Chuck Megadose Monday Poll Post Updated: Now With Extra Season 4 Goodness

Because A Monday Without A New Chuck Is Just Monday.

No New Chuck Tonight? Again?

If you’re like me a single repeat episode of Chuck isn’t enough to hold you over another week.  Since a single new episode almost isn’t enough for me anymore I may be developing a problem.   OK, way past developing a problem.  Regular doses of Chuck are now a part of my life.  But still, just because I’ll sit through Pink Slip and American Hero to stop the shakes doesn’t mean I don’t still like the good stuff.  Help me find it, after the jump.

If you are the type who doesn’t do re-runs, or the front 13 of 3 you may be feeling a bit Chuckless again today.  I’m here to help.  Just the fact that we now have 73, yes, 73 episodes of Chuck to choose from in the poll gives me great joy and finger cramps.  You know how it works campers, try to narrow it down to your top 10 and we’ll see what we get, just for fun.  Because I’ve killed that drug metaphore.

By special request, ChuckThis Megadose Monday brings you at no extra charge a bonus best of season 4 poll.  Pick your top 5 season 4 episodes below.

About Ernie Davis

I was born in 1998, the illegitimate brain child and pen name of a surly and reclusive misanthrope with a penchant for anonymity. My offline alter ego is a convicted bibliophile and causes rampant pognophobia whenever he goes out in public. He wants to be James Lileks when he grows up or Dave Barry if he doesn’t.  His hobbies are mopery, curling and watching and writing about Chuck.  Obsessively.  Really, the dude needs serious help.
This entry was posted in polls, Season 4. Bookmark the permalink.

78 Responses to Chuck Megadose Monday Poll Post Updated: Now With Extra Season 4 Goodness

  1. Jen says:

    You are making this very hard to do buddy. Only 10?? I ran out of eps and i was still in S3!
    I’m gonna try again…

    • OregonLt3 says:

      You have me beat. I didn’t make it to S3 before I ran out 🙂

      • Anonymous says:

        I will always love S1 n S2 more, so most of my votes were spent there 🙂 I was watching the pilot n helicopter yesterday. Made me miss the feel of those eps.
        U know we r twitter friends right?

      • Faith says:

        Who aren’t twitter friends out here…my name changes, but the person stays the same 😉

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Well I always vote twice. Once at work where I start at season 1 and once from home where I go from season 4 back. 😉

    • Faith says:

      We can vote more than once? Let me write a bot to vote repeated times muhaha. LOL, JK.

      • Jen says:

        LOL! I discovered that iMacro firefox plug-in during the July thing. Magical!! I wld use it to vote for Phase Three a lot, but I don’t think the ep will need aaaany help!!

        Btw, Anonymous right above is me 🙂

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Well this time you could vote twice from the same computer because I reset the number of choices. I won’t give away how we can or do make sure each computer only votes once*… or how SOME people get around that, JEN!!

        (*Unless it’s a fan poll we need to win.)

    • Jen says:

      Lol… I haven’t used my knowledge on this site, but oh boy have I used it everywhere else!!

      • Ernie Davis says:

        Well as long as you only use your power for good instead of evil. 😉

        But it still galls me that we couldn’t beat Supernatural.

  2. Gringo Chuck Fan says:

    This is really very funny – I was just thinking to myself, ” Self, I says, you need to send in a special request for somebody to put up an episode poll”…
    ~only I was thinking just about Season 4 only…. cuz that’s the season we’re in right now… still, this is really uncanny! Or maybe you have actually setup your blog to install a spyware program that mines for intel and patterns… no wait, that’s the intersect…
    Anyways – the other thing I was thinking, rather than just the top 10…
    would be to have a rating scale for each episode… I could easily give each episode a rating scale, 1 – 10…. but boy, did I ever have a hard time trying to just select a top 10.
    hmmm – I may have to go back and rewatch them all just to make sure I didn’t pick the wrong ones by mistake.
    ~ cheers!

    • atcDave says:

      Ernie was just telling us the other day he was setting up spy ware on your computer to guide us on these things…

    • Ernie Davis says:

      Sorry Gringo, the spyware needs tuning. I thought you meant an all-seasons poll. Come to think of it we haven’t done a season 4 poll yet…

  3. atcDave says:

    Interesting poll. I could have said top 5 easier than top ten! interesting the popularity of Honeymooners, its like the only stand out in S3; I think every other season has many contenders. I’d still rank S4 as my favorite, but for now, S2 actually has more episodes that made my list.

