougars. Anyway, my general thought was that Sarah’s story was about her either finding or re-connecting with her humanity, for lack of a better description. Clearly Chuck is key, but I think it also includes Sarah moving outside just her relationship with Chuck and connecting with more people. She still hasn’t really done that, outside some telepathic hugs with Casey. I think she’ll be Sarah until she starts forming other friendships. Sarah is enough for Chuck, at least for now, so I think she’s happy being Sarah.

      • atcdave says:

        I think a built in problem with any attempt to understand Sarah is that we, the fans, consider her far more important than TPTB do. Basically, most fans seem to want the show to be “Chuck and Sarah”; while TPTB adamantly want it to be “Chuck.”

        So I figure being disappointed with the end result is unavoidable for me.

      • JC says:

        Honestly I don’t think they’ll ever flesh Sarah’s character out. She’s a very effect plot device for the writers to spur Chuck into action.

        By being a blank slate of sorts, they can make her react anyway they want to drive the story forward even if its inconsistent.

      • Merve says:

        I’m not saying this just to be a contrarian, but I’ve always found Chuck’s journey to be more compelling than Sarah’s. Because Sarah was initially presented as such a blank slate, I’ve never felt as if I should care about her journey. That being said, I don’t want the show to focus a lot more on Sarah, but I do want to get more insight into her character’s motivations. I’d also like to see her interact with people other than Chuck and Casey.

      • amyabn says:

        Ernie, if you want to collaborate on a piece on Sarah, I’m game.
        I see Sarah as more interesting (don’t shoot me!) because she is such a mystery. Chuck is pretty much an open book, with his motivations, insecurities, and emotions. I understand some of her motivations as far as love of country and duty go (she’s CIA, I’m Army). I also think I understand some of her motivations because I’m a woman. That isn’t a knock on the men here-you are all awesome, but I find Sarah very relatable. Let me know!

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Amy, sounds like a plan to me. I may try to start something this weekend. I’ll give you a hint. Hero’s Journey. 😉 Like you couldn’t see that one coming.

        Seriously, I have a few ideas and key scenes in mind that I think are informative and I’d seriously like a woman’s perspective. I’ll e-mail you later this week or weekend. Hopefully from my soon to arrive iPad. 😀

      • jason says:

        amy – I too find sarah far more interesting, I am not sure how much of the sarah story was revealed, and how much I made up, but I felt I learned a bunch about sarah in season 3, from my perspective, I think she grew more from the front 13 than chuck did, in lots of ways, chuck was grown up with no occupation going into season 3, sarah was very immature with a heroic occupation – and by episode 14, neither exactly had it figured out, but by and large they had grown and were at the same point professionally and emotionally, I have nothing good to say how that story was told, but the “Paris” and “train ride” and “erotic bed scene to sarah’s new song” destinations were satisfying to me, I think these were much more about sarah’s growth than chuck’s, maybe that is why so many saw season 3 in conflicting ways?

      • joe says:

        Go for it, guys! 😉

      • Joseph (can't be Joe) says:

        Jason,

        Like you I find Sarah’s journey as a “lost soul” to someone who essentially finds her soul mate quite intriguing. Chuck’s journey is in “in your face” and just easier to follow. In the first 13, it somehow seems that so much attention was paid to the Shaw arc that the main characters seemed forgotten. I agree the Sarah character did grow this season. However from my perspective that growth seemed to happen in the blink of an eye somewhere near the end of episode twelve. Before this Sarah’s behaviour from my standpoint could best be described as “highschoolish”. The character was all over the place, confusing and really not that much fun to watch.

        That being said, after the (insert appropriate expletive) story of the first 13, she found “her Chuck” and the Sarah we all know and (be truthful now) “crush on” was back. And maybe that was the whole point.

  9. JC says:

    Why is Chuck in love with Sarah?

    How much did Bryce Larkin know about the Bartowski family spy history? Perhaps we’ll get a flashback with him and Papa or Mama B?

    • joe says:

      Why is Chuck in love with Sarah?

      Sometimes the obvious is hardest to articulate! Have you ever tried to put Chuck’s answer to that question in words, JC? I have. I was stunned at how difficult it is for me to do that!

