Chuck vs. the Wookie Revisited

No funny caption here, they're just so cute!

In light of Carina’s (Mini Arden) publicized return, I thought it would be a great time to revisit one of my Chuck favs: Wookie. Wookie was really the first episode (yes, over Pilot) where Chuck really started to hit its stride for me. It was the moment before Other Guy’s “Chuck I fell for you a long, long time ago. After you fixed my phone and before you started diffusing bombs with computer viruses so yes. Yes (I love you),” when I thought Sarah fell for Chuck. All the way.

Note: I will not be getting into Three Words, or much of season 3. I’m on record saying that no matter how unsavory season 3 was it mattered. I prefer to leave the contemptuous past in the past, for this revisiting, I choose to focus on the positive and the fun: Wookie. Each has a distinctive tone and in my opinion Wookie better exemplifies the tone they’re going for with the upcoming CAT Squad episode. Ok? That’s that. So if you’re up to reliving the fun, the poignant and the dramatic and not rehashing that which only leads to more conflict and strife**, revisit Chuck vs. the Wookie with me. More after the jump.

“Yeah when you’re undercover, you’re still you, but the details are different.”

The episode actually begun with game night at the Bartowskis (more of that please!). We hear a little bit of Morgan being the intersect on Chuck, and Ellie and Morgan protecting Chuck from the unsavory demise of Peaches (or Peaches 2) but most notable is Chuck and Sarah’s conversation in the courtyard, and the line I quoted up there.

Chuck: “I wish I can access your file, know every little thing about you but the stupid thing doesn’t work like that”

Sarah: “You can always just ask me…Bryce was my partner, but we were never really friends if that’s what you’re asking.”

So starting out, we’re told that Chuck wants to know about Sarah but so far she’s been mum. With the life she’s led, not surprising, but what is surprising is that she doesn’t just lie to him about the details. Instead she strives to be as honest* as she could be with him even though it’s missing key details and at times awkward (reminiscent of Frost). “We were never really friends if that’s what you’re asking” — Chuck took that as a lie but in reality it’s the truth. Even Bryce said so similarly in a later episode: “I have one friend in the world (Chuck).” So yeah, whatever it was that Bryce and Sarah had it was indeed, “complicated.”

Sarah: “…when you’re undercover, you’re still you, but the details are different.”

Code name: GBSM Skills: Vision death-ray

Who Sarah is, is someone that is finding herself getting deeper and deeper into Chuck. It’s more than just the look she gives after Chuck leaves upset after finding out she’s withheld the truth, and more than just the jealousy she showed unwittingly during the mission in the mansion but this:

Sarah: “You know you don’t have to be so hands on with Morgan, you’re going to give him the wrong idea.”

Carina: “I’m just giving the kid a thrill. I mean this place is like if a yawn could yawn. How do you stand it?”

Sarah: “I’m good here.”

Vogue!

Sarah has found a home. She doesn’t know it yet, nor is she aware of the magnitude of her feelings but for once going undercover has become something more. For once being “Sarah Walker” has become tougher to “shed…like we shed [our] clothes.” Getting back into the block of quote for a moment, I found it interesting that before telling Carina not to be hands-on with Morgan in fear of giving him the wrong idea, she herself was getting hands-on with Chuck. Granted in one the lines are clear (their cover is boyfriend-girlfriend and Chuck knows that), but is it?

Chuck: “I thought you were supposed to be good at lying.”

She’s not, not with Chuck. Not in this where it matters. In this she’s finding that she wishes she could be more, say more, want more.

Chuck: I just wish I knew something real about you. Can’t you just tell me just one true thing? Just one? Like, where did you grow up? Or if that’s too much, I get it. I get it, if that’s too much, what’s your name? What’s your real name? Middle name. What’s your middle name? Can’t you just tell me your middle name?

There's no place like home

She’s finding herself going against who she’s been, a spy: “a spy doesn’t want you to know anything about them that’s real. No matter who you are.”

Sarah: It’s Lisa. My middle name is Lisa.

The reason I love Carina is that she gives us insight into the fortress that was Sarah Walker, and she does it with a great deal of teasing and humor:

Carina: Sure you don’t wanna come back to my hotel room?
Chuck: Um as flattered and intimidated as I am by your proposition. Why me?
Carina: Well, you’re sort of cute-ish. But, um, the real reason is I love taking what Sarah wants.
Chuck: What? Me? No, Sarah- Sarah doesn’t want me.
Carina: Yeah, she probably doesn’t even know it herself yet. But, um, I do.

From Wookie to CAT Squad. They’re engaged, committed, in love. Sarah knows she wants Chuck now, for forever and it can only lead to some fun teasing and pokes from Carina.

A humorous note: Chuck peeping on Sarah who has to change to work her Wienerlicious shift. Hilarous! “Eyes up front, soldier” “What? I was just…” Nice save Chuck, didn’t buy it for a minute.

"Tranq and explode, tranq and explode next time!"

Still Wookie is more than the Chuck and Sarah dynamic. In fact it gave us one of the best Lester lines: “she’s too good for this store, isn’t there a nicer establishment where beautiful people can shop?” (haha) and one of the most intriguing questions, what did happen in Prague between Casey and Carina? And what role did the four leaves clovers play?

Morgan was his third wheel self, but hilarious. The scene where he’s celebrating being set up on a date with Carina, complete with bursting fireworks(?) was a hoot. His on a date line: “were you always this hot, or did you recently find your hotness,” all the more so. It seems as if Chuck isn’t the only one that commits faux pas on dates: “I can be your very own baggage handler,” but in Chuck’s favor his was charming, Morgan’s? Well I think we can assume that Alex likes him for more than his conversational skills.

Finally, what ever happened to that goldfish? I hope it survived the Carina assault, like Chuck and Sarah did in this episode. Heh.

All in all a fun, heartwarming hour of television. Chuck at its finest if you will. So if you have an hour to spare, rewatch Wookie before CAT Squad and relive the poignant and hilarious Chuck classic.

*this brings into question whether the sister reveal is indeed a cover lie, or truth
**I may have been a bit heavy-handed. Apologies.
About Faith

Eternally faith-ful at least as it relates to my beloved Los Angeles Lakers. Yes that's where the username comes from. Other than that self-professed Chuckaholic, Laker blogger and part time internet addict. Ok, full time.
This entry was posted in Analysis, Inside Sarah, Season 1. Bookmark the permalink.