  4. Faith says:

    That was nerve wracking! Outside of say the top 5, it got really difficult to choose! Push mix didn’t make it into my top 10, neither did Balcony. 10 is never enough! 😉 15…even harder.

    BTW I just got a message from Alladins (alladinsgenie4u) he says hi! Thanks everyone for inquiring about him. He misses you guys too.

  5. joe says:

    Ernie, you’re fiendish.

    Ack! Sophie’s choice, writ large! Which to choose… which to choose… Ack!

  6. Joseph (can't be Joe) says:

    Can I vote for Phase 3 – 10 times?

  7. amyabn says:

    That was really hard! Only 10??? guess I’ll tee up an episode off iTunes (it isn’t like I can watch live if an episode was on tonight anyway!).

  8. thinkling says:

    OK. That’s just impossible. I did it, but it could change next week.

    What I could do is take each season and list the shows that I really like to rewatch. Of course, I end up with way more than 10. And since 3.14 almost all of them make that list.

    Or I could do it this way. Pick top 10 from S1 and S2. Pick top 10 from S3.5 and S4.

    I’m not sure where to put the front side of S3, because no matter where I put it, it won’t score any hits in my top 10. So, I could pick my 10 favorite scenes of S3. Sorry to be so uncharitable, but there’s not an episode in the bunch that would make a favorites list unless I isolate the season.

    • atcDave says:

      Yeah there’s a few I would pick every time (Tango, Colonel, Honeymooners, Phase 3), but the others may change with my mood or depending on what I’ve watched recently.

  9. Ernie Davis says:

    I added an extra season 4 poll, and upped the limit for the first poll to 15, so those of you who already voted may be able to go back and vote again, but give it a while for the poll to update on the blog.

  10. weaselone says:

    Hmm. It appears Chuck vs. the First Class didn’t make the cut. Wonder why they chose to play that episode from season 3.

  11. Big Kev says:

    Ahh, I do love a good list!!

    Being someone with a low boredom threshold (and clearly someone with too much spare time on his hands), I sat down and did a very quick ranking out of 10 for every episode. I haven’t rewatched some in a while, so it may be a little skewed, but on a 1-10 scale where 6 = meh, 7 = good, 8 = very good, the seasons came out as follows:-

    Season 1 Average 8.1
    Season 2 8.3
    Season 3 7.6
    Season 4 7.4

    Yeah, I know – I’m a stats nerd…

    Season 4 actually came out with a better average than I expected (even with Muurder, which got my second lowest score of the series, after the unredeemable Mask) – so I should probably quit bitching so much! Seriously, it’s a reminder to me that even though it is marginally my least favourite season, it’s still a damn good hour of TV and better than virtually everything else out there.

    Looks like my 4 of my 5 all time best (First Date, Subway, Colonel, Pilot) are pretty much on everyone’s list. Great to see some love for Imported Hard Salami too (the first episode I watched and still a favourite!)

    I’m actually really glad there was a break after Muurder. It’s given me a chance to miss the show again and get excited about the synopsis for Family Volkoff, and how the various stories are flowing together. Bring on next Monday!!

  12. Jason says:

    This was honestly the hardest thing that I have had to do today…

    And I am a Doctor…

    • joe says:

      Oh gee, Jason. That’s cool! Now you’ve got me wondering about the distribution of skills, careers and/or jobs of people here (and Chuck fans in general.

      • Michael says:

        Joe,

        Well, then, you have the basis for another poll! Chop! Chop! 🙂

        How about favorite OLI, least favorite OLI? God, I hope they invite Lou to the wedding or have her cater it. She and Chuck really went their own ways in a friendly way.

        How about favorite villian, least favorite villian?

        Actually, I need a little something like these polls to keep the impending feelings of dread at bay.

        Sorry, I haven’t been around much. Real Life seems to always want to insinuate itself in my time.