      • atcdave says:

        Seriously? First two season she offered constant encouragement, belief in his abilities and strength of character, she always had a smile and tons of attention directed right at him, she’s saved his life on a regular basis, she never blames him even for the screw-ups that are his fault and provides him with justifications even for the shortcomings he does actually have, she laughs at all his dumb jokes, and she protects him and looks out for his best interests even when it is contrary to her orders; oh, and she’s a stunning beauty.

        How can he not love her?

      • Merve says:

        The funny thing is, Dave, that’s all season 2 stuff – stuff that was sorely lacking in most of seasons 1 and 3. I remember that the first time I heard Chuck’s speech to Sarah in “First Date” complimenting her, I was thinking, “Really? She’s that great?” Then Sarah spent the rest of the season showing why that speech was true. And then watching “Three Words,” I was thinking, “And Chuck thinks Sarah is worth his time because?”

        But you know what? I’m biased. I’m not a huge Sarah Walker fan. I never quite washed the bad taste of Season 1 Sarah out of my mouth.

      • JC says:

        That’s funny Merve I almost had that same reaction. I remember listening to Chuck’s speech and thinking was there another Sarah on the show.

      • atcdave says:

        Wow you guys, I adored Sarah from at least Tango (hmm, actually maybe from the shoulder bump in the Pilot), that’s always how I’ve seen her. There were a few marks against her, but the only time I didn’t like Sarah was in Nemesis and the first part of Crown Vic (and she completely made up for it all at the end of Crown Vic); otherwise I thought she was the most perfectly idealized heroic character I’d ever seen in S1. S2 only made her better, except for the end of Suburbs and a rough patch in Beefcake (that wasn’t really a very big deal). Perhaps that’s part of why I found S3 so unappealing, I simply didn’t recognize that depiction of Sarah until the end of American Hero.

      • Merve says:

        It’s funny how we all see these things differently. I remember Sarah being very encouraging in “Tango” and “Sandworm,” and I don’t think that Sarah was ever particularly mean-spirited. But initially, Sarah came across as very manipulative in “Helicopter” and “Truth.” She was excessively angry for a lot of “Wookiee.” She was inconsiderate of Chuck’s friends and family in “Sizzling Shrimp.” And she was utterly unlikeable from “Imported Hard Salami” to “Crown Vic.”

        To be honest, Sarah’s character was pretty ill-defined at first, and I don’t think that Strahovski had a good handle on the role until the middle of the season. (It’s a testament to her devotion to her craft that she went from being the weak link of the cast to one of the ensemble’s strongest elements over the course of the season.) Like the writers did with Morgan’s character, they definitely recalibrated it a bit when they wrote season 2.

        Seen through the eyes of “Cougars,” “DeLorean,” and “Other Guy,” a lot of Sarah’s actions in season 1 make more sense. But Sarah’s admission that she fell for Chuck in the pilot can’t turn back time and rewrite my initial impressions of her character.

      • atcdave says:

        I agree entirely about Morgan. But not about Sarah (or Yvonne; she maybe had some dialect issues in the Pilot, but I thought those were fixed by Helicopter); I never saw her as manipulative, except of course she needed him to be mission ready. I thought that from the Pilot (and I watched in real time so that’s September of 2007 if it matters) she had protected Chuck from a bunkered existance, so I saw her as the main heroic character in the story from the start (compared to Chuck as the “everyman” and moral type of hero).
        I do agree that “falling for” Chuck in the Pilot seems like a stretch. But I do accept Sarah fell for him long before she admitted it to herself; and I interpretted their first meeting as Sarah felt he may be the first completely decent guy she’d ever known; so if she looks back and says that was the moment, it doesn’t strike me as completely out of line.

      • BDaddyDL says:

        I always have thought when Sarah saw Chuck with the ballerina I thought and still do that she fell in love with Chuck. You can see in that first season the fight between duty of country, and Chuck that Sarah is waging. That is what bothered me about season 3 Sarah..well i just dont want to think about it.

        BTW its just my opinion, but Chuck realized what was important in the beard. By the American hero Sarah had recognized that Chuck could her life.
        I know, attack of the crazy shipper, what can I say I am a romantic.

      • joe says:

        Yes, Dave. Seriously. I mean, I know why *I* fell in love with Sarah! But Chuck is a different story.

        From the first, Sarah was “too good to be true”, and then quickly got into a vantage where Chuck was almost routinely embarrassing himself around her. Chuck seemed almost foolish because of it.

