Fanvid Friday!

Well, we’ve made it! Only a weekend away from new Chuck and it’s been a blast…as much as a painful hiatus can be. From the call backs, to the re-reviews, to brain bleach, to the fanvideos it’s been really fun all around.

I started Fanvid Friday to hold us through the drought, but I don’t think I had any idea how hard it would be. Picking a needle among a haystack is hard, choosing just one is even harder. Joe asked an interesting question, one in which I don’t think I’ve had the pleasure to really explore: what makes a fanvideo good? And why was it that I picked the ones I have these last 6 weeks?

I never meant to imply that these were the best Chuck fan videos in cyberspace (they’re not), nor are they the most popular (also not), but each and everyone of them is enjoyable (IMO). That’s the point after all–to enjoy that which we already love but in a different context and different pull. A good fanvideo will make you feel something; something that is more than words and sound…but that which reminds you of fond memories, both happy and sad. Voiceovers are a plus, but it’s not required. Coloring is tricky. Some do it well, some absolutely ruin a perfectly good video. Transitions are the same. Above all a good fanvideo has to have a song that fits. What I mean by that is that it has to have more than just a song that’s playing in the background; the song has to also go with the story, with the emotion and the pictures. Music is a very personal thing, what may be transcendent to one is garbage to another. In some ways the music of Chuck are one of the few things that unite us and that in its own way is also what makes fanvideos with those same songs universally acceptable. But more than that, it brings back memories, feelings and thoughts we felt when we first saw the motel in Colonel for example, or the fountain in Break Up. There are other songs that work well (like today’s pick), but then it comes down to personal taste. Music is powerful.

Today’s and the last fan video for Fanvid Friday is simply beautiful. I chose it because of that. The song is Collide by Howie Day. Collide is the prototypical romantic fanvideo song; it’s one that’s used very often and yet still remains timeless and touching. But more than that what makes this video beautiful is that it mixes words, scenes (similar ones at that) and the lyrics in ways that makes scenes I love and have seen an embarrassing amount of times even more powerful, poignant. There’s this scene right in between where a voiceover of Sarah utters, “Chuck, I fell for you a long, long time ago. After you fixed my phone and before you started defusing bombs with computer viruses,” where the vidder actually inserted the scenes that correlate with that memory—that makes it beautiful. A scene can make or break a video, just like in some ways it can make or break a script and this one made this video beautiful. But it didn’t end there, from “and I’m tangled up in you” and showing the motel scene in Colonel, to “I’m quiet you know” and showing a despondent Sarah unable to reveal herself to Chuck in Wookie, it’s all just…so beautiful.

I hope you’ve enjoyed the past 6 weeks of videos and I especially hope you enjoy this one:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Link for iOS devices.

About Faith

Eternally faith-ful at least as it relates to my beloved Los Angeles Lakers. Yes that's where the username comes from. Other than that self-professed Chuckaholic, Laker blogger and part time internet addict. Ok, full time.
This entry was posted in Music, Off Topic. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Fanvid Friday!

  1. joe says:

    That’s almost overwhelming.

    There’s a lot of times that I thought – I used these words – that both of them were just being stupid. I thought TPTB kept them stupidly apart, and that no pair of human beings would possibly make those mistakes.

    But when I see this it’s hard to see mistakes and it’s hard to see stupidity. Even when they put something between themselves, Chuck & Sarah were trying to protect each other. They were perfect.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Fanvid Friday! « Chuck This -- Topsy.com

  3. Great vid Faith! Thanks!

  4. patty says:

    That was very sweet and romantic!

  5. Joseph (can't be Joe) says:

    Nice – ‘nuf said.

  6. PeterOinNJ says:

    Faith, thanks for sharing these fanvids with us. All were great but this one in particular was – well,”almost overwhelming” is very appropriate.

    I do want to share one that I like. It helped me put a great song from S3, and even S3, into a better perspective. Time does heal everything.

    • Jen says:

      I haven’t finished reading the post or watched the video, but i’m watching this one. THe song is heart breaking, and those moments in S3 were tough! i’m so glad those days are over…

  7. thinkling says:

    Faith, this is the best! one! yet!

    Thank you so much.

  8. Faith says:

    You’re welcome guys, I’m glad you liked it.

    Joe and Peter “almost overwhelming” eh? lol. It is heavy. But in a good way I hope…very true to form. Joe regarding stupidity and mistakes I think what I like most about this video is although it doesn’t supply all the details of what that happened, it goes to the heart of the matter which becomes far more important. The heart of the matter is love (no pun intended).

    Oh and I love the song Peter. It had a powerful message.

  9. kg says:

    Magnanimous.

    So many obviously touching and warm scenes between those two. Still, one of my favorites from the underrated category is from Suburbs, when Chuck alertly feins brainwashing, then tells Sarah to close her eyes while he attempts to protect and shield her from the Fulcrum Intersect images. The hand holding is a clincher.

  10. Jen says:

    Faith, i just saw you included a link for iOS devices… super cool girl! thanks!

    • Faith says:

      Hey, I’ve got my own sets of “i”–esses (devices) lol. I could use the link so I added it, coz this video I swear gets more poignant with every watch!

Leave a Reply

