Chucktoberfest: Vote Early, Vote Often

It's ALWAYS Chucktoberfest!

Being a fan is sometimes a curious thing.  You get very involved and invested in something that is sometimes pretty far removed and abstract.  We had an essay a while back where we the authors on the blog each talked about what it means to be a fan.  In my take I pointed out what I consider the big things that make a fan a fan.  Investment and participation.  We invest in the characters and the story, we make it matter to us, and so things can get emotional, really real emotions here, when you feel the object of your fan-love is being treated shoddily.  But that’s a part of being a fan.  To quote Thinkling “Love and heartache are inextricably bound. Wherever real love dwells, heartache eventually comes knocking. Count on it.”  Or to quote Joe, “The opposite of love isn’t hate, its indifference.”  If we didn’t care about and love our show it couldn’t upset us so.  So even if you are one who grumbles about another round of angst for Chuck and Sarah, you have to admit, it’s because you care.  You’re invested.  You are a fan.  Which brings me to the next thing that defines a fan.  A fan participates.  Let’s talk about some fan participation, after the jump.

Chucktoberfest was started with an abstract idea to somehow promote the show now, as the full season pickups were being decided.  It quickly took form, thanks mostly to Joe and Amy, as a targeted campaign to let advertisers know that their support was noted and that we the fans would consider that in our decisions.  Drinking heavily was my idea.  By the way, the list is still there and it never hurts to send off an e-mail or letter every so often.  So we the fans wanted a way to participate and help promote the show.  Now we have the chance to do it in a way that really will make a difference.

 

Vodpod videos no longer available.

 

Chuck is a perennial bubble show in its fourth season.  NBC has basically decided, given it’s state of affairs, that while they aren’t going to kill off a stable moneymaking show, promoting it isn’t the best use of their resources right now.  It’s left to us, and the cast and crew to promote the show if we want a fifth season.  The cast and crew are presently working insane hours to bring us the show that we love, but even with that they are taking time to ask us for our help.

 

Vodpod videos no longer available.

 

If you’ve been living under a rock (in a Chuck-verse sense), there is a poll at TV Guide where the winner will get the December 13th cover.  This is publicity that we the fans can buy for our show.  Chuck is in the lead, but has been passed a few times.  We need to lock this up.  This is where we say thanks for those 18 hour days and everything else you endure just to bring us the show we love.  Here’s where we get to participate and show the love.  We need to vote early and vote often.

 

Vodpod videos no longer available.

 

So here’s the deal.  Past experience shows this post will probably get over a thousand hits today.  If every person who reads this post votes 20 times, that’s at least 20,000 votes.  I say we shoot for 100 votes per reader.  Put on some music to relax, and vote.   Listen to a podcast, and vote.  But whatever you do, if you are reading this, vote.  Preferably early and often.  Seriously, how can you say no to Yvonne.

– Ernie


Vodpod videos no longer available.


About Ernie Davis

I was born in 1998, the illegitimate brain child and pen name of a surly and reclusive misanthrope with a penchant for anonymity. My offline alter ego is a convicted bibliophile and causes rampant pognophobia whenever he goes out in public. He wants to be James Lileks when he grows up or Dave Barry if he doesn’t.  His hobbies are mopery, curling and watching and writing about Chuck.  Obsessively.  Really, the dude needs serious help.
This entry was posted in Breaking News, Fan Base. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Chucktoberfest: Vote Early, Vote Often

  1. Ernie Davis says:

    Sorry about the links. The embed code looked OK in the editor, but WordPress and NBC don’t seem to be playing nice. Working on fixing it.

    Ed – One day on the blog and she’s already showing me up. Thanks for the fix Faith!

  2. Tynianrex says:

    I outsourced my voting. I promised my brother that I’ll lend him my car if he votes 100 times today, so, I’m covered. Of course I also voted a couple of times myself.

    • joe says:

      Now *that’s* fan-initiative! Thanks, Tynian!

      Ooohhh – before I forget, I want to point out to everybody that now you can find a link to the list of advertisers in the Right Hand Column, in our “About Us” box.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      On an unrelated matter Tynianrex, as a lonely Duck Shipper I am oh so grateful for your Duck fic. I’ll be sending your official Duck Shipper decoder ring shortly. 😉

      • Tynianrex says:

        Thanks Ernie! I prefer the term “Chianne”, but I’m cool with Duck too. 😉

      • atcdave says:

        That was the scariest thing I’ve ever read. You clearly one upped Frea’s “To Sleep, Perchance to Scream” in the “Total Nightmare” category!

      • Tynianrex says:

        @Dave: I actually got a great review by Frea, claiming that she got an idea for a Morgan/Sarah sequel to “scream”. But I think that my fic was scarier.

  3. thinkling says:

    Thanks Ernie. I am voting, early and often.

    Maybe I’m the only one who wonders these things, but just to let people know, who are as slow as I am …

    1) The captcha letters are not case sensitive. Once I figured this out, it went much faster.

    2) If you see a vertical mark and wonder is this a 1 or an I or an L … it’s an L … every time. At least every time I guess “L” NBC thanks me for my vote.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      In addition to Thinklings quick voting tips. Some browsers will let you navigate with tabs directly to the captcha box, and hitting return in the captcha box will cast the vote as effectively as clicking on submit. Those two things sped up the process for me.

      • thinkling says:

        When I hit tab it bumps through the choices.

        So, tab tab tab gets me to Chuck.

        Space bar selects Chuck

        Tab goes to Captcha

        input letters and hit enter.

        All together now, tab tab tab space tab / letters / enter

        Happy voting

    • joe says:

      I can verify that it’s case insensitive. That makes it easier.

