Let The Speculation Begin!

People often ask me “Ernie, how can you so consistently churn out so much material for this blog?  Between your epic length posts and your extensive commentary and analysis, there must be little time to do anything else?  Do you have a job or are you just some sort of freeloader with a computer?”  I find this odd because Ernie is only my pen name and I rarely speak to actual people.  But it is a fair question.  Sadly, you may not like the answer.  Yes I have a job, and while this is a hobby it is habit-forming.  To support my writing habit I’ve taken a few shortcuts.  All my adjectives and adverbs come pre-packaged from ChuckThisBlog’s tech support in India, and I’ve farmed out all the actual watching of episodes to some enterprising Chinese university students.  That’s the reason we had to do the Firefly re-watch this summer.  They get a big kick out of the actors’ funny accents and they love that none of us get the curses and insults in Chinese.  Oddly Firefly is rated NC-17 in China.  More shocking admissions, and some speculation, after the jump.

If you haven’t figured it out by now my big secret to turning out mounds of drivel is typing.  When I don’t know what to write about I start to type.  Sooner or later the creative and artistic me who has been sulking in the corner like a Holden Caulfield wannabe, starts to feel neglected and starts peeking over the shoulder of the part of me that apparently just likes to type.  Eventually he starts to speak up with things like “hey say he’s sulking like a Holden Caulfield wannabe”, and if I type long enough he eventually takes my place at the keyboard.

Ok, still sulking.  Apparently he didn’t appreciate the Holden Caulfield joke.  But I do actually have something to write about today, and like the crack monkey in the lab I’m hitting the button ’cause I really need my fix.  Since “Holden” is unavailable and I’m jonesin’ for some comments to reply to I’ll have to do it myself.  Now all I need is some profound topic so I can wax poetic on the human condition as represented in Chuck or about how the intersect really represents Pandora’s box in greek mythology…

Fore!

Yep, still sulking.  When all else fails, tell the truth.  I really want to speculate and lately I’ve had a few random thoughts about doing a fanfic for season 4.  Then I saw this, and everything fell into place.  Speculation is my b*tch.  Before I start however I want to make several things clear.  One, this is pure speculation.  We don’t even really know if these are for Chuck.  My guess is they are for a Comicon video.  Two, that is pure speculation too.  I have no idea what those shots are for.  For all I know he’s doing a commercial for Slazenger.  Three, that was off the top of my head too, it’s more speculation.  Four, I really have to stop this and get on with the topic at hand, wild speculation that I can’t support with any argument whatsoever.  But it is fun.

So why is Chuck golfing?  I have a theory.  (Shocking, I know.)  Actually to be more precise I have a pre-existing train of thought that turned into a way to generate a story, then to thoughts of a fanfic, and then I thought of a way I could use the pictures of Zach golfing to construct and justify a post speculating on my pet theories as a direction Chuck may take in season 4.  Yeah, he’s still sulking, why do you ask?

So here’s my rather warped thought process, which started in season 2 and has only gained momentum since.  How did Orion manage to travel the world to such exotic places as Hong Kong, 100 miles east of Barstow, Burbank, Encino and Bishop County California?  OK fine, but Hong Kong to LA, you’ve at least got to give me that one.  He had resources.  Orion had to have a source of income to fund his travels, his inventions, his computers, a cabin in the woods a trailer on a hilltop, a jeep and keeping the family house for some 20 years.  So Orion had a source of income.

We could speculate that hacking bank accounts would be his easiest recourse, but that makes him a thief, even if he is stealing from international crime syndicates.  Perhaps he has some sort of fee collection device for Orion’s services?  But then that makes him a mercenary, even if he only takes on noble work and fights the good fight.

The most obvious source to me?  Orion is above all, an engineer and an inventor.  Some of Orion’s inventions could be patented and then either sold or leased. To do this he probably had some sort of holding company.  He’d be the eccentric founder but largely hands off otherwise, keeping the patents in his name and drawing money from the holding company for the rights to their use.  I know, in Dream Job he said Roark stole everything from him, but at a certain point when he and Roark parted ways Stephen’s work would be his own.  So now that Stephen J. Bartowski is dead, what will happen to those resources and that property?  Obviously there must be some legal means to transfer ownership of things like a house in Encino, a jeep, or  cabin in the hills to his legal heirs.  My guess, Chuck Bartowski and Ellie Woodcomb are about to come into a sizable inheritance, and perhaps even the ownership of a company.  Bruce Wayne, meet Chuck Bartowski, millionaire and new owner of Stephen J. Bartowski Enterprises Inc.  Time to work on your golf game Chuck.

