Unleash The Angst: Top 3 Dramatic Episodes

Chuck and Johnie are serious

Sorry about the title, I couldn’t resist the urge to stir controversy.  I was just being dramatic.  Drama is a part of Chuck.  The drama, tension and yes, even occasional heartbreak we experience with our characters is what binds us to them and makes them matter.  It is where our investment comes from.  We have all felt what they are feeling, and connects us to the characters like friends.  Angst, that shorthand we’ve adopted to mean emotional turmoil due to relationship woes, well yes, there is some good angst.  Who can forget the fountain scene in Chuck Versus The Breakup or Sarah’s face when she’s dismissed in Chuck Versus The Broken Heart or Ellie’s reaction to Chuck covering for Devon in the same episode for a non-romantic bit of drama.  And it isn’t all relationships.  Think of the closing scene of Chuck Versus The Fat Lady where Sarah and Casey dash to Chuck’s rescue only to find him gone off grid with his watch left behind.   When Chuck does drama well, and it does it often despite some disappointments, it makes for a truly memorable episode.  Our picks for the top three dramatic episodes, after the jump.

Ernie’s Picks

It’s tough to narrow this one down because there have been so many good dramatic moments.  Some I’ll save for spy-moments and some for romantic moments since drama is a pretty catch-all category if you include those.  So I’m trying for not necessarily romance or action related drama, but those can certainly play into it.  While it’s easy to pick dramatic scenes, sorting out the episodes proved to be a tougher task for me.  And there’s no guarantee my mind won’t be changed by some of the comments.  As of this moment I’ve managed to narrow things down to my top three.

Chuck Versus The Final Exam. I know this one is going to cause a bit of a stir, and I understand a lot of people find it either disturbing or contrived.  That said if TPTB were going for more realism, higher stakes and more drama they had to deal with Chuck facing his aversion to guns and violence if he was ever going to be a spy.  Sure the red test is a contrivance, but nothing hits home like Chuck’s goal coming face to face with his principles.  The outcome was a bit of a cheat, but at the end, Chuck sitting alone trying to understand who he is now and facing it alone gives more weight to his decision and what it could cost him.  He can’t let Casey or Sarah tell him who he is or what to be, but he could use a friend.  Sarah is facing herself and her decisions too.  Despite all her good intentions throughout her time with Chuck she finally has to realize that her presence in Chuck’s life has changed him forever.  She has changed Chuck, not Chuck has changed.  She is not an innocent bystander in his life watching, as she seems to have thought at the end of Chuck Versus The Nacho Sampler.  She is doing the changing as much as he is, and she has to face that.  But at the time he needs her most, she can’t face him out of fear of what she has done to him.

Chuck Versus The Truth  As one of my top ten episodes I wasn’t sure where this one fit at first.  But it is, overall a dramatic episode.  Sarah and Chuck are both having existential spy crises.  Chuck’s formerly compartmentalized life is starting to intermingle, as is Sarah’s.  They’ve each awakened a side of the other that was long dormant or missing in their lives.  While in both cases that’s a good thing it comes with complications they will have to accept and work out.  Chuck is now a hero, but he has to face a life that has changed forever and danger to him and his family is now a part of it.  Sarah is discovering the joys of friends and family, but  has to face the constraints of her job and what it means to both her and Chuck.

Chuck Versus The Broken Heart This is sort of my wildcard pick.  I re-watched it recently and a few things struck me.  First, I enjoyed this episode a lot more than I remembered.  Second, they really managed the high stakes Sarah could be leaving plot a lot better, and in one episode as opposed to the drawn out arc from Tic Tac through Other Guy.  In Broken Heart we see the consequences of Sarah making her feelings known to both her and Chuck.  The taste of life that Chuck gets with Agent Forest as Sarah’s stand in, and the consequences to himself and his family is eye-opening.  Without Sarah’s devotion we see Chuck would never have made it.  Without Sarah gaining his cooperation Chuck wouldn’t be nearly as effective or willing to be the hero.  Sarah’s brief absence opens the eyes of both Beckman and Chuck as to what they’d be dealing with without her.  Don’t mess with team B.

– Ernie

OMG This IS A Hard One

Drama? I got that. Angst? I think I understand. But put the two together and my brain goes “SPPRRROOOONNNGGGGGGG!” So what I settled on are the three episodes that I think contain the most or best drama in the series, whether or not Chuck and Sarah’s romance is involved. And that’s not ignoring the angst, because Chuck and Sarah’s romance is in every scene! Well, nearly.

