“Something is rotten in the state of Denmark.”

And It Has Me Worried

Chuck decides what's important.

Or, at least something does. It’s the thought that Chuck, especially in the character of James Rye (Rob Riddle) had taken a turn for the silly. I mean, with Jeff and Lester, occasionally with Fernando and Skip and even more occasionally with Morgan, haven’t we seen enough silly for a while? After all, what I like is something much more akin to what we saw in Season 1, when Sarah was slowly reaching for her gun, and fellow CIA agent Longshore was about to be her target. Protect “your guy,” Sarah. What had my heart pounding in Season 2 was Chuck in the clutches of yet another evil petite brunette, who seemed to be giving him everything he ever wanted, at least until a horrified Casey and Walker saw her dossier come up on a list of Fulcrum agents. You’re in a hole, Chuck. What scared me was Agent Walker assassinating an unarmed Fulcrum agent and later, Chuck deciding on his own that nothing – not the CIA, not Orion, not Ellie and not even Sarah was going to stop him from trying to rescue his father. Pray for a monsoon.

“There is nothing either good or bad, but thinking makes it so.”
– William Shakespeare, Hamlet, 2.2

These are not trivial moments. In fact these are precisely the moments when Chuck or Sarah have decided what is important and exactly when they’ve had the hardest time knowing right from wrong, good from bad. In some large sense it’s always been hard for them because right and wrong always been mixed together. Silent Night plays during Sarah’s coldest decision. There’s a wedding and Christmas TV while Miles (Tug Coker) murders Roark in his cell. Chuck is making love to his college sweetheart while the song’s lyric reminds us You won’t find love in a hole. And when Chuck is telling Sarah by the fountain that, for now, he’s going to pursue something other than her, that he’s giving up at least temporarily, the Signs are pointing elsewhere. But it all becomes stark and very real when we realize how high the stakes are and how important it is to them.

Certainty was never a part of this show. Indeed, Chuck has second-guessed himself so many times I lose count. He made his judgements on Bryce, on Jill, on Cole, on Shaw… and each had to be revised. There’s nothing surprising in his turn-around about Mary Elizabeth; we were meant to question our judgement, too. Seldom do we know from beginning to end that a given character is good like Stephen, or evil like Vincent.

One thing happens when I see Chuck’s attempts to distinguish the good from the evil, though. I forget about every trace of silliness that ever existed in the show. It just hits too close to home, you know? And that has a tendency to make it very serious indeed. Gee! I even need Jeff and Lester (and Skip and Fernando) to lighten the mood, or I’d really be in a funk! Ernie’s taken to shouting his new mantra “Season 4 is GENIUS” all over the place, and he’s right. But my version is that I’ve been saved from the dark pit I fell into in Season 3 this time because of the balance that we’ve had between the serious and the silly. Generally, they’re hitting my buttons just right.

What I’ve been experiencing routinely has been a whole lot of a whole lot, in fact. We had the high adventure of The Anniversary (I still love Sarah and Casey jumping off of that building!) and the warm humor of Costa Gravas (ditto Armand Assante). Morgan and Alex have been delightful, and we had a good time with Casey meeting up with his old pals from his days in the service in Couch Lock. The Buy More shenanigans still make me laugh, especially when they’re pitted against Terminators. Jeff and Lester have continued to be the (ahem) “stick that gently stirs the Buy More drink.”

“They have a plentiful lack of wit.”
– William Shakespeare, Hamlet, 2.2

What about the drama?

Every time Sarah Lancaster appears on screen I get all sorts of amazed at Ellie’s now completely un-naive trust in her brother and her mature handling of some deeply innate and ingrained emotional forces. Morgan has been charming, heroic, conflicted and still resolute while being all the while grounded in his essential good nature. That’s drama at it’s best. Well, that’s the best except when Linda Hamilton has been on stage. THEN I’m seeing drama at it’s best. Not to make too much of it, but young Prince Hamlet has already seen the treachery of his mother, and may have been blinded by his love for Ophelia, if not into madness, then into foolishness.

This is great drama … genuine conflict that comes from the heart of our heroes. It doesn’t diminish them or demean them. It makes them real. – Thinkling

I enjoyed it, but I was glad the silliness in the Rye character took a dive with him out the gondola. So what worries me? It’s that in Chuck, silly is almost always followed by heart wrenching drama. Rye’s dive was not it. The promos and stills strongly hint at what’s coming; Sarah would say that we’re about to be hit with a tank.