And that dear friends is how I attempt to generate approximately one thousand words (give or take) to hopefully construct a facsimile of a thought-provoking and mildly funny and entertaining post from nothing whatsoever other than an idea I had that could be summarized in a paragraph and a picture I saw.  Hey, when writers block hits and I need my fix, typing will have to suffice.

– Ernie

About Ernie Davis

I was born in 1998, the illegitimate brain child and pen name of a surly and reclusive misanthrope with a penchant for anonymity. My offline alter ego is a convicted bibliophile and causes rampant pognophobia whenever he goes out in public. He wants to be James Lileks when he grows up or Dave Barry if he doesn’t.  His hobbies are mopery, curling and watching and writing about Chuck.  Obsessively.  Really, the dude needs serious help.
This entry was posted in Observations, Season 4, Wild Speculation. Bookmark the permalink.

89 Responses to Let The Speculation Begin!

  1. joe says:

    John? John Bangert? I recognize that “Dave Barry” writing style anywhere. Release Ernie right this minute! It will not do for you to leave him tied up in your basement.

    Return him at once!

    😉

  2. Merve says:

    I’d wager that the golf stuff is for the Comic-Con video. Either that, or it has nothing to do with Chuck. It might even be a silly sketch for Collegehumor.

    My guess is that Orion worked with a team that may or may not have included his wife. He was largely a behind-the-scenes tech guy until his wife disappeared, at which point he moved into fieldwork. The team obtained its funds from a wealthy, well-connected financier affiliated with the team, which also made it easier for team members to be admitted to rich folks’ galas and embassy parties. For now, I’m speculating that the financier was codenamed “Hydra.” Chuck will be able to fund his activities by contacting Hydra. Hydra will also be able to help Chuck find Mary.

    Alternatively, Orion got the money for his activities by walking down the street and coming across a large p(l)ot hole full of cash.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Merve, my only quibble with your theory is that Orion says “I’ve been a spy for the last twenty years, working for myself, doing things governments are afraid to do.”

      • Merve says:

        Well then, scrap the team and keep the financier, I guess. Or perhaps Orion didn’t have an official team, per se, but he did have allies. I have a hard time believing that Orion did everything by himself, but you’re right – he did specifically that he worked for himself. I guess he did most of work alone and sought help and helped others as needed.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Now that you mention it however, Orion could have been the spy world’s Keyser Soze, (without the murderous sociopath part that is). He had networks and people he could call on but most never knew who they really worked for. Some of them might have known of Orion and MEB so that Chuck can use them in the quest for mom, but I like the idea of Chuck essentially inheriting a whole network of spies.

      • atcdave says:

        I bet they keep it small. Probably no actual associates we’ll ever meet for more than a single episode. I also think the giant plot hole will remain most likely for his money (maybe thrown off with something simple like “investments” or “patents”). I just don’t see them adding many new players to the cast.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I think they have to at least explain the family house being passed on to Chuck, and given past history Dave may have a point that all we may get is a line or two about Stephen’s estate, investments or patents, but I for one would love to see Chuck dealing with being the newly minted CEO and owner of a company to kind of parallel his spy world inheritance. The responsibilities and people depending on him, etc could make for some comedy, some drama, and some growth. Plus it’d let Sarah straighten his tie on a regular basis.

      • JC says:

        I’m still thinking he worked with other off grid spies. Maybe not directly but some kind of loose affiliation to achieve a common goal. I’m guessing Harry Dean Stanton might shed some light on Orion’s activities in the premier.

      • Merve says:

        I kind of agree with Dave on this. There probably won’t be more than half a minute devoted to explaining how Orion financed his activities, and the “Hydra-as-financer” theory is mainly wishful thinking on my part.

        I think that Orion did have associates and I think that we’ll meet a couple of them, but I don’t think we’ll see them playing a role in more than a handful of episodes (i.e. no Shaws or Justins). There can’t be too much time devoted to the Orion backstory anyway if a lot of the season is going to focus on the search for Mary.

      • JC says:

        It depends really, Orion’s backstory could tie directly into the hunt for MEB.