      • thinkling says:

        Like your poll ideas, Michael. … Real life can be rude that way. 😉

  13. Ernie Davis says:

    Just to see peoples preferences, when we do a end of season poll there are several ways to go about it. First I’ll let you in on a decision, based only on my observations and the comments. You want to be able to vote for about 25% of the shows, and that actually works pretty well to get a, while unscientific, reasonable approximation of the relative popularity of episodes. Everybody votes for Honeymooners and Phase Three, it’s when you can keep voting we start to see the second tier winners emerge as people with different tastes and favorites find some common ground on their 12th pick. Based on that the “all episodes poll” would allow 20 votes. If we were to break it down by season there would be 3, 6, 5 and 6 votes per season. I think there is merit to both since I could pick 6 favorites from the first 10 or 11 of season 2 alone. So I’m tempted to say both. Thoughts?

    • thinkling says:

      I’d prefer two polls: one poll in which we pick 20 episodes, not stipulating how many from which seasons; and a second poll, picking the top 25% of each season. The episode breakdown is a handy way to organize myself when I’m picking, so I don’t slight any seasons. However, it may not really reflect my true favorites. Some seasons have a lot to offer, while others, cough, have very little. It would be fun to see the differences in the two polls … i.e. which episodes are included as favorites only when equal opportunity picking is enforced.

  14. uplink2 says:

    Wow that was tough. But I started with my #1-5 which were all very easy. Honeymooners, Phase Three, Push Mix, Pilot, Colonel. Understandable that 2 are from season 4 #6 is also as that is my favorite season. The second 5 were much harder as I had to leave off some really great episodes but those top 5 stand out for me way above the rest.

    For me top 10.

    3 from season 4
    2 from season 3.5
    3 from season 2
    2 from season 1

    Interesting to note that of my bottom 5, 4 are from season 3.0, the other from season 2.

    • atcDave says:

      I normally don’t rank order as much as these polls demand. I simply think in terms of episodes I don’t like. So far that is two from S2 and seven from S3. None from S1, S3.5, or S4.

      Interestingly, if I were to rank order the seasons I would say S4, S2, S1, S3.5, then S3 quite a ways behind.

      • uplink2 says:

        Interesting season list Dave. I’d have the same but 3.5 would be my #2. Any segment that has Honeymooners, my favorite all time perfect episode, has to be ranked pretty high. Interesting that if I did a top 25% of season 3 giving 5 episodes. probably only one would be from 3.0

      • atcDave says:

        I agree Honeymooners is the single best episode of Chuck ever. But S3.5 had the whole lying Chuck problem that I really didn’t care for (4 out of 6 episodes).
        So for the crime of making the main character not very likable, S3.5 becomes my least favorite of the seasons I actually like (add to that the Sarah interrogation of Living Dead, and S3.5 has a few problems…)

        Picking a top five episodes of S3 is a problem; there’s honestly only three episodes I really liked (Angel of Death, Operation Awesome, and Other Guy). I guess Beard and Tic Tac were mostly okay and would round out the top 5. There is no other season I would struggle to find 5 episodes I like; even S3.5 I would say had six (mostly) good episodes.

      • thinkling says:

        Dave, I’m with you on S4 then S2. I have trouble with S1 v. S3.5 … hard to pick. They are good for different reasons.

        I think the 5 from S3 includes all of S3. 25% of 3.0 would be only 3 episodes. So when you lump 3.0 and 3.5 together (19 episodes) you get some leeway for picking from either half. You could pick all 5 from 3.5 if you wanted.

        At least that was my understanding.

      • atcDave says:

        Yeah if all of S3 is lumped together I can find 5.

        But I love S1. I’ve watched it the most, by virtue of it being oldest. But even apart from that, the first three, and last two episodes are completely awesome. (I don’t know why I love Helicopter so much, I know it puts me in a small minority). Maybe its just the “laying the groundwork” aspect of it. And of course, I would say I love any seasons of Chuck (except the obvious).
        From the time I saw the Pilot I knew Chuck was going to be my favorite show on the air (and keep in mind I’m pretty enthusiastic about Burn Notice too). And I felt that way all season long (well, not briefly during the S1 triangles arc).

      • thinkling says:

        I do really love S1. It’s so different from the others, especially 3.5ff, that it’s hard to even compare. But I rewatch S1 a lot. Whether I turn to 3.5 or 1 depends on my mood.

        Dang, I hope we get a S5!

