Comic-Con 2010

The Fun Has Begun

If You're Not There, You're Sad! Chuck Tweet-up ------

Already we’re being inundated with stories and rumors.  Twitter is abuzz with news that the identity of the actress who will be playing Mary Elizabeth Bartowski is to be revealed at tomorrow’s Chuck panel, which starts at 1:00 eastern/10:00 pacific time.  Quotes from Chris Fedak as told to TV Guide have appeared (see the Season 4 Spoiler Pages).

Even Matt Bomer talks about Chuck.

I’ll be doing my best to keep up with the news coming out of the panel.  I hope to garner some inside reports for posting too.  In the meantime, please use this as your place to discuss the goings on in San Diego and your perceptions of the news that comes from there.

Update: Okay – I give up!  The picts keep getting moved!  Note to self: Twitpics is not a good place for blogs to link to! Sorry, folks.

– joe

About joe

In my life I've been a professor, martial artist, rock 'n roller, rocket scientist, lover, poet and brain surgeon. I'm lying about the brain surgery.
This entry was posted in Observations, Rumors, Season 4, Spoilers, Wild Speculation. Bookmark the permalink.

135 Responses to Comic-Con 2010

  1. alladinsgenie4u says:

    Joe, thanks for the heads up .Eagerly looking forward to the Mama B casting role announcement and also the new dynamic of Team Bartowski.

  2. OldDarth says:

    Surprised the MamaB casting was not leaked.

    • joe says:

      Me too! And in hindsight, I’m surprised that Linda Hamilton’s name didn’t come up more in the speculation.

      I think it was a great choice.

      Here’s some more from GMMR:

      One thing is certain: She’s not the soccer mom who left her children so many years ago.

      So how did this come about? It seems Linda Hamilton heard that people wanted her to be CHUCK’s mom and asked TPTB about it. Way to make things happen in La La Land. Um, hey TPTB, I’d like to play a spy that has to go undercover and make out with Chuck Bartowski. Can you get on that?

      • JC says:

        She’s a fan or at least has passing knowledge of the show which is great. The last time a fan of the show guest starred it turned out..nevermind. 😉

        Joking aside I love the idea that she wanted the role.

      • atcdave says:

        I think she’s a pretty good choice. I don’t think she was brought up much before because, honestly, she doesn’t look at all like Sarah Lancaster; but assuming dad was just crazy it will work fine!

      • OldDarth says:

        I had the good fortune of meeting her last year at Toronto SF Expo where I had interviewed Robert Duncan McNeil.

        I mentioned to her that she should talk to him about being on Chuck as there was buzz about MamaB showing up at some point in Season 3.

        Coincidence? Perhaps but I like to think I nudged Linda Hamilton in that direction. 😉

      • jason says:

        she was the lady on the beauty and the beast way back when right? She was very tortured in that role, pulled it off quite well. I think she resembles sarah (yvonne) not like ellie (sarah), luckily I think we are past the princess leiha point in the chuck and sarah relationship?

      • joe says:

        Lou, that’s great! You get the credit, then. 🙂

      • joe says:

        Jason, I do believe you’re right. It was Linda Hamilton in Beauty and the Beast. I never saw it but one time, but it was my brother’s favorite show back then.

      • JC says:

        They better work in line ” Come with me if you want to live” at some point this season.

        Preferably is she saves Chuck or vice versa.

      • atcdave says:

        It seems to me there’s a significant pancakes connection there too.

  3. Faith says:

    I can’t wait!!!

    Well I’m not going (bummer) but I’m still abuzzed with all the spoilers we’re bound to get.

    Let’s just hope that it’s not as suicide inducing as last year 😉

  4. joe says:

    Latebreaking News from Comic-Con: Michael Civello (PrezofBuymoria) is on a “supersecret mission” for Zac Levi:

    “The people who are going to be at the #Chuck panel are in for a huge surprise, it’s going to be AMAZING!”

    This should be fun.

  5. joe says:

    News from SDCC

    If you haven’t heard yet, Linda Hamilton *is* Momma B.

    • atcdave says:

      Seems like a reasonable choice.

    • Faith says:

      “it’s going to be great!”

    • kg says:

      Linda Hamilton was/is hot. Joe, she was fantastic with Ron Pearlman (leader of the biker show on FX, name escapes me) on Beauty and the Beast.

      Of course, everyone remembers her as the mom of John Connor. And like Chuck/Zack, in that role she was an underachiever and unwillingly to believe she was the mother of the savior of the future.

      Like Chuck, her suspension of belief was stretched and she was overwhelmed by Reese’s emergence from the future and the fascinating tale he told. And like Chuck, she steadily grew into the person/heroine Reese (with his help of course in more than one area) claimed she was.

      Therefore, although not a brunette like Lynda Carter and other previously mentioned types resembling Chuck and Ellie, I think she can pull this off rather nicely based upon her Terminator experience.

      • atcdave says:

        It is interesting KG, you’re right there’s a lot of parallels between Chuck and Sarah Conner. I would love a little homage like MEB mentioning at some point how she started out underachieving as a waitress

      • Merve says:

        I’m not worried about the hair colour thing; there’s hair dye for that.

      • atcdave says:

        But Merve this is terrible! Her hair color, build, complexion, and facial shape are all wrong! Can’t you see they’re mocking us with their choice.

        Sorry, flashback moment…

      • JC says:

        Or Casey could make a joke about Sarah and MEB’s hair color coming from a bottle.

  6. alladinsgenie4u says:

    Linda Hamilton to play Mama B. Awesome to he power of n.

  7. joe says:

    From SDCC LauinLA tweets:

    next season is really about chuck’s search for mom, chuck’s relationship with sarah, chuck’s relationship with the buy more #sdcc #chuck

    • jason says:

      i’m watching gmmr’s site: here is a quote from it:

      Josh says Shaw was a great villain but “I think Chuck and Sarah have an undeniable chemistry and it’s hard to replicate. And we’ve learned [our lesson about third parties].”