        How they met and who they were working for at the time, etc. I really wouldn’t be surprised if there wasn’t some retcon about the Bartowski’s relating to Fulcrum, etc. Personally I’m hoping MEB was directly involved with the Omaha Project.

      • BDaddyDL says:

        I am definitely in the camp that if Sarah new MEB before Chuck, it could open a lot of history up on well everyone.

        Just a wild hair, but another tact would be if Graham became important. Sarah was his protege, that would also make things interesting.,

  3. sd says:

    In Chuckverse…no one dies just once and nothing is implausible. My take is that Papa B and Mama B had a very similar r’ship as Chuck and Sarah…and Sarah had some sort of (passing) connection with Mama B. JC–I really like your idea that MEM was/is involved with Omaha..

    I think those scenarios are potentially a lot of fun. But like a lot of folks who are posting…I hope Chuck and Sarah work as a team (no more lying) and vow to stick/work together unlike Chuck’s parents.

  4. amyabn says:

    I hope they use this seasons guest stars (a new one each week) to show Orion’s old associates. They could be funny like Perseus, etc.

    I agree with SD and I want Chuck and Sarah working together. I’m just wondering how they will accomplish that. A lot of the fandom could care less about C&S and the ‘ship. If they aren’t working together, that is about all that is left of their interaction. How do they get Beckman to let them, or all of Team Bartowski, work freelance? I would say they have certainly earned her trust, but there has to be some payoff for the govt. Maybe Chuck works on Orion’s inventions and passes bits of technology on to Beckman-not a lot, but enough to keep her wanting more. Is it September yet???

  5. hiswings says:

    Well we know that Stephen had a relationship with Bryce Larkin and that at one point he did work for the CIA while developing the intersect, so SJB could have developed quite a few working relationships within the spy world. I also think MEB possibly worked on the Omaha Project which I think was a joint MEB and SJB effort – that is why Chuck was so well suited to being selected for it. After all, Chuck downloaded those early versions as a child. Whose going to worry about finances – obviously Chuck has done pretty well for himself working for $12 an hour at the Buymore all these years.

    I think S4 has so many opportunities to enlist guest stars and showcase all the different bad guys as well as possible other Good Spies that worked with SJB. Only time will tell – September can you hurry any faster PLEASE!!!

  6. jason says:

    I don’t think zach was filming for the show or comic con – my guess is the club in his hand is worth about $5, for the show I would guess Nike or the like would send over a $400 promo club.

    When is comic con, is it this coming weekend? Do you guys anticipate lots of spoilers?

    Did all the spoilers / speculation / leaks in season 3 help or hurt the show?

    • joe says:

      Comic-Con is this coming weekend, Jason.

      Personally, I’m expecting spoilers, but of a particularly valueless sort. If they have a collective, group nature, the cast and crew, it’s that they like to tease and pull pranks. None of them could resist saying something about the coming season, but they’ve all gotten very good at keeping the real news close to the vest. Today, even as I type, they start filming S4 and not one word has gotten out about who is going to play MEB. That’s pretty astonishing.

      Sometimes I think they’d prefer we pay less close attention! 😉

    • Merve says:

      Apparently, the golf stuff for a public service announcement:
      http://justjared.buzznet.com/2010/07/17/zachary-levi-treasure-trail-edition/

    • atcdave says:

      Last season the Comic-Con spoilers ignited the fan anger that carried all the way through 3.13. So my first thought is they will likely be more careful what they say this year. Hopefully they’re smart enough to use it as a feedback opportunity though. As it turns out, much of the fan frustration bore out exactly like we “crazy ‘shippers” were predicting; that is, a large percentage of the fan base was utterly tired of the wt/wt aspect of the show and warned that things needed to progress, especially without triangles. So the fans were ignored and ratings dropped as the season went. I HOPE, they use the Con to actually build enthusiasm this year, not stamp it out!

    • JC says:

      I wouldn’t be surprised if they announce who will be playing MEB at Comic Con especially if it’s a big name actress.

      • atcdave says:

        I wouldn’t be surprised if they try to keep that one secret for a while. If past seasons are any indicator, we won’t actually see her until late in the season. So I’m thinking that may be like a September or October news release.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        My guess would be that she isn’t even cast yet. Remember that casting notices for the back 6 were “leaking” in January when those episodes were filming in February and March. Now most of these were for minor one episode characters, but still, MEB probably won’t make an actual appearance till late in the season.

