Fan Fiction, yet Again

Its been a little while since I posted anything here.   But I am still reading fan fiction,  and really wanted to update on some of what’s going on.

We have often talked about how damaged, or not, S3 was.   Among the things currently going on at fanfiction.net are several attempts to “repair” or make peace with the whole poorly received season.   So after the jump,  I will discuss several of my favorite, current works in progress;  with an emphasis on S3 AUs.

“Chuck vs. How Season 3 Should Have Been” by LittleCandyMan is sort of a minimalist rewrite.   We’ve had several versions of the discussion here about how just a few removed scenes and minor rewrites could have salvaged the whole season.   This piece is an attempt to show just that.   Making just a few changes to the most painful of episodes could change the whole feel of the season.   So far its just three short chapters long and finished with “Fake Name.”   It could be read in about 20 minutes and would be rated PG.

“Chuck vs. the Fight” by KateMcK is a similar effort that’s just a little further along.   For each episode,  the writer accepts what’s come before,  but tries to make repairs from there on out.   Obviously,  it doesn’t really flow as a single story;  but the individual efforts have been interesting.   Currently it would take about an hour to read through.

I continue to recommend “Chuck and Sarah vs. Themselves” by NinjaVanish very highly.   This is currently my favorite story going,  no offense to any of the other excellent works in progress.   It is a complete rewrite of S3 from Pink Slip,  with the assumption the break up at the start of the season was faked.   The story has strayed farther from the season as it has gone along,  and is currently not recognizable to the show.   Where things stand now;  Chuck and Sarah are undercover as married arms dealers, discussing real marriage when not being monitored, trying to convince co-workers they are “just friends” (I’m pretty sure Casey isn’t fooled,  but Beckman and Shaw seem to be),  and are discussing stealing tapes from the FBI that may have captured them in a compromising position.    NinjaVanish is a particularly good action writer,  his epic gun and knife fights are always a lot of fun.   He also does very well with the character based humor that is such a part of “Chuck.”   The story is currently 20 chapters long and could take several hours to read,  and I’m really not sure how much farther he intends to take it.   I would consider his material R rated for violence, language, and suggested sex;  so reader discretion is advised!

Another trend that seems to be picking up steam is the “complete AU.”   That is stories that start from the start.   There are three real stand-outs in this category (and several honorable mentions,  that I really wish I had time to go into).   First place has to go Frea O’Scanlin’s epic “What Fates Impose.”   She starts before Chuck gets the intersect,  and develops her own version of the whole Chuck tale.   She is an excellent writer of characters, action, humor,  and about anything else you can think of.   The story is massively long,  I would guess 10 hours if you start from the beginning (and a long way to go yet!); Rated about PG-13.

Next mention would be another NinjaVanish work called “Chuck vs. the Frontier.”   This is 19th century Chuck,  and yes he has a version of the intersect (think Jules Verne or H.G. Wells sort of stuff).   Agent Walker is dangerous in any time even when she seems awkwardly out of place (at one point she says,  “the Ring doesn’t know Agent Walker is a woman ….. no Ring agent who met me has survived…”).   This story is just very fun stuff.   It would take about 4 hours to read the story to date and I would rate it PG-13.

Next I must mention “Walker’s Eleven” by Moonlight Pilot.   This starts with the assumption Sarah never escaped from her life of crime.  It starts in 2007 with Sarah doing “one last con” before she retires.   Of course things go horribly wrong and Chuck ends up being the only person she can turn to.   It’s still not clear how Chuck will function as an outlaw;  I believe its pointing towards them escaping from the life of crime but all I can do is guess.   The story telling is fun and exciting but we’re a long way from seeing how things will play out.   Current length is about 3 hours of reading and rating is PG-13.

The pure quality of fan fiction seems to get better all the time.   I can promise anyone who finds this interesting,  will get many hours of enjoyment from it.

About atcDave

I'm 54 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 31 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Fan Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Fan Fiction, yet Again

  1. Crumby says:

    What Fates Impose is by far my favorite. It is very impressive work. It has everything: it’s funny, there is action, suspense, drama, romance and this is so well written. There is so much happening, so much mysteries, you’re always surprised, and yet it’s very very consistent. Plus the characterization is just outstanding!

    What’s also very cool is all the other related pieces: To Resist Both Wind and Tide, Truth, Lies, and the CIA, To Sleep, Perchance to Scream, He’ll Someday Call Her Bunny and the upcoming The Bank Job. They are all very different, and very fun, while expanding the universe and giving insights on the main story.

    • atcdave says:

      “What Fates Impose” is very sophisticated and well conceived writing. Its almost a shame its a fanfic, its better than a lot of professionally written fiction I’ve seen. I suppose “Chuck and Sarah vs. Themselves” gets favorite status from me largely because it “fixes” what I saw as a gross error on the show and I like the occasional “military” bent to the writing. But its a close thing to me, both works are terrific.

