Anything For You

It’s all Faith’s fault.  Yep, I said it.  I am currently STILL downloading Chuck vs. The Muurder (yes, it’s 0200 Friday Morning here as I write this and I’m still at it!-quick update, I got to finally watch the ep this morning!) so I have some time on my hands to ponder and speculate.  And Faith went and used Brendan James’ “Lucky Ones” for her genius Chuck music video.  Now I’m stuck on the self-titled album and can’t stop listening to it.  So what does that have to do with Chuck, you ask?  Well, The latest interview I read was how they were trying to figure out a way to have Zach sing on the show.  I have my own solution, along with song selections, after the break.

My first inclination was to go with the song, “Stupid For Your Love.”  It is a sweet song about a really smart guy (“I still remember 30 numbers after 3.14 PI, don’t ask me why….but I am so stupid for your love.”).    It sounds like our Chuck in a nutshell, and while I think it would fit the show, I can’t see Chuck singing it to Sarah. I guess that is one of my criteria.

My second choice is “Different Kind of Love.”  The lyrics speak to their relationship-it is unique, and special, and together they have something that works.  Chuck isn’t the James Bond type that he always thought Sarah would go for, but their differences are what make their relationship what it is.

“Maybe what you need is a different kind of love,

one that you have never seen.

Maybe all you are is a part of a star on a long journey.

Maybe what you need is a better kind of love,

one that you could only dream

maybe it’ll take all the sorrow away and let you feel free.”

Well, those are both good suggestion, in my humble opinion.  But my winning selection is “Anything For You.”  First, the set up (spec).  Mary, Carina, Zondra and Sarah are making wedding plans around the table when Ellie brings Clara over all frazzled because the Sleep Sheep isn’t working.  Chuck comes back from a late install, bringing Sarah flowers (gardenias, her favorite and a call back to Break-Up)  and Rocky Road ice cream (call back to DeLorean).  Uncle Chuck to the rescue as he heads to their bedroom to fix it.  He fixes it, but he couldn’t salvage the Jeffster recording so he recorded a song for his niece.  He comes back out with the sheep and hits play, dancing with Sarah who is holding Clara and singing along.

Anything For You Lyric
I woke up early from my bed
With a secret in my head
In the back of my backyard
I keep a spaceship in the shed

I lit the engine and took the sky
From up here it looks so nice
I didn’t stop until the moon, where I
Picked a flower just for you

[Refrain:]
And I fell down to you in a parachute
of newspaper rubber bands, tape, and glue
So you would see I would do anything for you
Anything for you

I didn’t want to wake you up,
so I put the flower in a cup
On the floor next to your bed
Without a sound I laid my head

Drifted off into a dream Of what has been and what could be
I saw your tears, I saw you fall
But I saw us rise, I saw it all

[Refrain]

And I never want you to know
All of the lengths I’ve gone
To find where the flowers grow

Love is never supposed to be
A present under our tree
I do it because I believe

[Refrain]

Obviously the song is sung from the male perspective, but I think it speaks well for both Sarah and Chuck.  And I have to admit, every time I hear the line about the parachute and “falling down to you” I can’t help but think about Seduction and Chuck jumping off the Buy More roof, wrapped in the banner.  It makes me smile.  And thanks again to Faith for introducing me to this great artist and for help with the music!

-amyabn

About amyabn

My name is Amy and I'm in the active Army as my profession. I love the show Chuck and want to see it succeed for many seasons to come. My twitter handle is amyabn.
This entry was posted in Music, Season 4. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Anything For You

  1. Mess says:

    I’m totally in favour of the idea of a Lullaby kind of thing. There are a lot of ways they could do that, one of which is your idea.

  2. thinkling says:

    Thanks for the great post, Amy. As always your music expertise is greatly appreciated, since I have none.

    I like the idea of a lullaby or a double lullaby. Something sweet and private.

    • amyabn says:

      A great lullaby (which I toyed with) is “Dreamland” by Mary Chapin Carpenter. I know Yvonne says she can’t sing-she dances! but I’ve heard that Sarah Lancaster can sing (I haven’t personally heard her). Anyway, another very sweet way to get Zach to sing along these lines is to have Chuck start on the song, and then have Ellie join him on the harmony parts towards the end. It could be a song that their dad used to sing to them. I’m a sap, but I’m good with it!

  3. Tamara Burks says:

    I doubt they’d have the Sleep Sheep blow out since it’s product placement. Maybe have him trying to calm her and he either doesn’t know about the sheep or it’s upstairs or they are babysitting at thier place while Ellie and Devon get a nookie night in and they forgot to bring the sheep.

    • amyabn says:

      I like your idea. Or, the sheep could just have needed new batteries (Ellie is a bit frazzled and doesn’t think of that) and Chuck decides to record over Jeffster for the heck of it. They close the episode with Ellie and Devon putting Clara down and play the song. Cut to Sarah, dancing with Chuck, while he sings to her.

  4. joe says:

    Oh my. Because of Faith’s video I went and hunted down the album. But I didn’t get around to listening until tonight.

    Wow. Just, wow.

    I’m going to be sleeping with Stupid For Your Love going ’round my head. I hope you ladies realize that guys actually do sing these songs for you (even if they can’t). 😉

  5. Faith says:

    That’s a beautiful image Amy. Thanks for that. Now I can picture them dancing with their own baby sometime in the future…although the song I imagine would be a more classic fare (not that Brendan James isn’t awesome, I’m glad you got hooked, he’s great). Sarah’s taste, especially after Honeymooners seemed to lean towards the soul classics a la Feeling Good.

    In any case, I like it! It works for me. TPTB get ‘er done!

Leave a Reply