  7. herder says:

    Lots to speculate about, my guess is that this season in addition to having the bad guys that Orion was spying on come after Chuck, you’re going to get more info on Orion’s associates. As Ernie has suggested there may be people he had a commercial relationship with to provide income, after all, creating next gen laptops and wrist computers can’t be cheap.

    Orion also had Bryce looking out for Chuck, was there another Bryce (Brianna?) looking out for Ellie. Did Orion have other sources besides Bryce in the intelligence services. What about the rest of Orion’s original team, Perseus didn’t seem to be in contact with him, but maybe other members of the team were. This allows for guest stars to show up for an episode or two as good guys or as bad guys. We may get some of this in a very general way at Comic-con.

  8. jason says:

    MEB has had numerous covers over the years undercover, one of her assignments she acted as a much younger women and seduced a much younger man in a game of ‘spy love’ until graham let her off the hook from what she described as the most boring assignment ever, they get her out via a fake assassination of herself by a novice female agent in training, MEB’s cover name for that assignment – try Eve Shaw

    • atcdave says:

      Hah! So Sarah failed her red test too?

      That would be funny.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Actually, if you think about it she did. If the point is to show a willingness to kill in cold blood on orders (my theory, and not too far fetched I think) Sarah couldn’t. She didn’t fire until she thought she saw Eve reach for a gun.

        Now interesting and epic as Jason’s spec would be, Chuck killing (but not really) his step father who has had relations with both the love of his life and his mother, but who then came back from the dead to become Chuck’s arch enemy largely because he is under the mistaken impression that his wife is dead and Chuck thwarted his revenge upon the woman they were rivals over, so he killed Chuck’s father and tried to kill everyone else to lure Chuck into a showdown largely because Chuck once again thwarted his revenge, I think I see Fonzie donning water skis and a leather jacket. But that’s just my personal tastes. 😉

      • Merve says:

        Well, we’ve already had Chuck catching his cover girlfriend making out with her ex-boyfriend in Chuck’s room, that ex-boyfriend being a man who came back from the dead and who used to be one of Chuck’s best friends before Chuck’s father manipulated the man into getting Chuck kicked out Stanford and going along with the lie that the man had stolen Chuck’s ex-girlfriend, in order to keep Chuck from entering the life that his cover girlfriend’s ex-boyfriend thought that he could handle. What you’re proposing isn’t much of a stretch, Ernie. 😉

        On a more serious note, one thing that struck me was that the targets of both the Red Tests we saw were alleged traitors. It seems as if the CIA wants traitors dead, no questions asked, and I wonder if there’s something symbolic about killing a traitor in cold blood in order to be initiated into the spy world. Even in “Colonel,” Beckman said that she wanted Sarah and Chuck back dead or alive when they committed treason. I think that it would be interesting to explore the CIA’s attitude towards treason in more detail next season. Why do they want to kill traitors instead of interrogating them? Warning, crazy speculation ahead: maybe Mama Bartowski is in hiding because she was the target of someone’s Red Test. Or maybe she couldn’t go through with her own Red Test.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Jeeze Merve, when you put it like that is sounds so implausible. 🙂

        On your other note Beckman also wanted Casey dead or alive in Tic Tac. Given that The Ring typically executes people who fail and the CIA and NSA are apparently just as quick to issue kill orders I think we need to go back to a Morgan webisode where he questions the efficacy of random and targeted killings as a management tool.

  9. BDaddyDL says:

    I just saw this on you tube. Definitely worth a look or two. Just watch and tink about the good things in season3.

  10. joe says:

    Speaking of Speculation, Ausiello has some casting news and the title of 4.02, which is Chuck vs. the Suitcase.

    You can also see the quote in the spoiler page.

    • JC says:

      I know its just casting blurb from Ausiello but from the description of her character it seems like Chuck is still involved with the CIA. I kinda of have mixed feelings about that. Of course it all depends on how its handled.

    • atcdave says:

      I’m OK with Chuck still being with the CIA. I’m less OK with Chuck being partnered with Morgan. I mainly hope to see Chuck and Sarah as a team. But they have made Chuck and Morgan work before, it could be fun, just not too much.

