Suitcases and Baggage

Unpacking

There is incredible humor in Chuck vs. The Suitcase. I laughed harder every time I watched this week.

Diane in charge

Diane: Yes – Understood. I will put a team on it tomorrow.
– And thank you for shopping at the Buy More.

Diane? That’s a whole new side of you! And Chuck? Will you PLEASE get your hand off of Sophia’s perfection? Lester expands his knowledge of the universal mind, and Morgan poses to Casey a question like a quiz-show game master: “Top 3 things you can do with a Roomba. Number 1, Go!”

Funny!

Sarah and a Supermodel battling it out on a cat-walk? That’s right up there with Sarah vs. La Ciudad and Lizzy. (And really, can you think of a better way to get the male 19-29 demo to tune in?)

And Sarah finally unpacking her suitcase was one of those moments that Chuck does with a perfectly light touch. It was sweet. Also, it was clever how they tied that into the spy-plot with Sophia not unpacking her most important dress, too. I liked that.

Yet last Monday night after the show was over I wondered for a bit if it was just too light-weight. I’ll tell you honestly, I want more from Chuck, more than guffaws and even more than sweet moments. All that stuff I saw early on was fun, but there is always a depth of meaning that I’m looking for, the kind of thing you feel when Sarah bumps Chuck’s shoulder on the beach, or when Chuck tells her that, amazing as she is, they both know that she will never be a normal girl. So often I’ve come away with a flicker of light hidden in the laughter, and something I don’t even notice for awhile. Did I get that?


Yes, yes I did, sometime after I realized that more than one suitcase had been unpacked, and before I found the lyrics to the final song. So, yes, yes.

Lucy takes the long way home
meets me in a field of stone
she says I don’t know how I’m supposed to feel
my body’s cold, my guts are twisted steel.

And I feel like I’m some kind of frankenstein,
waiting for a shock to bring me back to life,
but I don’t want to spend my time
waiting for lightning to strike. Ohhh…

So underneath a concrete sky
Lucy puts her hand in mine
She says “Life’s a game we’re meant to lose,
But stick by me and I will stick by you.”

Cause I’m like a princess in a castle high,
waiting for a kiss to bring me back to life,
but I don’t want to spend my time
waiting for just another guy. Ohh….

The song is A Girl, A Boy and A Graveyard by Jeremy Messersmith. It was played during the final scenes, starting with Ellie leaving her bed while Devon slept.

The melody is actually very sweet and it fit perfectly with Sarah showing Chuck that she had finally unpacked. But the lyrics, which I did not find until later, seem at odds with Sarah saying that Chuck is her home. They speak of uncertainty, resignation, and sadness. Why should Sarah be sad?

"Alex? Dad."

She’s not the only sad character. It may have been transparently true that the title referred to Sarah finally unpacking and to Sophia not unpacking the most important item she had. But now it seems that after all this time in Burbank, Casey too had just barely started unpacking. The man walked away from home two decades earlier to serve something greater than himself. And now, cold-school professional though he is, it’s dawning on him that he’s been away too long.

Waiting for lightening

And then, Ellie. Ellie pulls out her box of memories from childhood, the home she once had, and one by one, like Sarah, she decides finally to unpack them. These characters are not smiling. Casey and Ellie are solemn and thoughtful, perhaps even sad because something deep and important is changing. Like Sarah, they’re discovering they need family and the walls that they built for protection – everyone’s protection – must come down. It’s scary. It’s an end to a way of life that they’ve known for a long time. Each of them had been resigned to a life they thought was right and good, and now they resolve to end that life for something unknown.

It’s not deep or profound to say that you unpack your belongings when you are home. It’s an everyday truth. The hard thing is to build a home when you don’t know how.

Chuck and Morgan, the two unambitious characters who grew to be most unsatisfied with their station, met up with two extremely competent, cynical and established professionals who showed them the ropes. I do believe Chuck and Morgan are going to return the favor.