And just like the moment when a horrified Sarah and Casey run silently up the Castle stairs to save Chuck from his mistaken judgement about Jill, and just like the instant an unprepared Chuck slaps two pistols together without knowing who the enemy is or even who his friends are, I am worried once again for a fictional character and for those who love him.

“When sorrows come, they come not single spies,
But in battalions.”

– William Shakespeare, Hamlet, 4.5

Once again we’re at that point in the arc when Chuck and Sarah have decided what’s important. That’s always been my favorite part of the story.

– joe

About joe

In my life I've been a professor, martial artist, rock 'n roller, rocket scientist, lover, poet and brain surgeon. I'm lying about the brain surgery.
This entry was posted in No Spoilers, Observations, Reactions, Season 4. Bookmark the permalink.

95 Responses to “Something is rotten in the state of Denmark.”

  1. Wow – you’re going to lead into the most anticipated EP of Chuck so far this season with that? WOW –
    And, not only just the next episode of Chuck – but heading into Thanksgiving weekend too?
    In a way, I’m glad you got this off your chest before the 7 week Christmas break…. WOW!
    Not exactly sure where to begin here Joe –
    but you’ve carved quite a deep swath…
    All I can say is that I really think the lighter more positive tone of Season 4 will end up giving us 4.09 and 4.10… two episodes of the very best of everything that Chuck has to offer!

    • joe says:

      I have to admit that I’m not sure if you’re surprised at what I wrote because you agree or disagree, Don.

      But I sure do agree with your last line! It’s going to be great.

  2. jason says:

    joe – I read this quick, I sort of feel like – joe just shot mauser – oh well – you passed your red test I guess? Your really feel that bad about the show?

    • joe says:

      Jason, you just made me laugh! I shot Mauser??? Cool!

      But I certainly don’t feel bad about the show! Really. I was trying to say that it feels very much to me like the story is once again at a very dramatic point, just like it was when Sarah shot Mauser or when Chuck was most desperate to save his dad (and, not coincidental, the points where Sarah is most desperate to save Chuck). Those are, in fact, my favorite moments in the show!

      • jason says:

        your favorite, I dread them, this show just does not do it for me like that, each time it crosses a line, I go WTF, I honestly think so does the average fan, not the obsessed, just the guy watchin the nerd and the girl, I hope the line is not crossed this season, as I do think 1.9/2.0 can become 1.5 with 5-10 bad frames of story telling – for me – that was the fake name reveal and the end of 3.8, the mauser moment in season 2, bryce – sarah in chuck’s bedroom during thanksgiving in season 1, sometimes this show does not respect the love fans have for its characters

      • jason says:

        joe you asked if fedak started following fans scripts in season 4 in the dejavu posting – not at all – he simply admitted season 3 failed – he tested limits and found them & said main characters need to be on screen together – I think he or schwartz may have even said CS need to be together – at least for this season – I am pretty sure they can do that within their own scripts – son’t you – I don’t think I have EVER SAID he agreed to follow any fan scripts – don’t know why you would say that – kind of odd??????

      • Big Kev says:

        Jason – You’ve been consistent in your belief that the show functions best as a Get Smart spy comedy with a nerd gets the girl relationship hook. I guess the question I have about that is this – what would be significant about the show if TPTB went down that road?
        Don’t get me wrong. Get Smart is a fun show, well-written and original. But I couldn’t tell you anything about particular scenes or episodes because the characters, by definition, are cartoons, and I don’t get invested in cartoons.
        Would Chuck and Sarah mean as much to us without the struggles, the drama and the poignant moments that arise from that? Yes, the show doesn’t always do high drama that well, but when it works it grounds the characters and makes them “real” and identifiable…..and it makes the heartwarming moments all the better because they feel earned, at least in my view.
        I don’t think the show has to be “24” to have powerful scenes driven by a decent spy plot. I don’t think anyone was surprised to see PapaB revealed as Orion, for example, but the scene where Chuck is restrained by Casey and Sarah has me riveted, whenever i see it – as does the “won’t find love in a hole” scene in Fat Lady.
        I think if you turned the show into a totally light spy romp you would lose all that. I might still watch it – but I wouldn’t care about it nearly as much.

      • jason says:

        kev – I think how and what I think you describe does go on with chuck and I like the show when it gets the balance right.

        The show also tries to do ’24’ – Mauser – Casey’s order to kill chuck – monoosh or chuck in a bunker for life – execute orion, the show also tried for 3 seasons to do gossip girl – hannah and shaw in 3.7 / 3.8 – and it does quite a bit of ‘Get Smart’ – beckman is the little guy in get smart, jeff / lester, some morgan and mike, awesome most of the time.