      • jason says:

        chuck and sarah really are going to be ok this season as a couple, I am more sure of that than near anything going into season 4.

        but, what else the same minds that thought of season 3 will come up with in terms of entertainment, that remains a little bit iffy to me, my first impression, I would guess much more significant female guest star (leggy ones with aversion to clothing) time than last season

      • atcdave says:

        Sorry, I wasn’t trying to suggest Chuck/Sarah problems; TPTB would have to be utter fools to play that card again.

        I meant as operational pairings. I like the mood of Chuck and Sarah working together, and the pure lunacy of Morgan and Casey working together. Obviously the teams can be shaken up on occasion, but Chuck/Morgan and Sarah/Casey is the most boring combination they can do.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        That’s why this new spoiler is interesting. From the sounds of it Morgan is still in the CIA, and I’m guessing Chuck isn’t at least for a bit. Imagine Morgan paired with Season 1 Sarah, or Agent Forest. Morgan with a smokin’ hot cover girlfriend?

      • alladinsgeni4u says:

        If TPTB were true to their word that the back 6 were a preview of Season 4 , then I hope to see Chuck and Sarah work as a team on all operations. Apart from the relationship aspect, C/S on missions together is both fun and entertaining.

        Speculation: Maybe Munn comes in as Morgan’s handler- that would be fun to watch. Along the way she reprimands both Chuck and Morgan on their somewhat unprofessional way of doing things.

      • atcdave says:

        That would be really funny. Especially Morgan trying to pursue Alex while involved in a cover relationship. They could parody some of Chuck and Sarah’s situations. I have to think Morgan would make Chuck look quite smooth…

    • herder says:

      Maybe the CIA thinks that he has an attraction to leggy blonds with an aversion to clothing and they are trying to entice him back. Silly CIA, try brainy brunettes.

    • JC says:

      Well Munn is a leggy brunette with an aversion to clothing so in another universe she would be Chuck’s perfect match.

      • alladinsgeni4u says:

        You mean a perfect match as in the way Shaw was to Sarah – in another universe of course.

    • alladinsgeni4u says:

      Random Thought : With Olivia Munn named as the actress appearing in the Season 4 premiere we have a total of three guest stars in one episode. Dolph Lundgren and Harry Dean Stanton being the other two. Wonder how they are going to fit their roles in one hour of awesomeness.Hopefully their presence doesn’t encroach too much on what I would like to see – Team Bartowski in the mix.

    • Merve says:

      I’ve never seen Olivia Munn in anything so I have zero expectations. The fact that her character is a CIA spy could mean anything. Chuck could be rejoining the CIA. Or maybe the CIA is trying to recruit Chuck back into the fold. Or maybe Chuck has to deal with the CIA when he’s out on a personal mission. Or she could even be a rogue CIA spy who is after Chuck and Morgan.

      I’m also intrigued about the supermodel spoiler. Maybe they went along with Yvonne’s fashion show idea.

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        hmm! A fashion show.Interesting idea.If it so happens maybe Sarah walks the ramp as part of the cover.

      • JC says:

        It’d be a perfect episode for a Carina appearance. Throw a jealous Alex into the mix if she makes a play for Morgan.

      • Merve says:

        It would be, considering that Mini Anden used to be a supermodel. But the fact that they’re specifically looking for a supermodel leads me to believe that they won’t be bringing her back then. We’ll see…

  11. Ernie Davis says:

    A few interesting tidbits on twitter from Zach, Adam, and one of the crew (kentuckysocal, aka David Coleman). It looks like someone is in a Buy More hard hat. Interesting, if that is part of the episode and we haven’t seen the last of the Buy More.

    I do want to find out what becomes of Castle in the aftermath, not to mention the Orange Orange.

    • Crumby says:

      According to the last Ausiello spoiler (I’ve put it in the spoiler page), Castle is still there.

      • joe says:

        Thanks for the spoilers, Crumby! There newest one you’ve noted from Ausiello is up there too.

      • JC says:

        Random speculation time after that spoiler.

        Since the Richie’s episode was Cougars and it dealt with Sarah’s past and the whole Jenny Burton issue. And the spoilers says C/S are having issues. I wonder if this will be the reckoning over the name reveal.

      • Big Kev says:

        I’d love to see a reckoning over the name reveal. The way that was handled and then dropped was one of the main bugbears for me of S3. Looking forward to anything that further fleshes out Sarah’s backstory.