On my first cut I came up with about two hundred scenes that I think verge on remarkable drama. Oh, okay. I exaggerate, but only a little, and only for effect. There are dozens, though. But one scene does not an Emmy-award winning episode make (I think). So I came up with half a dozen episodes with drama that made me seriously worry about the characters for a week. The ones that didn’t make my list? The Other Guy – Chuck shooting Shaw and saving a uniquely helpless Sarah was incredibly dramatic. But the whole episode is memorable for other reasons. Tom Sawyer – The triple action sequence of Sarah fighting the bad guys at the station while Casey prepares to destroy the satellite from Castle and Chuck saves LA while playing Missile Command is as exciting as it gets. But Tom Sawyer doesn’t pull the heart strings. Fat Lady? – That final scene where Sarah and Casey run in slow-mo to save Chuck from the evil Fulcrum agent he’s running away with (and um, sleeping with) as Frightened Rabbit’s Keep Yourself Warm plays is incredible at many dramatic levels. But the whole episode is about how Chuck and Jill solve the many puzzles left by her dead boss. Ack! How to choose???

I pick as my top three:

Chuck Versus The Alma Mater There’s a wonderful level of excitement throughout as Chuck has to face the assassin’s (Magnus’) crossbow, his Stanford trauma, the memories of Bryce and finally, the truth about what Bryce had done. And on top of that, so does Sarah. It’s not only the action and the pace that makes this episode dramatic. It’s Sarah’s deeper level of understanding, her simultaneous relationship with Bryce and that nearly tear-filled final scene as she leaves Chuck with the knowledge that makes this one special.

Chuck Versus The Colonel (so long as you start with the last scene of First Kill). Okay, that’s a little cheat, but I’m a sucker for the lovers-on-the-run idea. Oh, you can argue that Chuck and Sarah aren’t quite lovers (yet). But not for my money. You can say that their commitment to each other was demonstrated earlier, and it was. We know already that they’d die for each other. But I say it wasn’t demonstrated this deeply, and never in a way that was this overwhelming. For me, there’s nothing more dramatic than their facing danger together (uh, that would be mostly Casey, so it’s very personal), their resignation in the cell and Casey’s redemption. And for all the wonderfulness that we had seen from Sarah up to this point, she’s was never better as she stops Casey (twice) and never, ever loses her cool or credibility as a character. Mere girlfriend? Not here. Not in The Colonel.

Chuck Versus The Dream Job I choose this one as the most dramatic even though it may be the one episode where the romance seems to have been forgotten. Well, it *is* forgotten, but that’s only because the level of drama is so high we can put it out of our minds. The angst is not on Chuck and Sarah, but purely on Chuck. Our concerns, and his, are on his father. Perhaps my favorite scene of all time is Chuck suiting up to save Stephen with Luisa’s Bones playing in the background. Chuck slapping the handles of the pistols together, his first forced-flash, Roark’s amazing mocking-humor-evil, Vincent’s ominous sneer and then Sarah and Casey dragging Chuck out of the Intersect room – wow. I kid you not, I feel my adrenalin levels rising as I write about it. Except for Casey getting tranq’d and going “Whoooo”, I don’t remember a single laugh from this episode, and it’s still wonderful. Well, okay, Sarah and Casey dressed as geeks was funny, but the whole episode exploded with excitement and tension.

That’s my top three!

– joe

Dave’s Turn

This is a tough category for me.   I suppose no one will be shocked when I say I don’t really do drama.   I’m pretty much an action/adventure/comedy kind of guy.   It’s not that I don’t understand or appreciate good drama;  it’s just I rarely choose to watch it,  and I very rarely enjoy it.   So I wasn’t sure at first how to approach this.   I can see where episodes like Nacho Sampler and Final Exam were very dramatic episodes,  but I seriously didn’t enjoy them.   So if I limit myself to those episodes I really did enjoy,  can I still come up with three that could be called “dramatic.”   Once I got going on it,  I found there were actually quite a few.   And I quickly had a familiar problem,  how do I limit it to only three?   Dang.   With Chuck I end up having a good time with some of the sort of material I wouldn’t normally look twice at.   I believe that is testimony to the quality of this show on many levels.    I am often drawn to an episode for its humor and action (yeah,  and I’m still a sucker for sweet Chuck and Sarah moments,  like you all didn’t know that!),  and end up really liking the impact of what’s going on for the characters too.   So without further ado,  these are my picks for top three “dramatic” episodes of Chuck.