149 Responses to Chuck vs. the Wookie Revisited

  1. Crumby says:

    Wookie was so much fun.

    One of the moment I loved was when Chuck is asking Carina for help:

    Carina: “You know, this thing of ours? We’re all in it for ourselves. It’s what we do.”
    Chuck: “It’s not what Sarah does. And if she would have thought that in Pakistan, then you wouldn’t be alive right now to have this conversation.”

    I love it because it proves that Chuck did see the person behind the spy, and Carina agreeing proves he’s right. Sarah’s different. She’s special.

    Basically the episode tells us that we’re right to love and trust Sarah, she’s not playing us, and she’s not playing Chuck either, she wants him. She just doesn’t know it yet.

    • atcDave says:

      I agree Crumby. To me, that’s the most enduring and important take away from this episode. Even when some are tempted to paint Sarah much darker in later episodes; we know Sarah was always special, and always determined to do the right thing. She was meant to be a hero from the start, even if things later got a little confused.

    • joe says:

      Exactly right, Crumby.

      What I always see in Wookie is the moment that Chuck puts aside his doubts about which side Sarah was on, and if she was really in it for herself. He’ll revisit those doubts (Chuck’s middle name is Insecurity), but every time he does that, he also recalls the silent resolution he made in this episode.

    • Faith says:

      I love that Crumby. But I will add that this thing with Chuck too is special, the situation/the feelings they’re different and at this point neither really knew that. Just that there’s something more going on underneath the surface of the fake relationship.

      To your point, I think it was also good for Chuck to see a female spy that’s not Sarah. Kind of gives meaning to how she is with him and how it’s different. I don’t think Chuck is so naive that he doesn’t realize when she’s playing him, but with this I think he at least realizes (and more later on of course) that it’s not something that’s easy for her–when she does have to.

      Ugh, point of emphasis (I could edit the piece but I won’t lol)…to me Wookie was the moment when Sarah started to love Chuck–started to realize she loves him. She “fell” (spark, whatever you want to call it) for him during the pilot.

      • thinkling says:

        Can you put a finger on the moments that make you think that, Faith? That this is when Sarah started to love Chuck? There’s a different vibe, but I just wondered if you see defining moments or an overall feel?

      • Faith says:

        The defining moment for me when she realized she loved Chuck was that “Lisa.” She just really wanted to tell him, to open up…something I’m sure she’s never wanted to before. Her face when she said it it was like, “oh my god,” with a bit of, “what am I getting into?” It took tremendous effort to hold it in when he’s sitting there asking for a crumb, and yet she in the end couldn’t. Although she didn’t tell him directly, just the fact that she whispered it was revealing.

        The episode itself had a different vibe now that I think about it. There were so many things going on between feeling jealousy (Carina and Chuck in her hotel room last night?!), finding out about Chuck’s relationship with Bryce, being unable to fully disclose the complicated relationship she had with Bryce, the fact that she was willing to go as far as to say it was complicated, all of these aren’t things she exhibited previously. The closest to non-spy cover stuff she got before this was:

        Chuck: “You know if we were really dating this would be the part where I’d be forced to kiss you good night.”
        Sarah: “Forced? Would it be so bad?”
        Chuck: “I’m sure I could suffer through it.”
        Sarah: “Me too.”

        A change in (depth of) their dynamic I’d say :).

      • thinkling says:

        I agree about the vibe. But didn’t the “forced to kiss you goodnight” come sooner in Tango?

        I even think how she felt when Chuck found out about Bryce was a bit of a give away. She cared how that made him feel. Oops.

      • Faith says:

        Right sorry, I edited the quote after I looked it up. This is the problem with going by memory…they all get jumbled in my head lol. Still a valid change in depth from flirting to that last scene in Wookie.

        Also great point on the facial expression. It was very telling.

      • thinkling says:

        definitely

      • Crumby says:

        I don’t know if I’d call it the moment where she fell for him, it’s more about realization to me. Realization of what she wants and can’t have.

        In Tango, it’s pretty clear she likes him. During the episode, Sarah tells Carina that she’s good here several times. Like Carina said she probably doesn’t even know what she’s actually saying. She’s good here, with Chuck and that life of his.

        Then Chuck comes to her, bring her a pizza with no olives, tell her it makes perfect sense that Bryce and her had a thing because he always got the great girls, and tell her how he wish he could know her, the real her.

        In that moment I think she realized that yes, she wants him, but can’t have him.

      • thinkling says:

        That scene is just heart-breaking.

        Fast forward to Sarah playing board games in the same home, but now it’s hers and Chuck’s home.

        Chuck still wants to know her better, only this time they’re cuddled up in bed together, and her world has completely changed, for the better. The pain is from a different source, entirely.

      • Faith says:

        Crumby to each his/her own ;). I don’t think the epiphany came til that last scene, post “she probably doesn’t even know it herself yet” when she does. Also to me the can’t have aspect didn’t crystallize until later, before Crown Vic for now it was just the shock of feeling something. The show likes it’s sleeping beauty analogies well in this one Sarah’s sleeping emotionally and she woke up here.

  2. thinkling says:

    Great post Faith, and thanks for the reminder of a great episode.

    It does show us Sarah’s character, her honor, and how much she’s falling for Chuck. Carina is certainly a foil to highlight just how different Sarah is from the average spy. She is that special person, but in the spy world there wasn’t much to resonate with that part of her. She was very much alone. (Bryce may have helped a little.) But Chuck, that part of Sarah did indeed, as you said Faith, find a home, and a match for the best in her.

    I loved the game night (yes, more please). And I loved the pizza, no olives. Once again Chuck owns up to his mistake and diffuses the coming rebuke. How can you not fall for him, right along with Sarah?

    I thought about the sister, too, Faith. She said they were nine. Sarah was about 10 in the flashback in DeLorean, in Butte, Montana. So if there was a family falling out, it happened sometime after the beach vacation with her sister and family but before Butte. I am so curious to see what they do with her family.

    • Faith says:

      Thanks!

      Speaking of game night, they seemed to be congruent in their answers so I think they had a chat before trying to get all the facts straight. Which makes it all the more lovely that Chuck notices the little things that she doesn’t reveal like that gardenias are her favorite flowers (said in Break Up) and that she doesn’t like olives.