        But Chuck is no fool. He knew right away that she was not as he wanted her to seem, and if there was any doubt, she told him when he asked. Repeatedly. Chuck had every right (and intention, I think) to be guarded. I think he was, on the beach at the end of the pilot.

        Yet, by the end of Helicopter, he’s in the Weinerlicious apologizing for not trusting her with his life. By Alma Mater he wants to know more about her personally.

        Given his bitterness over Jill and Stanford, and given the presence of, say, Lou, I’m really surprised that he could see through Agent Walker to see Sarah in S1.

      • jason says:

        I think the season 1 / 2 love story between chuck and sarah is something you either feel or don’t feel, for me, it hooked me right away, at the ballerina scene along with sarah I guess. I wrote in my ‘type’ essay, they were written with problems in s1 / s2 that got fixed in s3, but I think season 3 was a case of too many cooks spoiling the potm, I think each one of these writers added a pinch of angst salt, and by the time they got done, we had 12 hrs and 55 minutes of angst, and 5 minutes of love story – it was hard to watch. take away the chuck and sarah love story, I actually agree with merve, the rest of season 3’s front arc was sort of on par with s1 / s2 – but if the love story is what hooked you, s3’s front 13, well chuck sucked

      • atcdave says:

        I agree with most of that Jason. You all know I’m hooked on the fan fiction; well if you look at when stuff was written and what inspired it; A LARGE volume of deeply romantic fiction was inspired by the end of S1, specifically Marlin seems to have moved a lot of imaginative people to write Chuck/Sarah love stories. So while many people seem unimpressed, many others were deeply affected by the romance very early on.

      • Merve says:

        @Dave: Sorry, I didn’t want to give the impression that I was pinning all of my initial dislike of Sarah’s character on Strahovski. She could only work with what she was given, and for a lot of the first season, the writers didn’t give her much to work with when it came to her character’s motivations.

        And as far as the romance goes, I think I’ve said this before, but for me, it was ruined way back in season 1 by the arc from “Imported Hard Salami” to “Crown Vic,” and it never recovered. In fact, by the end of the Jill arc, I just didn’t care. Luckily, almost everything else the show had to offer hooked me right from day one. I don’t feel strongly about the romance because it never hooked me.

        @jason: Weirdly enough, most of my problems with the front 13 weren’t Chuck/Sarah related. I didn’t like how Sarah treated Chuck in “Three Words,” especially after Chuck was clearly trying to explain himself at the end of “Pink Slip.” I also didn’t like Chuck being a whiny loser in “Three Words.” Other than that, my problems with how the Chuck/Sarah relationship was handled were just minor quibbles (and I always have lots of minor quibbles). For me, there were three bigger problems. Firstly, I didn’t like how the Ring was portrayed as a bunch of idiots from “Operation Awesome” to “Fake Name.” (I’ll give them “Nacho Sampler,” though, because they didn’t do anything particularly stupid in that episode, and hey, what evil organization wouldn’t want Intersect glasses?) Secondly, I thought that Awesome losing his “awesomeness” was overplayed from “Fake Name” to “Tic Tac” at the expense of an actual Awesome/Ellie conflict. Thirdly, I really, really didn’t like Casey’s arc in “Final Exam” and “American Hero.”

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Merve, while I understand, and agree to an extent, with your contention that Sarah was a little ill defined in the beginning of S1 I think part of that was the changes the character was going through. The changed order of the episodes didn’t help. In the original order, Tango, Sizzling Shrimp, Wookie, you would have seen Sarah having her second family dinner for the cover in Tango, putting the mission first (above both Morgan and Ellie) in Sizzling Shrimp, but at the end learning how important family was to Chuck as she was included in the Mother’s Day dinner, then move into Wookie where she’s essentially part of the family. It makes her callousness in Sizzling Shrimp a little easier to take as it is obvious she’s in a learning curve. As for Truth through Crown Vic, I saw that as Sarah losing control of Chuck and coming to terms with the fact that she’s hopelessly compromised and she can’t manipulate him any more. Not especially pretty, but I thought it a legitimate part of the story.

      • Merve says:

        Ernie, I totally agree that “Sizzling Shrimp” and “Wookiee” never should have been aired out of order. It’s just weird to hear Sarah tell Carina that she’s “good here” in “Wookiee” and then see her not understand why Chuck values his friends and family so much in “Sizzling Shrimp.”