        When the show fails, is when it does get smart with guest stars or with CS as they are in the middle of a ’24-ish’ moment – rob ribble rye – or when it does gossip girl with chuck and sarah, or when the non Cs part of the cast gets too ’24’ ish.

        When it is best, the show does ’24’ with its guest stars and their plot – and get smart with its own cast – and allows CS to be the glue in between, being both serious and funny.

        I think I have consistently stated, the CS angst gets in the way of both the joy and fun of the cast’s get smart stuff, as well as the gravity of the ’24’ guest star stuff, the CS angst masks both.

        I still feel that way.

      • atcdave says:

        Great comments Jason and Big Kev. I certainly see the show as a sort of middle ground between Get Smart and 24. I prefer they avoid the very dark extremes of 24 and the utterly ridiculous of Get Smart. And I’m really glad Jason brought Gossip Girl into the discussion; I would say when the shoe most completely fails for me is when it wallows in the teen soap stuff. The S1 angst arc, along with certain aspects of Jill and Cole, and virtually all of 3.01-3.12 crossed the line beyond what I want to sit through. But when the central relationship is played sweet and fun it makes it makes it easier for me to appreciate what they’re doing with the main story. Of course that statement breaks down when Chuck and Sarah become the main story instead of being the underlying foundation.

  3. Ernie Davis says:

    Joe, I have some of the same feeling today. I think we’re going to get more than just lioness Sarah. We’re going to get a dramatic kick to the gut on par with Mauser, or with Chuck being dragged away as his father is ripped from his life again. But what interests me more is the possible twist. We know what Sarah will do to protect Chuck. We saw her burst into Chuck’s room with murder in her eyes after that headlong run to save him from Jill. The previews are full of what we know Sarah will do.

    What would Chuck do?

    • kg says:

      Well, what I’m about to type is vague in nature, but Chuck would do exactly what he had to do. Nothing more, and nothing less. It’s what he’s always done.

      He fired a gun at Shaw in Paris for the first time only because at that point it was precisely what was needed to save poor, drugged Sarah from a horrible, watery demise. It also represented another example of Shaw underestimating Chuck and incorrectly believing Bartowski couldn’t and wouoldn’t pull the trigger.

      But then later, after Shaw manipulated Chuck and his friends for his own evil motives, murdered his father in cold blood, seemingly giving Bartowski the right, or at least impetus to kill the disgraced superspy, he regained his composure. If you recall, Chuck had the same look in his eye he had after taking the magic pill in Tic Tac while strangling a defeated Shaw.

      But this time on his own and without Sarah to distract him, he stopped himself. “No thanks,” he said. “I did that once.” It is Sarah who knocks him out. “No,” she tells her love, chided by Shaw for his apparent weakness. “That’s what makes you great.”

      Personally, Sarah shooting Mauser didn’t scare me or shake me. He explained to Sarah despite his capture how he would hurt Chuck and Ellie. He even taunted her. I agreed with her decision. She couldn’t take the chance. She had to act.

      And although she knew it was the right decision for her, it wasn’t made with ease. It wasn’t a snap judgement. She took a few moments to think it through. You could see then that it upset her. And her pain only increased when she learned that her decision and subsequent coverup had hurt Chuck.

      And in Fear of Death we see guilt as another motivation, in addition to Sarah’s deep love for and repetitive need to protect Chuck, fueling her anticipated stop-at-nothing quest to find and rescue her man in Phase Three.

      Even though Rye’s methods didn’t work and his premise was off base, and although Beckman again looks foolish for sending Rye in and authorizing the dangerous mission without a safety net, Sarah takes on the brunt of responsibility and blames herself for pushing Chuck to prove himself to her all over again.

      She’s different without Chuck. And she doesn’t like it. That’s all one needs to know.

  4. Merve says:

    One thing I love about Chuck: with few exceptions (“Final Exam”, “Role Models”, “Coup d’Etat”) it gets the balance of serious and silly right. So many shows veer off into extreme goofiness or plodding drama; it’s refreshing to watch one that achieves some measure of balance.

    • atcdave says:

      While don’t agree with all your specific examples, I do agree with the sentiment. The balance on Chuck is usually spot on.

  5. atcdave says:

    I don’t know for sure if this episode will end up or down, but I’m sure 4.10 will leave us in a happy place. And I’m really not worried about this one, I suspect Fear of Death was as dark as they’ll take us this season. If I’m wrong, I think it will only be a secondary issue providing a down note here, like the Intersect still not working or Sarah suspended for her rogue operation. I really don’t expect this one to be too heavy in the end. They made a point of telling us S4 would be lighter, so I think the end is in sight for the current round of tension.