– joe

About joe

In my life I've been a professor, martial artist, rock 'n roller, rocket scientist, lover, poet and brain surgeon. I'm lying about the brain surgery.
This entry was posted in Music, Observations, Season 4. Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Suitcases and Baggage

  1. Faith says:

    The hard thing is to build a home when you don’t know how.

    Brilliant! Bravo!

    Re: song. Like in all lyrical “perfection” within Chuck, it often addresses one character over the other. When I first heard the song and read the lyrics I thought it was more a statement about Chuck and what he’s going to have to do, be, live with…rather than a statement about Sarah and being uncertain.

    However I do like the idea that the song applies to Casey as well. Sometimes I forget that Casey is just as much out of orbit, and learning just as much as Sarah has had to learn these past 3 years.

    It’s midnight here so that’s as far as I can think for the moment. I just want to say, fantastic write up.

  2. OldDarth says:

    The music is a nice extension of the show. And is exactly that, just an extension. Need to see those thoughts dramatized on the screen. Classic example of telling instead of showing.

    BTW the reason Suitcase feels lightweight is because it is a Trojan Horse episode. The main storyline of Sarah’s commitment issue is a recycle of the themes from Role Models. The real purpose of Suitcase, and the true A storyline is to bring back the BuyMorons into the show.

    • joe says:

      Ah, Lou, you’re so pragmatic! 😉

      Yeah, the music is an extension. It’s a nicety, an embellishment and certainly can’t substitute for the story and visuals (especially in such a visual medium). But man, it’s where I find the buried gems.

      And I can’t help but think they were put there just for me. Keeps me coming back, don’t ya know! 😛

      • OldDarth says:

        Glad you do. And the music they chose is so good too.

        Just a warning that such things sets one up for making on screen extensions that have not been shown.

        It is somewhat akin to other franchises where the fans start quoting reference books, comics, novelizations etc to back up their opinion.

    • atcdave says:

      I think that’s an excellent observation OD. Don’t get me wrong, I loved this episode from an entertainment viewpoint; I’ll even rank it among my favorite episodes ever. But it didn’t seem to do much from an overarch perspective. Returning the Buy Morons to their rightful place may be the only strategic function served. Although if marriage talk and an engagement follow shortly we’ll have to add bringing that subject into play as well.

    • ChuckNewbie8 says:

      I can’t help but feel insulted. But I suppose I’m taking something not personal, personally.

  3. The shrink says:

    I have to agree with lou it was recycled. It took my about 2.5 years to realize that chuck is a very predictable and very flawed. But I love the show and actors none the less. Judging by the rates so far, it appear to be the last season unless the find a new night. I am ok with it and going to sit back and enjoy the end. Hopefully if the show ends the website will continue. We will always have Omaha

    • joe says:

      Oh, I understand that it’s flawed, Shrink. Chuck is nothing but easy to pick apart on all sorts of details, starting with the use and abuse of Apple IIe’s 😉

      Still, it’s how it portrays human nature, the struggle to do the right thing when it seems the cost is terrible (and being paid by the wrong people) and the value of family and friends that strike me as true.

      Really, if I’m alone in that, it’s okay. The rating may drop to one viewer (me!), and the show may come to an end sooner rather than later. But the value I find in it makes me glad I had the chance to watch.

      • kg says:

        You’re far from alone with the concept Joe. If you recall, it was the essence of my guest post last spring.

        Family and friends, and for Chuck they are usually interchangeable, have picked him up every time he has been down. Chuck essentially exists himself to do protect and serve his family and friends.

        In the epic finale last year, Shaw as an evil spy finally stepped up and performed somewhat according to his inflated ego and advanced hype.

        He had successfully captured Chuck, Casey, Sarah and Beckman with the aid of the Ring and was oh so close to usurping the CIA and destroying the government from within.

        It appeared that he had thought of just about everything. But he forgot entirely about Ellie, Morgan and Awesome, who in his worst day and their best, folks he would never ever consider worthy threats or adversaries.