      • herder says:

        Don’t want to beat a dead horse, but my take is that the writers didn’t care about Sarah’s journey except to the extent that it had an effect on Chuck. We were never told why she was interested in Shaw, why what she had with Shaw was different than what she had with Chuck and why she chose Chuck over Shaw. All these are crucial elments to any journey that she may have had.

        Instead we are left to try and find our own answers by speculation. Liz James (and others)do a good job of it but most of what she is saying in her article is speculation and tea leaf reading, good speculation and tea leaf reading but not anything that was made clear during the season.

        That is why I have said that for the first part of season 3 Sarah didn’t matter except to the extent that she and her actions were an obstacle for Chuck to overcome.

      • PeterOinNJ says:

        I’m late to this party – somehow missed this entry – and wish I had found it earlier specifically because of this post:

        “Why is Chuck in love with Sarah?”
        by JC July 5, 2010 at 1:06 am

        Joe you wrote that “Sometimes the obvious is hardest to articulate! Have you ever tried to put Chuck’s answer to that question in words, JC? I have. I was stunned at how difficult it is for me to do that!”

        I didn’t have any trouble at all answering that question for Chuck – he loves her not only for who she is, but more importantly, for who he is when he is with her.

        That’s what true love does – it brings out the best in each other.

      • joe says:

        That’s pretty good, Peter! Maybe the best articulation I’ve seen, too.

        My original thought was that I find it hard to separate why *I* love Sarah from the reasons Chuck does. You found a way say it without putting yourself in the mix. Well done!

  10. jason says:

    Why were chuck and sarah not in many scenes together, as they are the male and female leads and poccess tremendous chemistry?

    did they realize each episode from 3.5 thru 3.12 ended with sarah either with shaw or headed to shaw with the exception of 3.6? Was that intentional?

    why was the nature of the shaw sarah relationship not revealed? How many times did they have sex for example?

    did they realize that shaw’s actions toward sarah appeared to be perverted, and somewhat in a boss subordinate government situation constituted a felony when done on government property while on the job?

    did they realize sarah did not smile or show joy for nearly 12 hours and 55 minutes of episodes?

    Did they realize that shippers did not enjoy the show for nearly 12 hours and 55 minutes of episodes?

  11. herder says:

    I think that Comic-con is more of a looking forward, upbeat type of thing, I don’t want it to become a rehash of everything that was wrong with season 3. I can see a small “we realize that not all our ideas went over as well as hoped” but that is about all I expect to see about that – at least in the public part of the event.

    That said if the words “something emotional and truamatic will occur, but it will be great” are used look out for flying rotten fruit.

    What I would like to see as a question, and Amy has pretty much covered the specifics, is where these actors would like to see their characters go. They have been playing the characters for three years now, what would they like to see their or someone else’s character do that they haven’t done so far.

    ie

    -Sarah has to stay in the car
    -Ellie has to let Chuck go
    -Casey has to admit he has lady feelings
    -Morgan has to realize he isn’t Chuck’s best friend anymore
    -Chuck has to realize that he needs Sarah more than he wants her.

  12. Merve says:

    Legitimate questions:
    – What is going to happen to the Buy More?

    – Now that the characters’ secrets have all been revealed, how are the character dynamics going to be affected next season? Are Sarah and Ellie going to become best buds? Are Casey and Awesome going to participate in watersports?

    – What the hell is up with Omaha?

    – Who rescued Bryce and Shaw from their near-death states?

    – Are we going to learn more about Sarah and Casey’s pasts? What kind of training did they receive? How about their past assignments?

    – What guest stars would you like to have back on the show?

    Rude questions that will never get answered:
    – It seems as if fan reaction was pretty split this season. Obviously the fans who completely rejected the season and its premise are a lost cause and there’s no hope in convincing them. But what would you say to those fans who were slightly less than satisfied?

    – It seems as if there were a lot of good ideas this season that got taken to extremes (e.g. Sarah’s reaction to the perceived changes in Chuck, Awesome losing his “awesomeness,” Chuck’s daddy issues). If you had to do the season over again, would you have employed a more subtle approach?