      • Crumby says:

        I find Themselves very entertaining and I enjoy it very much, but the characters seems, I wouldn’t use OOC, but just not how I expect them to be.

        I don’t have that feeling with Fates.

        But at some point it’s just hard to rank fics. There are a lot of different stories and very good ones.

    • BDaddyDL says:

      A quick item. Frea is a member of Castle Inanity. She put up a poll for a story she will ride as an addition to fates. (chapter 4) You have several chapters to choose from. (CHapter 4) Frea has said Chapter 4 would be interesting, but is down in votes. Even if you dont read Fan Fic (chapter 4) could you go and vote in the poll? (chapter 4)

  2. Bernardo says:

    All good recomendations. I´ll add a few of alternate season 3 fics:
    – Chuck Vs. the Lady Fellings: The first 3 chapters are a bit dull, but since chapter 3 the story improves a lot.
    – Chuck Vs. the pacific northwest is a terrific fiction set after Chuck Vs. the fake name. It´s now complete, and it´s just great.
    – Chuck Vs. the whole truth is a series of dialogue re-telling the whole show. It´s quite large, but it´s very entretaining.
    Finally, even when Fates is a great fiction, I´m sorry but for me the award for best AU must go to Chuck VS. the double agent. That fiction is just perfect in every way.

    • BDaddyDL says:

      Chuck vs the Pacific northwest has not gotten a lot of interest, but it is a fantastic tale. It is more than just a how to fix season 3 fic, it is a great tale.

      I am sorry but I have to choose Fates just slightly above DA. I think that the fact that Madame Frea cranks out an amazing chapter almost once a week is incredible.
      Even if you don’t read fan fiction her last class is an example of how good writing can be.

      Oh by the way the last chapter in DA was also impressive, although it may be a little steamy for some. It was a showcase how just the right word conveys whats going on without having to go action by action.

      I will have some news about a new fic which is about as au as possible, but ill wait till its released. Also, I may have something interesting coming out soon also.

      • Bernardo says:

        @BdaddyDL: As a fan of your previous fics, I´m excited to hear of a new fic. Plus; love AU. But still, you owe us a new chapter of Chuck Vs. his heritage…

    • mxpw says:

      Just wanted to say thank you to both Bernardo and BDaddyDL for their kind words about DA. Especially you, Bernando. It’s always fun when I get my little victories over Frea. Thanks!

      • BDaddyDL says:

        I havent done it publicly yet, so here goes, the picture you see next to my name was made by Frea. THANK YOU.

        I owe her a 6 pack of DR Pepper, but I cant mail soda, so I guess its an IOU.

    • Crumby says:

      I did love DA too. I guess it feels different because I feel like I’ve read it some time ago now, and Fates is very present in my mind.

      But the last 2 chapters of DA were Awesome!

      • Bernardo says:

        Well, Frea alredy got enough minions as it is. And we don´t want her head to get to big, right?
        But seriously, DA is awesome. Whenever I´m trying to introduce someone into Fanfiction, I always suggest them to start with DA. It´s an incredible recruitment tool.

      • JC says:

        I’d like to second and third recommendations for Double Agent. It was the first Fan Fiction I’ve ever read and it got me hooked. This would be Chuck if AMC or HBO produced it.

  3. Joseph (can't be Joe) says:

    All the ones listed above are excellent, but lately I’ve been hooked on “All the Roads That Lead to You Are Winding”.

  4. Ernie Davis says:

    While I still curse Dave nightly for my lack of sleep I am starting to forgive him for getting me hooked on Fan Fiction via Frea O’s “Fates”. Since then I’ve discovered a ton of really good writing and storytelling through fanfic. I’m lucky in that there’s a huge backlog I can read through so I never seem to run out of the good stuff. I’ve especially enjoyed a few of the season 1 fics from Sharpasamarble recently.

    That said I’m going to once again plug Castle Inanity as a good source for some fanfic recomendations in addition to Dave and the commenters here since they’re nice enough to plug us on a semi-regular basis. Plus, they’re really good fanfic writers and seem to have a lot of fun with it.

    • Frea O says:

      Aww! Ernie! Thanks for the plug!!!

      You guys really are the sweetest. 🙂

      • Ernie Davis says:

        We have to keep you all well buttered up so you want to keep writing for us. 😉

      • joe says:

        ERNIE! What have you done? Now that she knows, we’ll have to bunker Frea too, with the others! 😉

      • Crumby says:

        You can try Joe, but Frea does know all the bunker secrets…

      • BDaddyDL says:

        Joe you don’t wanna bunker Frea she will unleash Fates Sarah on the board. If she is really mad she will sick DA Sarah on you, and that would be the end of that.