      I love that, “match for” her.

      I’m probably in the minority in this but I want the whole enchilada. Bring on Sarah’s family history, the reunion, mom, sister, cousins whatever. I want to see it all.

      • thinkling says:

        I like the illustration of resonance, the simplest being acoustical. For instance, if you take a tuning fork with a “c” pitch, strike it, and hold it next to a harp, the “c” strings on the harp will begin to vibrate. Cool.

        Chuck and Sarah were the tuning forks for certain strings in each other that had been silent and still for lack of anything or anyone to resonate with.

      • sd says:

        I second that, Faith! I have posted before than while the show is “Chuck” I have always been even more interested in Sarah’s backstory…I am really keen to every detail—so, apparently, is Chuck who we learned in last week’s episode knows about as much as we do–which isn’t much.
        Also–thanks for taking us back to Wookie–I love the scene where Chuck and Sarah are in perfect synch watching the documentary–shooshing Morgan and Carina.

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        As for me I am okay with TPTB delving into her her mom’s story Still on the fence regarding her maybe sibling/s.

      • thinkling says:

        I love the scene where Chuck and Sarah are in perfect synch watching the documentary–shooshing Morgan and Carina.

        Me, too. Cute.

      • Crumby says:

        I love the scene where Chuck and Sarah are in perfect synch watching the documentary–shooshing Morgan and Carina.

        When you watch that scene, you have less of a herd time picturing Sarah playing board games. 🙂

      • Faith says:

        SD, agreed! Even more lovely is that you get the feeling that they enjoy spending time together :). Even if it’s just as simple as watching the movie. Although the voice overs of that movie was in itself hilarious:

        “Penguins are usually monogamous. They nest in the same places, often with the same partner.”

      • joe says:

        You guys are getting me all heart-warmed again.

        🙂

      • Verkan_Vall says:

        Great post, Faith.

        @Thinkling: regarding this:

        start quote
        I like the illustration of resonance, the simplest being acoustical. For instance, if you take a tuning fork with a “c” pitch, strike it, and hold it next to a harp, the “c” strings on the harp will begin to vibrate. Cool.
        end quote

        Have you ever heard the old saying “…and they made beautiful music together?”

        I think you have said a true thing about these characters.

    • Crumby says:

      About Sarah’s family, I’ve always wondered what happened to Sarah when her dad was in jail before she was 18. Casey said he’s been in and out of jail her whole life and in Chuck’s flash there were pictures of his arrests (’78, ’81, ’85 and ’08). So he was into the business before Sarah was born and went to jail when she was a kid. What happened to her then?

      • thinkling says:

        Good catch Crumby.

        In Butte in ’90, she was 10, dad was out of jail, and mom was out of the picture. The arrests make me think maybe when he got out after his ’85 arrest, mom packed up and left. Why she would have left Sarah I don’t know, but if that’s what happened … ouch. Deep hurt. If there’s a (younger?) sister, and mom took the sister … double ouch.

        Or maybe there was an aunt or a grandmother, who couldn’t continue to care for her at that point.

        Great question Crumby.

      • Faith says:

        My best guest, foster care. Which puts this whole mother thing into more abandonment rather than separation.

      • Faith says:

        I should clarify that I think they could go there, but they probably won’t. They could make it so that she was put in foster care because they couldn’t find mom, but not that she wasn’t looking for Sarah or didn’t care about Sarah. The system is overburdened (in reality) and is really a challenge.

      • thinkling says:

        If it were truly abandonment from a really young age, I don’t think Sarah would find it necessary to get in touch.

        It’s interesting that when she told the restaurant story, she didn’t sound bitter or sad at all, but she seemed utterly sad in the last scene in Seduction Impossible.

      • Crumby says:

        We’ve all been thinking about her mom because of Balcony, but she could just be sad about her dad at the end of SI. She doesn’t expect him to walk her down the aisle and we know she cares about him.

      • thinkling says:

        That could be, Crumby, except that when she says eloping was a way of avoiding her “family,” it seems like she means more than just her dad. He has disappointed her, but I don’t think she would want to avoid him. Plus if it were only about her dad, I would think she would have said “avoid my dad,” because Chuck already knows about him.

        Of course the first ever mention of her mother’s family in Balcony did prime us for some back story about her mother.

      • Crumby says:

        I didn’t meant that she wanted to avoid her dad, but that she wanted to avoid the fact that he wouldn’t be there.

    • weaselone says:

      Definitely a need for another game night, family dinner or some other sort of extended family scene that doesn’t simply involve everyone making faces and cooing at Clara. Might be a good opportunity for Chuck and Sarah to drop a few spy world bombs on the Ellie and Awesome side of the family.

  3. beti says:

    I love how naive is casey with carina ! What will happen now, will carina remember “martin” ? How will Casey act with his son in law and carina ?

    • sd says:

      We all know how TPTB tend to play fast and loose with dates—so, I have made it a point to ignore “back-timing” when events happen–Ie: Sarah’s time in service.

      Having said that, I like the idea (I mean, I don’t like the idea—but you know what I mean 🙂 ) about Sarah in foster care b/c of a mother who wouldn’t or couldn’t care for her. I could see her dad “busting her out” and then skipping from one town to the next.

      A scenario like that would hit all the notes necessary to make Sarah’s pain over her family obvious. Reason being, while Sarah perhaps may have felt disappointed by her dad and abandoned by him–it seems she has somewhat made her peace about his role in her life?

      As someone mentioned in an earlier post, Sarah never “hid” or felt overtly upset about her dad during Delorean. She just knew he would work his con and then leave–and she gave him that opportunity.

  4. Joseph (can't be Joe) says:

    Wow Faith.

    You like to live on the edge, based in the discussions of a few days ago.

    😉

    Can’t wait for Carina. And Alex. And Sarah. — Excuse me while I check my oxygen supply.

    • Faith says:

      LOL. I hope I skated by that a bit with my disclaimer. I’m not censoring anyone by any means but if they choose to get into Three Words and season 3 I just won’t participate ;).

      Besides why let anything get in the way of the enjoyment of one of Chuck’s best I say. I love this episode and want to talk about it :D.

