Happy Valentine’s Day

To One and All

This is supposed to be a special day for lovers. Or, at least, it’s supposed to be special for those who want to be in love. If Chuck is not a Valentine to all those people, then I don’t know what it is.

I’d like to return the favor.

Half of what I say is meaningless.

To Julia Ling, Happy Valentine’s Day! We really did love Anna Wu, and like Sarah, we thought that she and Morgan really did make one of the cutest couples ever. There was real potential there. We wish Anna Wu, and you, all the best, and we hope to see you and your kata again.

To Rachael Bilson, Happy Valentine’s Day! Lou was the perfect “normal” girl for Chuck, and for that, we will always love you.

Our first love is remembered

To Jordana Brewster, our first loves are the ones we never forget, and Jill Roberts (like Winnie Cooper) is the long-haired brunette that we loved from the beginning. It never seems to work out – there’s too much growing up that has to be done – but the memories will never leave us. Happy Valentine’s Day.

Our favorite big sister

To Sarah Lancaster, Ellie is indeed the big sister I never had. Being the oldest means feeling like *you* are the protector, the one who has to be dependable. That love that is above and beyond, and one that is appreciated beyond measure. For showing us that, Happy Valentine’s Day.

I don’t want to forget Mekenna Melvin! You’ve captured the fan’s hearts faster than anyone in recorded history! Alex is precisely the girl that Morgan needed, not because she’s strong (she is) and cute (she is) and intelligent (she is), but because she is never, ever false. Thank you for showing us how important that is. Happy Valentine’s Day.

To Bonita Friedericy, General Diane Beckman is the schoolmarm we grew up with and now we are happy to have met the young woman behind the bureaucrat. For passing you up in 1989, Roan will forever be known as a fool. Happy Valentine’s Day.

You'll be back!

To Linda Hamilton, since I identify so strongly with Stephen J. (Scott Bakula is my age, after all), you just know that there’s a special place in my heart for Mary Elizabeth. She is the strong, true, loving and above all, loyal character that Sarah wants to grow up to be. We will never see enough of her. Happy Valentine’s Day.

A million Valentines

To Yvonne Strahovski, this is just one day out of 365 every year that we wish you all the best and give you our love. Sarah has become a million fantasies and deserves a million Valentines. Here’s one more – Happy Valentine’s Day.

Then there are the real women in my virtual life. To Thinkling, Faith and especially Amy who’s so far away from home, you recognized from the first that there’s nothing fictional or fantastical about the story that we’ve been enjoying so much. When all is said and done, Chuck is about us and it’ll always have that truth within it. This may be Singles Appreciation Day but it’s also a day to know that love is real, just like Sarah said. Happy Valentine’s Day to all of you, and my thanks for the love you’ve shown me.

Gushy enough? My own blond Sara and I will be celebrating Valentine’s Day all day long in our own inimitable fashion and we’ll probably finish it off sometime after tonight’s episode, well after we finish our traditional banana splits. How can you beat that?

– joe

About joe

In my life I've been a professor, martial artist, rock 'n roller, rocket scientist, lover, poet and brain surgeon. I'm lying about the brain surgery.
This entry was posted in Administrative, No Spoilers, Observations. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. Mel says:

    This is so sweet, Joe. Well done and happy Valentine’s Day to you and yours!

  2. thinkling says:

    Aw, Joe. Your romantic side is showing again.

    Thanks for the Valentine. Happy Valentines to the two of you. Banana splits can be romantic. David and I went out for a Valentine’s lunch, to kick off our celebration.

    Happy Valentines to all of the Chuck cast, all my fellow Chuck This Bloggers, and all of our readers.

    Thinkling

  3. Gringo Chuck Fan says:

    I was really hoping someone would find a way to send the ladies a Valentine – or late least our expression of best wishes on this special day… Way to go!
    I’d like to tag my own wishes of Love and Happiness to all the ladies in the show we love. Have a wonderful day ! ~ cheers

  4. atcDave says:

    Jodie and I went to a chocolate lover’s dinner at Greenfield Village this last Friday for Valentine’s Day. Although I would say Jodie sort of cheated; I was still recovering from surgery and loaded up on Vicodin at the time, so I think I was taken advantage of…

    I guess I’ll have to take her word for it that we had a great time!

    • Rick Holy says:

      Ahhhh, Vicodin! Hey, Dave – isn’t Greenfield Village the place that includes the Henry Ford Museum and (a replica of) Thomas Edison’s house? I seem to remember going their as a kid on a field trip back in the 70’s – and thoroughly enjoying it. It was in the fall and I remember they made fresh hot doughnuts and fresh pressed apple cider!!