      • atcdave says:

        That is outstanding news.

      • kg says:

        Yes that is great news and the closest facsimile to an apology.

        Let’s hope he’s sincere. Me thinks he is. He told the story he wanted to tell and got a fourth season. Chuck and Sarah are together. Finally. We should all move on to other adventures and stories.

      • atcdave says:

        It really is close to an apology; I don’t think there’s much more they could have done short of actually saying the words. Although I’m not overjoyed with all the news I’ve heard, I don’t have any of the sick foreboding I felt a year ago.

        I think S4 will be awesome (you thought I would say epic?).

  8. joe says:

    moryan (Maureen Ryan) tweets:

    ‘I was relieved to be finally part of the happy stuff on the show” Yvonne on her smiling a lot more in last 2 eps of S3. #Chuck #SDCC

  9. joe says:

    Maybe they got it!

    televisionary tweets:

    “Chuck and Sarah are a couple this year. We’ve learned about putting people between them.” -Schwartz #chuck #wbsdcc #sdcc

  10. joe says:

    Arg! It’s over, and they never had a chance for Q&A!

    Clairetastic tweeted:

    Someone asked about a Chuck movie and @zacharylevi said “Do you have a couple million dollars?”….”Just pass the bucket” #chuck #sdcc

    Update Sepinwall apologizes for having to cut it short.
    Alan Sepinwall

    Our apologies to anyone in #Chuck audience who didn’t get a question. Started late, and Con staff cut us off early. But it was fun, right?

    And more from Sepinwall’s column at Hitfix.

  11. alladinsgenie4u says:

    No hint as to whether Chuck is keeping secrets from Sarah ( Orion’s Cave and hunt for Mama B)??

    • joe says:

      Not so far as I can tell, Genie. BUT…

      We did get this:

      televisionary

      Search for mom will affect Chuck’s relationship with Sarah and the Buy More. #chuck #wbsdcc #sdcc

      It may very much amount to the same thing.

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        Thanks for that. One of the members on the NBC board put forward a much more positive speculation (it somehow jives with the tweet) that maybe the conflict between Chuck and Sarah arises not due to secrets but due to the fact that the search for Mama B would be too dangerous and Sarah disapproves as to how Chuck goes about it.

        Anyways glad to know that JS/CF “learned” something from the PLI debacle and the stupidity of keeping Chuck and Sarah apart.

      • JC says:

        From what I’ve seen on Twitter. I’m leaning towards MEB’s work and the Bartowski family history as the secrets he’s keeping.

      • joe says:

        I sort of like that interpretation, Genie. It feels to me like the right way to think about it.

      • Merve says:

        I don’t want to put a damper on things here, but I’m not sure that I believe my own speculation about Sarah thinking that the search is too dangerous. My guess is that Chuck will go it alone until everyone finds out. I just hope that Chuck has a good reason for keeping it from everybody. In that case, even if Chuck is exercising poor judgment in not telling everyone, it wouldn’t annoy me.

      • jason says:

        I have a fairly simplistic idea why chuck may not tell sarah (or casey), he knows they both love the government spy life as careers, he may simply not want them to betray their own careers to protect ‘Orion’. I am waiting for sarah to sit chuck down in the ‘morgan’ chair, “Chuck, you’d better tell me what is going on – now” – I am sure eventually something will bother me about season 4, but for now I think the show is headed in a great direction from my perspective, not quite ready to call it awesome, but things are leaning in that direction.

  12. alladinsgenie4u says:

    this tweet from chucktv.net –

    “Just talked to Schwedak. Expect a new CIA employee at the Buy More every week”

    • herder says:

      I like that idea, a much more simple way of having guest stars fit into the story than in the past.

    • herder says:

      If the Buy More is now owned by the CIA, does that mean that Sarah’s new cover is working at the Buy More with Chuck and the others or does she remain at the Orange Orange?

  13. alladinsgenie4u says:

    these tweets from chucktv.net –

    1.” Ellie & Devon have the baby talk in ep 1″
    2.” Sarah was surprised by spec about Ellie’s neurology skills helping Chuck at some point. Hasn’t heard anything about it but likes the idea.”

  14. Crumby says:

    David KY Coleman (kentuckysocal) tweeted:

    “Chuck fans are the best. You guys rock. So just for you… http://yfrog.us/n8b8xz

    This is Jeffster’s Bad Romance vid

  15. JC says:

    SWFG’s just tweeted

    Absolutely no PLIs this season. According to Schwedak.

    • Crumby says:

      I wonder if he’s talking about CS or everybody ’cause Alex is Morgan’s PLI, right? 🙂

    • JC says:

      Another tweet from one of the SWFG’s

      Schwedak said “I know kung fu” was originally supposed to be season 1 finale but writers strike nixed the idea

      • atcdave says:

        That’s now three completely different things I’ve heard “were supposed to be the S1 finale.” I bet even Schwedak themselves don’t really know anymore.

      • Merve says:

        My guess is that at the time of the writers’ strike, they had a bunch of season finale ideas kicking around. Any one of them could have been the S1 finale. (They kind of lucked out, though, because “Marlin” ended up being a great ending to the season.)

      • atcdave says:

        I agree with all of that Merve. That and human memory is such a quirky thing (I’m a history fanatic, and there is so much cross-checking to go through on any recollection). The closest we could ever come to really knowing how S1 might have ended without the strike is if contemporary records (notes or recording of a late S1 writer’s meeting maybe) emerge.

        I don’t mean that as a slam on anyone. It seems likely several ideas were being kicked around. Unless there was one clear favorite among TPTB, reconstructing how something might have happened is a very difficult thing.