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        So, you want to talk about Wookie? I cant believe no one is discussing how great Mini Anden looked when she ran towards the ocean and simultaneously took off her top. That scene was simply awesome. (its better to focus on Carina’s hotness rather than dwell on disaster(s3))

      • Faith says:

        Well there’s a gender divide on that. LOL. I personally would be happy to talk about Chuck in Miami Vice gear though…white suit ♥, see through boxes…wait. I mean boxers you can see through the suit LOL.

        Payman Alahi on the other hand…buzzkill.

      • thinkling says:

        Real buzz kill. In fact when he is draped all over Sarah, it’s one of the most “eww” moments of Chuck. That is way above and beyond the call of duty.

      • Joseph (can't be Joe) says:

        Oh yeah. Payman looks like he wearing a sweater. 😀

      • Faith says:

        Thinkling, that’s where the porsche becomes affordable…hazard pay LOL!

      • thinkling says:

        ROTFL. 🙂

      • Crumby says:

        Speaking of Porsche. I don’t know how I feel about it blowing up in the next episode. 😦

      • weaselone says:

        Well, Casey has lost a Vic and Chuck’s lost how many herders? It was only a matter of time before the Porsche became a casualty. Better cars than characters I always say.

      • Verkan_Vall says:

        @Joseph

        So you think Payman looks like he’s wearing a sweater?

        Is that a hint of envy there, my friend? Don’t worry, it is not uncommon.

        Not all men can be as virile as those of us who can braid our back hair.

    • joe says:

      I’ll second your “can’t wait!” for Carina, Joseph. What always gets me about Mini Anden is that devilish twinkle in her eye. 😉

      There. I’ve said it. Is that so wrong of me???

    • weaselone says:

      Well, Casey has lost a Vic and Chuck’s lost how many herders? It was only a matter of time before the Porsche became a casualty. Better cars than characters I always say.

      • atcDave says:

        Time for a new Boxster anyway. Once that new car smell is gone there’s really just no good way of getting it back…

  5. uplink2 says:

    One of the many things that are so great with this episode is that this is the first time we see that Chuck looks beyond the surface with Sarah. Everyone before including Bryce looked at the Sarah that she showed to everyone but never into the real woman, or little girl for that matter, behind that facade. Through even just the simple thing of noticing that she didn’t like olives was so much more significant than anyone else had done for her.Take a look at the scene in the hospital room in Breakup. Even though Bryce sent her a florist full of flowers it was Chuck taking the time to find out what her favorite flowers were that mattered most to her. 1 bouquet VS 20 and the right 1 mattered most. Prior to meeting Chuck she wouldn’t have know this but she did then.

    Sarah may have fallen for Chuck in the pilot but I agree that in this episode she fell in love with him. She saw what he offered, a real, honest caring life and a home that she had never known. Chuck wanted to know Sarah Walker the person and not Sarah Walker the spy that everyone else had known.

    I will chose to honor your plan to ignore Three Words, but so much of what happens here is present in that episode as well. Its just what they chose to do with it that makes this episode so far superior. It is the first turning point for Chuck and Sarah and it will always be one of their greatest achievements, not withstanding how they chose to take a dump on it later on.

    • Faith says:

      Great point, you explained the why far better than I. I also think it goes back to being real, or rather real vs. fake. We’re reminded through Carina just how superficial aspects of the spy life can be but Chuck’s real and that’s something she hasn’t had much in her life even predating being a spy.

      It’s a great reminder for Chuck as well, and as Crumby so brilliantly put it, he was right to fall for her.

    • uplink2 says:

      So after you brought this up I went back and watched it again. Doing extra credit homework. This episode is also a turning point for Chuck as well. By seeing a different spy he realizes so much of what Sarah has had to do to protect him and do her job. He accepts that and accepts her and Bryce though his insecurities about him will carry with him for another season and a half.

      He learns about the double life she has had to lead but he still wants to know the real person.The name issue is significant certainly and becomes even more so later on but it shows that Chuck can’t just look at the surface. He always has wanted to know the real person inside in everyone he knows. From the ballerina to now possibly Vivian, Chuck Bartowski sincerely wants to know the inner person and their issues. It didn’t have to be her name it could have been anything but it had to be real. In the end he didn’t force it or push the issue just let her know that she, Sarah Walker the real person mattered to him even more than Sarah Walker his handler. Sarah had never known this before. I don’t think Bryce ever concerned himself with this as both said that they were not friends, just complicated BF and GF.

      This episode is also where Yvonne really starts to show why she is just such a special actress. The end of Tango was good but she was great in this episode. Even the shot of her leaning against the door of her hotel room she screams so much and then the final shot was simply brilliant.

      All in all I love Carina and even though we have had great debates about Three Words I think she is the most enjoyable returning character for me. It wasn’t her fault what happened after Three Words, she gave Sarah the surveillance footage. It was the writers who made it a lie. But there was no lie with this episode going forward.

      • Faith says:

        For your extra credit, you get an extra ★ on your paper ;).

        I’ll expand a bit on your thoughts, because they’re just so spot on. We go back to Chuck is a special guy. I think Sarah knew he was different; remember her “I don’t know about this guy, Graham” from the pilot? He is a guy that looks beneath the surface (like you pointed out) but more than that, for once here’s a guy that dares to ask more from her. Shock of all shock, one she wants to tell and share with. It’s really a double whammy in that not only do we get Chuck learning about her, she’s learning about him and herself too. I like that you pointed out that he backed off when she wouldn’t talk, I think that’s an important aspect in the why it is we fell for Chuck just like she did. You’re right, the fact that he didn’t force it, the fact that he cared enough to let her have her secrets is amazing. He expanded on that with Cougar’s “no thanks, I don’t need to know more…” I think at this point in time Sarah still needed to be the person that lives for the present, and the fact that Chuck recognized that and respected that (even though he so badly wants to know because he is falling for her) makes him even more lovable. And it’s made her want to tell him even more.

  6. Joseph (can't be Joe) says:

    BTW. Am I the only one who’d like to know what happened in Prague?

  7. Ernie Davis says:

    Great piece, lots of good discussion, the world is back on it’s proper axis since I’ll be able to go on at some length telling Faith where we disagree, but tonight I suddenly felt in the mood for a Tango-Wookie-Truth marathon. Maybe even Marlin.