        He always assumed that Chuck’s love and high regard for them was a weakness for Chuck and a detriment to him and missions. But he never considered how important it was to Chuck to have them all right, to be able to come clean to them on important matters. That was never more evident than when Chuck and Morgan were tied up deep in castle.

        Shaw’s biggest mistake was never comprehending how important Chuck is to folks like Ellie, Awesome and Morgan. So much so, that they never hesitated to come through for Chuck, Sarah and Casey, to do heroic things they are not accustomed to because Chuck needed them to. Like he usually did for the people he loves before and after the intersect.

        And you’re spot on Joe. Even though the world is flawed, even though there’s a lot of bad out there, it has been heartwarming, sweet, tender and special watching these flawed characters and gifted actors continue to interact and grow before us, to do the little things that bond people forever.

        For Chuck to be the point man to bring so many different kinds of people together. Yes, to form the unorthodox, dysfunctional but highly successful unit we affectionately call Team Bartowski.

      • joe says:

        Ack! You’re right, kg. One of the most satisfying scenes of S3 was the very end of Subway. Chuck has given up. His words are “There’s nobody left to save us.” I smiled broadly when the scene shifted to Ellie and then Devon and Morgan. Nobody left, indeed.

        Thanks for reminding me about your post late last spring. Exactly on-topic (and don’t tell me your 4 months into the future, now! 😉 ).

    • atcdave says:

      I don’t necessarily equate predictable with flawed. But I think we established unreasonable expectations with a brilliant S1 and S2, followed by a painfully flawed S3. They did trick us on the pacing, we thought we were seeing something special unfold through two seasons; and then we discovered TPTB were as scared of actual relationship growth as most show runners have been for 30 years. Very disappointing.

      But in spite of that one very big SNAFU, I think the quality of humor and performances have remained constant since the premier. I don’t think Chuck will ever be important like “Schindler’s List;” but I couldn’t watch Schindler’s List every week. Its enough for me to have fun every week in a show that doesn’t insult my intelligence (much).

      Don’t give up on renewal yet Shrink. Chuck is among the few show’s that held a steady audience from week 1 to week 2. The rate other shows are plummitting, Chuck may be among NBC’s top shows in a few weeks even with no growth at all! If we actually see some ratings growth its even better. Right now we have a pretty excited fan base, hopefully that will translate into numbers.

      • joe says:

        Hum… I didn’t want to say that because of my reputation for off-the-charts optimism. But, yeah. What Dave said.

  4. Gringo Chuck Fan says:

    Joe, I agree with your summary, I think that we are all looking for something deeper in the Chuck story… Something new from the characters. Not necessarily something out of character – just something deeper or meaningful.
    But, how do you find the proper balance?
    At this point in the season, my guess, is that they are still trying to swing the pendulum back from the darker debacle of S3. In a way I’m happy to see them return to the lighter fun stuff. It shows they haven’t lost their touch.
    It’s still the same show we all love.
    As the season moves along – I’m sure we’ll have more than enough serious moments and deeper story to keep everyone satisfied… [well – hoping!]
    Always love your summary, and the way you articulate the condition of the characters.
    Cheers –

  5. amyabn says:

    Joe, I completely agree that Chuck does those moments well. The writers and actors bring a certain gravity to the little things that other shows take for granted. You described them well-the shoulder bump in the pilot, the shrug of Sarah’s shoulder in Suitcase when she opens up to Chuck, Ellie’s furtive glances at Devon as she reveals to the audience her longing for her family.

    I can’t fully agree with OD on the BuyMorons. To me, it seemed secondary and completely telegraphed.

    @GCF, I like the pendulum swing and agree with you that we are seeing the deeper things. My concern is that the casual viewer doesn’t “get it” and doesn’t see how special this show is. I guess it doesn’t matter as long as we get more viewers who keep tuning in!

