Chuck on iTunes

Just a quick news item for those that may have missed it.  Chuck, Season 4 finally arrived on iTunes today.  What mystical significance February 9, 2011 might hold is unknown to me.  But this is clearly in the “its about time”category. We even got a full season pass option this season, bonus!

A friendly reminder to those who use iTunes infrequently.  When you select to purchase any season or episode of Chuck it will default to HD.  If you are planning on watching on any portable device, OR via video out from a portable device; you will want to manually select the standard def version.  It is cheaper that way, and Apple portable devices are only capable of 480i display and video output; so don’t waste your money.  Only viewing via your computer or AppleTV allows for HD (720p in this case) viewing.

– Dave

About atcDave

I'm 53 years old and live in Ypsilanti, Michigan. I'm happily married to Jodie. I've been an air traffic controller for 30 years; grew up in the Chicago area, and am still a fanatic for pizza and the Chicago Bears. My main interest is military history, and my related hobbies include scale model building and strategy games.
This entry was posted in Season 4. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Chuck on iTunes

  1. hiswings says:

    I have subscribed to the season pass for Season 4 on Amazon and the last episode to come through was 4.11 Chuck vs. The Leftovers. Any idea when the latest episodes might come through on Amazon? Amazon’s only answer is that they are not available yet. I was curious about whether the NBC/Comcast merger may be holding this us? Any thoughts?

    • atcDave says:

      I don’t know anything helpful about Amazon unbox, sorry. The timing is odd, coming available on iTunes while ending on Amazon. Other shows have considerably less drama on the issue. If you learn anything be sure to comment here, I’ll do the same.

    • Faith says:

      Chuck is back on Amazon. The first 10 episodes of S4 at least. I expect the next several to go up soon as well :).

  2. Faith says:

    It’s my understanding that iPad devices are HD. I have a quirky preference for HD myself but have found that Chuck tends to be grainy even at humongous sizes. Must be the cameras they use. Anyway, just useless info :).

    With iTunes finally carrying Chuck, I expect amazon to return to carrying Chuck. But I don’t have any personal knowledge on any of the roadblocks myself, just speculation.

    • atcDave says:

      I’ve got an iPad and it does technically have an HD picture on its built in screen only. But at its physical screen size their is little benefit to HD; and the best it can export (via a dock/component video cable only, NOT the dock/composite cable you likely have if you’ve been exporting video from an iPod for years!) is 576p. That is better than DVD quality, but true HD is generally defined as 720p or better. So I seriously advise against purchasing the HD for iPad viewing.

      Chuck’s picture quality is an interesting point. S1 was shot on a combination of film and HD digital. Film has a grainy texture to it that often seems to degrade the quality of the picture. The parts of S1 shot digitally, and all of the later seasons, can look outstanding on Blu-Ray and larger screen TVs. Like most television which is, compared to cinema, shot quick and cheap; individual scenes may occasionally look sloppy. But I would recommend HD for those who have effective means of displaying it; the show is often breathtaking (but for medical reasons I might withdraw that recommendation for viewing Sarah’s belly dance from Seduction Impossible).

  3. joe says:

    I gotta get me one of those new-fangled i(anything) devices. Watching Chuck on a 13 inch monochrome monitor in ascii code is awful! Everything looks like it was sent by Orion…

    😉

    • patty says:

      😀

      Last season everything I downloaded could play hd and regular. Except for Operation Awesome. All the people were blue, (including the dead body at the start) until I got my new laptop. Then it was ok, but it won’t play on my ipod at all since it can’t play hd.

      My new computer can play blue ray disks, which apparently makes all the people not blue!

  4. hiswings says:

    Well, an update on Amazon On Demand – Episode 13 and now 15 have been uploaded, but episodes 11, 12, and 14 are still MIA. Have no clue as to what is going on. Missing episodes are the same for both regular TV and HDTV.

    It’s amazing how much grief I get from friends about watching CHUCK and how they give me all kinds of boohooing because I don’t have a DVR – so Joe I’m in the same boat with ya!! I would take any kind of message from Orion in any format!!

Leave a Reply