      • JC says:

        Season 1 is completely underrated, we’ve done these polls before and it always shocks me how many of my favorite episodes are from then.

      • thinkling says:

        Oops didn’t finish.

        I love Helicopter, too. The first time I watched it, not as much, but now it’s one of the episodes I rewatch the most from S1. For one, I always laugh out loud at the dinner scene. I laugh just thinking about it. Then I like the establishing the relationship part … where Sarah stands as an agent, that she would never do what Bryce did, how betrayed she feels, her dedication to protect Chuck, laying the law down. But then the whole forgiveness scene at the end and challenging Chuck to step up … great episode.

        It’s also a sneaky way of establishing Casey’s character as both better-than-we-thought and worse-than-we-hoped.

      • atcDave says:

        I do agree S1 is under-appreciated. It is so different from the show we see now, yet it’s foundational to so much we still talk about and know.

        I always mention Tango as one of the best of the best. But the Pilot, Helicopter, Wookie, Alma Mater, Undercover Lover, Marlin; WOW! No wonder so many of us fell for this show so quickly. Even the episodes I consider “lesser” for one reason or another like Truth, Sand Worm, Nemesis; just are so rich in details that still matter. And are still so much fun to re-watch.

        Its when Chuck was still an ordinary guy and the spy world was a bit mysterious and scary. Chuck and Sarah were worlds apart yet still drawn together, Morgan was a total loser, and we knew nothing about Chuck’s destiny.

        I love watching S1/S4 episodes back-to-back. Watch Helicopter then watch Phase 3 sometime. Compare Sarah’s hero/duty speech to her later attitude. Talk about a changed character!

      • thinkling says:

        Now that you mention it, I often want to watch a S1 episode after some S4. They contrast a lot, but believably … that’s why they are so much fun to watch together. Chuck is unparalleled in this aspect of its character growth, at least in my admittedly limited TV experience.

      • Big Kev says:

        Not under-appreciated by me, Dave 🙂
        The Pilot is still a top 5, and Marlin vies for 5th with Honeymooners depending on my mood. Imported Hard Salami also makes my top 10 – pretty good for a shortened season!

      • Tamara Burks says:

        I loved Casey’s glee at getting to use the mini gun in Angel of Death and I loved every scene that didn’t have Sham in it in Beard.

        In season 1 I hated Casey until he was ordered to kill Chuck and he tried to argue Beckman out of it and then the relief on his face when it was called off.That’s when we got to see the person underneath the growls and gruff exterior struggling to get out.

        And in the epe in season 3 with Carina I liked that they had the bad guy was more angry over his heart being broke than his business which really focused on how cruel seducing someone for your job is. However it’s the same ep where they had Chuck’s speech about her needing to b e with someone else to learn to love or something like that. My immediate response was OMG , that’s the excuse they’re going to use for the PLI’s ! It was a lame excuse and if that’s what they were going for it didn’t work. At least with Hannah we didn’t have to deal with her for long which is probably one of the reasons people are more forgiving towards her arc especially since she was the one who had damage done to her not the one who did damage like Shaw.

      • JC says:

        Another thing about S1 and I admit I’m biased but losing Bomer was a huge blow for the show. I know people disliked Bryce but his character added a lot to the mythology and gave us glimpses of both Chuck and Sarah before the pilot.

      • atcDave says:

        I’m kind of a Bryce fan (definitely a Bomer fan!). I like what he brought to the show, and I think his continued involvement would have been nice, especially once Sarah has clearly chosen Chuck. Chuck would always have certain insecurities around Bryce, but Sarah would no longer be one of them.
        And as I’ve indicated elsewhere, much as I hate triangles, Bryce would have worked far better in S3 than Shaw did.

