Speculation Post: Chuck vs. The Suitcase

Here is your thread to speculate to your hearts content for Chuck vs. The Suitcase, episode 4.02!

For whatever reason, I can’t embed the video from NBC (maybe one of my more tech savvy co-bloggers can help out), but here is the link to the preview from last night:  http://www.nbc.com/chuck/video/season-4-twists-and-turns/1250288/

About amyabn

My name is Amy and I'm in the active Army as my profession. I love the show Chuck and want to see it succeed for many seasons to come. My twitter handle is amyabn.
This entry was posted in Season 4, Wild Speculation. Bookmark the permalink.

87 Responses to Speculation Post: Chuck vs. The Suitcase

  1. Casey's girl says:

    That preview is for the next five episodes I think. I’m wondering why they did that and if they’re going to continue to give us promos that have scenes from different episodes.

    • jason says:

      probably will only do one for each 6 weeks, that way they can use the 30 seconds to do a quick promo for ‘The Event’ & don’t have to waste any time or effort on chuck – LOL

    • Merve says:

      It’s the exact same thing they did last season after the premiere. There was no promo for “Angel de la Muerte,” but there were individual promos for each subsequent episode, “Honeymooners” aside.

    • jason says:

      merve thanks for clearing that up, but I was joking about the promo thing vs the event (well sort of), I did watch the event after chuck, reminded me more of lost (which I have not watched much of) than 24 – which I was a pretty regular viewer of – seems like to be a fan of the event, you will have to invest a great deal of thought energy to, if the showrunners can hook people into it, just might work … would seem to me, a solid 4m 18-49 demo for the event can only help chuck at this point, especially if the 9pm NBC show (which by all accounts is not very good) does worse than chuck?

      • Merve says:

        No worries, I was replying to Casey’s girl’s comment. It’s funny that you should mention The Event, though, as a show that requires a lot of viewer investment. After watching the pilot, I feel as I know so little about what’s going on that there’s no way that I can be invested. Maybe a lot of viewers like shows that mess with their brains for the sake of messing with their brains, but I sure don’t.

        The only way that I see The Event helping Chuck is if people tune in 5 minutes early for The Event and catch the tail end of the vastly superior show that precedes it. Hey, maybe that was NBC’s marketing strategy all along. 😉

  2. amyabn says:

    CG, I’ll keep my eyes peeled for something to be released for just Suitcase!

  3. joe says:

    Amy, all you can do with the NBC link is exactly what you did, pretty much. WordPress doesn’t let you embed just any ol’ video, unfortunately.

    YouTube is a different story. With YouTube you just put:
    youtube=”the URL here” on a separate line *in square brackets*, and the video is embedded. I’d type it out here, but if I do, then the editor tries to do the substitution and tries to put up a video!

    Even if this is 5 episodes worth of spoilers, I’m stunned that all this comes about so quick! Chuck comes clean with Sarah in the first episode, and THEN with Ellie? Cool! I figure that the (ahem) undressed girl is one of the fashion models in Milan? That can’t be a surprise! MEB at Chuck’s 3 o’clock and facing off at gunpoint with a certain long-legged Valkyrie… Yikes!

    And who won’t love Casey in a coffin. “It’s Alive!!!”

  4. JC says:

    From Schwartz’s twitter

    Also greatest catfight ever. Yvonne vs Victorias Secret Model. Lots o punches, not a lot o clothes.

    • alladinsgenie4u says:

      Bring it on! Cant wait to see how the fight goes down. I am betting Sarah will be extra hard on the evil model – after all she dared to wrap her naked body around Chuck.(as per the promo)

  5. Gringo Chuck Fan says:

    Forget TV shows – TPTB on Chuck should think about managing a pro sports team…
    They replaced Brandon Routh – and brought in Linda Hamilton and Timothy Dalton. [smart smart moves]
    They upgraded the Buy More [without raising taxes]
    And somehow managed to improve team chemistry –
    Any pro team would be heading to a championship!