      • patty says:

        at least they did not wreck it like Heroes did that year. It was like some said “Finish the Arc in 2 episodes or else” I never like Heroes as much after that, I really thought that the seaon had seemed so promising.

  16. Hope says:

    I hope Chuck doesn’t keep his vigilante life secret for long, he needs his family more than he knows and the whole gang works better together than apart.

    I’m excited for Ellie and Devon to have a baby. A little Awesome aww. 🙂 Very psyched for the premiere.

    • Faith says:

      I wouldn’t worry so much about it. In the end Chuck is and will always be about relationships and there isn’t a more upfront and vital relationship in Chuck (apart from his relationship with Sarah) than there is with his friends and family.

      Plus remember that before all this, when they sold the season to NBC they told us that season 4 will be about “family.”

    • atcdave says:

      Wow, very different tone from a year ago. We are fortunate the show has got to this point. I know a lot of casual/’shipper type viewers who gave up last season, I’m thinking there might be a chance of drawing some of them back to the show.

      Josh Schwartz little semantic game concerns me a little, he left enough wiggle room to suggest any ugly games they play should “make us happy” because, …what… the writers are happy torturing their characters? I’m not sure what he’s playing at.
      I think most of us expect there will be the occasional conflict as two very different characters try to figure out a life together. If that’s what he’s suggesting all is well.

      Funny how a year ago I didn’t like anything he said at Comic-Con, but I gave him the benefit of the doubt based on his track record. This year is almost the opposite; he said almost all the right things, my reservations are based on his track record.
      I think he’s playing word games just to avoid TELLING us exactly what’s going to happen. The comments from Zach and Yvonne are VERY encouraging.

      • BDaddyDL says:

        Dave I got to agree. I really think Yvonne was off her game for part of the year because of how ooc they were making her.

        After the con I fell a little better, but last season made me so sensitive. I am trying to get over myself, and remember to let them tell the story. A not so good chuck is still a lot better then a great american idol.

      • atcdave says:

        I don’t know bdaddy, there were a couple episodes last season I’d rather go the dentist than re-watch..

      • Faith says:

        Dave, I’m actually coming from a similar, albeit varied reaction myself. Eternal optimist/realist (ha) that I am, I actually didn’t believe all the hot air that they were spewing last SDCC. But here’s the funny (not so funny) thing, they were spot on. Truthful to the point of pain.

        I’ve been reading back on some of my posts from back then and I had all these hopes and dreams of “they couldn’t possibly be that stupid” or something along those lines but they were. So I blame myself for just how badly I took parts of S3. It’s because they told me and I didn’t listen.

        So lesson learned, this time around I’m actually going to believe what JS in particular says. The good news is this time around the things said are a lot more in tune with what I hope to see…seeing as the conflict is far more mature and creative.

      • atcdave says:

        Well put Faith; it is a good sign when TPTB and fans are in agreement about what they want from the show.

        I’ve been thinking a lot about our reactions from a year ago, and I believe I was outraged by some of the things they said; but when I calmed down and took a DEEP breath I would calmly say, “but the show has been mostly fun and sweet so far, I doubt the tone will change that much.” Hah! So for the main part of the season my worst fears were realized. I still remember how happy I was with the back six order. I think a big part of me expected the emotional component of the show to play out exactly like it did. I’m still REALLY glad for that back six order, it really helped me feel better about where things go from here.

        I suppose that all means that this season its a good thing JS should be taken at his word!

  17. Crumby says:

    Here’s videos of the panel:

    One interesting thing CF said:
    “We really like Operation Bartowski so we’re not super excited about splitting them up. We want to see them back together and do really cool things.”

    So they did learn from last year…

  18. Crumby says:

    Hi Joe! This isn’t SDCC related at all but I didn’t really where to put it so I thought that’s where you’ll see that first!

    I was catching up on some post here and I was curious about one of your comments: “About a year ago we made a list of un-resolved or dropped plot points.” https://chuckthisblog.wordpress.com/2010/07/08/sarah-vs-sarah/#comment-19496.

    I was wondering where I could find that list. Could you point it out to me? Thanks!

    • joe says:

      Why, sure, Crumby.

      I was referring to It’s A Mystery, a quick list of things for which I was hoping to get answers.

      Looks like many of them were covered, too.

      Like usual, the real good stuff is in the comments.

      • Crumby says:

        Thanks for your response Joe.

        I’m thinking about trying to do some kind of my own tron poster or something to try to keep up with what we know, what we don’t know, what might be adressed… I’m more talking about the spy stuff like Omaha.

        I’m thinking at some point Mama B might have some link somewhere.

      • joe says:

        That could be fun.

        Not to dissuade you, except for Omaha, there doesn’t seem to be many of those left. I have the feeling that TPTB are going to concentrate purely on the Orion-stuff for quite some time. Starting with Perseus, we have a bunch of code-names and connections that mean next to nothing to us, all related to the MEB story, and not much else.

        If you do come up with a new “Tron-Poster”, we’d love to see it!

      • Crumby says:

        That’s true. There are still stuff like Lisbon, RIOS, the arm-computer…

        There are a lot of stuff that won’t have anything to do with Mama B and the people that wanted to “destroy” Orion, but that still could be adress…

        Anyway I think to have a really great Tron Poster it would recquire a huge amount of time…

      • JC says:

        Call it wishful thinking or whatever but I think we’ll get something about Omaha.

      • amyabn says:

        @crumby, I think the guys over at Chucktv.net have a capture of the poster and some folks started a list of what was seen in Orion’s castle/lair. That may be a good place to start your search. Looking forward to what you come up with!

      • aardvark7734 says:

        Well, Crumby, if you decide not to pursue your own TRON poster you could at least take this as a consolation prize.

      • amyabn says:

        That poster is AWESOME!!!!