  15. herder says:

    I was out walking the dog and found myself wondering about certain bits, what is the most geek-tastic bit so far. I figured that there were so many bits that played to the inner nerd of much of the audience. A partial list of the contenders in no particular order follows:

    -Chuck and Bryce speak Klingon in Nemisis
    -Chuck and Bryce played Zorg in the Pilot
    -Sarah in the Princess Leia outfit in Sandworm
    -Jeff in the Imperial Storm trooper sweater in Dream Job
    -Guy Lafleur using Vogon poetry for his pass word in Ex
    -Morgan saying “laugh it up fuzzballs” in Leathal Weapon
    -Lester saying “these are not the boys you want” in Suitcase
    -Anna Wu in the Thunderdome
    -The whole Die Hard theme in Santa Claus (revisited in Leftovers)
    -The Star Wars action figures in Masquerade
    -“you ruined Pretty in Pink for me”

    Many others but it is suprising how many Star Wars references there are and despite the sight of Sarah in the Princess Leia get up, I think the one that gave me the most chuckles was the Vogon Poetry in Ex.

    • Joseph (can't be Joe) says:

      But the real question is – do you know who Guy LaFleur is?

      • herder says:

        I grew up in Montreal during the 70’s, every kid know who he was.

      • Joseph (can't be Joe) says:

        Excellent!

      • joe says:

        Heh! Even those of us south of the boarder knew Guy (pronounced Gee) LaFleur of Les Habs.

        But am I the only one who knows hockey AND Vogon poetry??? Nah. Can’t be!

      • herder says:

        Vogon poetry is of course the third worst in the Universe. Thank you Douglas Adams.

      • kg says:

        LaFleur and his Bleu, blanc and rouge teammates routinely played the role of nemesis to my beloved Bruins and me.

      • Tamara Burks says:

        The worst poetry was of course written by a British woman who was killed when the planet Earth was destroyed by a interstellar bypass on a Thursday.

      • joe says:

        Oh, gee. I come to believe that, if we could ask him, we’d discover that Chuck himself likes Douglas Adams and Hockey Night in Canada.

        I do believe there’s a connection here somewhere.

    • Faith says:

      The real question is, has Chuck taught Sarah some kling on? 😉

    • Silvercat42 says:

      One of my favorites that you forgot to mention was Sarah wearing the “Frak Off” t-shirt in Nacho Sampler. Other than Tricia Helfer appearing in Broken Heart, that was really the only BSG reference I can think of. Am I wrong?

  16. kg says:

    As I’ve stated previously when Ernie has posted these polls, I generally liked all of them overall with the exception of definitive stages of Mask and Fake Name.

    Still, I voted again and picked the maximum allowed. But if pressed for my personal favorite for each season I would submit a list headed by Imported Hard Salami, Seduction, Other Guy and Phase Three.

    Imitating NCAA college basketball, the four seasons could represent the four regions of the country. Above is my Final Four if you will. Of course, season four is not yet concluded, but any of the remaining five would have to be truly epic to knock off Phase Three.

    My championship matchp would pit the aforementioned Phase Three against Other Guy.

    • Faith says:

      Now that would be interesting. In theory you’d think Colonel vs. Honeymooners would make it to the finals but who knows!

      • kg says:

        Faith I loved Colonel at the time it aired, but just one week later Ring rendereded it nearly obsolete. I agree with Ernie that Ring wasn’t the final episode of season two, but actually the beginning of three.

        The thunder from Colonel was stolen a bit. It’s as if the ending of Colonel never happened or was erased in a sweeping fashion like something from a Capra movie.

        And then things spiraled out of control from the beginning of Pink Slip. It was a deep hole that took many episodes to climb out of. Some fans still haven’t gotten over it.

        I understand fully why a lot of folks love Honeymooners, and I liked it, but didn’t love it. For me it was often boring. Too much Chuck and Sarah. Too much lovey-dovey, excess syrup. I guess because of past injustices and face slaps by TPTB, I think a large portion of the fanbase didn’t trust TPTB and needed a real fluffy episode like Honeymooners as a means of reassurance. You know, to make sure what they saw in Other Guy was legitimate and the rug would not be pulled out from under them.

      • Faith says:

        We’ll just agree to disagree then :).

        While on some POVs what happened in Colonel was made unimportant, to me it will always be an important step in their journey. Although Ring pt. 2 was a new beginning that beginning doesn’t happen without Colonel and essentially the end of the fake relationship-Agent Walker detente between them.

        That is part of the reason why I revere Colonel so much, it was a beginning, and an end. One that satisfactory ushers in an opportunity, and yet closes the door admirably on what was beloved. And it was the moment, the one moment that I have waited for for 2 long years, the moment when things became at its most revealing. There were revealing moments here and there, some more poignant, some meaning more in the characters’ growth/development, but this one was unique.