  8. Crumby says:

    I don’t want to go into S3 talk either, but 3 Words did bring a new side of Carina. And I’m not talking about Morgan and the fact that the “Martin” days are over. 🙂

    Carina is a lot like Casey when it comes to Sarah. She will mock, tease and laugh, unless it a deeper matter. Then she’s a friend.

    I liked her in Wookie but I don’t know if I would really have called her a friend to Sarah. 3 Words kind of humanized her. I’m all for her being a bridesmaid now. 🙂

    • thinkling says:

      Totally agree Crumby. In fact I didn’t like her much in Wookie, but she was a friend in Three Words. She had purpose in Wookie, but no appeal.

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        No appeal? Sacrilege. She had oodles of appeal – sex appeal that is.
        🙂 😉

      • thinkling says:

        Alladins, it’s that gender divide Faith mentioned.

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        I know,I know. It’s just that I am indirectly trying to maneuver Faith into posting a gif of Carina running on the beach – and what better way to accomplish that than by talking about Carina in every other post which will lead to Faith posting a visual aid for further appreciation. 😉 🙂

      • Faith says:

        Devious lol.

      • JC says:

        My only S3 talk will be I wish Carina had been in more episodes and had made a play for Chuck. Would have been so much better than Hannah.

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        JC

        At least we would have had some very interesting Chuck/Carina/Sarah scenes. A similar opportunity with Stalker Hannah was totally wasted during the Hack arc.

      • JC says:

        @Genie

        I always wanted a female spy as PLI for Chuck so why not one who would cause the most chaos and humor. Can you imagine Chuck bringing Carina over to meet Ellie? Or Casey’s reactions?

      • atcDave says:

        I’ll agree with seeing no appeal in Carina. In fact, first time through, this was my least favorite episode of S1; I really didn’t like Carina at all and was very happy when she was gone.

        Funny thing is, I like the episode fine now. I think it is interesting in the grand scheme of things, especially to contrast another female agent and see how special Sarah is. And Carina did indeed prove herself to be a friend later. I really hope to see that good friend, who happens to be a bit immature, return to cause chaos this Monday!

      • joe says:

        You must be very happily married, Dave. 😉

        I always had the idea that there was something of Sarah in Carina. We saw that Carina could be completely cold and heartless, but it was harder to recognize a wild-fun side in Sarah. That part of Carina was immediately apparent.

        I think it had something to do with C&S’s first date, when Sarah told Chuck outright that she was NOT funny. Yet, something in Casey’s description (the wildcard part of “Graham’s wildcard enforcer”) seemed to shout “Carina” to me.

      • thinkling says:

        Carina is always a bit of a grenade, or at least a fire cracker … in a munitions shed. It is super awkward with Casey and Morgan and Alex. From the previews I know they play with that, but I don’t know how far they’ll take it.

        Like you, Dave, I hope it’s good-friend Carina that shows up. I think it will be.

      • atcDave says:

        yeah Joe, I’m happily married; and I like good girls!

      • Crumby says:

        Carina definitely brings the fun and I think Sarah likes that, it brings this fun part of herself out as well. Like when she took that picture of Casey! I didn’t expect that at all and that was good to see her do that!

    • herder says:

      It’s funny how different people can have different viewpoints, Carina was one of my all time favorite guest stars. She stirred things up in Wookie and was one of the few bright points of Three Words. She and Roan were one and two on my list of most desireable returnees.

      • atcDave says:

        I liked Roan from the start, very funny character. I do like Carina now and am excited to see this week.

      • Faith says:

        Second that Herder. I think she was great overall, and she did more for Chuck and Sarah than really most of the PLIs in my opinion.

  9. Crumby says:

    It’s funny how in only two episodes (and if I’m not mistaken she’s not mentioned in other episodes) Carina has taken a huge place in the Chuckverse.

  10. Rick Holy says:

    I LOVED this episode for many of the same reasons that ya’ll have mentioned already. But BY FAR one of my favorite “scenes” in ANY “CHUCK” episode from ANY season came in this one. It’s after Casey has escaped from the hotel room, but he’s still handcuffed to the piece of headboard that he ripped away from the bed. He’s on the elevator and there’s a little girl with her mother – both of them looking VERY uncomfortable. They do a TERRIFIC camera shot of the little girl’s face (while she’s clinging to her mother) through one of the “holes” in the headboard lattice. Not a long scene. Not a scene of great significance to the story of “CHUCK.” But a perfect scene in every detail!

    Also, I must speak up in defense of Carina. She’s ALWAYS a great addition. She stirs up the pot, but then she always reveals something to Chuck and/or Sarah about their feelings/love for each other. She’s helped move the “Chara” story along in a big way on two occasions – in Season 1 and then in Season 3. Plus, she is awfully easy on the eyes – and God forgive us if we start discriminating against beautiful women! 😉

    P.S. Must also note the dress that Sarah wore at the “pool scene” was one of the best she’s worn in the series. I think it was the color that I found most appealing. 🙂 And I loved the homage to “The Cars” video (forget the name of the song) from the 1980’s, when Chuck tiptoed his way across the water.

    • joe says:

      You’re spot on, Fr. Rick. Great scene.

      I could spend half a life time cataloging all the great scenes in the show like that. I think Faith already has, but then, she’s significantly younger than I am!

      Now you have my curiosity up. I don’t recall but one Car’s video (and man, what I remember is that Ric Ocasek is one of the ugliest dudes around! Clearly, his musical talent was meant as compensation). If anyone happens to know what that video was, and if it’s available on YouTube, I’d love to see it!

      • Rick Holy says:

        With over a million “hits” on YouTube, here it is: “Magic” by The Cars: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6bEu9wLDjKY

        He walks on the pool near the beginning and at the end. And yes, Ocasek was lacking in the “good looks” department, but if memory serves correctly, I think he was married to one of those Sports Illustrated Swim Suit models – may have been Paulina Porizkova (or something like that).

        Now here’s the REAL “put it out there question” for everybody. There were a LOT of really bad MTV videos in the 80s – and I SWEAR there was another one – similar to this one by The Cars – with someone walking across a pool – and I think wearing a white jacket and even walking sideways like Chuck did. I can’t believe that I would have just imagined that. There HAD to be a video like it. Now if someone can come up with THAT ONE, then YOU, my friend, are the winner of the “80’s Music Video Trivia award!”