Chuck Versus The First Kill. I’m kind of cheating about this from the opposite direction than Joe did.   This is a good episode throughout with one of the best action sequences of the series.   But the final series of events,  climaxing with “Take off your watch”, is easily the most electrifying moment of the series to me.   And I mean easily.  I was sure Sarah would do something,  but I think I held my breath for five minutes until it happened.   I’d love to include Colonel as a best dramatic episode for how these events play out;  but I think that episode has a higher calling  (it will be on at least two of my future lists).

Chuck Versus The Nemesis. I really didn’t appreciate the drama of this episode when I first saw it.   I’m not subtle about my thoughts regarding love triangles;  but that’s never what this one is ever really about (well, maybe a little).   The relationships here are beautifully complex.   Bryce is of course Chuck’s Nemesis,  but he proves himself to be Chuck’s friend too.   He has ruined Chuck’s life,  and he saves Chuck’s life too.   He makes Chuck feel totally inadequate where Sarah is concerned,  and highlights that Chuck can “never” compete as a hero or partner.   Sarah’s struggle is different but nearly as dramatic,  it’s about her new life vs. her old one.   Her agonizing choice in the end is the first time I realized Yvonne Strahovski is more than just a “good” actress,  she is perfectly cast.   What an awesome scene.   Sarah’s choice is personified by Chuck and Bryce.   But it’s also about duty vs. adventure.  Ironically,  it’s about the life of adventure she’s used to,  versus a more stable life that frightens her.   Bryce may be exciting and fun,  While Chuck truly needs her for protection from bad guys,  the bunker, Casey, and the government.

Chuck Versus The Delorean. This is the episode I really waffled on for this list.    There are so many good “third choices” for me.   This is one of those episodes that just works in so many ways;  it could be in the running for most of these lists we’re doing,  and I might even mention it again.   But between the hard drama between Sarah and dad;  and the “good” drama between Sarah and Chuck,  this episode is wonderful.

– Dave

Amy’s Additions

Chuck Versus The NemesisBryce Larkin is back, Sarah has to choose.  There is the epic battle at the Buy More.  This was a real turning point for Sarah.  Chuck went from having his family and a nice turkey day feast to watching the love of his life making out with her ex.  The post-fight scene offer of “We’ll always have Omaha” remains one of those hanging threads in the Chuck universe.  The anguished choice of staying and facing her feelings or going with the old, safe partner (safe in an emotional sense) really struck a chord in me.

Chuck Versus The Pink SlipWow, that wasn’t the kiss I was expecting either, Sarah!  The hurt demonstrated by both Chuck and Sarah was palpable.  Even Casey recognized it and told Sarah to put Chuck out of his misery, but he failed to see that Sarah was in her own personal level of hell.  The reset of the relationship was jarring and painful to watch.  I don’t despise the episode as many do, but whether you love it or hate it, you certainly felt it.

Chuck Versus The American HeroChuck lays it on the line, Sarah makes a choice, Shaw is a dope.  I can argue against my own choice because I never bought the feelings toward Shaw that I watched trying to be sold to me on-screen.  However, the episode as a drama pick redeems itself with Chuck’s actions.  I also love that he stood up for his feelings with Sarah.  The speech he gave at the restaurant was so touching. His emotionally plea to have one secret (to protect Casey) is touching and in retrospect, rather ironic since most of us had issues with the lies being told to Papa B and Sarah in later episodes.  And his reaction to save Sarah was as heroic as any I’ve seen.  Loved it!

About Ernie Davis

I was born in 1998, the illegitimate brain child and pen name of a surly and reclusive misanthrope with a penchant for anonymity. My offline alter ego is a convicted bibliophile and causes rampant pognophobia whenever he goes out in public. He wants to be James Lileks when he grows up or Dave Barry if he doesn’t.  His hobbies are mopery, curling and watching and writing about Chuck.  Obsessively.  Really, the dude needs serious help.
This entry was posted in Observations, polls. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Unleash The Angst: Top 3 Dramatic Episodes

  1. aardvark7734 says:

    I’m really early in the comment cycle on this one, judging from the poll counts and the fact that, as I type this, there aren’t any others yet! So, at least, I won’t be echoing what others have said, with the exception of the original article posters.