      • atcDave says:

        I’ll always think Colonel was a great episode. I didn’t feel it was undone by Ring (although the whole “I’m leaving tomorrow” bit was ill-conceived) but it was destroyed (like most of S1 & S2) by Pink Slip. In fact, much of S2 is diminished in my eyes now because of where the show went next. But that doesn’t lessen the quality of any individual episode, it just adds a bitter aftertaste in some cases.

      • Big Kev says:

        KG,
        I loved Honeymooners – it lurks around 5th/6th on my top 10 list – but I wouldn’t want to see it every week. I think the greatness of the episode is in it’s context. After everything that had gone before, it was a release of tension for the fans, a new direction for the show. It was a pay off that had been more than earned. But as you say, too much syrup for a weekly dose to be good for you!

    • atcDave says:

      That kind of exposes the flaw in a bracket system!

      • kg says:

        And I agree with you both that it was excellent, but if we’re splitting hairs…..then I have to downgrade it some because of these things we’ve discussed.

  17. Silvercat42 says:

    Like many of you, it was much easier to pick my top five than the second five. As Dave mentioned, it really does often depend on my mood, many times influenced by the latest Season 4 episode I’ve watched. A simple way for me to choose one over another is to ask which I’ve rewatched the most, but that doesn’t always work either. Anyway, it was fun doing both polls. I did pick a couple that didn’t get a lot of votes, (The Truth and First Bank of Evil) but that’s the fun thing about Chuck… there’s so much for so many different tastes.

    • Silvercat42 says:

      Thanks Ernie for these polls. I needed it, and it got my Chuck juices flowing again! I have been staying away from Chuck sites during the hiatus, but now I’m back in the mood for the return of live eps!

      I share the general unease many of you have about the future of a Season 5, but at least we have 5 more episodes for sure, and it looks like it will be a wild yet funny ride. I’m very intrigued about the upcoming ep where Chuck and Sarah have their wedding money stolen… and of course we get both Volkoffs and Mary B back next week!

  18. Faith says:

    1. Colonel
    2. Honeymooners
    3. Best Friend
    4. Phase Three
    5. Break Up
    6. Suitcase
    7. Wookie
    8. Cougars
    9. Seduction
    10. Broken Heart
    11. Delorean
    12. Other Guy
    13. Lethal Weapon
    14. First Date
    15. Truth

    For Season 4…ugh I was only on Season 4.0 and I already ran out of votes!

  19. Ernie Davis says:

    Since it’s been a week and the polls are pretty long and hard to read I thought a synopsis might be in order. For those of you playing along at home here are the winners for the top 5 episodes of season 4:

    5) Chuck Versus the Seduction Impossible
    4) Chuck Versus the Balcony
    3) Chuck Versus the First Fight tied with Chuck Versus the Suitcase
    2) Chuck Versus the Push Mix
    1) Chuck Versus Phase Three

    And for the all-time greatest 10 episodes of Chuck (so far):

    10) Chuck Versus the Cougars
    9 ) Chuck Versus the Other Guy
    8 ) Chuck Versus the Push Mix
    7 ) Chuck Versus the Subway/Ring Part II tied with Chuck Versus the Seduction
    6 ) Chuck Versus the DeLorean
    5 ) Chuck Versus the First Date
    4 ) Chuck Versus the Intersect
    3 ) Chuck Versus the Colonel
    2 ) Chuck Versus Phase Three
    1 ) Chuck Versus the Honeymooners

    For those of you keeping score that’s one from season 1, five from season 2, three from season 3 and two from season 4. So far.

  20. FaustinoShauntewi says:

    hello there, I am also a novice to these website. Ecstatic to sign up for this kind of remarkable forum at this site.

    • joe says:

      Welcome to the discussion, Faustino. It’s always great to have a new voice chiming in.

      There’s been a lot of action on the Season 4 Spoiler Thread, Part 2 (to find it, click on “Spoilers” at the top of the page, under the banner).
      I’m happy to say that the top two or three posts are always active for a while!
      You may notice the cool widgets that Faith put at the bottom of the page, too – the News, the Countdown Timer, and for those of us who love the music of Chuck, our “official” Chuck This playlist! 😉

Leave a Reply