      • aardvark7734 says:

        Yikes, I shouldn’t have used the direct link, someone might get the impression I had something to do with its creation!

        I just saw it here:

        http://chucktv.net/forum/index.php?topic=1914.msg130432#msg130432

      • Crumby says:

        Awesome Poster!

  19. JC says:

    Some more Tweets from the SWFG’s

    Sarah’s mom will not be explored in season 4. However, Casey’s family will be focused on a lot. @joshschwartz76 said maybe Sarah’s mom in s5

    Also, look for more Sarah Walker backstory in season 4!

  20. herder says:

    So the convention is over and there were a few things learned: Linda Hamilton will be Mama B, the Buy More is back, no PLI’s for Chuck and Sarah (and I think I even heard CF say that they have learned their lesson), and Ellie is likely going to be pregnant.

    The Linda Hamilton thing is pretty cool, there was even a suggestion that we don’t know if she is a good guy or a bad guy. It should be interesting to see how this plays out.

    I like the idea of the CIA running the Buy More allowing for guest stars to come and go. By the way was Jeff wearing his drinking pants on Saturday? Those yellow things certainly looked like them.

    No more PLI’s – yay! they actually went further than I expected in acknowleging last year’s problems. CF saying that they learned their lesson, ZL saying that the love was always there and JS saying that Shaw was a good villan (the implication being that he wasn’t that good a love interest or mentor, you know the role he played for 7 of his 10 episodes).

    Ellie and Awesome as parents is an interesting idea and it can tie into the search for Mama B as part of the family theme for this year. It also seems that they are emphisising the comedy aspects: Buy More, Baby, Chuck and Morgan as a bad/good spy team. That and the emphisis that fans will be happy this year.

    Interesting but last year most of the news came from interviews that were given after the panel, so far this year I have only seen a few of those interviews. I’m not sure if the journalists haven’t had time to write much or if the showrunners made the points that they wanted to in the panel and didn’t add anything to it in subsequent interviews. In any event not too much else was revealed other than those things listed above.

    • jason says:

      nice summation, will be interesting as the weekly shootings occur how much spoiler info will be reported, do they shoot an episode per week, so last week they shot 4.1 and this week 4.2, at that rate, 13 episodes will be done mid october I would guess?

      Couple of shipper things you did not mention, yvonne saying ‘please’ more chuck / sarah happy time looking toward fedak / schwartz. And morgan hamming it up in his role of getting ‘between’ chuck and sarah.

      The nagging shipper ?’s for season 4, how much is chuck going to lie to sarah, how much spy & action couple time is going to happen, when will sarah find out about orion and how / from whom / under what circumstances, what will be the nature of the relationship bumps, how much water fountain like time (or did that place move to their bedroom) will we get, and finally, how passionate will they act toward each other, in some ways, other than 3.14, they sort of act like a couple who has been married already for 25 years toward each other?

      • Ernie Davis says:

        As for Chuck lying to Sarah about the Orion’s lair, I’m looking on it as a sort of extended version of the scene in Honneymooners where they both decide to check out Juan Diego’s room without telling each other. My guess is they’ll end up running into each other at some point for either comedic or dramatic effect, and like in Honeymooners they’ll get over it pretty quick.

        Or we could have a replay of Jeffster and team B both on a mission in Predator when Morgan and Chuck run into Casey and Sarah.

    • atcdave says:

      Yeah herder I’m mostly happy with all we’re hearing. I agree with Jason’s concerns, hopefully it play like Ernie suggested, mainly for laughs and not very long. I believe one of the lessons they claim to have learned has to do with keeping them apart on missions, so Sarah getting involved with Chuck’s Orion work seems inevitable.

      Burning question now; will Sarah still have the Orange Orange (I would expect so) or will she be worked into the “Company” Buy More thing.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Well she does have the Nerd Herder uniform from Tom Sawyer. 😀

      • Crumby says:

        Fedak said something along the line that they liked team bartowski together but if Chuck rejoin the CIA, they would be together, and he wouldn’t have to tell Sarah about Orion for that. So I’m not sure that this comment apply that he tells her. However somehow they all will be working together. That was my understanding of the comment anyway…

      • herder says:

        I would expect so too, but every time I start to get too enthused about things I think of the Ali Adler video from after Comic-con last year. “We love Chuck and Sarah together” is what we were told when in fact they were planning on keeping them apart until the last scene in Paris.

        I don’t know how necessary Orange Orange is anymore, she was originally put there to keep an eye on Chuck, now she lives with him. Maybe they will keep her there to have another entrance to the Castle that doesn’t involve the Buy More.

      • atcdave says:

        Sadly guys, I’m afraid if Sarah ends up at Buy More it will be as a green shirt (unless Chuck needs a partner for his installs!). My money is still on guarding the Castle entrance at Orange Orange, but I hope I’m wrong.
        Last years Ali Adler video always rubbed me wrong, I thought it was a lame attempt at damage control without promising ANYTHING (I have no patience with spin, real damage control requires fixing something). And as it turned out she may have written the worst Chuck episode ever. I know I’m counter-cultural on this (for a ‘shipper), but I don’t think I’ll miss her much. She gave us some warm and fuzzy moments, but dumped more than her share of s**t on fans to get there).

        Sorry if I’m crossing a line here; by no means do I wish ill for her, but I think Chuck (and Sarah) have moved past the type of relationship she writes best for.

      • Crumby says:

        Well apparently Sarah gave her uniform to Greta.

        Tweet from Zachary Levi:
        So, I don’t wanna spoil anything, but @oliviamunn in a NerdHerder uniform is gonna be something you enjoy. A lot.

      • Crumby says:

        Olivia Munn response:
        @zacharylevi Being ur boss just feels right. Fun times at the Buy More! U and Josh (aka Josh whos NOT on Twitter Gomez) are dope. End quote.