      • herder says:

        Thanks for that Fr Rick, took me back to university days, and a smile throughout the whole video.

      • joe says:

        You got it! Thanks, Fr. Rick.

        Hummm… my knowledge of the music (even in the ’80s when I wasn’t listening much) exceeds my knowledge of MTV fare by light years, it seems.

    • herder says:

      Fr. Rick is talking about “It’s Magic” by the Cars which has Ric Ocasek walking on water in a pool, which was not the music in this episode. Incidentally Ric Ocasek’s greatest feat wasn’t his music, but marrying a supermodel Paula Porzikova (sp) who was in the “you might think” video, despite his lack of, shall we say handsomness.

      • Rick Holy says:

        @herder – we posted the same thing at right about the same time. Great minds think alike!! Now, if you can help me with my hopefully not “imagined” other video that I refer to above, then you definitely “Da Man!” (Oh – and just a point of clarification, I didn’t think that the MUSIC was in the episode, just the “walking on water” thing – and as “80’s-centric” as Schwedak seem to be, I figured it HAD to be at least a vague reference to The Cars video).

      • joe says:

        Ah, I knew it was a model, but I didn’t realize it was the famous Paula Porzikova (you got the spelling right!). Thanks for the vid name too.

    • Faith says:

      That was pretty funny. Actually Casey was overall great in this episode as well. From his banter with Carina to the elevator scene, he was shiny.

      Side note: I looked up 80s music videos and swimming pool after your reference and there’s just too many amusing 80s videos with pools lol. It was the thing.

  11. Big Kev says:

    Funny – I always thought I was in a minority of one in not thinking much of Carina – but I still loved this episode!
    I can’t but Carina as a competent spy, if her MO on missions (this one, and in Pakistan) seems to be to have no plan, have a reckless disregard for the safety of her team and then rely on them to bail her out. And I never understood how someone as by-the-book, obsessively competent and naturally loyal as Sarah is (at this point) would even have professional respect for her, let alone count her as a friend. Never understood that. And “I like taking what Sarah wants”…….yeah, right.
    Ali humanised her a little in 3 Words, which I liked, and it will be interesting to see where they take her in CAT squad.
    But she does her job as the antagonist, and illuminates all the wonderful Chuck and Sarah moments that make this such a great episode. Wookie has always been my favourite Chuck episode title too, by the by. And now that I have rewatched/reconciled Fake Name and the name reveal (see previous post) I can watch the “Lisa” moment as the wonderful, emotional, step-change moment for Chuck and Sarah that it was always intended to be.
    Excellent episode and write-up, Faith. Much thanks.

    • mxpw says:

      In a world where Shaw was considered a great spy, Carina barely registers as a blip on the radar in terms of competence.

    • Faith says:

      Welcome, glad you liked it.

      I do think they’ll have their work cut out for them in CAT Squad. Not because of what was, but rather it’s a different dynamic with Chuck and Sarah now. In Wookie she could needle them both about living a dull life and being boyfriend and girlfriend, while inadvertently helping to progress their relationship, in CAT Squad they have already progressed so very far on their own that really Carina’s role in their relationship will be a question mark (apart from the needling of course). But I think the writers can rise to that challenge.

      • atcDave says:

        Obviously Sarah can’t be needled with “you like him more than you admit” anymore; since she freely admits she loves him. Carina might still get some mileage out of a “boring” argument, but even that shouldn’t be too effective at this point. It will be interesting to see what hot spots she can still find.

      • JC says:

        If Carina is used right she should be the voice of what Sarah can’t say or what she’s going through. She’ll either be the push that Sarah needs to speak up or she’ll tell Chuck what’s going on.

      • Crumby says:

        Yeah JC that’s exactly how she should be used. Which makes me even more curious because we don’t know what’s going on with Sarah in that episode. “Old secrets and grudges?” What’s that all about and what is the story with Zondra?

        If we stay on the issue that were there at the end of SI, Carina should tell us more about Sarah’s relationship with her family. Not necessarily information on her family but more like where Sarah is at when it comes to them, if there is a “them,” and why she’d rather avoid the issue.

      • uplink2 says:

        That’s an interesting point. Just how much does Carina know of Sarah’s family? Will she be there for that little bit of info at the end like Heather Chandler was? I am really looking forward to seeing this as of all the guest characters on the show what she brings to our understanding of Sarah the spy than anyone. Now if we can get Jack Cole back it would be a perfect season.

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        Maybe Carina is going to be used to help get Sarah to an emotional epiphany like opening up more about her family- from the synopsis we know that Chuck surprises Sarah by calling her old team (but I am pretty sure he contacts only Carina and gets more than he bargained for). Maybe he does this because Sarah still hasn’t told him anything about her family and he doesn’t want her to feel alone. Sarah may feel a bit disgruntled about this but throw in a good Sarah/Carina conversation and by the end of the episode we could vey well get to see some more progress/opening up by Sarah.

      • JC says:

        Yep Carina is a catalyst, its one of things you expect when she makes an appearance. Also she’s a glimpse of what Sarah was before the pilot episode too. Don’t know if that’s the case anymore, guess we’ll have to wait and see.

        As for Zondra, old secrets and grudges I don’t know, sometimes I think we see or want more but it ends being nothing. My concern is they’ll dirty up Sarah’s past even more and if that happens I can see this being the episode. I could see the whole idea of her falling for partners or that Chuck doesn’t know the type of woman Sarah is being thrown in both their faces. It just depends on how far the TPTB want to take exploring her past.

      • Crumby says:

        I’m hoping for a “nothing is as it seems” scenario rather than an actual dirty story. Zondra thinks Sarah did something whatever it is, only it’s only one part of the story and Sarah didn’t do anything wrong or at least had a good reason for it.

      • JC says:

        It could be exactly like that Crumby, it’s just seems whenever Sarah’s spy past is brought up they use it to redeem her through Chuck. And depending on how its handled that could be a good story. I just have my reservations based on the how the show has done these things before.

      • uplink2 says:

        My feeling is if they are going to “dirty up” a character it is going to be a new one and not Sarah. I expect it will be an old competitive, we are in if for ourselves, kind of this that Zondra did that Sarah didn’t like and looked into it. Therefore showing that even in the early spy world Sarah did have a sense of honor and right and wrong.

