Luckless

Hello friends. Yes, it really is me, amyabn, with some thoughts on how lucky all of you really are. Lucky, you say? Yes, and I mean it sincerely, because you have access to something I want: episodes of Chuck.  And I am jealous!

They say absence makes the heart grow fonder. I believe the sentiment to be true. I miss the weekly adventures of Team Bartowski. I miss the relationships that are so central to the show. These characters are becoming more fully realized and intricate, with flaws, fears, and dreams like the rest of us. I miss laughing at some stupid thing Morgan says, Sarah kicking ass, Chuck being, well, Chuck, Sarah and Chuck doing anything together, Casey and his quips. I miss the Volkoff storyline and hope that it is better fleshed out than some of our previous nemesis were <cough like the Ring cough>. I like the parallels being drawn of Stephen and Mary, Chuck and Sarah and the exploration of choices made and sacrifices realized. I miss family events with Ellie and Awesome, Alex, Morgan, Casey, Chuck and Sarah. I miss Awesome struggling to be awesome.

I miss the interaction with all of you, here, too. The thoughtful arguments, the intelligent point-counterpoint that I think we do well.

From what I’m able to read (when I get to read it), it sounds to me like the show is getting back to the things I fell in love with, which is all the things I miss outlined above. Count your blessings, friends. In the big scheme of life, missing Chuck isn’t the end of the world, but seeing it sure would make my day.  Enjoy your days and enjoy the show.

Edit. – A few formatting issues that come from posting from halfway across the globe fixed.  – Ernie

About amyabn

My name is Amy and I'm in the active Army as my profession. I love the show Chuck and want to see it succeed for many seasons to come. My twitter handle is amyabn.
This entry was posted in Angst, Off Topic, Season 4. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Luckless

  1. Faith says:

    Way to put it in perspective Amy. Thanks for this.

  2. Paul says:

    Stay safe!

  3. Verkan_Vall says:

    I hope this doesn’t come across the wrong way, (especially after that last reply of mine) but, is there anything you need? Anything we (I) can do for you?

    I know that Soldier’s Angels does a fantastic job of getting packages to the troops, but if you need something, let us know.

  4. thinkling says:

    We miss you around here, Amy. Stay safe. God bless.

  5. Chuckaddict says:

    Amy,
    Do you have Internet access and an ipod or dvd player? I’d be happy to e-mail files or even snail mail you dvd’s of the episodes you miss. Let me know and thanks again for your service.

  6. joe says:

    I miss family events with Ellie and Awesome, Alex, Morgan, Casey, Chuck and Sarah…

    And the biggest one yet is coming up – Baby Awesomette. Amy, it *does* feel like a family event, and it doesn’t feel right that anyone in the family (*you*) should miss it.

    How ’bout, iTunes? – NBC – Warner Bros and anyone else involved? Can’t we somehow resolve whatever issues are keeping Chuck unavailable to our friends and family overseas, the very people who serve us the most???

    We’re appealing to you, Mr. Schwartz, Mr. Fedak and everyone with a recognizable name in the cast and crew to speak out to the *real* PsTB regarding this issue and help get it resolved!

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Joe, I think the issue with iTunes is that NBC doesn’t want the episodes available online at this point. They want people to actually watch the show live, DVR or online where they get ad revenue.

      • Faith says:

        Certainly explains why they’ve pulled it from amazon as well.

      • atcDave says:

        But aren’t other NBC shows available at iTunes? I was thinking it must be an NBC/WB thing.

      • atcDave says:

        I was just looking on iTunes and other NBC shows seem to be completely up to date. Chuck is unique as far as I can tell.

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Dave, that’s the conclusion I reached. They are rebuilding the network on the backs of Chuck fans. Pretty much all the WB shows are up to date also, except ones shown on CBS, which I think doesn’t do any of their shows on iTunes or Amazon as I recall. Chuck is available in the UK and Canadian iTunes stores where typically WB would have distribution rights reserved (studios typically reserve all foreign distribution rights and sort of lease them to the networks domestically). I don’t know of any other WB/NBC shows to compare Chuck to, but so far as I can tell, Chuck is unique.

      • atcDave says:

        I like your interpretation Ernie and I hope you’re right (it speaks well of Chuck’s long term prospects).

        But it just seems very strange. Human Target, which is very much a sister production to Chuck (WB/Wonderland/McG) airs on Fox and shows up iTunes. All other NBC shows I could think of are there. It doesn’t seem any particular player involved is anti-iTunes. Chuck remains unique.

  7. First Timer says:

    One word: Slingbox. It connects to your cable/satellite box and allows you to “sling” your personal TV signal to your computer, anywhere in the world. DVR-recorded programming, too. Costs about $150 with no monthly or other charges. I’ve used it around the world to watch my own TV on my own laptop. Most everyone I know who is US-based but spends mucho time overseas has one. You can even sling your TV signal to selected smartphones and iPads…

  8. amyabn says:

    I appreciate everyone’s sentiments and ideas/offers of help.
    @verkan_vall, thanks for the thought. I really don’t need anything and I have a care package from my folks on the way.

    @Chuckaddict, I think I have the means to get the eps via the mail. The frustration continues to be the slow postal service and also that the delay means I really can’t participate with all of you. I miss the interaction.

    @FT, the bandwidth here is so bad/slow, nothing has worked. I have been downloading the same episode of NCIS for 3 days now.

    Hopefully all of you are right and all of this bodes well for a Season 5! Thanks for all of the encouragement and comments! It’s 0230 in the morning and time to get ready for bed. I’ll be back when I can!

Leave a Reply