    I chose Marlin, Santa Claus and Dream Job. Next runners up? Subway and First Kill. And I won’t deny that those first two got picked because no one else did and I thought they were eminently worthy of consideration.

    Marlin’s entire premise is an ultimatum. Find the source of the bugs in the BuyMore or Chuck’s gone and the mission is over. How much more dramatic can you get than that? The race to identify the spy, the pressure from BuyMore corporate to find the mole responsible for the “inside job” and the unexpected move up of the deadline all contributed to the tension – and how can anyone forget the tear jerking moment on the rooftop, or the weight of Sarah’s longing as she stared through the window at a scene she thinks will never happen for her? This one hit me hard.

    Santa Claus – While it starts with a tiny hook, Sarah’s lingering stare at the OO family-themed Xmas promotion poster, it quickly turns into a hostage crisis, one of the most heavily used dramatic premises in TV and movies. While interaction netween Ned Rhyerson and Chuck is initially played for comedy, the introduction of Mauser and the revelation that it’s a Fulcrum plot quickly turns things serious – and Chuck’s family and friends are put at horrifying risk. Chuck’s recognition of this and sacrifice of himself is a pretty weighty moment, and of course the entire episode ends with the Mauser assassination (tying the cost of having family to Sarah’s earlier desire for it) and her damning lie to Chuck. Ouch.

    Finally, there’s Dream Job. And though I wanted to choose something else, in the end there’s simply no other episode that brings on as palpable a sense of accelerating drama for me than this one. Chuck’s Luisa’s Bones moment of discovering the diagram’s secret meaning and deciding to penetrate Roark’s compound on his own was just energizing, and I was wrung out emotionally from the scene when Casey and Sarah appear to drag Chuck away after his father tells Chuck he may have been wrong about them. And then, at the end, Chuck takes a big gulp and steps out from under Sarah’s protective umbrella with Beckman, insisting they’re the best team. Just wow.

    Anyway, as someone above said, there are a lot of dramatic moments in the show, of equal or greater throw weight. But for me, these three episodes were notably heavy overall.

    • amyabn says:

      I know I struggled in putting this list together. Drama, in the Chuck universe, is my least favorite element because I think the writers confused drama with angst. I like your suggestions and can’t pick them apart.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        People have been speculating on that since the episode aired. It did not escape fan’s notice that Orion was killed a few feet from the Ring tissue regeneration lab and intersect.

        The thing is that while these things start as a funny almost parody of some of the TV conventions they can morph into something annoying. The interrupted kiss/conversation started that way for me. I thought it was hilarious at first that every time they leaned in for a kiss something would stop them. It’s taking one of those tired TV conventions and simultaneously adopting and mocking it. But eventually you notice that it is basically how they keep the couple apart, and rather than seem clever it seems lame and lazy. Returning from the dead is approaching it’s sell-by date.

      • Merve says:

        I think that that’s a parody of this site.

      • amyabn says:

        I think MamaB may have saved Orion. It seems she is pretty powerful. I draw that conclusion from how powerful Orion really was. The ability to stay several steps ahead of the government (until he let Sarah find him), his evading the Predator drone, etc. Even with his abilities as a spy, MEB has managed to stay ahead of him, off the collective radar, and yet seemingly be plugged in. It will be interesting if they play the season with Chuck and TB in danger trying to find her, with her working behind the scenes to obfuscate the search but to also protect her family.

      • JC says:

        Returning from dead lost its charm during the last two minutes of Living Dead.

        When you start rehashing major plot twists in S3 maybe its time to examine some things.

      • amyabn says:

        JC, I agree that it is not the best plot device, but since they keep going to the well, I consider it within their scope to use again.

        I’m also curious as to how well they will write this new enemy. The Ring didn’t do anything for me-they could have been the Boy Scouts for as scary as I found them. Fulcrum, on the other hand, seemed much more nefarious and dangerous. Now that Orion isn’t around to protect them, what is coming next?

      • JC says:

        My comment wasn’t directed at your theory of Orion returning. Just my dissatisfaction with that plot device being when it concerns Chuck’s first real kill. It tends to kill the drama when anyone can come back.

      • amyabn says:

        No worries JC, I didn’t think you were taken a shot at me! I don’t like the plot device and I think it has been overused.

    • atcdave says:

      I love Marlin, Aardvark. The only reason it didn’t make my list was because it will be on at least two more of my lists.