    • armySFC says:

      Possible spoiler follows, if this is not allowed please feel free to delete it.

      I hate to burst your bubble but on a pod cast I listened to earlier there was an interview with the director of 4.08. He said that the line “your not a spy” will cause a, then he started to say w, paused then continued with, will drive the next couple episodes. Chuck is not sure if Sarah loves him because he is Chuck or if it’s because he is Chuck with the intersect. He also hemmed and hawed over if they would be together, after a bit he said certainly. This interview did not give me the warm fuzzy feeling i would like coming out of what appears to be an action filled episode. I look for a down period for the next couple of episodes. I just hope it’s not as bad as last year.

      • atcdave says:

        It won’t be like last season. And we already know Sarah doesn’t care about the Intersect. Chuck may have some doubts, but I bet it will be like the “tension” we saw in Couch Lock. We were warned Chuck would worry about what he was sacrificing to find his mom; but it turned out to be a complete zero for tension. The hemming and hawing is just about them not wanting to tell us what’s up. It’s seriously reaching the point where any further relationship angst is utterly stupid.

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        @armySFC – Since Sarah told Chuck about not being a spy in 4×08, its’ a legitimate premise to be explored in the upcoming episode/s.

        Chuck is not sure if Sarah loves him because he is Chuck or if it’s because he is Chuck with the intersect.

        I am confused – is this your view or was it something the producer said in the podcast.

        We know that Sarah loves Chuck because he is Chuck Bartowski and he is great and not because he has a computer in his head. But I have a feeling that Chuck seems to think that him being an Intersect is also one of the reasons that Sarah loves him (which BTW IMHO is a totally wrong conclusion) – remember the scene in 4×06 after C/S are back at the Castle after his mom shot him. Sarah praises him for his ability to perceive good in people and trust in them and that she loves him for it. Chuck then asks her “and not for the giant computer in my head or my dashing good looks”

        So, IMHO, it looks like Chuck thinks that being an Intersect is a factor in Sarah’s love for him.

        Am I wrong in my assumption? Thoughts?

      • armySFC says:

        @alladinsgenie4u the quotes are from the director of 4.08

        @atcdave i agree that we know that about Sarah, the point the director was making is that Chuck doesn’t know or believe that anymore. And i agree on the angst point you made.

      • JC says:

        I’m ecstatic that they’re not dropping the “Your not a spy” line. That’s something that should be explored it’s the elephant in the room.

        And whether it causes Chuck to question Sarah’s love. I find that totally in character for Chuck. No matter the changes he’ll always be somewhat insecure. Her comment cut him off at the knees and at another manly part. I think Chuck sees spy/hero as the same things so if he’s not that in her eyes how can she love him.

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        @JC – I think Chuck sees spy/hero as the same things so if he’s not that in her eyes how can she love him.

        Hmm. Good point. So Chuck equates spying to heroism. And he knows about Sarah’s type 😉
        Hence the insecurity

      • amyabn says:

        @alladins: I agree with your assumptions. I also think that (and someone else brought this up) that they keep using the idea of spy and assassin synonymously. Chuck is a spy when he has confidence in himself-Intersect or not. He isn’t and hopefully never will become an assassin. I have no issues with him protecting Sarah or another teammate, but that is defensive vs. deliberately going after someone. He is still Chuck, as you and armySFC point out.

        It all goes back to what I was trying to achieve in my Identity and Balance post. Who do they (Chuck and Sarah) see when they look in the mirror? Does Chuck see Charles Carmichael, suave super spy, or does he see the guy who lost the girl and got kicked out of Stanford, only to be stuck at the dead end Buy More job?

        Does Sarah look in the mirror and see an incredibly talented, beautiful, hard working, and loving woman or does she see the nerdy girl in braces, mercilessly harangued in high school?

        @JC, I think Sarah needs to make Chuck see that he is her hero and that he doesn’t need to be a spy to fit the bill.

      • JC says:

        The spy and assassin being lumped together was me. I honestly believe that idea has really hurt the show. Violence should be the last resort of a great spy not the first.

        I’m really hoping this arc either leads to Chuck having Kung-Fu permanently imprinted on his brain, Sarah and Casey begins training him in non Intersect self-defense or the show making the cleat distinction between spy and killer. This is something that needs to resolved once and for all.

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        @amyban – Your post “Identity and Balance” really sums it up best. I hope we see that same kind of balancing in the upcoming two episodes.

