Yvonne Goes To The Dogs

And In The Best Way, Too

I’m not one to actively support PETA 100% in all they say and do. I don’t. But I am a dog and cat lover. If you are too, we’re in good company, it seems.

Making the rounds on Twitter today is news of Yvonne Strahovski’s new PETA ad, and the first look that can be found at TV Guide.

Well, PETA has a reputation for ads that are a little shocking and not entirely safe for work, but Yvonne’s is quite wonderful and this one is fine. And if you’re in the market and can devote the time and attention they deserve, adopting a dog or a cat is not a bad idea either.


Here’s the video that goes with the campaign.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

– joe

About joe

In my life I've been a professor, martial artist, rock 'n roller, rocket scientist, lover, poet and brain surgeon. I'm lying about the brain surgery.
This entry was posted in Fan Base, Found On-Line, Off Topic. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Yvonne Goes To The Dogs

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Yvonne Goes To The Dogs « Chuck This -- Topsy.com

    • Michael says:

      Alright Yvonne! This is the kind of celebrity activism I can stomach. We adopted a rescued puppy 4 years ago. She’s a german shepard / lab mix. Looks like a lab with the bite of a sheperd.

      @joe
      I’d go further. I think Peta’s tactics hurts their cause a lot more than helps.

    • joe says:

      Without getting too political, I agree, Michael.

      It’s worth noting. There are so many in Hollywood that really would do better if they thought more and spoke less. We won’t even get into the idea of drinking less and thinking at all.

      From what I’ve seen at a distance, everyone associated with Chuck (celebrities and non-celebrities alike), have been tremendously gracious and friendly with the public, generous with their time and exceptionally poised when under provocation from paparazzi and rogue twitterers. I can think of more than a few shows of which that cannot be said.

      You know, I even want to include guest stars. I don’t think it’s my imagination that says Nicole Ritchie has been behaving better than her erstwhile friends.

      It’s always good to see people being graceful even when being outspoken. When celebs do it, it’s doubly helpful to their cause.

      • atcdave says:

        I do agree Joe, its actually a pretty reasonable spot and Yvonne makes a good voice for her cause. I may question her involvement with such an organization, but as long as she is a voice of reason (on an emotional issue) I’d say well done.

      • thinkling says:

        Yeah, Dave, I agree completely with every word. Even though I’m not a PETA fan, I can agree with this spot and the single cause of adopting a pet. (Our current dog, an Australian Shepherd is adopted … best dog we’ve ever had. I would go that route every time.)

        And Joe, you’re right about Yvonne and the Chuck cast being genuinely gracious. It’s refreshing and most impressive.

  2. Rick Holy says:

    A friend once told me that PETA stood for “People Eating Tasty Animals.” I guess everyone has their own perspective. 😉

    For 30 years of my life I enjoyed the “unconditional love” of two pets. When I was a kid, I got my dog “Squeaky” (she already had a name, so I didn’t bother changing it) from our local animal shelter. By the time Squeaky died – almost 16 years later, I was already in a house living “the single life” and doing some traveling on business, so a dog wasn’t going to be practical for me. So – off to the shelter for a CAT. I had Stevie (named after the late, great Stevie Ray Vaughan) for 15 years.

    It’s a shame that so many people are irresponsible with pets, allowing them to breed “out of control.” So KUDOS to Yvonne for standing up for these little creatures that bring us so much joy. And what is so nice about her ad is it isn’t the typical kind of “I’m a star and I know better than you “common” people so listen to me and get on board with MY cause or you’re just a bunch of ignorant boobs” phony, condescending celebrity promotion we see so often these days. Those are the ones where I say, “Stick to making movies or writing songs and don’t act like you know more than the rest of us!”

    Yvonne’s promo is simple and gets the point across. It’s an excellent example of how a cause SHOULD BE promoted by a celebrity – tastefully, tactfully, and with sincerity.

    Great job, Yvonne. Now we’ve got to find out what she named those two little ones. PLEASE, NOT “Jeff” and “Lester!”

