Special Fan Fiction update

Last week I focused mainly on early S1 fan fiction.   But this week I really need to make a special mention of what’s been going on lately.   Several truly first rate stories are currently in progress at fanfiction.net.   I’m sure all regular readers here will recognize the screen name bdaddlydl;  he’s been a regular commenter at this site for quite some time,  and started his own fan fic several months ago.   His first work (Sarah vs.  the Death of Charles Bartowski) manages to be warm and sweet in the way the show often is.

But the sequel “Chuck vs His Heritage” is fun on multiple levels.  Just today (7/21/2010) he posted chapter 3,  which really stands out as an excellent piece of action writing.   Bdaddy has shown he can hold his own compared to some of the best writers on the site;  anyone with any interest in fan fiction needs to check it out (link to his home page is on the right sidebar).

Our own Joe gets a brief cameo.   I wonder if he’ll get killed off….

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Fan Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Special Fan Fiction update

  1. joe says:

    Killed off? Naw… BDaddy is too nice a guy to…
    Wha?? [BOP! Sounds of tranq darts zipping in the night…]

  2. BDaddyDL says:

    Joe has been keeping my characters honest. I could never have finished the first story without him. The fun part is I just figured out how Joe will be in another chapter.

    • atcdave says:

      That’s great! Just make sure his gruesome end is one for ages. That’s not a bad thing to ask, is it?

      Just kidding Joe, I’m pretty sure you won’t get killed off. (well mostly, sort of…)

  3. OldDarth says:

    Joe – Remember!

  4. BDaddyDL says:

    OK this has been burning in my head for a while now, and I decided to post it here first .

    Daniel Shaw lifted up the hatch to freedom. It had taken several months to figure out the best escape route out of the prison. I will have my revenge thought Daniel as he jogged away from the secret tunnel, and the prison that he had been in. Daniel kept moving for fifteen to twenty minutes.

    At this point, he had to stop. He had to catch his breath. That’s when he heard the sound. It was a deep rumbling sound. When he turned around, the last thing he saw were the treads of an Abraham’s tank right before it ran him over.

    Faintly, in the distance, you could hear Sarah Walker tell John Casey.” Thanks for the tank”

    THE END

    MAN THAT FELT GOOD TO WRITE.

  5. BDaddyDL says:

    Even if you have never read a piece of fan fiction before, you MUST read the latest chapter of What Fates Impose. Chapter 32 is amazing. Frea O’Scanlin wrote an spellbinding chapter. I not only saw the scene, I could almost feel it. Plus, there is a great moment between a clueless Chuck, and Sarah. Plus, its in the middle of a Jill arc.

    Please spend a few minutes and read it.

    2 more things, Bill at work has a great story out that uses Chuck and Sarah’s daughter in it. Bill uses this to bring the chemistry of Chuck and Sarah with a new look

    Finally, an INTENSE chapter of double agent is out. This is definitely the summer of AU (alternate Universe) in Fan Fiction, and I think it will stay that way until something from season 4 caches our imagination.

    • atcdave says:

      Agree on all of those, Frea O’Scanlin keeps topping herself with a deeply detailed AU that parallels/deviates from canon in many interesting ways.

  6. Bernardo says:

    Since we are talking about some old fics, may I recomend “Sarah Vs. the ashes of an American flag” by Wepdiggy. It is a dark, and intense tale, very AU. The sequel, is actually a crossover (or perhaps it is a re-tell?) of a very known story, but within the Chuckverse. I can´t say much more without spoiling it, but read it. It´s awesome.

  7. aardvark7734 says:

    Dave, I saw that you reviewed this, so I’m thinking you’ve got it written down in a note somewhere for your next fan fiction roundup, but I’m going to beat you to the punch. 😀

    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6187817/1/Walkers_Eleven

    This is a relatively new fic from Moonlight Pilot. I’m going to appropriate what I wrote about it over on GG because I’m lazy that way:

    Fun, easy summer read with Sarah as part of a “Ocean’s Eleven” style con artist crew who meets Chuck when he comes to help setup their faux office.
    Lighthearted and endearing banter ensues. There’s also a particularly amusing chapter two scene where Sarah encounters the Nerd Herders at a bar.

    I like this author’s buoyant style and the fluid way in which they tell their story. Their narrative is coated in Teflon – you’ll be at the end of the second chapter before you can blink.

    Anyway, there it is. If you enjoy the parts of fics where Sarah and Chuck meet cute, this one scores high marks and shouldn’t be missed.

    • atcdave says:

      Yeah Aardvark I was planning on mentioning that one next. I normally hesitate to comment on a story so early on (I have my standards! I’d hate to recommend a story that ends up killing off Chuck or having Sarah sleeping around in every scene). But I really enjoyed the two chapters posted so far and I have a good feeling about the tone of the piece.

      • BDaddyDL says:

        I have to admit I was surprised when I read this. It amazes me this is from a first time author.

  8. BDaddyDL says:

    The last few weeks have been interesting to say the least. We moved from the se corner of texas to back to my home town near new orleans. My wife is now looking for a job, so I have been spending a lot of time with her. The end result is that I have not had time to write. I did a major rewrite on my new chapter. I took the chapter in a new direction. For those of y’all reading my story, I apologize. I will try and get caught up, and even get ahead.

    Also, the story is going in a new direction. It will get intense, but I promise it will end well.
    I think I should tell you there will be a serious religious overtones in the story. If thats a problem for you I apologize. This is why I am letting you know now ahead of time.

Leave a Reply