    Last night was very good.
    As one friend mentioned – it was that good – and we haven’t even seen much out of Sarah Walker yet.
    All signals point to a very good season.
    I kinda wish fans would stop fussing about the ratings. Clearly there isn’t much that Chuck can do to compete with some “used-to-be” dancers….
    Or even some of the more established ‘BIG Hit’ shows that show up each Monday on other networks.
    I’m very happy to have a chance to enjoy S4 – and plan to make the most of every minute of it : )
    The most unbelieveable moment from 4.01
    A Yellow AMC Pacer???? [ laughed so hard]
    Not sure that car was worth $900 new!!!
    – at least is wasn’t a Pinto…

  6. Cas says:

    Just a reminder! Can you guys please do the survey at http://www.rewardtv.com/welcome/sampleGames.sdo
    it is run by Nielsen and it is legit. Maybe we can add just enough more ratings for Chuck to atleast get the back nine

  7. alladinsgenie4u says:

    I believe the actress who played the stewardess (Katie Cleary)in 4×01 is also credited at imdb as one of the actors in 4×02. Chucktv.net did have a scoop that she would be appearing in some episodes. Since the mission involves a retrieval of a secret weapon – it makes sense that Volkoff would be involved. Maybe, Karolina Kurkova’s character is selling the weapon to the highest bidder and Katie Cleary’s character (Laura) is in Milan to seal the deal.

  8. DaveB says:

    I think the tense moment between MammaB and Sarah will be defused by a “charm”.

    • Merve says:

      Crazy speculation: what if Mary actually shot Sarah? (Non-lethally, I mean, like in the arm or the leg, don’t get any ideas.) It would be interesting to see the search turn from saving a good guy to tracking down a villain. (Of course, Mary shot Sarah to protect her cover, so she’s really still good; it’s that Team Bartowski thinks she’s evil.)

      • joe says:

        Is there any chance that MEB is implicated in Sarah’s Red Test??? (Ooof – that’s pure speculation, based on absolutely nothing!)

      • DaveB says:

        Just as long as Sarah isn’t Chucks long-lost twin sister, hidden for her own safety with a travelling scoundrel.

      • Merve says:

        @joe: I think we’re done with Red Tests for now. But I might be proven wrong. We’ll see.

        @DaveB: I’ve always speculated that Mama Bartowski, Mama Burton, and Mama Barnes are the same person. Unfortunately, no other Chuck fans have. 😛

      • Ernie Davis says:

        OK, I’m gonna put it out there. You thought Duck was daring and disturbing? It seems Casey, while he is connecting with his daughter, is not re-connecting with his ex, Kathleen, so I give you… Masey. Yep, Mary Elizabeth Bartowski, and John Casey. A match made in a very disturbing part of hell. Casey, as Chuck’s step-father. And you thought Bolognia caused Morgan problems.

        MWUHAHA…

      • joe says:

        You kidding me, Ernie?

        This is GENIUS!

        Casey & Mama B? Perfect! Why didn’t we think of this before???

      • atcdave says:

        I predict nothing but heartache for Masey. Those tramps Kathleen and Ilsa will become a new trapezoid that will lead to a fan mutiny leading to the end of the show.

        And WE will know, Ernie started it!

      • herder says:

        I don’t think the red test has anything to do with Mama B, but I am suspicious about that safe house. I don’t see a safe house remaining vacant for sixteen years with a menu for selling arms systems (with a current phone number) and a camera to see if anyone shows up. It may have been the room that Mama B was in at the end of Ring part II when they moved her.

      • TJ says:

        I’m kinda hoping Mama B shoots Sarah NON-LETHALLY… perhaps she just doesn’t know who Sarah is? Though I can’t help but note that in the promo neither look to be holding their guns very seriously… compared to Sarah in Chuck vs. the Santa Claus, or that picture we see everywhere of her creeping around to fight Heather Chandler.

        And Merve, I would cry if Chuck and Jeff were related…

  9. Gringo Chuck Fan says:

    Ok – I’ve had some time to digest 4.01 – and I think we’re all pretty much in agreement that Season 4 is off to a good start.
    BUT –
    [ yep – there is always a but… I’ll refrain from the jokes about the size of mine… grrr]

    What will happen this season – that really matters to the fans?
    Not necessarily tension –
    and especially not any more angst –
    But I think there still needs to be something I’d classify as really compelling. Something that will be an undeniable pull for the so called fringe viewer.
    [ Yep it would send the rest of us over the edge!]
    I noticed a trend through a couple of the various podcasts lately – in particular viewer questions…
    I’m not sure – but it would appear that very few of us are really searching for answers.
    What happened to the buring questions?
    Maybe we’re just enjoying the joyful bliss of the start of another new season… but if that’s the case: What is it about Chuch that really matters?

    It could just be that I’m escaping the angony of my afternoon class – but I’d love to hear what yall think:
    cheers – DC

    • Merve says:

      We have a lot of questions right now, but I don’t think that we have the tools to answer them yet.

      – Where is Mary?
      – Why did she leave her family?
      – Is she good or evil?
      – What is her affiliation with Volkoff Industries?