    • herder says:

      Fr. Rick, I understand that they are called Chazzie and Wilbur, much better than Jeff and Lester.

    • Michael says:

      @Rick
      > PLEASE, NOT “Jeff” and “Lester!”

      Chazzie and Wilbur, I believe.

      And Chaz is a nickname for Charles. So Chazzie? I wonder. MMaybe somebody that knows Yvonne could find out.

    • Gringo Chuck Fan says:

      Hi Rick – Merry Christmas hermano –
      You can find the names of Yvonne’s two pets on the Ken-Mar website or maybe in a Youtube video…
      I think one is Chazzie…
      [Well, I can hardly remember the names of my own kids….errr students at school]
      cheers!

      • joe says:

        Heh! My dad’s 81 yrs. old now, but one memory that always makes him laugh (and my mom smile), is from when the family was still young.

        One of his 6 children would (inevitably) do something that required a scolding, and dad would get just a little excited and (inevitably) start to address him by name. Loudly. Well, with 6 kids, he’d get the name wrong (inevitably), and proceed to go down the list of every other name in the household (including the pet’s name) before getting it right.

        Good times! 😉

        To this day all 6 of his children can do that “dad imitation”.

      • Gringo Chuck Fan says:

        I’ve got those same memories… -cept my dad didn’t always remember our names –
        so he’d go through some random list: Peter, Michael, Jakie, McGregor [ which aren’t our names at all]
        One time, the family camping next to us thought we had 7 kids : )

      • thinkling says:

        Hilarious. At least I go through the right names.

        I have a husband, a son, a brother-in-law, and a dog. Their names are interchangeable … aren’t they?

      • joe says:

        They probably think so, Thinkling!

        Except for the dog. You probably confused him. 😉

  3. Gringo Chuck Fan says:

    Wouldn’t it have been hilarious to find out that YS names her puppies Cole and Shaw!!! or Jill and Lou????

  4. Faith says:

    It’s a beautiful ad that speaks to the heart of the matter…that’s all you can ask for.

    Now for something else Yvonne here’s a line from her recent interview with an australian magazine that I found pretty cool:

    “I ask about how she feels playing a character where the traditional traits of action roles for males and females have been reversed, with her taking more of the action sequences and her co-star Zach Levi taking more of the emotional weight. ‘I’m not sure I agree with your assessment’ she starts, explaining that she feels Sarah Walker carries as much of the emotion as Zach does and that roundness to the role is one of the great things about this job.”

    I agree.

    • joe says:

      You know, I agree with her.

      It may be that Chuck started as a nerd who wears his heart on his sleeve, and Sarah started as an “enforcer” with much more ice in her veins than blood. But we saw hints early that Chuck wasn’t helpless in an emergency and that Sarah actually felt things inside. They may both have tried very hard to cover that up for a while, but Charles Carmichael made more appearances as time went on, and that “Suburbs-Smile” came out more often too.

      It’s not like they met in the middle, either. It’s more like they kept the good parts of their original aspects even as they learned to bring out the other parts.

    • herder says:

      “Yvonne Stahovski is performing an incredible fight scene in a hotel room wearing little more than her underwear and a rigging system that would confuse a sailor.”

      So is this the Hotel scene from Beefcake, or are they filming another similar scene for season 4. My guess is on the latter, it looks like they will be doing a seduction bit again. Beefcake was played for angst, I wonder how they will play it this time.

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        Definitely looks like a scene from the upcoming episodes. Maybe 4×11.

      • mxpw says:

        Hopefully it’s not a seduction mission at all. It almost sounds like a scene-by-scene recreation of the seduction mission from Beefcake. Surely they’re more creative than that. At least I hope so.

        I’m crossing my fingers they do something different here.

      • luckygirl says:

        I doubt it would be a shot for shot remake but I think that a seduction mission would be too tempting to resist for the writers now that Chuck and Sarah are a couple. If not now, then at some point in the future.

Leave a Reply