        @JC – I agree with you. The show has blurred the reality between a spy and an assassin. Even Summer Glau’s Greta was an assassin ( what was she doing at the Buy More then? Was she between jobs? Or came for a little R&R?).

      • sd says:

        What the director says is kinda weird to me since Chuck–while hanging from his fingernails from the gondola–said he’d rather have Sarah than be a spy, correct? If I remember the line correctly that would mean he “let it go”– so to speak.

        Having said that, I would like to see the “you’re not a spy” statement explored…it’s a legitimate source of tension.

        Also—is anyone concerned that Chuck’s memories will indeed be wiped clean? Perhaps if this were season three, it would have been a “re-set” TPTB are known to love.

      • joe says:

        I think Dave’s got it right, ArmySFC. This won’t be like last season. I do hope myself, though, that this doesn’t go into the 6-week hiatus without resolution of some sort. That would be hard to take.

        Oh, and we’re pretty loose with spoilers around here (and I’ll take the blame for that). But we always appreciate a “heads-up” spoiler alert like you gave when one is coming.

      • armySFC says:

        @Joe glad i did it right. I think that to many people have the idea that all spies are James Bonds or Jason Bournes and show the pushes that idea. Earlier this year Russian spies were deported from the US. They had been here for over 10 years. Nobody knew they were spies did they? nope. Did they kill, Hurt or maim anybody? nope. They did what Chuck is very capable of doing. And that is gathering information. Go in, get the information and get out with out being noticed.

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        @armySFC – You are absolutely right. Spies are all about stealth and cunning. Being able to defend/attack in a dangerous situation is an added bonus but not the only thing that defines a spy.

      • BDaddyDL says:

        No doubt army sfc, but guys with computers in their head aren’t all over rhe place either.

      • armySFC says:

        @alladinsgenie4u Exactly. Not that reality should ever be brought into fantasy. But If Sarah and Casey were both that good, how come so many bad guys know who they are? They can kill and they can fight but they must have done a lousy job of undercover work to be so well known. Just a thought.

      • armySFC says:

        @Joe I agree with you. There needs to be some resolution before the break. I just don’t think it will be one most people want. I think they are on good terms, but not like before the remark. They will have the issue to deal with and it strains the relationship. Who knows it could be worse, it could be be better.

      • JC says:

        I think the problem is they tried to change the world they had created in S3. During the first two seasons there was clear distinction between Sarah the spy and Casey who was more of a cleaner type agent. Then you had S3 and those things collided in an attempt to up the drama. Being a spy meant losing your soul type nonsense. The spy world became this dark place which stood in contrast to the previous seasons.

        So they ended up writing themselves into a corner. Their attempt at gritty and dark failed on multiple levels but they left too many unanswered questions. In some ways this arc feels like retcon of S3’s retcon.

      • atcdave says:

        It would be nice to see some acknowledgement of the fact Chuck is intelligent and a good problem/puzzle solver. Give him credit for what he’s good at, even without the Intersect. In a team concept, Sarah (and Casey) are there to protect Chuck.

      • armySFC says:

        @JC My biggest problem with this arc is the intersect not working again. This is the third time in less than a year Chuck has issues flashing. Last year we had him not flashing because of his emotions until Morgan got him straight. Then we had the intersect affecting his brain and he couldn’t flash. Then he got the governor. This year we have it blocked by something Mama B did. Maybe it’s the box under the car? I’m just tired of them retreading the same stuff with Chuck.

      • atcdave says:

        I agree the suppressed Intersect is a bit worn out. especially when Agent Wacko thinks the way to fix it is by freaking Chuck out. Didn’t we learn last season that the Intersect doesn’t work when Chuck is upset? Oh I’m sorry, that was a different kind of upset last season; and apparently there was no rock involved.

      • JC says:

        @armySFC

        I understand the frustration but this show milks things to the breaking point.

        For me I just don’t understand how something that’s clearly a technical problem gets fixed by fear. If there had been no PSP I could buy them using the emotion theme again but its like everyone got temporary amnesia about what happened.

        And instead of suppressing the Intersect it would’ve been more interesting to see him flash on the wrong skills. He wants Kung Fu but gets a foreign language. Now had they done that, the idea of fear making Chuck flash on the right skill would make some sense.

      • armySFC says:

        @JC That would be fun, but again an intersect issue. They could play that issue a hundred ways but in the end its just another intersect problem. I know its a pipe dream but this is what i would like to see and it would clear up issues. When he recovers from this, the skills he needs to be a “spy” are embedded in his brain now and he doesn’t need to flash to use them. But he still flashes on things like data or gymnastics if he needs them. Chuck and Sarah would still have to work on their issues but he can defend himself if needed. It’s a pipe dream i know.