      • atcdave says:

        I already hate hear about fighting, but you’ve both touched on the good that can come of it. That is; more Sarah backstory, some sort of “fix” for the terrible way the name reveal was handled last season, and of course, making up is always fun…

      • Crumby says:

        They didn’t specifically talk about fighting but “bumps in their deepening relationship” with is IMO to be expected!

        Sarah’s backstory is still for a huge part a mystery and we haven’t seen her confined in Chuck about her past since they got together. She did mention how she grew up with her dad but Chuck after meeting her dad already knew that… She has been opening up about her feelings for him and what she wanted for their future but her past… and “high school was a hard time for her.”

        We’ve also seen Chuck withholding things from Sarah, and he’s got his own abandonment issues…

        They surely will have to figured some things out… before we get that engagement 😉 !

      • Ernie Davis says:

        We all knew there was bound to be some Chuck and Sarah tension. With the family if nothing else. But think about it. We went from Sarah making sure she was in a “comitted” relationship just when her last excuse to not be with Chuck was gone to the two of them running away together, to the two of them living together in a matter of weeks even in the show’s timeline. I’m guessing there will be a few issues more than the weapons cache and appropriate attire for raiding the fridge to overcome. Like maybe letting your sister run your life without talking to your live in girlfriend?

        The part that I find interesting is they seem to be doing something similar to the “Club Carmichael” prison idea where the baddies from the past are revisited. It also sounds like Castle remains, which will require the Buy More to remain. Unless Underpants Etc. decides to expand because Chuck got a great product placement deal with Hanes.

      • Merve says:

        I feel as if Underpants Etc. is kind of like the El Segundo School of Finance or the volleyball incident. It’s a joke better left to viewers’ imaginations.

        If the Buy More is indeed returning, I hope that it is explained why, when, and how it was rebuilt. If Mr. Mercer was trying to close the store down, then there has to be a good reason for it to return.

        Also on the subject of the Buy More, since Jeff and Lester are on the run, other Nerd Herders will needs to play a more prominent role. That can only mean one thing: MORE SKIP JOHNSON. Hooray! 😀

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I agree Merve. Some things are best in moderation (like actual Jeffster performances IMHO) or left to the imagination. Still there is a part of me that wouldn’t mind seeing something new, even though the Buy More doesn’t bother me. For instance, now that Morgan has his mojo back, could he flip the shrimp again? Would Casey ever sell anything but Crown Vic’s as a car salesman? Would Skip be a natural at the Hair Cuttery? How many cases of banana peppers would Big Mike’s Subway franchise go through in a week? Lastly, Chuck and Sarah. What will Chuck do for cover other than Nerd Herd? Sarah hasn’t sold yogurt since Final Exam, what has she moved on to?

      • Crumby says:

        Maybe they can move on to Buy More Corporate with those suits.

        I missed the OO last season, Sarah seemed to never be there anymore, but well, she’s already change her cover job once and it worked. What’s the next uniform?

      • JC says:

        I have to wonder if at this point if Chuck isn’t being completely honest with Sarah. Whatever problems they’re having might relate to that, so what better character other than Jack Burton to bring back to balance things out.

        Use Ritchie as plot device to make Sarah realize she can’t ask Chuck to be completely open and honest when she never was.

      • Merve says:

        @Crumby: Before all these spoilers came out, my original speculation was that Chuck and Sarah quit the spy life, went to work for Buy More corporate, and then got dragged back into the spy life. That seems unlikely now.

        @JC: I don’t think that a lack of honesty between Chuck and Sarah should be what causes relationship issues. We already saw it play out from “Tooth” to “Subway.” Furthermore, it would be at odds with the idea that trust is more important than truth, an idea that has been emphasized since “Helicopter.” I also don’t see Chuck getting mad at Sarah for not opening up about her past unless Chuck has had a change in attitude about it since “Cougars.” In that case, I’d like that change in attitude to be explained: why is Sarah’s past suddenly important to Chuck when he previously said that it wasn’t?

      • JC says:

        I see it as the same issue to some degree. Sarah expects Chuck to trust and be completely honest with her but she’s hasn’t been that way with him.

        The change of heart from Cougars could be his frustration of that double standard or he expects something since they’re in a real relationship not a cover one.

      • Crumby says:

        I don’t think the “bumps” are necessarily related to Sarah’s past.