      • joe says:

        Me too. I’ve been thinking of all the bad-guys that I’d live to see come back (Vincent, Laszlo Manowski (from Sandworm), even Manoosh) but you just reminded me that I’d love to see Lizzy again. Her treachery provided some great drama in a fairly small role. That plus the roof-top scene with Chuck & Sarah make this Marlin a contender in this list.

      • atcdave says:

        Yeah Joe, I’m sure I’ve mentioned Tango is my favorite S1 episode. But it really is close with Marlin, and the rooftop scene is probably my favorite S1 moment.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        OH, don’t get me started on Tango. Tango hooked me completely and defined Chuck. And will be revisited in this series. But Marlin is up there…

  2. Joesph (can't be Joe) says:

    Maybe I took the easy way out with my choices. You tell me.

    Firstly let me say that IMO drama on Chuck goes over better when the “heavy stuff” is presented in such a fun to watch way that you almost miss it. So, in no particular order.

    Chuck vs the Intersect – From the dance club scene to the beach scene there is a lot of stuff going on and stuff that you can see will change Chuck’s life forever.

    Chuck vs the Cougars – Again the drama is hidden in a fun to watch episode. The whole issue of Sarah returning to her real childhood high school to Chuck not needing to know anything else was superb.

    Chuck vs the Lethal Weapon – The fact that Cole took Chuck seriously enough to bring him on the rescue mission and the general respect that he showed towards Chuck was a nice surprise from the typical views of Chuck’s spy abilities. The two scenes at the end where he tells Sarah he can’t move in with her and the Tron poster reveal were also well done.

    Honorable mention to Chuck vs the Subway. – Again drama hidden in a fun to watch episode.

    Almost making my list was Nacho Sampler, it was close but no cigar. I find it very difficult to call what we saw in the first 13 of S3 good drama. I’m sure that is what they wanted out the first 12, but all the first 12 episodes are so heavily laden in angst (I hate that word) that it doesn’t work for Chuck. The harsh reset at the start of the season set the angst meter so high that it essentially overshadowed any possibly good drama. And this really showed with stuff like name reveals and Red Test that should have been truly important moments for the show but essentially became non events. The first 12 of S3 didn’t cleverly hide the drama as we were used to, they pounded us over the head with until we didn’t care. The back 7 hid the drama in a fun to watch package again and worked much better for the bulk of fans.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Subway and Ring 2 both get an honorable mention from me too. Up until this morning I was still on the fence about including Three Words or Fat Lady, so I guess they are runners up too. I never really thought of it but the pilot is a decent drama once you get past the suspension of disbelief. I can see Lethal Weapon making the list, but I’m considering it for a top spy episode.

    • atcdave says:

      I like your choices Joseph; I wouldn’t really argue with any of them. And I agree completely about the angst in S3; kind of sucked the fun out of everything.

  3. jason says:

    cougars – so many real (not funny) issues at play in this one, plus we got to see agent Carmichael, sarah the babe walking into jenny’s old life was great tv

    santa claus – the bracelet and the mauser incident, the mauser incident made me feel alot like season 3 did, the mause incident lasted moments, season 3 lasted 8 months so far – ok – so I am not over it yet – I admit it

    best friends – when sarah said ‘no – chuck’ when his car blasted, might be cheapened a bit since she reacted near the same way for bryce and maybe even for others, still, at the time, I bought it, heck, I bought all of season 1/2

    I think the dramatic episodes in season 3 had shaw in them, so they won’t get my vote, plus I didn’t like season 3 except for eps 14 & 15, and I tolerated 1-4, and 16-19 – I wonder if shaw had been in the honeymooners what I would have done. might have had to edit him out and make my own copy

    • atcdave says:

      Agree with most of this Jason. I really waffled on Santa Claus, it held my third slot three different times. In the end I chose against it purely because of the final scene; I felt they way overplayed Chuck’s reaction. To me Sarah’s moral compromise was by far the more interesting issue; yet they focused on Chuck realizing Sarah’s a killer; um, didn’t he get that in the Pilot, and again in Helicopter, and again…..

  4. OldDarth says:

    Back to my top 3.

    Chuck Vs The Subway
    Chuck Vs The Dream Job
    Chuck Vs The Nemesis

    With Chuck Vs The BreakUp nibbling at the edges.

