FF News

Just a quick news item for those of you follow fan fiction at all. Frea O’Scanlin, who is a regular commenter at this site; but is better known for her epic (pardon the four letter word, but it fits!) story “What Fates Impose” has started a new story in a completely new AU. She cites Thinkling’s post (and the discussion that followed) “Chuck Bartowski: Hero, Spy or Regular Guy” as her inspiration.
The new piece is called “That Which is Greater” and it promises to explore how things might have been different if Chuck was no mere slacker; but rather a single father with his own software business. The first chapter is written in Frea’s usual engaging style and covers Chuck and Sarah’s first encounter, but the differences in set up are dramatic at the start.
She’s making no promises about how far this may go, but does have several chapters written already, so at the very least we should see a well written alternate beginning to the story (I’m greedy of course, I hope she goes much further).

The first chapter is quite short for Frea and could be read in 15 minutes; it contains nothing objectionable. This looks to be a lot of fun and gets my highest recommendation!

– Dave

Addenda: I normally say follow the fanfiction.com link;  but this time, it appears the Castle Inanity link at right is a better choice.  It seems to be a chapter ahead for this story.

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Fan Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to FF News

  1. Hey Dave, That Which Greater is awesome! I don’t know if you know this but chapter 2 & 3 are on Castle Inanity’s tumblr. Frea hasn’t put them on FF.net yet.

    I take the occasion to mention a story a just read: Chuck vs the Man in Black by mxpw. I have no idea why I hadn’t read it before considering it was published in February 08, but the characterization is just awesome! It brings you back to the early days! Loved it!

  2. Katsumaro says:

    Yeah, I read “That Which is Greater” up through Chapter 3 and am enjoying immensely. I really can’t wait to see more of it pop up on ff.net D:

  3. Frea O says:

    Hey, Dave!!

    Thanks for the blog post, I’m now blushing bright enough to outshine my shirt (which is red and reads “expendable” because I’m a geek). And your review made me laugh. I’ll say this: I enjoy Thinkling a lot because her name is very appropriate — she makes me think!

    The first three chapters are both on my Tumblr and on my archive blog, which is actually where I keep all of my Fates stories and chapters for those who don’t like to read on ff.net. I’ve got three chapters there and only two on ff.net at current because I wasn’t really intending to post on ff.net at all, but my Tweeples convinced me. 🙂

    Chapter 4’ll be up Wednesday. And then, who knows?

    Chapter 46 of What Fates Impose, maybe? Here’s hoping!

    • atcDave says:

      Thinkling keeps us all thinking, she’s been an awesome (and we Chuck fans don’t use that term loosely) addition to the site.
      You know I’m not really looking to do serious literary reviews here; I’m mainly looking for fiction that is fun and will be satisfying to readers who already love the show. But there is a small number of writers, and you are at the very top of the list, who I think could be successful as professionals. For now, I’m really pleased that you’re doing not for profit work for this fandom. Geez, now I’m being a total suck up…
      Much as I love Fates I’m happy to say take your time, do it right! (I’ll take your warning about lousy writing seriously). I’m loving the start of your new fic and would be happy to see you run with that for a while (but please not another unending uber-epic).

Leave a Reply