        But Ritchie’s character will use her high school knowledge of Sarah to unsettle her and Chuck.

      • herder says:

        I’d like to see the Hugo Panzer character lay out Casey then have Sarah turn to Chuck and say “that was what you had to face alone on the plane in your first mission?”. Plenty of good stuff can come out about old villans returning.

      • Crumby says:

        I think Sarah omissions from her past are different from Chuck’s Back 6 lies.

        She is unconfortable with her past but honest in her curent relationship with Chuck.

        Chuck was lying about the present and stuff that directly concerned Sarah in the future they were creating together.

        Of course, without knowing anything about Sarah’s past it’s difficult to know if she’s withholding information that could be important for the future of their relationship: like “I had a kid when I was in College”, “I am in reality a double agent for the secret organisation that have abducted your mother”, “General Beckman is my mom”, etc.

      • Crumby says:

        Maybe Chuck will get to use is nunchucks afterall!

      • Merve says:

        @Ernie: Seeing Morgan trying to make it as a chef would be a great plotline. (That might involve casting stunt chefs, though…do such people exist?)

        @JC: I might be projecting too much of what I want to see onto this issue, but I think that Sarah should come to terms with her past independently of what Chuck wants. If she opens up about it just because Chuck asks, then that could have happened a lot sooner.

        @Crumby: I don’t know what kind of dirt Heather could dish out on Sarah. I don’t think that “Hey, Jenny was a huge nerd who played the violin” would make Chuck think any less of Sarah. Maybe Jenny planned some particularly nasty acts of revenge against her classmates. Or maybe she helped her father con them.

      • Crumby says:

        I was more thinking about how Sarah was unconfortable and tensed about high school. Heather could just brought some of those issues back. Nothing specially related to Chuck or things that would make him think less of her.

        But with the “bumps” already between us, Sarah uneasyness could accented the problems.

        I think the problem will more be about her reaction to Heather than what Heather could say.

      • JC says:

        Mevre I’d like to see that too. I’m just not to confident we’ll get much growth from Sarah unless it relates directly to Chuck.

        That’s where my speculation comes from. I have no idea if the C/S problems will be about him keeping things from her. I just went with it since Heather would be a great character to use to expose the issue about keeping things from each other.

      • herder says:

        I was thinking something along the mean girl persona “you were a loser in high school and I don’t care what training or titles you have, you are still that same looser that no one wanted to be around.

        Your mom left to get away from you, your dad went to prison to avoid you and this new guy has one foot out the door. What is it about you that when ever anyone gets close they run screaming the other way. Once a looser always a looser”

        Do you think that could play on some of Sarah’s self doubts?

      • jason says:

        especially if jenny made some game-changing epically wrong decisions with boys

      • JC says:

        I’m sure she’ll play on Sarah’s self doubts. The character is a perfect catalyst to bring her issues out.

      • atcdave says:

        Also remember the “sometimes the nerd hets the girl” situation. Heather could easily play on Chuck’s insecurities given her own relationship with her husband. And if Sarah is already mad at Chuck for something dumb (a Friday night wasted on Call of Duty maybe?), he could end up his nervous old self pretty quickly.

  12. Crumby says:

    The idea of Chuck taking officially on the family business would also offer a front for a new cover. I mean, will Chuck be a Nerd Herder forever?

  13. Crumby says:

    @Merbve – “I think that Sarah should come to terms with her past independently of what Chuck wants. If she opens up about it just because Chuck asks, then that could have happened a lot sooner.”

    I totally agree with that. But she could be willing to come to terms with her issues for Chuck and the sake of their relationship. He doesn’t need to know, he wants to know.

  14. Crumby says:

    This Sarah high school backstory thing could also dig into her recruitment into the CIA.

    • Crumby says:

      When you think about it we may not learn anything about Sarah’s backstory.

      It said that Heather’s “arrival dovetails with some serious bumps in Chuck and Sarah’s deepening relationship” and that “Heather will use that rift to her advantage” or a least try to.

      Their problems won’t come from her, at the beginning anyway. And she may just mess with them without using Sarah’s backstory. She was Fulcrum afterall, she’s got to have other tricks.

      She may also lie to Chuck, and not knowing anything she could get to him. That’s the problem with not knowing.

