How to Finish Off a mid-Season Break

Or: You Knew I Had To Write About Fan Fiction Again Before This Break Was Over!

Last time around I focused on Christmas Themed stories.  But here we are with a few weeks left in this break and Christmas is over.  Time to get back to the real world of non-canon stories of a fictional ‘verse (uh?).  In my continued re-read of Chuck fiction from the beginning, I’ve recently come across a few stories I either missed the first time or failed to mention here.

Just a quick reminder for those who may have forgotten.  Any story I recommend is sure to have a mostly upbeat ending.  I like action, adventure, humor, mysteries, and a little bit of drama.  Of course I require Chuck and Sarah to end in a good place.  Many of you may be more tolerant of dark or tragic stories than I; and that’s great.  But if I recommend it, Chuck and Sarah end together or its no sale.   So after the Jump,  see what my latest additions are to my favorites list.
First up is “Chuck vs. The Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Really Bad Day” by Authors Intersect.  This is an interesting story on several counts.  For starters,  the author isn’t really an author.  Its a collaborative effort structured as a round robin.  Apparently the brain child of MySoapBox (who I’ve recommended here before) they seem to have agreed on an outline and some ground rules before hand.   Several of the writers have been on my favorites list before; and one, Aardvark, has commented here regularly.  The title is a bit of a misnomer too; not only do the events take place over more than a single day,  but in many ways Chuck would likely regard it as a great day.  The initial set-up involves most of the villains Chuck faced over the first two seasons all escaping in one massive jail break.  Possibly a bit of a cliche,  but the different writers manage to infuse the various baddies with very different personalities.  This strikes me as an excellent use of the multi-writer technique. And the multiple villains are balanced by several allies from the past being called in to help. This being one of the many huge works started after S2 Chuck has received the Intersect 2.0, but its a little buggy (different buggy than what we saw in the show) and that will cause Chuck considerable grief in the later chapters. Minor characters, including the Buy Morons are well written too and provide much comic relief. Vincent survived but was badly burned in his last encounter so, you guessed it, he’s wrapped like a mummy. Lazlo is an evil genius who builds a maze of traps that even includes sharks, with lasers.
Not surprisingly, the style is a little uneven from chapter to chapter; but they obviously planned the continuity quite carefully and all the writers are all very good. Did I mention this story is huge? 17 long chapters. But you could hardly handle everything these writers set out to do with anything less. This is an epic in the best sense of the word, and a great ride from beginning to end. I feel I’ve done a poor job selling it, but seriously, check it out. This one is really worth it. This story would be rated PG-13 for violence; allow 6 hours or so to read, its not short!

Next up is “Chuck vs. La Republica Libra” by Doc in Oz. As the tag line suggests, this sets out to answer the question, “can Sarah really quell a revolution with a fork?”. Maybe with some help from her friends and a bomber full of bricks! This is a very fun tale; fast paced, full of action and humor. This story only takes a little over an hour to read and would be rated PG.

“Chuck vs. The Pacific Northwest” by Nervert starts at a place few of us would want to go. It’s right after Mask and Sarah is involved with Shaw. When Shaw sends Chuck on another solo mission, Sarah tags along without orders just because, well she’s Sarah, and Chuck might get hurt. Of course the mission goes horribly wrong and Chuck and Sarah end up on the run together. The real strength of this story is in the relationship. None of the hurts from the show are glossed over but rather addressed head on. The friendship, camaraderie, and eventually romance we expect is developed in a way that is believable and fun. The story starts and ends with action that is also well written. The conclusion is a bit rushed, but the author is working on a sequel so hopefully we’ll get more development and some loose ends tied up. This story is not too long and can be read in a couple of hours. It would be rated PG-13 for some violence and sexual references that are never too graphic.

I’ve been making a point of recommending at least one one-shot on each post recently. These can be read quickly and typically deal with a single idea. One such is “Parting Gifts” by Course Jester. Like the previous piece it is set during the S3 misery arc. But this one has the tag line “How I would resolve the current mess in one scene.” This is a fun and sweet story that certainly succeeds in it’s goal, although like most one-shots it’s short on follow through. It basically fixes problems, establishes a new reality, and is done. It can be read in a mere 15 minutes and would be rated PG.