      I think that once we get a few more clues, the speculation will start flying back and forth like crazy. Give it a couple of episodes.

      • Paul says:

        From what I saw in 4.01 and from some interviews with LH, I’ve come to this hypothesis:

        1) MamaB was a married spy, code-named Frost. Not sure yet if Orion was a CIA asset already, or if he became a spy after she disappeared.

        2) She was in and out on missions all the time (After the story, Chuck asks her how long she’ll be gone this time).

        3) LH stated in an interview that MamaB was deep cover.

        4) It is apparent that VI doesn’t know about Chuck or Ellie. that scene also hints that maybe it was the first time her cover has been compromised.

        So, with those 3 tidbits, my idea is that she left on a mission going deep cover in VI, likely to gather intel on them. She likely got in so deep that she was unable to extract herself. The CIA likely concluded she was captured. So her being a spy who was stranded in her mission could be one scenario. Another is that Volkoff uncovered her but she agreed to stay and work for the company under the condition they didn’t harm Orion.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I think Heather Chandler, who was selling military secrets to the Russian Mob (HELLO, Volkoff links anyone?) will give us our first clues about what MEB does, and at first it won’t seem good.

      • atcdave says:

        Some good speculation there Paul, could be plausible. Perhaps it will be a further cautionary tale for Chuck and Sarah about getting in too deep (I mean too deep with the job; that would be not deep enough for family!)

        I bet you’re right Ernie about getting some insights from Heather in 4.03; not that she’ll want to be helpful.

      • joe says:

        Very good specs, Paul. I wanna note just one thing:

        In the file that Sarah handed to Chuck at the end with info on MEB, there were several words redacted before the word “captured.” TPTB have left an escape hatch there if the words we didn’t see change the context.

      • herder says:

        I think that we know Volkov is a bad guy, the question is about whether Mama B is a bad guy or a good guy. As the season progresses at times it will look like she is a part of the Volkov organization willingly (bad guy) and at other times it will appear that she is there under duress (good guy). I suspect it won’t be until 4.10 or 4.11 that we find out for sure at the earliest.

  10. amyabn says:

    This episode is supposed to be about their achilles heel. Looks like jealousy will be it. I think it will be interesting to watch.

    • herder says:

      It could also be communication, in the short description for 4.03 it says that they try to work on communication. That or maybe they try to communicate why they should not be jealous.

    • amyabn says:

      I got to thinking more about this after re-watching again yesterday. They both verbalized that they didn’t want the other one getting hurt.

      That led me to speculating about Thanksgiving. I’m not sure what episode it is that will reunite the Bartowskis, but I kept envisioning Sarah being captured and everyone in a panic trying to find her. MEB blows her cover to get Sarah out, and then it becomes all of Team B to defend the whole family against Volkoff. Beckman gets brought in and they are victorious (of course). Then they work on the family issues.

      • thinkling says:

        Good Hypothesis. I like it.

        I’ll just add that somehow I don’t think the Achilles heal is jealousy. It’s too easy.

        It could be communication. Or maybe something to do with the search for mom. Or Chuck’s desire to believe whatever anyone tells him. ??

        I don’t have really strong ideas except that I don’t think it’s jealousy. Watch them prove me wrong.

      • thinkling says:

        Another thought on your speculation. I think Mama B went on a rogue (not evil, just rogue) mission to protect her family. What if that’s what Sarah does (to protect Chuck) and is captured – much like MamaB. This becomes a bond between them. Maybe the two of them make it back for Thanksgiving.

      • Casey's girl says:

        That’s an interesting theory amyabn. @thinkling, you sure about that? Cause spoilers indicate that jealousy is involved.

        I’m looking forward to the Thanksgiving episode and since Team B has gone rogue behind the CIA’s back, I think it will them standing Volkoff’s way and he might try to do something drastic to the gang (like the man who must not be named) did in the season 3 finale perhaps. But of course they’ll come out on top. my 2 cents.

      • jason says:

        if the Achilles heel is jealousy over seduction missions, any chance they confront beckman after the mish and tell her no more seduction missions? Sarah was pretty brave with beckman on a video feed, will she be as brave face to face, something along the line ‘General, Chuck and I have something to tell you, he, I mean we can’t go on seduction missions any longer’

        my original thought was the achilles heel was going to be worry over getting hurt, but the previews make me think otherwise.