      • atcdave says:

        Not to mention, I think her following can beat-up our following.

      • Frea O says:

        My following? Scary? Ppft. Kittens. Fluffy kittens.

        Until I’m late with a chapter of Fates.

        MONSTERS. FLUFFY MONSTERS.

        …in the best possible way, of course. 🙂

        (The Others and a bunker are here, too? Are you sure you’re blogging about the right show? 😉 )

      • mxpw says:

        Mwuahahaha! I love that DA Sarah has become like the Boogie Man or the monster under the bed that you only unleash when you want to scare the crap out of somebody.

        That makes me happy.

      • joe says:

        The Others and a bunker are here, too?

        I was going to rub my hands together and say “Mua-ha!”, but mxpw beat me to it. The cad!

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Wait, did Frea just call me Fluffy Monster? Nobody is supposed to know that nickname except my Dianne!! It’s definitely the bunker for Frea.

        Oh, wait, it looks like the next chapter of fates will be on time after all. Never mind. 😉

      • Frea O says:

        Yes, Ernie. I fear the fans that much.

        Of course, I fear DA Sarah more, but that goes without saying. 😉

  5. rac2873 says:

    Chuck and Sarah vs the Themselves is acutally a prequal to Chuck & Sarah vs the Bunker. Those two stories are excellent.

    I love fates but sometimes I really want to smack Chuck upside the head but then I have to reel in that this story has only taken place over 2 months. However it is one of the best written stories I have read.

    I love DA and the last chapter was hot!!

    I love Roads are winding, I cannot wait to read the next chapter.

    I am also loving Walker’s Eleven. In that story Sarah is a girl that knows what she wants and she has no problem getting it. Loved the wake up scene of last chapter.

    I think I read Pacific Northwest Chapter 4 multiple times. I think that is one of the best chapters in a Chuck fic. Sarah completely opens up to Chuck and about her past, how she got into the CIA and it is just a really great romance chapter.

    All in all there are really some great fics out there and I have to give cudos to all the talented writers that continue to provide such excellent stories.

    There are others as well but those are currently my favorite.

  6. mxpw says:

    Since Ernie made the comment in the spoiler thread, I thought I’d drop a link here since it didn’t seem appropriate to do it there.

    The first chapter of the Bank Job dropped early this afternoon. Here’s a link:

    http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6289790/1/The_Bank_Job

    Read and enjoy! If you feel inclined to, please leave a message letting Frea and myself know what you think. We’d really appreciate it.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Sorry, it was a bit misplaced. But thanks for placing it here. You guys know how many people here love your work and want to follow it.

      Like I said, I’m going to wait and savor it when I’m on vacation, so don’t mistake my lack of comments or enthusiasm for indifference. I’m exercising self control… No, really. Yep, still not reading…

      (Curse you CI)

  7. BDaddyDL says:

    Last night I posted Chapter 5 of my story. Unfortunately, it appears that Sgt Buckley is having a really bad day. I am sorry Joe, I really am.

    This is also the last of the fluffy chapters in this story. I will not ask you to continue to read the chapters, but I promise it will not be something you have seen in the fan fiction universe.

  8. Bernardo says:

    Ellie walks into the briefing room of the house and finds a scary scene:

    Ellie: “Chuck?” “Auntie Diane?”
    Now, that would be weird. And creepy. No Bigdaddy, I cna´t picture it, not in this fic 🙂

  9. Ernie Davis says:

    Hey all. I’m a little late to the fan fiction genre and don’t know a lot of the back story to who wrote what when, but I have a question if you’ll bear with me and indulge my ignorance. I started reading Simple Twist of Fate yesterday and I couldn’t shake the feeling I was reading a prequel to What Fates Impose. I didn’t see any author’s notes on this though. Am I crazy? I’m only on chapter 7 and a lot of this feels like the backstory to why Chuck gets bunkered and why Bryce gets him out (with Orion’s help and backing of course). I know, who puts down a fic at chapter 7? Well it was just temporary to get some sleep…

    • atcdave says:

      I think Fates is mostly self contained, well except for the clearly indicated tie ins by Frea and mxpw.
      But many stories, “Simple Twist of Fate” among them, have taken Chuck NOT getting kicked out of Stanford as their starting point. I think there’s at least 10 AUs out there that have Ckuck going strait into the CIA after being recruited by Prof. Fleming. I think Frea is unique in having him fail his CIA training and go into a bunker right away (which still hasn’t been completely explained but probably related to his suitability as an Intersect candidate).
      Its really tough to keep a dozen similar story lines strait! For a long time I limited myself to finished works. Now I’m tracking TOO MUCH stuff in progress, for so many of them I spend longer in review with each update than it takes to read the new chapter.

Leave a Reply