  6. patty says:

    “Life’s a game we’re meant to lose,
    But stick by me and I will stick by you.”

    This sounds like another way to say the same thing as traditional wedding vows to me.

  7. OldDarth says:

    Oh the BuyMorons storyline was completely telegraphed. What WAS hidden is that the episode’s true purpose was bringing them back into the fold.

    If the Chuck and Sarah storyline was the true one, we would have been given new material instead of previously covered ground from Role Models.

    • Merve says:

      Clearly, the real purpose of the episode was to show attractive women in lingerie. 😉

    • Jan says:

      I think the key to this episode vs Role Models is the total family link that Joe wrote about. Chuck and Sarah. Casey and Alex. Ellie coming to grips with what she has bottled up about her parents, as she faces becoming a parent. There is so much more depth to this than just a rehash of something from last season.

      I actually think there is more to the Chuck and Sarah material dealt with here. There is a commitment that is much stronger in this episode. Sarah telling Chuck that he is her home, and always has been is light years from the Sarah who asked “why would we do this” when Chuck asked her to move in…or even the Sarah who admitted “freaking out” about moving in. And, the fact she still has commitment issues, to me, doesn’t lessen the impact of the deepening intimacy of their relationship.

      And I completely agree with Joe’s discussion of how Ellie, Casey and Sarah are all addressing family issues that are uncomfortable but essential to growth. I’m sure we will see them come up again and again this season. I tend to view this as building, rather than rehashing.

      • joe says:

        Absolutely, Jan.

        I deliberately used the word “home” more than “family” here because I wanted extend the concept of comfort and belonging beyond parents and children. But family really is what it’s about.

        And I won’t be surprised in the least if Mary Elizabeth, the mother who abandoned her children seeming by choice, has a major role in building these homes.

        And hey! Didn’t Stephen himself say “You always have a choice.”?

    • OldDarth says:

      ‘Clearly, the real purpose of the episode was to show attractive women in lingerie. ;)’

      From a visual aspect – totally! 😀

    • herder says:

      I think too you have to consider what is the real story of the season. If the story is where in the world is Mary Bartowski then yeah, not too much progress on that. If, as I beleive, the story is more than that and really a bunch of questions such as: why don’t spies set down roots, why might they try, why did Mama B leave, why didn’t she come back, what part did being a spy play in that, how does being a spy affect those you love and those you leave behind and finally what does all this mean for Chuck and Sarah then this episode did advance things.

      I think there is going to be a parallel story between Sarah issues and Mama B’s. Show the problems that Chuck and Sarah have, show that Steve and Mary had them too and show how handling them differently can have different results.

      So rather than a rehash of Role Models it’s laying groundwork for a different story. One that has resonance for Ellie and Casey too.

  8. OldDarth says:

    A Darth unable to comprehend a fellow Darth? Stop the universe! 😀

  9. Gord says:

    Great review Joe.
    I found this episode lacking in some ways, but the one thing I did like is that it was one of those episodes that was pure joy. All that fun was a nice break. Sometimes it is nice to get a break from the mythology and the heavy drama.

    I just hope we start seeing more activity from Greta. I am finding that concept sorely lacking. Not because I haven’t enjoyed what the Greta’s have done, but I think they should be doing more.

    Also, Bronson Pinchot especially, and Lou Ferigno seemed to be waisted a bit in this episode.

    I’m assuming there were some scenes cut for time, because all we saw of Pinchot was him walking by when Chuck was trying to explain why his hand was on Sofia’s perfection.

    These little annoyances aside, I thought this was a good fun episode. Not as good as the premiere, but still an episode that I can enjoy watching numerous times.

    • joe says:

      Roger that, Gord. I’m so simple sometimes. It almost seems like my favorite episode of Chuck is always the last one I’ve seen.

      Here’s the good news, btw. If the promos aren’t misleading us a whole lot, Greta looks pretty involved this week. I’m looking forward to that, too.