  5. Merve says:

    I’m going to avoid getting into the debate about what constitutes “good drama” and “bad drama.” Truth be told, I don’t even know what I like. I can’t say that I unambiguously like romantic drama because I loved “Truth” and “Suburbs,” but I didn’t love “Imported Hard Salami” or “Crown Vic.” I can’t say that I unambiguously like family drama because I loved “Subway” and “Ring: Part II,” but I didn’t love “Dream Job” or “Living Dead.”

    So my picks would be:
    First Kill: It doesn’t often get discussed, but Chuck and Sarah didn’t trust each other much from the end of “Santa Claus” to the end of “First Kill.” (“Broken Heart” is the glaring exception.) That tension played out fully in this episode. The word “trust” got tossed around like a football, and in the end, it turned out that Chuck and Sarah really did trust each other. The scene where Sarah hugged Chuck and whispered to him that “it’s all a lie” was one of the most suspenseful scenes of the series.

    Nacho Sampler: Chuck came to a few important realizations in this episode. 1. Being a spy isn’t always pretty; there can be a huge emotional cost. 2. There’s way of knowing what’s “real” and what’s “fake” for sure; all you can do is trust people, and that’s risky. 3. If he had made a couple of false moves or acted in self-interest, he would have been bunkered. It’s no wonder that he ended the episode drinking alone.

    Subway: Everybody was off in his or her own world, but that was okay for a change because it all came together in the end. Chuck realized that he didn’t want to commit the same sins as his father. Casey decided to sacrifice himself and his career to save his daughter. Sarah finally stood up for herself and what she believed in. Ellie found out about everything in the worst way possible and realized that everyone – Chuck, Sarah, Casey, Morgan, Devon, Stephen, and Justin – had been lying to her. She wanted no part in the spy world, but it was clear even before “Ring: Part II” that she would do anything to protect her brother. I have only a vague idea of what “good drama” is, but I know that the end of this episode, when Ellie replied, “yes” to Devon’s question, is “good drama.”

    • joe says:

      This is sort of cool, Merve. I don’t agree with your choices, but you choices make perfect sense for a slightly different meaning of “drama.” And it’s not even different – it’s just a different shade of meaning and it comes through in the scenes you described.

      Someday some aspiring PhD candidate will do a psychological study on us based on our choices. I can see that coming. Our innermost secrets revealed in our preferences. 🙂

    • Ernie Davis says:

      I like the pick of Nacho Sampler. I put it more in the spy episode category though it does make for some good drama when you see Chuck replaying his and Sarah’s entire relationship in his head.

  6. kg says:

    While there were some definite dramtic episodes in seasons one and two, when it came to voting I had to pick three from this past season where obviously the drama and angst was deliberately heightened.

    I recall having dialogue with many of you where we agreed that whatever drama transpired in seasons one and two, there was always enough “heartwarming” scenes especially near the end so that the characters and fans were left, if not in a good place, at least a decent place moving forward. I don’t have to remind folks that rarely happened in season three.

    Therefore, I officially chose Subway, Tooth and Other Guy, although I can easily see why many of you picked Final Exam and American Hero, and any other angsty S3 production.

    Subway is a no brainer. The dangerously vindictive Shaw is alive, he’s wreaking havoc secretly working for the Ring, discrediting everyone including Beckman, using Ellie, killing Steve and utilizing the perceived weakness of affection for loved ones and family to capture Team B. Count me in the camp of fans who agree that Subway/Ring 2 is one epic, two-hour episode.

    Other Guy – A lot went on here, but for me it doesn’t get any more dramatic when Sarah is alone and helpless in the clutches of Shaw/Ring across the Atlantic. If Shaw succeeds in killing her then it’s game over for the show.

    Tooth – The intersect is giving Chuck problems, his people have lost some faith in him and he’s tossed in the looney bin. He would have died there if not for Casey and Sarah recovering from their funk and remembering how special Chuck is.

  7. JB says:

    I think the most awesome part of the entire show is when Shaw baits Chuck.

    Something along the lines of:
    “So you’re ready now Chuck? You can flash and are ready to kick my ass?”
    “Damn straight”
    “So you’re prepared… mano-to-mano?”
    “Quit stalling”
    “Okay, how about now?”
    — shoots his dad dead —

    I didn’t like Shaw (as most people didn’t)when he was pursuing Sarah (or to be more truthful, I didn’t like Sarah when she was with Shaw), but now that he’s a villian, I think Shaw has a lot of strength and potential.

    If Shaw can be that ruthless then I think he’ll be an excellent foil to Chuck’s values, which is sorta what I want to see.

Leave a Reply

