Music for Season 4

Ok, ok, ok! (to quote Leo Getz), you knew it had to be coming!  Any regular Chuck This reader knows my love of music and the themes we’ve seen in the first two episodes have inspired a few selections on my part.  I’ll start with Sarah after the break!

Sarah’s POV

Sarah has come a long way!  Her line describing her feelings about Chuck being her home takes me back to another song I recommended in an earlier post, and it still resonates with me.  The song is “If My Heart Was A House” by Owl City. ( http://tinyurl.com/2czm2y8 ).  A quote from the song:

“Circle me and the needle moves gracefully, back and forth, if my heart was a compass you’d be north; risk it all cause I’ll catch you if you fall, wherever you go, if my heart was a house you’d be home.”  I actually squeed a bit hearing her say that line as it fit so perfectly with the intent of the song.

Another song from Sarah’s POV is “Only Exception” by Paramore.  (Official video here:  http://tinyurl.com/23h4ppl ).  I only took a portion for you:

“Maybe i know, somewhere
Deep in my soul
That love never lasts
And we’ve got to find other ways
To make it alone
Or keep a straight face

And i’ve always lived like this
Keeping it comfortable,
distance, and up until now
I’d sworn to myself that I’m content
With loneliness
Because none of it
was ever worth the risk, but…

You, are, the only exception
You, are, the only exception
You, are, the only exception
You, are, the only exception

I’ve got a tight grip on reality
But I can’t let go of what’s in front of me here
I know you’re leaving in the morning, when you wake up
Leave me with some kind of proof it’s not a dream”

To me, this song speaks of Sarah’s acceptance that  “her Chuck” isn’t the average guy and is the exception to the rules she previously held for herself.  Sarah had settled in the past for the comfortable, the easy, and the unattached.  She dated the guy she thought she should to fit the role of super spy.  I think you can see the parallel if you look at her relationship with Bryce and you-know-who.  Chuck is the exception to the life she thought she had to live, the life he rescued her from.

Now from Chuck!

There are two songs by a singer/songwriter named Ryan Star.  The songs “Breathe,” and “Unbreak” take on different facets of the relationship from Chuck’s POV.  I would use the first song in response to the situation Sarah finds herself in with Heather Chandler.  I think the preview makes it pretty clear that Sarah will be revisiting some of her issues and insecurities from High School, some of which was on display in Cougars.  Here is a link:  http://tinyurl.com/2bvc3dp

“Let go of the fear
Let go of the time
Let go of the ones
Who try to put you down
You’re gonna be fine
Don’t hold it inside
If you hurt right now
Then let it all come out

CHORUS:
Breathe, just breathe
Take the world off your shoulders
And put it on me
Breathe, just breathe
Let the life that you lead
Be all that you need
Breathe, just breathe
Take the world off your shoulders
And put it on me
Breathe, just breathe
Let the life that you lead
Be all that you need

Let go of the fear
Let go of the time
Take the world off your shoulders
And put it on me”

Here is a portion of “Unbreak”: (listen here:   http://tinyurl.com/2bkc6jr )  This song is one of support, passion, and love:

“I wanna know your whole skin, every mark, every inch
I wanna heal your pain, don’t be scared, let me in
Lay yourself down, I will comfort you, I will comfort you
Until the stars fall around us

For every dream that you lost, every tear that it cost
I will, I will unbreak you
All the pain that you feel, let this moment be real
I will, I will unbreak you
I will undo the hurt ’til it feels like I’m the first
I will unbreak you

I wish I knew you when eyes were white and innocent
If I could cut through time, I’d hold you close, make you mine
Stay where you are, and I will come for you, I will comfort you
Until the stars fall around us”

Both songs are reassurances from Chuck to Sarah on the status of their relationship.  We keep hearing about Sarah having the rough childhood and many think they need to either truly explore it or move on.  I think the return of Heather can be the final resolution to those insecurities. In both songs, the male lead is asking his love to lean on him and to let go of past hurts.  We have seen the relationship grow and strengthen.  I’m hoping we can close the door on some of the past drama and focus them together on the future and of finding Mary Elizabeth Bartowski.  Oh, and I’m still hoping to see Chuck (Zac) sing to Sarah.  🙂  I’ve rambled on long enough.  Let me know what you think!

About amyabn

My name is Amy and I'm in the active Army as my profession. I love the show Chuck and want to see it succeed for many seasons to come. My twitter handle is amyabn.
This entry was posted in Music, Season 4, Wild Speculation. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Music for Season 4

  1. joe says:

    That was the day I promised
    I would never sing of love
    – If it did not exist.

    Sigh. Almost two generations and gender separate me from the singer. I understand what she’s saying all too well, and at the same time, I’m no longer capable of understanding the sentiment. I only know that it’s powerful.

    And Breathe is even more powerful. It’s a song of desperation and strength. Stunning.

    Sarah is most definitely living the first, and Chuck has only come into the second recently. They fit perfectly.

    • amyabn says:

      Thanks Joe. I should have given honorable mention to another Ryan Star song, “11:59.” It reminds me of their first date and subsequent dates where Chuck clearly wanted her to stay and she didn’t allow herself.

Leave a Reply

