Music Selections for S4: Dance With Me

I have been listening to a lot of music lately, as my work travels have had me all over the world.  Long plane rides are great for re-watching Chuck and to tune out your environs to music.  I have already outlined some of my ideas for Season 4 for you here.   As I mentally write and re-write how I see the episodes playing out, I also choose music to go along with the show.  If you haven’t had a chance to read it, I encourage you to take a moment to review it as I’m fitting the model I laid out.  I try to pick a song for the mood, the sentiment, point of view, or just because I like the song.  One of the coolest things about Chuck is that the music is so varied which allows me the freedom to pick from multiple genres.  We’ll see how this post goes, but I foresee multiple posts over time as a song hits my fancy.  In the meantime, I submit my latest picks for your listening pleasure after the break.  Special thanks to Faith for helping with the audio player!

My first selection is by a band named Owl City and the song is called, “If My Heart Was a House.” I’ve copied some of the lyric below and it is from Chuck’s POV. 

You’re the sky that I fell through
And I remember the view whenever I’m holding you
The sun hung from a string
Looking down on the world as it warmed over everything
Chills run down my spine as our fingers intwine
And your sighs harmonize with mine
Unmistakably I can still feel your heart
Beat fast when you dance with me
…..
Circle me and the needle moves gracefully
Back and forth, if my heart was a compass you’d be North
Risk it all cause I’ll catch you if you fall
Wherever you go, if my heart was a house you’d be home

I could see them dancing to the song in their new home.  The beauty in the lyric is that it paints such a nice image of a relationship.  We know Sarah has only felt home in Burbank, which really means with Chuck.  Another image is that of a record playing and them dancing, which ties nicely into the choice of vinyl records which Chuck seems to have quite a few of.  The imagery in the song of the sun reminds me of the Pilot, as Sarah and Chuck came to some sort of understanding on the beach, as reality hit, and set us up for the journey they are on together.  The song is sweet, and the singer grows with the confidence in the crescendo, ditching his dismay and going for it with the girl.  It also fits if Chuck feels lonely being outside of the spy world, having to look in (the lyric about walking alone).

My second song selection is a song I think Sarah would pick.  The song is called, “Elsewhere” and it is sung by Sarah McLachlan from her album, “Fumbling Towards Ecstasy.”  I’m choosing to list the whole lyric, and I think you’ll see why. T

“I love the time and in between

the calm inside me

in the space where I can breathe

I believe there is a

distance I have wandered

to touch upon the years of

reaching out and reaching in

holding out holding in

I believe

this is heaven to no one else but me

and I’ll defend it as long as I can be

left here to linger in silence

if I choose to

would you try to understand

I know this love is passing time

passing through like liquid

I am drunk in my desire…

but I love the way you smile at me

I love the way your hands reach out and hold me near…

I believe…

I believe

this is heaven to no one else but me

and I’ll defend it as long as

I can be left here to linger in silence

if I choose to

would you try to understand

Oh the quiet child awaits the day when she can break free

the mold that clings like desperation

Mother can’t you see I’ve got

to live my life the way I feel is right for me

might not be right for you but it’s right for me…

I believe…

I believe

this is heaven to no one else but me

and I’ll defend it as long as

I can be left here to linger in silence

if I choose to

would you try to understand it

I would like to linger here in silence

if I choose to

would you understand it”

To me, this sums up her evolution from Jenny Burton, the girl raised on the run, to Sarah, the woman, and who is finally content with the man she loves.  We know Sarah will defend Chuck with her life, as well as defending the relationship.  I liken the mother reference more to Ellie than I do Sarah’s mother.  I’m guessing that Sarah the Weinericious/OrangeOrange girl is more to Ellie’s liking for her brother-Sarah the spy is not.  I may be projecting my expectation for short lived angst there, but I think it needs to be addressed.  The lyrics and the lush styling take me back to the end of Honeymooners with them snuggling to Nina Simone.  This song gives me that feeling, from Sarah’s POV.

I think the lyrics are far more eloquent than I could ever be, so I will leave you to enjoy the music and to ponder your choices for our favorite show.

-amyabn

About amyabn

My name is Amy and I'm in the active Army as my profession. I love the show Chuck and want to see it succeed for many seasons to come. My twitter handle is amyabn.
This entry was posted in Music, Season 4, Wild Speculation. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Music Selections for S4: Dance With Me

  1. Bernardo says:

    Nice selection. One of my hopes for the next season is more dance scenes. Yvonne is a terrific dancer (Chuck Vs. the break-up!!!!) and the sole dance of season 3 (Vs. the angel of death) wasn´t nearly enough for me. And with the 2.0, Chuck could actually keep up with Sarah´abilities! One more wasted oportunity for season 3

    • Merve says:

      I say this all the time, but the third episode of each season has featured an elaborate dance scene set to Latin music at a lavish party. Here’s hoping that S4E03 isn’t a combo breaker.

  2. joe says:

    Dance! Oh gee! Can you start to imagine the music selection for when C&S get engaged – possibly this season? Somehow that seems even more important than any possible spy story.

  3. joe says:

    Oh my. Now I’ve found a quiet moment to listen.

    Take the time. It’s so very worth it. These are so well chosen, Amy. Thanks.

    And on a side note, I’m still stunned by the power of music, and I’ve been that way ever since I heard “One Eyed, One Horned, Flying Purple People Eater” on the radio in 1958. The songs stick with me, always.

    Today I caught a new commercial for Nissan on television. The music they chose was the background as characters were introduced in the pilot for Chuck; Cobrastyle by Teddybears. I’m pretty sure that’s the only time it’s been used, but I only relate it to Chuck.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      That’s funny Joe, I heard the commercial in the background while I was fixing dinner and it made me pause and do a double take, basically because of the strong Chuck assosciation.

    • herder says:

      Same for me, I heard the commercial the other night and thought Chuck. For what it is worth in Canada there is also a commercial for Miracle Whip that uses “Round the Bend” by Astroids Galaxy Tour (Dream Job) that has been running since last June. Also last June/Summer there was a photography store (Black’s I think) commercial that used “Looking at the Sun” by Gramercy Arms (the Ring) both of which I would always hear and think “Chuck!”.

  4. Crumby says:

    Great selection.

    If they do choose to have Chuck and Sarah figuring out TOGETHER what to do about the whole Orion thing, working for the CIA or not, who to talk to about it, etc. that could be a great conclusion: “wherever you go, if my heart was a house you’d be home.”

    They might not figuring out everything right away, but as long as they do it together…

Leave a Reply