    – Based on his performances in “Final Exam,” “Other Guy,” and “Tooth,” Brandon Routh’s acting ability (or lack thereof) clearly wasn’t the problem with the Shaw character. Why was he written so inconsistently and why did his personality seem to change with every episode? Furthermore, what attracted him to Sarah?

    – Despite the fact that there were clear tonal differences and massive character differences between seasons 1 and 2 (especially in the way Sarah and Morgan were written), fans tend to see them as a unit and tend to see season 3 as separate from them. What do you make of this?

    – Let’s face it: “Mask” was sloppy and the spy plot from “Fake Name” to “Beard” took a poorly set-up 180-degree shift. Were those episodes the product of a hasty network-mandated rewrite designed to shoehorn Brandon Routh into more episodes? How much influence do the studio and the network exert over the creative process? Also, what about the 3D episode? How much did the network mess around with that one?

    – How do you cope with guest stars who give awful embarrassing career-killing poor performances (e.g. Gwendoline Yeo in “Sizzling Shrimp,” Jim Piddock in “Mask,” Deidrich Bader in “Beard”)? The filming schedule is very tight, but do you ever consider recasting if someone clearly isn’t working in the role?

    – Are there going to be any significant ratings ploys next season (e.g. stunt casting, 3D episodes, overhyped weddings)?

    • jason says:

      merve – i realize what I asked will never be asked, was being a jerk on purpose, I don’t know if you ever had to control damage as the lead spokesperson or not, my experience in this area is real, and not limited to once or twice, and I have found it is best to take on the 2000lb gorilla once, early, swiftyly, and under my own terms – being 100% honest and not spinning, rather just telling it like it is.

      for example, if fedak started off – I know you all want to know WTF were we thinking in season 3 with sarah and shaw, we asked ourselves the same question once we saw it play out on screen, let me just say, we shot it the way we did to give ourselves some room, chuck and sarah will have one more conversation about shaw this season, ALL fans will love what they have to say, especially what sarah has to say, but after that, it will not be mentioned again on screen, as for me, just like the show, I do not plan on mentioning it again.

      this would not only shut everyone up, but would interest everyone to see what fedak has in store for season 4’s heart to heart moment about shaw.

      since neither shaw nor sarah have ever confirmed anything via retcon and since not real much has been shown on the screen that can’t be retconned away, who know what plausible story TPTB could craft,

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I think the best thing they could do is address it in an opening film, and do so humorously. Tacitly admit failure without doing so explicitly. I could see a scene where the writers room, including Schwedak are all going nuts about how the Chuck/Sarah/Shaw triangle will be the greatest thing since Sam, Dianne and Frasier or Kelly, Dylan and Brenda (I looked that one up), and someone brings up “or Dave, Maddie and Walter” and the room goes silent. The speaker has to painfully explain how in Moonlighting they had Maddie mary another man after she and Dave had one night together and then inexplicably went their separate ways. The room is uncomfortably silent till someone says “or Ryan, Marissa, and Johnny” (from the OC, looked that up on Wikipedia) as the room murmurs with some trepidation until someone says “or Sam, Dianne, and Frasier” and the room erupts again.

      • Merve says:

        Honestly, nobody is going to ask difficult questions. Comic-Con is a time for celebration. TPTB should be more concerned about getting people excited for Season 4 than picking at old wounds. (They should just say that next season is going to contain more car chases, explosions, and wacky stunts. Who doesn’t love those things? ;))

      • BDaddyDL says:

        This will be the first time I have ever said this. In the next season I want jewelery.I want to see an engagement ring at the very least.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I agree with you in general Merve, but it would still be funny.

      • atcdave says:

        I don’t expect a serious detailed apology for S3, but I think Ernie’s suggestion has merit. They lost half their audience and seriously angered a number of us who stuck it out. They NEED to acknowledge S3 could have been handled better.

        But then move on. Comic-Con is a time for celebrating what lies ahead. And no matter how POed myself and many other fans were, we fix the problem by having good entertainment to look forward to in the future, not dwelling on past screw-ups. (again though, failure to at least acknowledge past screw-ups can indicate no lesson learned, that concerns me).

      • Merve says:

        At best, I can see the showrunners saying that they’re not going to do love triangles next season. Beyond that, apologies are just going to piss more people off (myself included) and would show that the showrunners have no faith in their own product. Why should I believe in the show if its creators don’t?