      • atcDave says:

        Oh yeah Rick, Greenfield Village is a national treasure. It has Edison’s actual lab, not a replica; and many other significant homes and businesses. But we ate at the Eagle Tavern, which is an old stage coach stop-over. very fun place.

      • thinkling says:

        I’ve been there. Fascinating place. Also there’s the Ford Edison Estate in Florida. Also fascinating.

    • thinkling says:

      Vicodin or Chocolate … CHOCOLATE!!

  5. Rick Holy says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day to all. (Actually although Valentine was a Saint, on the Church calendar, today is actually the Memorial of Sts. Cyril and Methodius – brothers (one a monk and one a bishop) who evangelized the Slavic Nations during the 800s). Just a little trivia for ya! When I greeted the kids at Mass this morning with “Happy Saints Cyril and Methodius Day, they looked at me like “WHAT??!!??” Hey, priests are entitled to inject a little “religious humor” every now and then – even with the kids.

    Well, so far no Valentine or Cyril & Methodius cards on my desk today. WHERE’S THE LOVE????

    But as far as ALL OF YOU and all the AWESOME cast of CHUCK (especially all the lovely ladies) have a wonderful day. If you’ve got a sweetie, be good to her (or him, for all you gals) and let them know how much they mean to you.

    As for me, I’ll be celebrating MY Valentine’s Day with my favorite TV show, my favorite Polish-speaking, Australian actress (love those women who can speak Polish – they hold a special place in my heart – especially since 4 of them are my mom, my godmother, and my 2 grandmothers/busias (both now deceased), and my favorite Polish beer!!

    I don’t know much Polish – just a handful of words – but if they ever have Yvonne speak a line of Polish again, it would be AWESOME if it would include the word “dupa.” Let’s just say it translates to the word that starts with a, ends with s, and has one s in the middle!! 😉 Adam Baldwin said they used to use “colorful Chinese” in episodes of FIREFLY – since nobody would actually know what they were saying – so why not a little “colorful Polish” in CHUCK?

    Have a GREAT day, everybody – and don’t forget to FACEBOOK, email, and Twitter CHUCK tonight! The Valentine’s that I didn’t get today would be wonderfully replaced by a 1.8 or higher demo rating for tonight’s show! Now a 2.0 or above – that would be like a huge box of chocolates!!!! 🙂

    • joe says:

      Okay, now you have to come here and clean my Monitor, Fr. Rick! Spit up my coffee AGAIN! 😉

      I know about as much Polish as you!

      • Rick Holy says:

        Joe – don’t forget “Nazdrovia!” The Russians claim it, too – but they stole it from us Poles!! Makes the Polish beer (or Vodka) go down a little smoother!!

    • jason says:

      I think I can count to ten in polish & used to be able to sort of communicate in polish (of course Abe Lincoln was our president in those days too). my father is from a family of ten, he was the youngest, and the only one who was brought up speaking english, the other 9 all spoke only polish when they entered grade school. I was frequently cared for through maybe age 7 by my polish grandmother, who spoke a little english, but mostly polish, as my grandparents only lived a block from my dad’s busniess in Chicago. Was such a different era back then, I recall picking up dinner for my dad’s employees with one of his workers who was black, at age 7 I had to go in and pay for it, because he was not allowed in the restaurant. My dad had several policemen who were his friends, which was essential to doing business then, according to my dad. When we would visit my uncles on the south side, we would only enter taverns (businesses) that had protections ‘seals’ on them, can’t even recall, probably was the mob, huh? We moved away when I was 7, to a very small town in wisconsin, huge difference, very norman rockwellishy there, and just think, if not for that move, I would be a bears fan – yikes – scary stuff!

      Happy Valentine’s Day to everyone, I am proud to call you folks friends!

      • Rick Holy says:

        Same to you, my friend. Where about’s in Chicago? My dad was born above the tavern his grandparents owned in 1928 (in the “Back of the Yards” – 43rd and Hermitage). I can imagine the men getting plowed under one floor below my grandmother laboring to deliver my dad! Mom was the last of 13 kids – born in the house they lived in at 35th and Paulina! Love to drive down those streets and think of what it must have been like when they were growing up. By the time I came along, we lived closer to Midway airport – 63rd and Neenah. Chicago stays in your blood. Even if you move away, you still consider Chicago “home!” A great, culturally-diverse treasure of a city!

        Oh what I would give to have a Comic-Con or SOMETHING “Chuck-related” in Chicago – but they always seem to reserve those things for San Diego or other locales on the left coast. Bummer for us Midwesterners!!