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        @armySFC – You are not alone in wanting to see such a scenario. JC has put this scenario before – Intersect skills becoming embedded and second nature to Chuck. IMHO, it would be really cool if something like that happens.

      • JC says:

        @armySFC

        Don’t get me wrong I’m with you on the Intersect problems being played out. But if they keep going to that well at least they should try something different.

        And like genie said Chuck having certain skills embedded in his brain is something I’ve wanted and speculated about since the end of S3. It would solve so many problems and allow them to use the Intersect for information and specialized skills.

  6. Anon says:

    Wow,talk about pessimism. Now you made me worry if something is going to happen to Sarah 🙂

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Oh, I’m not pessimistic, don’t get me wrong. I thought those scenes, like Mauser or Orion abducted at RI or Sarah finding Chuck’s watch after realizing Jill was Fulcrum were pure genius, and some of the best in the show. And I think we have more on the way. I’m guessing that we’ll get at least one, if not more, scene that enters the Chuck hall of fame. I think we’ve seen parts of some possibilities, but I think we’ve seen only the barest hints of others.

      • atcdave says:

        I agree almost entirely, I think only good things are ahead. My only issue is I think Mauser was fumbled, they focused on Chuck’s rather silly over- reaction instead of Sarah’s moral compromise (still a good scene, just not as good as it could have been).

      • jason says:

        mauser stunned me, I was watching one after the other, so I just queued up the next ep, but if I had been weekly watching, I may have stopped, it just seemed so OOC not for sarah maybe, but for what I perceived as the ‘get Smart’ nature of the overall show, I still struggle with seeing the war and peace epicness that many of you guys seem to assign to the show, the writing still seems pretty transparent and thin to me, such that when they try something heavy, it falls flat to me, but I did like 4.7 and am optimistic about 4.9. Ernie, how can you take this show seriously, and assign any value to the rick rye private eye character in 4.8 or the decision tree beckman went thru to send chuck off to commit suicide, chuck, the most valuable asset in the world?????

      • thinkling says:

        Mauser was a gut punch, as it should be. But as someone said, it was not done lightly on Sarah’s part. Both of them had reason to be somber about it, but Chuck should have come around sooner. They should have talked (so what else is new). I would have had her say, “Chuck you saw an unarmed man. I saw a man with a gun to your head … and Ellie’s … Morgan’s.” Perspective.

        Of the ones you named, Mauser was the biggest punch to me. All good dramatic moments.

        I don’t mind some unresolved mysteries, but I would like Chuck & Sarah to even out on good, ground tonight. Or certainly before the December break.

  7. Joseph (can't be Joe) says:

    IDK, I could see Sarah get suspended for her upcoming actions. That would cause tension.

    More than anything, I find the cliffhangers leaving me “hopeful” or “with anticipation” this season.

    I am curious about what mood 4.10 will leave us prior to the long break. (Mask to Fake Name – yech)(Santa Claus to 3D – yech)

    • alladinsgenie4u says:

      More than anything, I find the cliffhangers leaving me “hopeful” or “with anticipation” this season.

      This^^. Cliffhangers, this time around don’t leave me depressed and dreading the next week’s episode.

      I am curious about what mood 4.10 will leave us prior to the long break.

      I am really curious as to what they have planned. Will we see another Mama B disappearing act or is this the episode where she finally comes home intending to stay for good?

    • Merve says:

      My first guess is that the cliffhanger, if there is one, will be something along the lines of end of “Angel de la Muerte”: something that will shock casual viewers, but that won’t really be a cliffhanger for passionate fans who read casting announcements.

      My second guess is that it has something to do with Mama B, and my third guess is that it involves the computer in the blue mustang.

      As for how fans will react to a cliffhanger, they’ll react how they always do: some will scream bloody murder, some will call it “epic,” and most won’t really care.

    • atcdave says:

      One big issue I’m not clear on for 4.10 is if TPTB knew it would be the holiday break. I had expected it to be 4.11, but then the Dateline special pre-empted us one week. Did TPTB know in advance when the break would be?

      At any rate, I expect a mostly fun and satisfying episode for 4.10. Whether we have an actual cliffhanger or simply a good hook for the next arc will likely depend on what they knew and when.

    • Joseph (can't be Joe) says:

      Any chance they’d use the aftermath of 4.09 to show Sarah bottling up her emotions again?