Other stories I’ve recommended before are still on going. “Chuck and Sarah vs. Themselves” is fast approaching it’s exciting conclusion as our favorite newlyweds prepare for a life off the grid together. Frea O’Scanlin has been writing a companion piece to her still on going “What Fates Impose” called “Fortune Favors Fools” that looks at the opening chapters of her masterpiece AU from Sarah’s perspective. This is mandatory reading for all “Fates” fans and could be a fun read for any Chuck fan.

As always, my recommendations can all be found by clicking on the atcDave link under the fan fiction header on the right column of this page. I love hearing from everyone so don’t be shy about posting your own fan fiction opinions and comments here.

– Dave

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Fan Base. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to How to Finish Off a mid-Season Break

  1. patty says:

    I love the Terrible Horrible NG Day. I often go back and read the Lazlo chapter since it is so funny! One of my favorites. 🙂

    • atcdave says:

      Oh yeah Patty, the Lazlo chapter is a highlight. But the pleasant surprise to me was how well the whole story works. I mean 8 writers in 17 chapters, with a dozen main villains, and 4 extra good guys; kind of sounds like a recipe for trouble. But the story is so much fun, it shows they did A LOT of work on flow and continuity.

      • JC says:

        The best part about that story, they addressed the Chuck killing issue like adults would.

      • atcdave says:

        Yeah JC, that’s something a lot of fan fiction writers have done a good job with. One of my favorite aspects of one of the other pieces, “Pacific Northwest”, is when Chuck kills to save Sarah’s life, they have a very mature conversation about it. The show does simplify the issue, and television, by it’s very nature, doesn’t deal with introspection as well as the written word does.

      • patty says:

        I was really impressed with how the continuity was maintained throughout the whole story. The guys who do the show should take notes!

      • I talked to Timewalker around the time the story was finishing up and there was actually no overall plot decided beforehand. Everybody just tried not to write the next writer into a corner, which is a little amazing me to me. I’m just so evil that I would create the world’s biggest cliffhanger and gleefully toss the story off to the next writer to top.

        Perhaps I should come with a “Does not play well with others” sign.

        (thanks for the shout-outs! Fortune is finishing tomorrow and no more sailor talk in this chapter)

      • Aaaaand this is Frea. I’m logged in on my friend’s WordPress account without knowing about it. Isn’t she pretty? *facepalm* As you were.

      • atcdave says:

        Thanks Frea, that is fascinating that they created such a fun and readable story with no outline. I think I skipped over it for almost a year because I couldn’t imagine such story being any good, but it seriously is.

        Excited to hear about Fortune finishing up soon, its a good read as we’ve come to expect from you. I wasn’t nuts about the sailor talk, but it was quite satisfying to see Sarah’s rage in that chapter!

      • JC says:

        @Dave

        You’re completely right Dave. That story was something I was really looking forward to seeing. Well you know my feelings on that subject no need to derail this post.

  2. Ernie Davis says:

    I think we have entered some sort of alternate universe were italics is the standard font. I don’t know how to be ironic, or foreign, or latin in this universe, and it scares me.

    • Frea O says:

      I think Dave just needs to close out his HTML tag on his name. 🙂

      • atcdave says:

        Hey be patient with the group caveman! I’m still fascinated by this strange glowy paper I’m typing on.

        Actually, I published from my iPad, which does certain things a little differently. It seemed to be an easy fix now that I’m working on the desktop.

    • Faith says:

      I seriously thought it was hangover induced. Was just about to drop off an email about it but I didn’t want to seem more of a boozer than I already am lol.

  3. Lola says:

    Guys, first of all: Happy New Year! and happy Holidays, etc!
    Great recommendations as always! They will be my read during summer in Buenos Aires when its to hot to even go outside to the pool 🙂
    Jeje, crszy thing, right? We are melting here in the south hemisfere and your freezing and under snow there… It’s always wondered me how the universe operates (cuac! the nerd in me came out to write too)

Leave a Reply