      • Merve says:

        @Dave: I will miss Ali Adler because I really enjoyed her writing, but you touched on something else that has been bothering me. It annoys me to no end that in some circles, Ali Adler has been painted as the “romance” writer of the group, while the other writers are considered insensitive clods who don’t understand the characters or their emotions. To be fair, TPTB are partly responsible for that because they put out the video that you mentioned, but they could have put any of their writers in front of a camera to say the same thing.

        Let’s just assume for a second that Chris Fedak and Phil Klemmer wanted to write a show that would be an outlet for sublimating their comic book fantasies. Let’s assume that Josh Schwartz wanted to write a character-driven action-comedy. Let’s assume that Ali Adler, Matt Miller, and Scott Rosenbaum wanted to write a romantic dramedy. Let’s assume that Anne Cofell Saunders wanted to write a character-driven comedy-drama. Let’s assume that Matthew Lau wanted to write a character-driven comedy with complex plotlines. And let’s assume that Zev Borow wanted to write a tongue-in-cheek spy drama. What would happen if you put all these people in the same room together? They wouldn’t agree on anything. True, different writers have different strengths and weaknesses. But they’re all writing the same show. Pigeonholing the writers into roles like “romance writer” and “geek fantasy writer” is an insult to their talents.

        (Just to be clear, I’m not accusing you or any other commenters on this blog of being one those people who tries to assign “roles” to the writers, but it’s something that I’ve seen around the web.)

      • herder says:

        Merve, for that video I have always taken it that it was a collective statement by TPTB that happened to be presented by Ali Adler. My beef with it is that it was intended to be damage control after fans became upset with the plans that were disclosed at Comic-con last year.

        It’s tone was along the lines of don’t worry, we know what you like and we like the same thing, we’re on your side. In fact they presented exactly what they were told by fans and some critics last summer was not wanted.

        Not only did they present what they were told was not wanted, but they seemed genuinely suprised that the reaction in February and March was the same as it had been in July and August.

        I think back to the old NickC blog (what ever happened to him anyways). At the time there was a lot of speculation of a Chuck and Sarah wedding or engagement as Ali indicated the wedding picture from Suburbs in her video. In reply NickC said that Ali was lieing in the video but not about that (a wedding). As it turns out the lie was about “we love Chuck and Sarah together”, in fact I think they were terrified of Chuck and Sarah together as it leads to the question “so what do we do now”.

        Having said all that, I don’t think for a second that this was something that Ali did on her own, I think it was a concious decision by TPTB to try and calm people down by misleading them. By the same token I don’t think they set out to piss people off, I think they genuinely believed that when people saw the story they were telling that they would love it, sure there might be a few die hard shippers who were upset, but they would likely be a few people at the fringe of the audience, their loss would more than be made up by new people attracted to this new story.

        I think it was a miscalculation by TPTB collectively brought on by tunnel vision.

      • atcdave says:

        Merve, I really agree with all of that. JS/CF dictate the direction of things, individual writers are chosen probably by a combination of who they think can best handle a certain story AND some sort of “your turn” rotation. The combined talents and strengths of those writers set the tone of Chuck. Ali Adler is a very talented writer, but she had no monopoly on the sort of sweet romance I enjoy, other writers have turned in steller scripts on occasion. Ali Adler wrote two excellent S2 scripts that gave her a formidable reputation among many ‘shippers. But as I said, I strongly disliked that “romance writer” video (cynical manipulation/spin/damage control to my mind) and Fake Name may be my least favorite episode ever.
        I guess to me it just means she was part of the team; capable of creating something beautiful or grotesque based on her orders from above. I imagine that is the job of a staff writer. The direction chosen by TPTB matters more than specific aptitudes or interests of the writers.

      • atcdave says:

        Wow Herder! you are a man of wisdom and genius (um, that means I agree). I think it was a little of the “group think” problem too. They may have been so convinced of their own awesomeness they decided to tell the story they wanted to regardless of what fans and critics were telling them; they thought they could do no wrong, if they could just calm us down we would like it (trust us!)

  21. Robert H says:

    Just read the post,comments, and on what I could
    find on Comic-Con. don’t want to throw cold water
    on what SEEMS to be positive, good news on Season 4
    with the announcements on roles, Fedak/Schwartz
    comments, etc. Let’s all pause and not get too
    excited here.

    Remember last year’s hype when everybody got so
    excited about the guest stars that were signed,
    particulary Brandon Routh and what kind of a show
    we actually got? Remember…..?

    Let’s not get too excited here. The proof will be in
    the pudding-what they actually produce, not all the
    warm, fuzzy stuff we’ve been hearing. Sure it all
    sounds good but it all sounded great last year too.

    Remember even though the show got renewed, its fan
    base was terribly damaged. They had to say a lot
    touchy, feel good stuff to try to get their lost
    fans back. The ratings at the end of the year were
    dismal.

    Don’t get me wrong. It all “sounds” good but let’s
    just calm down and wait and see. Let’s not get taken in again like we were last year. TPTB say they
    “learned their lesson”. Well, maybe but they need to
    “show” us not “tell” us. No more free passes handed
    out on faith. Last year they lost the viewers trust.
    They need to “earn” it back based on deeds not words. I was somewhat bothered to hear the producers
    apparently got a warm reception at Comic-Con. Why?
    Based on Season 3 they certainly didn’t do anything
    to earn it.

    Let’s just keep it all under control and the anticipation in neutral this time around. It’s their
    job to win us back, not the other way around. The
    trust will have to be earned this time, no more
    freebies. We’ll have to wait and see…..