    • JC says:

      My guess we get some major twist about the Bartowski family. But part of me can’t that spoiler of Chuck being in prison out of my head. I’m wondering if he learns the truth about his mother’s mission and “joins” Volkoff in an attempt to help her.

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        My guess (if there is a cliffhanger) is that end of 4×10 will signal end of Volkoff/Mama B camaraderie/partnership.

      • atcdave says:

        I think that’s a good guess Genie. I’m hoping Chuck in prison is just a mission, especially with Casey and Morgan as guards.

  8. Faith says:

    Damn you prolific articulate schnooks! I just barely caught up and now Joe? 😉

    Joe to address your feeling of impending doom/emotional awesomeness I would look toward the thanksgiving episode most of all. Puzzling synopsis aside we know that holidays are a time of unrest in Chuck-verse. You add the words of Linda Hamilton to it, “best episode we’ve ever filmed on Chuck.” and I can almost guarantee the tears will flow—emotional yo-yo for certain as well.

    Is it Monday yet?

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Isn’t it fun to care again?

      • Faith says:

        Wait. We didn’t care before? What was with all that (metaphorical) ink 😉

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        @Faith – Practicing for the Genius Season, what else. 🙂

      • Faith says:

        When you’re right, you’re right. We certainly (in my unbiased opinion ;-)) have been pumping out the best of the blog of late.

        Both commentors and posters.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Faith, we always care, but to put it in other terms, there’s Lakers vs. Bullets regular season care, and there’s Lakers versus Celtics finals care.

        We may not be quite to the second (in your world), but we’re way past the first.

    • bdaddydl says:

      I have to admit while i am really looking forward to the fun of tomorrow, I too cant wait to episode 10. I have heard 10 kisses in episode 10. The shipper in me is very happy.

      Besides I have a feeling this break will leave us in a great place. Yeas I am a pollianna.

      And Dianne is all the way in DC so no Duck going on.

      • Faith says:

        Agreed. I think we’ll get a customary cliffhanger twist but it will be unrelated to the state of the core. I’m thinking more of a twist relating to Volkoff.

        10 ♥!

        LMAO @ Duck. Don’t get Ernie started lol.

      • Joseph (can't be Joe) says:

        Actually, I was thinking about Diane today.

        Wouldn’t it be cool if one of the Team B members was in a dire situation and all sudden the baddie is shot, leaving only Diane holding a smoking gun.

        Badass Diane, what a concept.

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        Smokin’ Grandma !! 🙂

      • atcdave says:

        So Joseph is having Beckman fantasies. Should we be worried?

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        @Dave- No need to be worried. IMHO, it’s his way of coping with time between episodes. 🙂

      • Joeeph (can't be Joe) says:

        No, I’m just thinking she’s still working to catch Chuck’s eye.

      • Joeeph (can't be Joe) says:

        genie – I’m still trying to come up with a plan for the sheep from 4.07 to be in a multi-episode arc. Preferably not as a sweater or on the barbecue.

        I must say that the actors that were cast to play the sheep did a remarkable job.

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        @Joseph – Maybe Chuck and Sarah should adopt the herd. After all they are not ready for children yet. Why not experiment with raising and caring for sheep. 🙂

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Excellent…. Another Duck shipper in the making… Mwu-ha-ha!!

      • joe says:

        Oh my. Now we have sheep-shippers.
        This is going to get ugly! 😉

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        Duck vs the Sheep Mob 😉

      • atcdave says:

        So do we need Serta as the next sponsor?

    • joe says:

      We *have* been prolific lately, haven’t we? I like it!

      Joe to address your feeling of impending doom/emotional awesomeness…

      You know, I’m wondering if I didn’t mislead a lot of people. I should have made it much more clear that, even though I thought Agent Rye was “silly”, it was only a little, and I enjoyed it. And really, every time the show has taken us to that point it’s immediately followed by some of my very favorite (and what I think are the very best) episodes.

      I do like the laughs, and I like the adventure (you know, Sarah and Casey and Chuck and Tuttle jumping from great heights) and the spy-stuff (shot in island nations who have leaders with uncertain political leanings, or shot on the runways of Milan for that matter). But it’s always been the emotional impact of Chuck and Sarah’s importance to each other that binds me to the show.

      • Faith says:

        No, I got that. Although unlike you I didn’t care for Rye. But like I said emotional awesomeness on tap.

        Stupid flux capacitor…all I need for my delorean haha.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Remember, it’s not the flux capacitor, it’s the voltage it needs. Plutonium, a lightning strike, a Mr. Fusion, they’re all good.