  10. Kisku says:

    I rewatched this episode yesterday and i’ve found it even better than before. The spy mission was maybe a bit on a weak side (unimportant really), but i still liked the whole hotel room sequence from spiderman kiss onward + the action sequences at the end were great.

    But this episode was about characters and it placed all of them at the position for the rest of the season (and not only Sarah).

    – it reestablished Sarah theme of her lack of commitment (yes it was tackled in Role Models a bit already, but then put it in background, because of plot heavy nature of next few episodes – so it was kinda comeback to the theme that will continue throughout the season), but also showed us what a next step for her character will be, both starting a family and becoming an actual part of Bartowski clan. It also showed us that she considers it her home now and i strongly believe that MamaB will be a destructive force when she returns, not evil per se, but rather that her presence will threathen to break Bartowski clan apart – so since Sarah consider it her home now and wants to be a part of it, she will fight extra hard to preserve it.

    – most of Chuck road was already established in previous episode, but still it was shown here where he stands on relationship front and how he’s still insecure about it,

    – it came back to Casey reconnecting with daughter theme,

    – it hinted a relationship between Morgan/Alex – i know that we know there will be something between those two, but it needed to be said for general audience + it also put Morgan as the store manager, so gave him a role when he’ll not be part of spy missions,

    – also it brought back two idiots…sorry i don’t like them all that much…the less i see them the better really,

    – showed us how Ellie may be dealing with the new motherhood.

    So this episode was the setup really, the launching platform for the character arcs this season and imo it did a good job at that, while still being fun, funny and hot at the same time.

  11. King Chuck says:

    I absolutely loved this episode. But for a moment, when Sarah’s commitment issues played up again, all I thought was: please, not again. But I suppose tptb thought it was necessary to point this part of Sarah out to the audience once more for continuities sake.
    I like the lighter atmosphere displayed in the previous two episodes. Finally I’m looking forward again to a new Chuck episode instead of dreading what tptb would destroy this time like last season. Some seriousness is of course required to move the story forward, but I really hope that they’ll stay away from the darkness from last season and keep the humor. So far both episodes were awesome and I can’t wait for the next one.

    • atcdave says:

      Agree with all of that. Some drama is needed, but I do enjoy the light and fun side of Chuck. Suitcase delivered!

    • joe says:

      Good point, KC. Dave, you mentioned in the other thread about not completely trusting that the relationship won’t be hacked like it was in S3 by TPTB. I understand that completely. Along with KC here I still find I’m just a little gun-shy myself.

      So far the writers have been quick to bring me back from that feeling like I’m on a ledge, looking over into the abyss (and thank you, LeJudkens)! But I’ll admit to still having that little reflexive worry.

      • atcdave says:

        Funny thing about the trust Joe. We were talking about trust between Chuck and Sarah. But trust of TPTB is the real issue. I feel pretty good about what they’re doing right now. But I felt pretty good in 4/2009 too until I had the rug pulled out from under me. So the trust will have to re-earned.

  12. Ernie Davis says:

    Jeeze, take a weekend off the blogs and I have 3 new posts and about a hundred comments to read. First of all, great post Joe and a lot of interesting comments everyone else.

    Having watched this a few times I think those who think this is a Role Models re-hash are missing something valuable in this episode. Sarah moving in and Sarah establishing a sense of permanence aren’t the same thing. If you consider the woman lived in a hotel room for three years it takes a lot more than a few pictures and the location of her suitcase for Sarah to put down roots. The funny thing is that she was doing so and didn’t even know it. The picture of Chuck and Sarah that stayed in her suitcase was taken in Seduction (from what they are wearing). It’s enough of a visual cue to tell us something about Sarah. She’s always fantasized about the normal life with Chuck, or at least since about Truth, but never thought about it in anything but abstract terms. Sarah’s life has been one of movement toward something else. Each stop on the road with her dad was just that, a temporary location to make some money before moving on to the next stop. With that sort of life, the life of a conman, comes the sense that life is something you’ll be living some time in the future, after the big score. You see it in De Lorean with her dad, looking to retire off the big score and settle down on an island and live the good life. I imagine Sarah, being brought up that way had a similar view of the spy life versus normal life. Normal life is for some day in the future. I look to what I consider the defining Sarah quote of season 2.