    • atcdave says:

      Robert, I’m not sure what you saw last year at this time, but I clearly remember the main reaction at the NBC forums was outrage. Less than one poster in ten was pleased with the Comic-Con spoilers, and I don’t think anyone was even a little mollified by Brandon Routh’s casting. JS’ first anounced spoilers at Comic-Con last year were greated with groans. Many of us, myself especially, remained concerned and mostly unhappy from Comic-Con all the way through the airing of 3.13.
      There was NO warm and fuzzy feeling. The fan base split quickly and violently.
      I think the mood is completely different this year. We all start off wary of what TPTB might pull on us. Myself, and many others, really are more optimistic about what TPTB actually intend to do this season, and many of Schwedak’s own words are aimed at making amends for what happened last year. Of course the only proof that matters is what’s on screen, but I think (say 86.769% sure) we will be much happier with the end result this year.

  22. Crumby says:

    New video from Comic-Con. Ausiello with Zac Levi, Josh Gomez and Ryan McPartlin.

    http://ausiellofiles.ew.com/2010/07/26/chuck-video-scoop-season-4/

    Looks like Chuck won’t tell Ellie about his search for Sarah Connor.

    “The less angst, the more comedy!”

    And some Morgalex… maybe?

    • BDaddyDL says:

      ok if you were still really worried about Chuck and Sarah or Sarah and Chuck watch this video. This made be take a relaxing breath. I cant wait for season 4 now. BRING IT ON!

      • jason says:

        why no sarah in any of this stuff – I don’t watch chuck to see 3 guys on a couch? I know lots of you guys love the little comic relief fellow but I like women, I would send the little hamster on a 6 month vacation if I was the show runner or maybe he can play the drums, make him part of mojeffster, and let the real team B get back to action – just kidding as Morgan is starting to grow on me, but I think you get my point, I want to see 50% of the action with sarah and chuck, chuck can have a scene or two a season with his little buddy, but please, don’t go over the top with this fedak, when I rewatched I FF’d thru the concert scene with morgan and chuck, I have no interest in seeing the two of them in tuxes at a concert, now if that had been chuck and sarah, that would have been a show stopper, she’d have been stunning, and he would have been clueless, the show at its best

      • BDaddyDL says:

        there is a simple reason why Sarah was not involved that much. She took off to a fund raiser for Ken Mar. Its an animal shelter out in California. they had a tennis tournament that afternoon.

        In fact, she took @littlechuckfan with her. I just wish my daughter was as passionate about anything as she is. Just goes to show how a little hard work pays off.

      • aardvark7734 says:

        Relax, Jason. 🙂

        Yvonne had to leave the Con early to rush back to L.A. for the charity tennis tournament she was hosting. I’m sure she’d have been in some of the other interviews had she been available.

        If you watched the panel vids on YT, the body language from the main cast and from Schwedak (along with Gomez’s quip) made it pretty clear they have a newfound appreciation for the importance of keeping their main leads on screen and in a better place going forward.

  23. Crumby says:

    Ernie I have to ask: how do you feel about this no PLI thing? I hope you’re not too disapointed for Duck?! 😉

    • Ernie Davis says:

      (Sigh) Sadly TPTB just don’t see the same show we all do, they can’t see Dianne and Chuck were meant to be. Sure in some other universe Sarah Walker is the perfect girl for Chuck, I mean he’s obviously drawn to the scary yet mothering emotionally distant types, but now that Sarah is emoting all over the place I just can’t see how it would ever work out. And the way these things go Dianne will probably be back in Roan’s arms just as Chuck gets over Walker just so they can milk it for another season.

      Besides, Chuck is so over petite brunettes. Time for a petite redhead.

      • atcdave says:

        You know Ernie there’s a flourishing “Duck” community over at fannfiction.net. Of course many of the stories are more in the “mature” category (OK, eewww!) but there have been many well developed and thorough AUs that are Duck themed.

        Do ya believe me?!

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Sadly Dave, after looking up “slash” fiction I do believe you.

      • atcdave says:

        That, and there is quite a “Jellie” following. Certainly some odd tastes, but seriously, no Duck!

      • Merve says:

        So far, I’ve seen nothing to sink the idea that after Diane’s relationship with Roan collapsed, she had a fling with Merriweather. Then that relationship also collapsed, while Diane moved on with Mystery Man from “Tooth.” Merriweather took his revenge out on Diane by making her testify at the Intersect tribunal.

        But all the while, Diane was thinking of her Chuck. 😀

      • Crumby says:

        She played her card well by trying to make Chuck jealous in Tooth. He was obviously shoked!

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I keep telling you guys, she’s just slow playing him. Although lately she’s gone hot and cold on occasion.

        But you’re right Merve, wasn’t it in the beginning of American Hero that Dianne had Merriweather in her office for a nooner when Chuck walked in?

      • Merve says:

        That was Bauer. I’m assuming that that meeting was all business because the thought that Beckman would jump from Roan to Merriweather to Bauer to Mystery Man makes me weep. Four men, none of them Chuck. Even Shaw got farther with Chuck then she did.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Oh come on Merve, Chuck has been with Lou, Jill, Hannah and Sarah. We know Dianne was just using Bauer to make Chuck jealous again, and it obviously worked. After all in Tooth Chuck may be with Sarah, but you saw he was thinking of Dianne and then later dreaming about (ahem) a crescendo with Dianne. Twice. And that’s before he even sees the mystery man and gets jealous over him.

        TPTB are just stringing us along to keep the sexual tension there, bringing in viewers. I just hope they don’t make Dianne seem too flakey in the process.

      • jason says:

        if you noticed at the comic con panel, schwartz did mumble under his breathe the ‘duck’ wt/wt is the heart of the show, but I think the gamechanging epic battle will be between chuck and morgan, when diane declares her undying love for the furry little guy, it is buried deep in fedak mythology, but diane wants every man that carina has had

      • JC says:

        The dark horse could be Devon and his bicycle shorts. Plus we get an Ellie and Beckman cat fight over Awesome.