        This season is about the growth of Sarah Walker more than anything I believe. Look at the scene at the end of Seduction, as someone else so beautifully said, sorry I don’t remember who, that place we saw only Chuck is allowed in and I think Chuck is the only one who has ever been allowed in there. It was a beautiful moment and I really don’t see them doing anything to damage that this season. Obstacles, old catty grudges certainly but the strength of this season is that Sarah Walker is being celebrated as much as they diminished her last season.

        I think they are going to explore that place more and in a beautifully honest manner. Supposedly its been teased that Sarah says something to her old team when they are teasing her about Chuck that will set shippers off, but I believe in a good way. If that tease is true I am really looking forward to that moment.

      • alladinsgenie4u says:

        Supposedly its been teased that Sarah says something to her old team when they are teasing her about Chuck that will set shippers off

        The same teasers that spoke of Beefcake -esque scenes being revisited in Seduction Impossible? 😉

        If the members of the Cat Squad are indeed going to pick on Chuck, I hope Sarah defends him in front of them and not just be silent about it.

      • uplink2 says:

        I do expect Sarah to defend her man and their relationship when she is teased about it. That’s also why I think there is a real possibility of a Marlin type window scene at the end with Carina. She looks through the window and sees Chuck and Sarah totally happy and completely in love and it will do either of two things, give her pause or she will just be genuinely happy for her best friend.

      • Crumby says:

        I’m really hoping for the “nothing is as it seems” scenario or something that would illustrate that Sarah was different even before meeting Chuck.

        Like I said above, it’s a really important notion to me and Wookie showed me that. I like the idea that C&S were both special, but that it’s meeting each other that really enhanced it, freeing them to be themselves, and giving them the support, motivation and courage to be the real heroes they are.

        Even if this season has been a lot about the growth of Sarah Walker, in Cubic Z they kind of implied that BC (Before Chuck) Sarah was just another spy, and I don’t believe that.

      • JC says:

        When I say dirty I don’t mean anything specific, the show has a tendency to use spy Sarah as a source for darker elements of stories sometimes to the detriment of her character and the show. My biggest concerns are that and if we get any resolution out of the story. Chuck finding out more about who Sarah is and maybe giving him some pause has the makings of a great story. In fact its one that I think should happen before a marriage.

      • uplink2 says:

        As far as what everyone saw and how she presented herself BC I think she may have been just another spy, but in that place we saw at the end of Seduction where only she had ever been till him , I think a lot of it brought her pause but she never let it show. Kind of like the comment from Carina at the end of Wookie. She knew that Sarah wanted Chuck even before Sarah did or at least would admit to herself. In the same way Carina knows that Sarah was different than they were even before she realized it herself. Its why she told Chuck that and why she gave her the surveillance video and told him she loved him.

        Like other great spies, Carina reads people and she read Sarah early on and read the Chuck Sarah relationship early on. Even before either of them would admit it.

        I think the mission they go on will be part of this grudge resolution and Chuck will prove his worth as a spy in from of them and the defense of Chuck may be a verbalization of that great smile of pride on Sarah’s face in Subway in the cell when Casey told her she picked a good one this time.

      • Crumby says:

        I’m fine with Sarah thinking she was no different spy. It would make sense.

        I just don’t like the idea that Chuck changed her and is the only thing that make her special. And if it was true, what would Chuck have seen in her then? What did he see in her that inspired him so much?

        I prefer to think that she’s always been different and special.

        The same goes to Casey by the way. Meeting Chuck changed his life that’s for sure, but he’s always been a honorable guy who had values. Even though he was a by the book guy, who followed orders, right and wrong were always important things to him. Like in Seduction Impossible, when Chuck flashed he said “it’s not our mission,” but once he had completed his mission, he told Beckman about the supernotes. He’s not in it for himself. That’s probably why Casey and Sarah became such good girlfriends. 🙂

      • uplink2 says:

        I agree and believe that is how it will play out. Remember in Wookie when Carina is telling Chuck about we are all in it for ourselves, Chuck’s response was “that’s not what Sarah does” and then reminded her of Pakistan. Even in their very short time together Chuck knew Sarah was different than other spies. He knew that doing the right thing mattered to her. It was never about personal gain for Sarah and Carina realized that as well.

      • Faith says:

        I think Sarah has always thought otherwise and that makes/made all the difference. Remember our discussions on perspective is reality in some cases? She was different/special but she didn’t see herself that way just like Chuck didn’t see himself any other way but that loser that got kicked out of Stanford and works at the buy more.

        What they do and did for each other is more than find love, they also gave each other perspective and confidence in aspects you wouldn’t exactly expect them to need it.

      • thinkling says:

        Just a couple of late thoughts:

        Carina now has someone else to needle, and it should be dicey.

        She will still be a catalyst, in her own mischievous way, for insight into Sarah and something good between Chuck and Sarah. At least I hope so.

        If they parallel Casey and his old team, the grudge may deal with Sarah doing the right thing when someone else wanted to do the wrong thing.

        I still don’t think they will go dark with any of this.

      • atcDave says:

        I’d love it if they made a big deal of Sarah always being the too good one of the group.

        I’m wondering if Carina will be having too many problems with the whole Casey/Morgan/Alex thing to cause Sarah much trouble this time.

      • Crumby says:

        I hope they don’t pass on the Sarah/Carina relationship because of it. It’d be a shame. But they managed to balance both in the previous episodes so I’m hopeful.

  12. jason says:

    pretty sure this 4×15 ep is meant to be lite, so for all those who are looking for the ‘dirt’ on sarah, I don’t think this is going to be the ep … if indeed a goal of part of this arc is to harm sarah’s character thru her past as a way to create CS angst, I would look to ep 4×18 or 4×19

    I do think the ‘grudge’ will be about bryce

    I think the main goal of the ep will be to move CS forward, like role models moved CS to living together in one ep, I think this ep will move sarah to, I don’t know how to put it, lets say being more comfortable with letting chuck in on her past and her family, maybe not all the way, but on the way.

    For how important the NSNL declaration was in 4×1, it is interesting that seemingly sarah has not told chuck a thing about her family or possibly about her spy career pre chuck, other than what we have seen on screen, yet another example of how the show can be ‘clunky’ sometimes, about some pretty major issues. Yet another example why the show is best viewed in stand alone mode, trying to reconcile the past eps with the current ones is an exercise in futility.