    Sarah: Look, tell them we’re taking things slowly, and that while we enjoy each other’s company, we don’t really feel the need to label it, and who knows what the future holds for us.

    It’s been that little sliver of hope that Sarah clung to for most of the first two years. She was with Chuck and could have something akin to a relationship, but she still saw real and normal as goals for some day. The big score if you will. So Chuck’s picture takes up residence in Sarah’s suitcase, and her future. But as I said, without realizing it Sarah has started to live that future. I think the key thing to understand in Role Models is that Sarah still sees them together and a real life as something in the future. Remember she wants to have something to fall back on after their spy life is over. Again in Tooth Sarah’s ILY is accompanied by Sarah talking about them in terms of the future, not the here and now. In that context not unpacking makes a lot of sense. The suitcase is the life she has now, as a spy, and Chuck is part of that, but a home and a real life is still a goal for some day.

    …but I don’t want to spend my time waiting for lightning to strike.

    I think the realization that has Sarah unpacking comes about on the second Milan mission when Chuck slams the door shut and takes on five guys so she can escape (again thinking she may lose Chuck tends to concentrate Sarah’s thoughts). I think Sarah finally figures out she got her big score and she no longer has to wait for lightning to strike to start living the life she dreamed of for so long.

    Sarah has a life with Chuck, and while it isn’t normal, exactly, it’s not a future goal. It’s happening. She has a real life with the guy she loves with a home and family, and it just kind of snuck up on her while she was busy being a spy and thinking of a future with Chuck. For years, since her childhood, Sarah’s life has been one of moving toward the next con or mission, with the suitcase being both her only home and her only future. At some point she made Chuck a part of both. But Sarah doesn’t, or didn’t, think in terms of living her fantasy life with a real home and family as a normal girl other than something she wanted in the future. Then she unpacks. So now here she is laying in bed, in her home, in the arms of her guy, and he’s talking about marriage and babies, and it hits her. I have everything I ever wanted or dared to dream of. Now what? Because Chuck is right, the next steps are to make a family of their own, first marriage, then children. I doubt it’s ever something Sarah considered in anything but abstract terms, for the future, but suddenly everything is real in a way it never has been before.

    I’ve always said that the dynamic I see is the better things get the more Chuck wants to move to the next step, and at each step Sarah desperately clings to what she has for fear of losing it. The pacicked look on Sarah’s face said exactly that to me.

    • herder says:

      So, in the context of last season, that would mean that Sarah could contemplate moving in with Shaw easier than moving in with Chuck. That would be because living with Shaw would just be another stop along the way to the future but living with Chuck means the future is now.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Well I’m trying not to think too hard about it. If we do then we wonder about things like the same picture that stays in her suitcase being on her nightstand at the end of American Hero while she’s packing… Though I suppose that works if we assume that was the point Sarah put the picture in and left it there, when she’d decided to run away with Chuck rather than go to DC with Shaw. But then if she was so comitted to Shaw what was the picture still doing on her nightstand? Sham is just plain confusing, so as I said, I try not to think about it too much.

    • atcdave says:

      Geez I see what you mean by random order, this is all mucked up.

      Anyway, I think you make a valid point, and your distinction between Roll Models and Suitcase may be exactly what the writers had in mind. But once again, my issue comes from an entertainment perspective. And you know I don’t mean to slam Suitcase, I seriously loved this episode. Its just that the “relationship issue” du jour reads an awful lot like what we got in Roll Models. While I’m guessing the average viewer enjoyed the episode a lot (at least the ones I’ve spoken to did), the relationship feels like its been running in place for a while now. Again, its in a pretty good place so that isn’t all bad. But it really feels like its time to take the big plunge. I think its the only move they can make that will register as real progress.