  24. Eli says:

    Well, I didn’t expect Linda Hamilton as Mama B, but they’re great news 🙂

    On the other hand, even before the writers’ admission I expected no more PLIs because… because they’re not necessary anymore. You can get tension and conflict without third parties (yes, I expect some kind of conflict, sweet-and-happy-ad-nauseam isn’t a believable portrait of any couple.) Which leads us (or me, at least :)) to a curious point. Unlike other seasons, I had no idea of what we could see in season 4. At the most, I figured that Chuck would be working alone and Sarah would continue working with the CIA, so their professional paths would be separated, at least for a time (but you don’t have to be a genius to come to this conclusion.)

    The other thing was a little, tiny, almost stupid detail I theorized about some time ago. It’s Mr. Turner’s words: “The CIA has a way of breaking young idealists. Especially is they are in love.” I smelled future a plot point in it (just like crazy Papa B confessing he had an Intersect in the end of S2.) I thought maybe I was completely wrong, but in the summary video about S3 they showed in comic-con, one of the highlights was that line. I wonder… (And just for you to check that I’m not bragging about my worry about this line check http://josh-oi-squirol.livejournal.com/22363.html Sorry, it’s a picspam. Just go to the last third quartet and skip the rest if you want.)

    In general, and like most of the fans seem to be, I’m happy and hopeful for the news. And I don’t have many fears, since I liked S3 (yeah, I know, I’m weird :D)

  25. andyt says:

    After ruminating for a few days about the news coming from Comic-Con, I feel energized and excited about Chuck S4.

    First, I love the Linda Hamilton as Chuck and Ellie’s Mom. She has the ability to play a range from drama to comedy(see her Frasier episode) to action. This may be the part of the role that many underestimated but MEB needs to be an action oriented character. It seems that the creators are leaning toward the parallel of C/S with Stephen B/MEB. Thus MEB was the kick-ass spy who pulled her husband into that world in some measure much like Chuck and Sarah. Part of the fun, will be to see if Chuck can avoid the mistakes his father made. Hamilton has the action chops to carry a fight scene which is very important.

    The fact that the Buy More is now a true CIA front is hysterical especially since it sets up so much potential hilarity between the CIA spooks and the Buy More wackos(Jeff, Lester, freaky Green Shirts). Also, did anyone expect the CIA/NSA to let Chuck go? He is too valuable an asset as Beckman made clear.

    As far as the issue of secrets(not lies, secrets) this is a spy show. Secrets are at the core of these stories and shows. Chuck having secrets from the others makes sense as they have secrets from him. As Ernie mentioned, it will probably be like an extended version of the Honeymooners riff on them working on spy stuff just from opposite directions. It creates comedic and dramatic possibilities.

    As far as not being tough on the creators at the Con, it is kind of a festival atmosphere from my understanding and from the videos a lovefest by the audience with the show and its people. I am sure the atmosphere in the room was very upbeat and positive, so any negativity would not have been appreciated. Also there was no Q&A where some questions might have been asked of the creators that would have indicated some fans feelings.

    Overall, this was a very successful weekend for Chuck. The positive buzz of the con can be seen and the announcement of MEB gained more attention for the show.

  26. Merve says:

    After absorbing the new info from the Comic-Con panel and the associated interviews, I’ve realized that what’s particularly telling is what hasn’t been said:

    – No apology. Good move. Appease the pissed off fans, don’t piss off the happy fans.

    – They said that they’d learned about putting people between Chuck and Sarah, not about separating Chuck and Sarah. That’s fine. I don’t care if I’m in the minority here, but the actual separation wasn’t a problem; the love interests were.

    – No mention of the Intersect. It seems as if the Intersect won’t be playing into the Mama Bartowski mythology. (And I don’t think Chuck is going to be getting Intersect updates any time soon.)

    – No big hints about what Big Mike, Jeff, and Lester are going to be up to next season. I hope this means that they aren’t dropping the Jeffster! on the run storyline. I wonder why they’re keeping this stuff under wraps.

    – No information about what Sarah is going to be up to other than that she’s still involved with the CIA. Either it’s totally unimportant, or TPTB are keeping a Sarah-centric spy arc under wraps.

    – No information about Mary’s role in the spy world. That’s a good thing. I want it to be a surprise, but not a lame, Justin-is-actually-a-Ring-agent kind of surprise. I want an in-your-face shocker.

    • atcdave says:

      Interesting point about the Intersect. I would seriously like more smart problem-solving Chuck and fewer flashes.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Merve, while there was no apology, and I agree an outright apology would be a mistake for someone whose livelihood depends on people gambling millions on their creative judgement and decisions, the statement “we’ve learned to take our cues from you, the fans” was about as close as you could come to an outright apology, and I think given the amount of criticism they absorbed showed real class and a genuine appreciation of the fans on their part.

      • Merve says:

        Good point. TV is a business, and in business, you apologize only for real screw-ups, like listeriosis contamination or oil rig explosions, and not for things that boil down to a matter of opinion.

    • Crumby says:

      In one of the SWFG videos, Vik Sahay said that Jeffster is on the lam when we catch up with them. But he didn’t go any further.

      So they didn’t drop the all thing but we don’t know how much of it we’ll see.

    • herder says:

      Some good points Merve, no apology is the correct thing, in fact I’m suprised that they went as far as they did to appease the pissed off fans. They have been somewhat consistent that there would be “bumps” Chuck and Sarah which is fine with me so long as it doesn’t go too far.

      I’ll agree with your point that the actual seperation wasn’t the problem, TPTB wanted a reset and although I didn’t like Pink Slip, I was willing to go along with it. I think that they started to lose me at the end of Natcho Sampler with Chuck drinking alone and then definitely with the love interests in Mask and Fake Name. That said part of the problem was that the seperation went on too damn long. I still find it hard to beleive that they thought it was a good idea to have them seperated until the last scene of the last episode in the original 13 episode story.