    • alladinsgenie4u says:

      I do think the ‘grudge’ will be about bryce

      Is there some ‘teaser’ out there that leads you to this guess or is it total speculation?

      • jason says:

        total guess – I think it will be a 2-3 second comment, and that will be it, other than the blond and sarah will be ‘katty’ toward each other the entire ep – maybe even at the end the other blond will say something nice about chuck and sarah.

        My spitball, bryce was dating the other blondie, he met sarah, and got ‘walkered’ – just like all the rest of us – LOL

      • uplink2 says:

        I don’t see this about Bryce at all. Personally I don’t thnk he will ever be mentioned again. What would be the point? I see it as a competitive issue where Zondra did something that Sarah didn’t like and she interfered somehow. Part of the whole we are in it for ourselves Carina comment in Wookie. This will be a professional Cat fight not about a guy.

      • jason says:

        uplink – I hope you are right, I guess my guess came from the promo, with her kat squad rival saying keep you paws out / off of my then something inaudible, and sarah’s reply, you aren’t going to bring that up again? – which would seem so much like a guy. I’d rather it be professional and important, my money is a guy and unimportant, we don’t know, all guessing at this point.

      • uplink2 says:

        The best version of the inaudible line I have read is, “You keep your paws out of my boot heels” that could mean a lot of things. But I doubt it is over jealousy and a guy. Remember these girls threw away guys like old boot heels lol.

      • weaselone says:

        Huh. I could have sworn she said brief case. Time to watch the clip a few dozen more times.

      • uplink2 says:

        I’ve looked at it a ton of times and I’m not sure. But I can much more easily see a gorgeous female spy talking about boot heels long before briefcases lol.

    • Crumby says:

      In all fairness, they said “no secrets, no lies, starting now.” I never expected Sarah to tell him everything about her past after that. If you take the rule to the letter, it’s just impossible to always tell what’s on your mind. The rule is really about important stuff, usually spy related, that have a direct influence on their present, like Chuck’s health or the search for his mom. As long as they’re not lying to each other outright or sneaking around, I think they’re good.

      The closer they came to break the rule is clearly the end of AOT for me. And they really don’t seem to want to address any breaking of the rule. I wouldn’t be surprised if they never mentioned it again.

      • jason says:

        crumby – i wrote somewhere else, the NSNL is more a pact between the writers and us that they are not going to use lies and secrets between CS to jerk us around, given the level of distrust, probably a great idea.

        Still, little about her past spy life or her past, given how important that issue has been made by TPTB, by chuck at various times in s1,s2,s3 and by sarah in fake name, it is a little strange, without the extra eps, would have been left untold, unsaid, unaddressed, will be interesting how the story is now going to unfold.

      • atcDave says:

        Crumby I also think that Chuck gave Sarah sort of a pass at the end of Cougars; not that she should be lying or keeping secrets, but I don’t believe he has ever expected her to disclose everything about her past. It could get quite interesting now that such revelations come out, but I think Chuck is okay with the fact many things haven’t come up yet.

      • Crumby says:

        Chuck haven’t told her everything about himself either. Remember, Sarah didn’t know the story of his tenth birthday before AOT. 🙂

      • jason says:

        @crumby – sarah may know more about chuck than chuck, remember, sarah lives with two guys, one of whom can’t keep a secret about anything, my guess is sarah knows what chuck had for lunch on February 9th in 4th grade, since morgan not only is willing to tell, but also seems compelled to remember such things – what would really be funny, if they redid that game from wookie, and morgan starts rooting for sarah, and chuck is like, ‘what, I never told you that sarah’ – morgan and sarah trade secret smiles of course

      • thinkling says:

        Hilarious, Jason. Morgan is the Intersect on Chuck.

        (that’s why his advice to Sarah is usually better than his advice to Chuck.)

  13. Rick Holy says:

    Less than 24 hours to go. BRING ON ‘THE CHUCK!” We NEED to get AT LEAST a 1.7 or above! (Heaven help us if we drop below 1.7). Facebook and Twitter (#Chuck and #SaveChuck) and get the message out. WATCH CHUCK!!

  14. Josh says:

    How come everyone thinks that she fell for chuck in the pilot but fell in love with him in this episode? Do we not believe sarah when she says that she fell for him before he even started saving the day (and as Faith says fell for means fall in love) ? Does the ballarina scene not have a more poignant significance then him asking for information about her that she does not want to give at that moment in time? I would like to think so in some ways because the ballarina shows that he is the 1 guy out 100 that would do what he did and that is leave the beautiful girl and do something nice but maybe less rewarding….it is such a great moment that encapsulates what we all love about chuck that makes it hard for me to not believe that not only sarah fell in love with him but so did we!

    • joe says:

      Josh, that’s a great question.

      I know, for me, in the pilot, when Sarah looks at Chuck and smiles because of how he’s helped the ballerina, I can almost see her thought bubble. She’s saying “Awwww – this guy is cute is cute, and he really is something special.” But she’s still in control of herself. Agent Walker is firmly in charge. Her next thought has got to be something like: “What a shame I may have to crush this guy.”

      She’s still capable of doing that.

      But in Wookie it just seems different. Carina may have given Chuck some insight into Agent Walker (she may have to leave in five minutes, or shoot him in the head), but Chuck found out that he wants to know more about Sarah.

      And when he asks, we see her start to crumble. The way she sits, silent, on the edge of the bed when he (almost) begs for anything real, you just know that she’s dying to tell him anything about then.

      But she can’t. It was only for a moment, but we caught a glimpse of Sarah before the Agent clamped down again on her heart. That was real, and we knew it before Sarah did.

    • atcDave says:

      I don’t think “everyone” has said anything Josh. This was Faith’s post and her interpretation. You’re free to feel differently, and you did a good job explaining why. I have no doubt Sarah was I pressed with Chuck in the Pilot. I always figured she knew she was in love with him in Break-Up. Unless we get a very precise timeline for these things we can only guess.

  15. Any idea what does C.A.T. mean?

  16. Pingback: Episode of the Week: Chuck vs The Wookiee (1.04) | Chuck This

Leave a Reply