      Now as I’ve said many times before, they don’t need to make big progress to keep many of us happy. The show (and the central relationship) are in a fun and enjoyable place; I like the show a lot right now. But anything short of marriage will not feel like much of a change (well, maybe if they did kids first, but I’d rather not see that happen for a while yet).

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Dave, I get why you and others feel like from the relationship perspective they were sort of spinning their wheels, and I think to an extent it was intentional, with the long separation on missions that was established in Anniversary. Since Role Models through the end of Subway Chuck and Sarah didn’t appear to have a lot of down time to consider everything that had changed. At first they were just adjusting to being spies together and how to keep their new lives and life together compatible with each other. That’s why I thought the seeming slower pace at the start of Suitcase was appropriate. It’s as if they just sort of realized where they were in their relationship. For Sarah it was kind of a shock, but I thought at the end Chuck was almost as surprised as Sarah when he started talking about marriage and kids, if not quite as freaked out by the idea.

      • atcdave says:

        Yeah, “not quite as freaked out by the idea!” That was funny. It will get less funny if they draw it out too long. But the end of Suitcase was very funny.

      • JC says:

        I think we all get what they were doing with the issue of the suitcase. My problem is it comes off unbelievable. Not unpacking anything over eight months? Come on, it’s just something the show does that makes me want to slam my head against the wall repeatedly.

      • atcdave says:

        JC are you actually suggesting something on Chuck was a bit unbelievable? Shame on you! You could be banned from this forum for such talk (yeah, right).

        I thought it was every bit as believable as Sarah being able to fit her life into a single suitcase in the first place. Or what’s her name filling that giant walk-in closet in her Milan hotel room.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        I think a lot of it depends on where your personal suspension of disbelief threshold lies and your personal preferences and tastes. I have no problem with Sarah changing clothes about three times a day yet fitting her entire wardrobe in a suitcase or two. It just isn’t that important. But then the heels she wears on missions sometimes make me laugh at the absurdity. Also I do sometimes wish they’d go a little lighter on the makeup when Sarah is supposedly going to bed, but then I have a personal preference for more understated makeup in general so any time it’s obvious, other than some fancy party, I tend to notice and wish they’d tone it down. Some people are botherd by the ability the cast seems to have to travel instantaneously from Burbank to Milan, Paris or Dubai and back. Me, I think I’m like a lot of Chuck fans. If I’m having fun I’ll forgive a lot.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Yes, we should keep in mind that this is a show about a 27-ish year old Stanford full-ride scolarship student who still works at a Buy More five years after being expelled, and then gets a computer installed in his brain. In a world where Jeff and Lester exist, anything is possible and over the top becomes the norm.

      • JC says:

        When I say believable I’m not talking about the Intersect or Sarah’s ability to change hairstyles and clothes in seconds. Its when the show is trying to make a point they take it to the extreme and that where the beliveability issue comes into play for me. The show is Sci Fi so I can roll with unbelievable world but not character interactions. Its that issue that keeps Chuck from being in the same league as Buffy, Angel and BSG.

  13. Hello Joe,Ernie,Big Kev,Liz,and all the rest of the Chuck fans. I know its been a while since May 24, when I last talk to you all. I broke my ankle in January 18, 2010 had surgery, june 1 2010 second surgery to remove the hardware and extensive rehab. Now, I’m back on my feet and walking again.

    Tonight’s epoisode of “THE CUBIC Z looks like Hugo and Heather are out for revenge against Chuck and Sarah. This is not only professional,but it’s personal too.

    • joe says:

      Well Hi, Bernard!

      You broke your ankle?! So sorry. Actually, it sounds like you put it through a meat grinder! But I’m glad you’re back.

  14. Pingback: Episode of the Week: Chuck vs The Suitcase (4.02) | Chuck This

Leave a Reply