      • Joseph (can't be Joe) says:

        I don’t expect any type of apology. If anything I fully expected them to leave the fans “high” similar to Wondercon. Personally I’m not buying in to it until I’ve seen what they have to show me.

        I just hope that I don’t need to run out and buy “Chuck for Dummies” for S4, since it was definitely required reading for S3.

      • atcdave says:

        Merve, my feeling is 180 degrees different on the apology, because I see the inferior product of S3 as a done deed, it won’t be made more real by acknowledging it.

        But again, I don’t expect an apology as such, what I want is more admission they learned from their FUBAR. The horrible episodes are done and beyond redemption; but there needs to be a “lessons learned” moment. I can forgive many bad things, as long as I know they won’t be repeated. At this point I don’t think triangles figure into their plans anyway, I’m more concerned about our protagonist continuing to lie. I am concerned that they don’t actually know how to portray admirable characters in a committed adult relationship. So many fans were unenthused with S3, if they don’t portray Chuck and Sarah as decent, heroic, likable, and respectable characters in S4 (like they did in S1 and S2) much of the remaining audience will drift away.

      • Merve says:

        There are two reasons why I don’t want an apology. Firstly, it’s insulting. My reaction would be something like, “So I was crazy to like what you did? Now I’m wrong?” Secondly, it’s an indication that the showrunners are willing to let the show’s direction be dictated by the most vocal fans. One need look no further than How I Met Your Mother’s disastrous 5th season to see what happens when showrunners give the fans what they think the fans want. I’ve always thought that showrunners should tell the story that they think will be the most entertaining. If I like it, I’ll tune in. If I don’t, I’ll play sports video games instead. If the showrunners apologize, then next season, not only will they have to entertain me, but they’ll also have to convince me that they’re not going to turn their show into shallow fanservice. Frankly, it’s a psychological thing: if they insult me, then my crap tolerance will fall dramatically.

      • atcdave says:

        I get that Merve, but realize they’ve already insulted me; as in steaming angry with the tripe they did. And as I said, I don’t expect a formal apology. I even acknowledge it was a fairly small amount of actual screen time that was poorly managed; but something along the lines of “we know many fans were deeply unhappy with the previous season, there were some things we probably could have done better, but those fans we upset will likely be very happy with what’s ahead…”

        They have rather coyly already done some of this, and I really don’t expect the same problems to recur.
        I do believe you and I have clashed over this general issue for many months. I do believe the artist has an obligation to please their patrons. Only “hobbiests” are free to pursue “pure” art. I understand trying to “please the masses” is a good way to ruin anything; but there is a big gap between that and doing something the bulk of your customers actively do not want.

  13. herder says:

    One question that I would expect to see asked and answered at comic-com has to do with casting and how often the secondary pairings appear in the show. Last year due to budget cuts you tended to get either Awesome and Ellie or the Buy More crew but rarely both in a single episode. I’m wondering if they will keep up that way of breaking up the cast or will it be more like the first two years with all the cast having parts in all episodes.

  14. Jonathan says:

    Hey guys, have been gone for several months and have a quick question (used to post under Fake Empire, but that now feels odd for some reason). Was JS’s contract renewed? It was set to expire after S3. I see he is scheduled for Comic Con.

    Thanks in advance, and I hope you guys are doing well.

    • atcdave says:

      I don’t really know any details but JS is still in charge of things.

    • joe says:

      Hi, Jonathan. Good to see you back visiting.

      We’re not insiders here, by any means. But we do try to pay attention to the Chuck news. I have to say that I’ve seen nothing about this at all. I sort of assumed from the renewal news in May that all was status-quo for both JS and CF.

      That *is* an assumption, though.

      One related bit of news that I haven’t talked about at all is that the proposed buyout of NBC-U by Comcast seems to have hit a regulatory snag. I suspect that this tends to freeze individual contracts in place until the bigger picture is made more clear.

      It’s got to be hard to plan for the long term when you don’t know who you’ll be working for.

      Duh.

      • Jonathan says:

        Thanks Dave and Joe! It sounds like there has been no definitive word, but there must be something in place given his continued efforts. My understanding was that his contract was with Warner Bros. and not NBC, but perhaps the Comcast negotiations have “frozen” things somehow.

Leave a Reply