      I thought there was some mention that the governer would not play a big part this season. I think the intersect still will in the sense that Chuck is the only one and the CIA won’t be too happy to just let him go.

      You’re right that there was very little about Sarah except the point that they like team Bartowski together and doing missions and other exciting stuff together.

      As to Mama B, we’ve had Papa B is Orion, surely there is some sort of suprise about her, maybe she is Omaha, the head of Project Omaha?

      • jason says:

        the thing that all the mama B speculation does not wash for me is that with how seemingly infinitely powerful orion was, how could he not find mama B if she was / is out there in the mainstream of USA / international spylife? I think somehow or other she needed to be really hidden away or untouchable for some reason? I wonder if Orion’s death somehow free’s / releases her, or if chuck or ellie are in danger which causes changes things, or maybe simply chuck finds her?

      • Crumby says:

        Well jason something changed apparently as she need to be move somewhere. What caused the move though? Orion’s death?

    • Crumby says:

      – There is no indication whether Chuck tells Sarah about his Mom and if they’re gonna work together. But Fedak did say: “We really like Operation Bartowski so we’re not super excited about splitting them up. We want to see them back together and do really cool things.” They also said last here they loved CS together… So maybe Team B will be one again only in 413.

      But even if they don’t really work together, it’ll be different from last year, we’ll see them together on screen because they are a couple.

      They also said that Chuck’s search for mom will affect Chuck’s relationship with Sarah. How?

      – When ask about the Intersect and the governor and stuff, Fedak said that the season was all about Mom. So yeah not much of Intersect mythology… at first, I guess it can depend on who is Mama B?

      – In this article at Televisionary http://www.televisionaryblog.com/2010/07/channel-surfing-linda-hamilton-ups.html it says: “Television in an official press release about the casting. “She was a spy, a CIA agent … and that’s just the beginning. Who is she today? One thing is certain: She’s not the soccer mom who left her children so many years ago.” (via press release)”

      So Mama B was CIA? Are they going for a MamaB/Orion and CS parallel here? We are those people that told her to move? And who are those people that wanted to destroy Orion?

      Is she the Big Bad? Orion said he did it all FOR her? Why would he do that if she was bad?

      – Chuck is keeping mom from Ellie, but TV guide http://www.tvguide.com/News/Chucks-Season-Bartowski-1020924.aspx says that Ellie and Awesome are considering having a baby and it seems that Ellie will get pregnant in season 4.

      Time to think about motherhood… and her own mom, no? That’s probably how they will include Ellie in the mom storyline without her knowing that Chuck’s going after her.

      – We know pretty much nothing about Sarah this season, only that she has a boyfriend and that we’ll learn a little more about her backstory… I don’t want to hope to much when you think of what they did last year with the little we learn about her backstory. But it seems like Casey will have his own journey this season.

      – About “production”, on the SWFG site, it says: “As was the case in season 3, not every character will be in every episode. Only Casey, Sarah, & Chuck will be in every episode. From the way they were talking, it seems they have the same reduced budget for season 4.” http://swfg.posterous.com/24175779

      – Finally, this “Greta” character seems like fun. I don’t really see how this all CIA-Buy-More will work but we can’t know everything…

      Edit: Sorry this got held up for approval, Crumby. That happens when WordPress decides you have too many links. Of course, we have a different definition of “too many…” – joe

      • Crumby says:

        Oh and um, is Fitzroy gonna come secure the Buy More?!

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I’d love to see Fitzroy back and practically cowering in Sarah’s presence. Or at least staying well out of arm’s reach. Or watch Chuck and Sarah do a good cop bad cop on him? It’d be hilarious.

      • herder says:

        I was thinking more along the line of having Fitzroy asking Casey how honored he was to have had the opportunity to work with the great agent Carmicheal. Casey would have to develop a whole new set of grunts to fully express his point of view.

      • jason says:

        how about fitzroy and morgan on a mission together with sarah as their leader / handler – I can see sarah getting on the earphone after a major Team F screwup, “morgan – fitzroy get out of there – NOW” – and the two of them scurry away like little mice to face the sarah music in the van – seriously, is margan going to be scared of sarah all season long?

      • atcdave says:

        Very funny Jason, I love it!

  27. Robert H says:

    My previous comments about being cautious regarding
    Season 4 as related to the preseason hype on Season 3 were based on the posts I was seeing at Chucktv.net not what may have been posted here at
    that time. I’ll stand by what I said. In short, hope
    for the best but prepare for the worst. Trying to
    sound somewhat postive it does sound good so far
    but the proof will be in the pudding. Seeing is
    believing so I will just wait and see what actually
    happens. Taking them on faith after what happened
    last year after all of the hype and waiting won’t
    work for me this time around.

    On a different note does anyone think Linda Hamilton
    may be too young to play Mama Bartowski? She looks
    quite a bit younger than Papa. Just curious and would like to see some opinions on this. I don’t really care one way or the other on her casting, thanks.

    • Crumby says:

      Scott Bakula is only 2 years older than Linda Hamilton.

    • atcdave says:

      Sorry if I came across a bit strong Robert, there certainly were other sites with more “gushing!”

      I think Linda Hamilton will be a good choice. If MEB is in her early 50s, and Ellie is in her early 30s; well I think that works fine.

  28. Robert H says:

    Thanks for above replies and input. I feel somewhat
    better about the casting now since there is no real
    credibility issue here. Hope it works out well for
    the show and viewers.

  29. Hope says:

    I don’t have the link, but on TV Guide, someone asked if Chuck is going to ‘come out’ It was said ”Possibly, but people finding out run the risk of not lasting too long” or something to that effect. Yikes, I’m psyched for season 4.

Leave a Reply