      • joe says:

        How many jigga-watts was it??? 😉

      • Joseph (can't be Joe) says:

        IDK, I woke up this morning understanding (I think) what Joe was getting at.

        For some reason I suddenly have this dread that we are going to be treated to an excellent episode only to have it be 3 minutes too long.

        I hope I’m wrong.

      • Stef62 says:

        @Joseph….’For some reason I suddenly have this dread that we are going to be treated to an excellent episode only to have it be 3 minutes too long.’

        I think you’re right. We’re going to have some great action of Sarah fighting to reach him, to only be shown in the last couple of minutes she was too late. You just need to look at the pics from ‘leftovers’ to see the fake smile on his face, that something is going to be off/gone with him.

        There’s been a lot of talk in the past of Sarah chasing after him, emotionally, and some of the future ep titles could hint at that

      • JC says:

        After last season, I wouldn’t mind seeing Sarah chasing after him emotionally. But I agree that pic from Leftovers seems off.

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        @JC and Stef62- Suppose the pic/smile is really off and fake. Can it not be due to Volkoff showing up with Mama B at Casa Bartowski. Maybe there’s a hostage type situation going on. But Season 3 has left me very jumpy – so I can understand why a pic that may/may not look off is enough to raise some doubts.

      • JC says:

        @Genie

        That easily could be the reason for the forced/fake smile Chuck. But we know The Belgian is trying to erase his memory. So we have the possibility that he succeeds somewhat. Depending on how its done I wouldn’t mind that. In fact having Sarah trying to jog his memories, especially about their relationship could be great. In some ways it would allow them to explore all those nagging issues between them. We know the episode after is The Balcony and I don’t have anything to back it up that just screams romance to me.

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        @JC

        If it wasn’t for the Mama B arc, then the scenario you describe could have worked for an arc of 2-3 episodes. But isn’t loss of memory (by accident/force) too redundant.

        As for Balcony, I am not looking that far – I hope 4×10 gives us plenty of romance – IMHO, we need some to tide us over 49 days wait for 4×11.

      • Stef62 says:

        That was the sort of thing i was thinking of, with you having a Cyrano De Bergerac feel to it, with Morgan feeding her things to say. After all he is the intersect on Chuck.

        Though worse case its more of a Romeo/Juliet thing, and we all know how that ends

      • joe says:

        Steph, Genie, have I missed something? A balcony? Please help me out here!

        I would love to see any Shakespearean references (um… can you tell? 😉 ) and Cyrano fills the bill nicely. But I just don’t recognize any of that yet.

        But wow – the idea of Morgan feeding Sarah the words Chuck needs to hear is a great gender-reversal, the kind of which Fedak spoke. That would make me delirious!

      • herder says:

        Joe, 4.11 Chuck vs The Balcony. The supposed title is all that I have heard about this episode, although it seems safe to guess that there is a balcony involved somehow.

      • Stef62 says:

        EP 11 – Chuck Vs. The Balcony

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        @joe – Episode 4×11 is titled Chuck vs the Balcony

      • joe says:

        Oooff! Thanks, everyone. Serves me right for not paying attention to what I write! 😉

      • JC says:

        @Genie

        I don’t know about it being redundant. We know they’re revisiting some of issues and themes of S3. This could be another take on what happened in Tic Tac.

        If Chuck did lose some of his memories but regained the use of Intersect how dangerous would he be? He would have none of his Chuckness holding him back. It’d be like a kid waking up one morning and finding out he had superpowers.

        And again I bring up the spoiler about him being in prison. What if he does something criminal in Balcony and at the last moment we have Sarah pull him back. It could lead to his arrest.

      • atcdave says:

        If Chuck’s memory is wiped at the end of Phase 3, it will certainly be restored in Leftovers. I don’t see that being a long term arc. Short term it could actually be a lot of fun, I can see Chuck falling in love with Sarah all over again; perhaps finally realizing he loves this woman is what releases the memories.

        But my bet is Chuck and Sarah will be whole and together by the end tonight, any cliffhanger will involve Volkoff/Frost (and yes I realize my batting average has been pretty low this season!).

  9. herder says:

    Any advance reviews from any of the ususal suspects to suggest what kind of an episode this is?

  10. jason says:

    2 eps in 7 days, then nothing for 40-50 days, here is hoping that however it is played, it plays out well to a majority of the fans simultaneously with a majority of the critics & that some interest can be generated in the break. I would have to guess that this break is probably the last, or at least best chance for chuck to gain significant viewer-ship prior to the decision on season 5.

Leave a Reply