      • atcdave says:

        Not that Chuck is ever so logical anyway…
        But I would seriously think in most cases it would be up to the agents themselves to decide how to get info and complete a mission anyway. General B’s meddling in tactics seems heavy handed and inappropriate. It would be nice to see TeamB have more operational flexibility. With the General in Burbank this season that will never happen though!

  11. jason says:

    not sure if this has been posted here or not, I seem to recall someone mentioning it, if a duplicate I apologize, seems to be good news in terms of chuck’s future:

    http://chucktv.net/2010/09/22/chuck-highlighted-as-key-brand-for-nbc-universalcomcast/

  12. Big Kev says:

    Don’t know where to put this – but according to OLV, Chuck is filming in 2 downtown LA locations today. One is the bank building they filmed at yesterday (where Mel from ChuckTV was tweeting from the set), the other is somewhere called – Casey’s Irish Bar!

  13. joe says:

    Big spoiler news from Ausiello.

    Ernie, hold on to your hat. The newest Greta is Summer Glau.

    • atcdave says:

      Man I really want to hear Casey say, “I know her, she’s crazy!”

    • Ernie Davis says:

      SQUEEE!!!!! (thud)

      Dateline Erie County New York. A vacationing blogger was found dead in his summer home late Friday afternoon. Neighbors up to a mile away were alerted by an incredibly loud sound they described as a “squee”. The apparent cause of death was his nerdy Chuck and Whedon-loving heart bursting out of his chest.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Lucky for me this is Chuck and nobody ever really dies. I wouldn’t want to miss this for anything. And she sure as hell better get a good fight scene!

    • atcdave says:

      There’s got to be at least one Terminator joke too. Dang, she just has too much nerd cred (like that’s possible).

      • herder says:

        How could they not considering that they have both Sarah Connor and a terminator (Arnold is still The Terminator).

    • herder says:

      Hmmm, someone to scare the pants off Morgan, or better yet scare Jeff and Lester straight.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Summer Glau also has a Buffy or Angel appearance under her belt as I recall. She’s the complete nerd package. The Buffy-verse, the Firefly ‘verse and Terminator and Dollhouse. But nothing says we love you to a nerd like a Firefly re-union. Can Mal and Zoe be far behind?

    • JC says:

      Alright Schwartz, Sarah Michelle Gellar make it happen.

    • Casey's girl says:

      I’m psyched for this. I can only pray that Summer and Casey are at least in the same room together at least for couple of moments I would totally geek out. 🙂

    • Merve says:

      I was thinking the other day: how much would the fans nerd out if Summer Glau guest starred on Chuck? And then it happened. As Big Mike would say, “The power of positive thinking.”

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Merve, you need to start thinking of the Nathan Fillion nerd-gasm, like right now. Toss in Gina Torres just for good measure.

      • herder says:

        I know that they said we weren’t going to get Sarah’s family this year, but how much fun would it be if Summer Glau was Sarah’s little sister. Summer suspicious of Chuck, Sarah protective of Summer, Morgan inappropriately close, Ellie saying “there’s something a little off about this family”, think of the possibilities.

      • TJ says:

        @herder that would be very fun! I always like to know more about Sarah.

      • Merve says:

        @Ernie: Ehh…I’m not really a Nathan Fillion fan. *ducks barrage of tomatoes* But that might be because the only thing I’ve seen him in was Dr. Horrible, which was…well…horrible. However, I would love to see Gina Torres on the show. I loved her guest spot on Pushing Daisies, and I think that she’d make a good villain.

  14. Joseph (can't be Joe) says:

    I wonder if she “intends to misbehave”?

    We can only hope.

  15. joe says:

    I’ve put up the clip from Zac’s appearance on Jay Leno last night (9/24) in the Season 4 Spoilers page. It contains a brief segment from 4.02 featuring Lou Ferrigno.

  16. Gord says:

    So here are my specs on 4.02.
    The Suitcase in the title will be about the weapon they are looking for – it will be in a suitcase that Chuck has to retrieve from the bad guys.

    The Achilles heel in the episode synopsis is how Chuck and Sarah handle their feelings when one of them has to do a seduction mission. When they have to compromise their “coupleness” for the sake of the mission it will really bother them.

    By the way I got the impression from the clip they showed on Leno, that the Hulk is really jealous of Chuck dating his boss. He is obviously a body guard holding a torch for the person he is assigned to protect – sound familiar?

    I also think we will get the line from the Hulk dude “Don’t make me angry, you wont like me when I’m angry” (I may not have the phrasing exactly right, but that is what Bill Bixby would say all the time in the Hulk TV series.)

Leave a Reply