      • atcDave says:

        So would that have been the Polish mob Jason? Maybe we’re really on to something with Sarah’s mom’s story!

        Sorry to hear about your near rescue from Packer-land. Not every story can have a happy ending…

      • Rick Holy says:

        Dave – I have no doubt it was the POLISH mob! Chicago has more Polish people in it than any other city in the world besides Warsaw!! So there is CERTAINLY going to be an “underworld” element with so large a number of people.

        We had a number of guys from Poland at the seminary I went to north of Chicago. I used to refer to them as “The Polish Mafia.” Let’s just say they never denied it!!! 😉

      • jason says:

        how cool, really I rarely think of my grandmother, who died around the time we moved, a pleasant, surprising valentine’s gift from you guys to me.

        His business was in evanston (I usually say Chicago because it is easier), I just mapquested, almost sure on the corner of howard and clark, my mom and I used to take the ‘L’ to cubs games and to go shopping in the ‘loop’, I seem to recall a station pretty close to where he worked too, looked like the right spot from the mapquest map, about a block or two north of that intersection?

        Again, thanks for wrangling up those old memories!!!!!

    • thinkling says:

      My husband’s mother was born in Poland, though she was really German.

      • Rick Holy says:

        Well, numerous times throughout its history, there was NO Poland. Somebody else took it over! In WWII, they didn’t stand a chance against the FAR superior German army – but after WWII, when some of their land was given back to them, they were also given a part – I believe – of what once was Germany. (Let’s just say the Russians and the Americans didn’t want the “same” Germany left after the war that there was before/during).

        For example the German “Danzig” became the Polish “Gdansk,” the home of the shipyards where Lech Walesa started the labor strikes that led to the downfall of Communism in Poland – and the eventual “domino effect” in the Soviet Satellite countries and eventually the Soviet Union itself.

        One of the things I love about this blog. We can take a topic like Valentine’s Day and basically go in directions you’d NEVER expect! Now THAT’S a blog!

        Now if only we could get YVONNE to “check us out” and give us a personal and “CHUCK” perspective on all things Polish!!! Like, tell us Yvonne, do you make pierogis or golabkis???

        Anyway, can’t wait for tonight’s episode!

      • thinkling says:

        I know, poor Poland. I root for them.

        Gdansk, the shipyards, Solidarity and the Pope’s famous visit. Great history.

    • andyt says:

      To match your trivia, it was St. Cyril and Methodius invention of a language that is the basis for Russian and Ukranian today. Happy St. Cyril’s and Valentine’s day to all.

      • Rick Holy says:

        Wasn’t it – in honor of the man himself – referred to as the Cyrillic(sp?) alphabet?? I could easily look this up in my reference books – but at the moment, the “lazy me mode” has taken over! 🙂

  6. joe says:

    I want you all to know that I did look for a picture of Mekenna too, but she’s done a good job of protecting her official shots from pirates like me!

    It’s nothing a good hacker can’t handle, but I want to respect her privacy desires too.

    • Rick Holy says:

      Joe – she has a web site. Were you able to “lift” any photos from there? If memory serves, it’s http://www.MekennaMelvin.com (or something close to that). Another one of the lovely ladies of CHUCK!!!

      And let’s be honest, the premise of this show was that Chuck was a NERD. Yet he always – ALWAYS – had a hot babe! What a quandry. Lou or Sarah? Jill or Sarah? Hannah or Sarah? It SUCKS to be a Nerd! 😉

  7. Faith says:

    You’re such a charmer Joe. Mrs. Joe is a lucky woman…much like Sarah ;).

    Now how can I be jaded and cynical about V-Day after that? I’ll try anyway. Happy singles appreciation day everyone!

    • Rick Holy says:

      Yeah, where’s the day for we SINGLES??? After all, it IS one of the vocations that people are called to in life. So Faith, we’ll make our OWN day! And instead of cards and flowers and chocolates and romantic dinners it will have pizza and beer and any other kind of liquor that might happen to be in the cabinet!! SINGLES ROCK!!! (and don’t forget, most of the people on our favorite show are singles, too – Casey, Dianne, Big Mike, Jeff, Lester (I’m sure all the rest of the Buy More staff), Morgan et. al. So they FEEL OUR PAIN!!). 🙂 😉

  8. amyabn says:

    Thanks for the Valentine, Joe! It is much appreciated. miss you guys!

  9. joe says:

    You know, there was one more Valentine I meant to give out.

    It’s not too late, is it?

    Happy Valentine’s Day, Clara.

Leave a Reply