    • joe says:

      Crumby, I’m chuckling ’cause I come to the exact same conclusion for exactly the opposite reason! 🙂

      What if it’s Sarah who’s withholding (badly) about her past, it’s Heather who makes it a big, important thing and Chuck who is both frustrated and helpless at the situation because Sarah’s left him in the dark?

      So long as the rift doesn’t last too long, that might be a good story!

      • jason says:

        joe – the key for season 4 is to end episodes in awesome places (not ok, not good, not great – awesome), especially around the time NBC makes its decision, which is what, mid/late – October

      • joe says:

        That’s an interesting thought, Jason, especially in light of the conversation about how so many episodes this season turned sour in the last three minutes.

        My first thought was that the show seems a bit *more* house-bound (well, okay, Burbank-bound) because of Orion’s Lair, and because of Sarah’s statement that despite her numerous passport stamps, Burbank feels like home to her. I thought they’d stay there, close to home.

        But of course, that doesn’t have to be, especially if home is the place to which they return from traveling.

        My question to you is – what constitutes an awesome place? Love to know!

      • Crumby says:

        Yeah Joe my sentence wasn’t clear. When I said “She may also lie to Chuck, and not knowing anything she could get to him. That’s the problem with not knowing.” I meant she=Heather and not Sarah.

      • jason says:

        emotionally awesome only joe, think end of 3.14 as a starting spot of awesomeness, other words to replace awsome that might help explain my concept, warm, funny, light, nice even

      • joe says:

        @crumby, sorry! I read too quickly. Apologies.

        But I sort of like the idea that this time it’s Sarah who’s a little too withholding of the truth. You know, just for balance. 🙂

      • Crumby says:

        Everything will depends on wether Chuck tells her about Orion’s Cave of not… If he does then she’ll be the one who has the more secrets!

        Or will she? 😉

      • JC says:

        I think we might be jumping the gun about what secret Chuck could be keeping from Sarah if he is. It just doesn’t have to be the Orion cave. Chuck getting an Intersect as a child, if MEB is working for the Big Bad this season or something else from his childhood.

      • joe says:

        I agree, JC. We’re jumping the gun.

        The real speculation should be about how much info Schwartz, Fedak and the cast will spill during Comic-Con, not what the spillage might be.

        The cast is pretty guarded. Zac let out that someone else besides Devon would learn about his secret, but he didn’t say it was Morgan (he said that “there is another”, invoking the Star Wars line). Schwedak likes to tease, though. One of them (Schwartz, I think) gave us the memorable “Love Interests” to which was appended the word “Potential” as quickly possible.

        Question for the ages: have they learned anything from last year?

        [Joe runs from the wriggling worms escaping from the proverbial can…]

      • JC says:

        I think we all understand any spoilers about C/S relationship create the most buzz. So of course most of “leaks” involve that part of the show.

        Now whether they’ve learned their lesson on what people want from the show. I hope so, because I don’t think the fanbase will be as forgiving after S3. To quote Fedak “you wouldn’t stop reading a book after seven chapters”. They got their answer in the ratings.

      • atcdave says:

        Great call-back about the “7 chapters” thing JC. I read a book or two a week, and at least once or twice a year I give up on something as just not worth it. Granted, I normally figure it out before chapter 7, but not always. And I think most people feel even less investment with a TV show, if it fails to satisfy they end it. I just started watching Covert Affairs, and so far feel underwhelmed, I’ll give it a couple weeks; but I feel no obligation to continue with something that doesn’t satisfy.

        And Joe, I’m hoping what they learned is that they can’t make a stinker better by slapping “potential” in front of it. Especially since that was a total lie. A bad idea is a bad idea; however they spin it. I HOPE they learned A LOT about what fans don’t want more of in S4.

  15. JC says:

    After Comic Con and all the spoilers I’ve come up with some crazy speculation.

    We all know Orion left his family to protect them but I’m wondering if MEB left to prepare them, especially Chuck.

    I’m assuming MEB had something to do with the Intersect and by extension maybe the Omaha Project. Through dialogue it was inferred that Sarah and Bryce met there. But was Sarah always supposed to be the partner of the Intersect host? Was that MEB’s plan, she knew Chuck would be recruited so she hand picked a partner for him. Someone who she knew would bring out the best in her son.

    Chuck was her ace in the hole versus whoever the Big Bad is this season but Orion ruined her plan until now.

Leave a comment