      I’m slower than you, Thinkling. It only took me a couple of hundred votes to see where they thanked me for voting (or didn’t if I messed up)!

      I sometimes have a little difficulty with the lower case and distorted t and f. You may want to pay particular attention to for that when you see the vertical line.

      And I noticed too that occasionally the last character is partially outside the box. Please note that there are always 6 characters. There’s a little refresh button nearby if you don’t want to guess.

      • thinkling says:

        Actually I’ve been doing all lowercase, regardless, and it always goes through.

      • atcdave says:

        I had to give up on my laptop, it was just too hard to read. Now my desktop has no issues.

      • patty says:

        I keep getting shoved back to the voting page since I can’t always tell if the stupid letters are caps or not!!!!!!!! Grrr. I probably voted 30 times that didn’t count.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Actually we might be overwhelming their server a bit, but that’s not a reason to slow down. The captcha is definitely case insensitive, but a few times when I entered the correct and easily identifiable code it told me I was wrong. It was usually after a pause where I’m assuming some widget timed out and so the code couldn’t be verified. I say crash their servers!

  4. Judy says:

    Voting from a device like an ipad is particularly easy. You can readily expand the size of the letter field so that you don’t have to guess at the letters. When they are distorted and small, they can be very hard to decypher and you can end up[ with a lot of rejected votes.

    Does the voting go through Monday night?

  5. Anon says:

    Adam Baldwin and Zachary Levi? I can’t see their videos 😛

    They seem to be much cooler about it 🙂 “Do whatever feels right.”

  6. amyabn says:

    Let’s get hot people! If NBC refuses to advertise for Chuck, we need to help!

  7. Rick Holy says:

    I’m voting, voting, voting. Remember – try STILL on Monday, because it seems to say that the voting goes THROUGH Nov 1st (which is Monday).

    Let’s be honest, people. If we lose to a bunch of 15 year old girls with teen-age crushes on Jensen Ackles and the other guy (Jarred Padalecki????) on Supernatural, I am REALLY going to be embarrassed!!

    VOTE, VOTE, VOTE.

  8. herder says:

    Well, did my 100+ votes for today, did a bunch last night but didn’t count, tomorrow will be more tricky, still have to earn a living.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      I hate it when work impinges on my hobbies too.

      I listened to the CNN podcast and voted the whole time. I’m sure I hit my hundred. Tonight I watch football and vote on my iPad in every commercial break and timeout.

      Tomorrow, every commercial break in Chuck will be a voting spree.

  9. Faith says:

    I’m on an attack ad rampage…

    Vote or MamaB will find you!

    Vote or Shaw comes back (ew!)

    Vote or Awesome will pluck every hair from your body!

    Are you voting yet?

  10. Ernie Davis says:

    Chuck has fallen to second place again! Are you voting? Stop reading and vote!

  11. Vote for Chuckj says:

    I found that I have to hit submit for the vote to count. If I just hit enter after I type in the number, It just refreshes, I don’t get a thanks for voting screen.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Correct, some of this is going to be browser and device dependant. I can confirm that “enter” works with Firefox for both Mac and Linux and for Safari on Mac. These are some tips to try on your system, but ultimately you need to see what your combo allows and doesn’t.

  12. Rick Holy says:

    YES, you have to hit “submit” and not just enter. Your vote doesn’t count unless you see the “Thank you for voting” message/screen.

    As of noon “Chicago time,” I’m seeing on another Chuck blog that we’re in SECOND place. That aint gonna cut it. VOTE. VOTE. VOTE!!!

  13. joe says:

    Here’s a little more info. Debra Birnbaum from TV Guide (http://tvguide.com/magazine and http://twitter.com/#!/TVGuideMagEIC on twitter) says that voting is open until midnight PST today (and I think she meant PDT). That’s 3AM eastern. The little kiddies voting for their favorite vampire show should be asleep by then! 😉

    • Ernie Davis says:

      I think she also promised an update on the lead at 6PM. Hopefully Chuck will be back in the lead, but even with the lead we can’t take it for granted.

  14. Anon says:

    Wow,SPN fans are a stubborn bunch. Not being able to see the numbers is annoying. Then we would know how much of a lead one has on another.

  15. weaselone says:

    Chuck’s apparently back in the lead, but just barely.

    • thinkling says:

      Thanks weaselone. I’m voting and I was wondering how we stand

      • Faith says:

        Looks like that’s the last update:

        “@RaneaB Nope. that’s it! You’re on your own from here. I’ll just say this: It changes every time I check. So keep voting for your faves!”

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Commercial breaks are for voting tonight.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Well if you check twitter ChuckTV has re-tweeted some of supernatural fans reactions to the brewing battle. It’s kind of amusing they all seem to be teen girls. Luckily I don’t have a 10pm bedtime and since I’m voting in the morning and arriving late to work, I can sleep late!

  16. Robert H says:

    Well how did it all come out?

    Did my bit. Voted for 4 hours Sunday and was up until 2AM CDT voting late last night on Monday NOVEMBER 1. Hope others made similar efforts.

    When someone knows the reults or can find out please
    post on this article ASAP. I just hope my efforts
    and those of others were not wasted, thanks.

    • weaselone says:

      I don’t think we’ll know until Dec. 13 when the issue comes outs.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      The issue will be dated Dec. 13 but will come out a week earlier, Dec. 6. I’m guessing it’ll be leaked before then.

    • Ernie Davis says:

      I’d say be ready for disappointment. Based on past performance you’d have to consider Chuck a favorite going into this. Then this tweet:

      TVGuideMagEIC

      I’m sorry for the torture! The suspense is killing me, too. I had a dream that there was a surprise upset. Or was it a dream…??? :>

Leave a Reply

